Month: August 2010

  • Throwing Puppies Into the River

    I found this video on xwaltzalyssax’s site of puppies being thrown into the river by a little girl.

    I was reading the comments on the site and it was interesting that people were suggesting the girl should be thrown into the river or have other horrible things done to her.

    Are we at the stage where we care more about animals than people?

                              

  • Working During High School and College

    My oldest son has asked a few times whether he could get a job.  I have told him, “no.”  I worked all through high school and growing up.

    I want my kids to focus on school and have fun in sports and other activities.  They can work their whole life.  When I was a kid, the money we earned went to help the whole family. 

    My son mentioned that even if he received a sports scholarship for college, he would have to get a job in college.  I told him that I thought if he received a scholarship, he should just focus on his sport and also his school work.

    I worked my way through college and graduate school but that is the hard way.  I don’t think my son will be lazy because he works so hard in sports.

    Do you think a student should work through high school and college?
                                        
                                        

  • Would You Marry With Money in Mind?

    I was reading the pulse by Makethemakersmile and she typed, “f*** working… i need a sugar daddy instead.”

    I believe she was being sarcastic but I wanted to post on something related to this anyway.

    I wonder at what level a woman considers how much her potential husband will make over the years when she gets married.

    It is easy to state the answer of marrying for love but is that really true?  I see posts all the time where women will indicate they just want to find a man with a good job.  In other words, love is not the only factor.  I am not saying that any of these women expect to hit it rich and marry a millionaire.  But I think at some level, they have a certain expectation of how much their man will make.

    So this question is really for women.

    Would you consider the amount of money a guy makes as a factor in whether you would marry him?

                                           

  • Are Books Becoming Obsolete?

    I believe that printed books will become functionally obsolete in the next 15 years.  I believe organizations like Barnes and Noble and Books-A-Million will collapse.  I believe public libraries will close up shop.

    Major releases of books will be online. 

    I even noticed that the Oxford Dictionary may no longer be made in printed form.  Here is the link:  Link

    Why?  People are doing more of their reading online.  This pattern will continue until it is no longer realistic to put a book in printed form.  Even Amazon will eventually suffer from this trend.  They will profit in the short term because they will sell more books as bookstores go under.  But it will be in the same way that Blockbuster Video profited as the little video stores went under.  But eventually the decline in video rentals hurt Blockbuster.

    Do you believe that printed books are becoming obsolete?
                                                         

  • Are You Afraid to Be Called a Racist?

    I was looking at an article about a rally that was being held in Washington today.  The leader of the rally was Glenn Beck.  He called President Obama a racist. 

    He was holding a rally at the same time and in the same place as the anniversary of Martin Luther King’s “I have a dream speech.”

    What was interesting to me was that yahoo.com linked an article from their front page that said in the first paragraph, “Conservative commentator Glenn Beck and tea party champion Sarah Palin appealed Saturday to a vast, predominantly white crowd on the National Mall to help restore traditional American values and honor Martin Luther King’s message.”  Here is the link:  Link

    Notice the article pointed out specifically that the crowd was “predominantly white.”

    Now take a look at this photo of Al Sharpton’s rally:

    Notice all the black people.

    Here is a video of Al Sharpton’s rally:  Link

    Notice in the video you can see a token white guy plus a reporter who is white but almost everyone is black.

    Why can we mention that a group is all white but we can’t mention that another group is all black?

                                                                  

  • iPhone Vs. Droid Vs. Everything Else

    I was looking at mobile phones last night and I had my heart sort of set on the iPhone.  Everyone I know has one.

    The first place I walked up to said they didn’t carry the iPhone (Apparently iPhone competitors are sensitive people).

    They did have the Motorola Droid.

    It operates off of Verizon.  I believe the iPhone uses AT&T.

    I was surprised at how quickly the Droid worked and accessed pages on the Internet.  The guy said that Verizon has the largest coverage area. 

    I don’t want to use text.  I only care about being able to access Xanga, Facebook and Twitter.  I wanted to test xanga from the phone they had there.  But I didn’t want him to know that I went to xanga and I didn’t want to sign into my site.  He was Asian so he may have a xanga site.

    I want to be able to update my xanga site from the phone.

    What is the best mobile phone for using xanga?
                                         

  • Hate on Xanga

    I have asked before if people thought they could fall in love with someone they only met on the internet.

    I kind of wanted to go the opposite direction.  Hate is such a powerful word and emotion.

    Could you hate someone that you only met on the Internet?
                                   
                                                 

  • Mr and Ms Xanga Contest

    This is my post for the Mr. and Ms. Xanga Contest.

    Dear Shimmer,

    I’m going to die. I’ll never snort coke off of a diseased hooker’s butt again.

    Anyway, I want you to know that I’m going to leave you all of my trolls. You can split up my friends amongst all of the xangans, and to whomever can carry out my dying wish will get my subscribers.

    My dying wish is to see 50 ping pong balls and a baby midget be shot out of an alien vag at sunset. Thanks. I’m going to go do stuff now. Like die. Bye.

    Dear Xangans,

    I want you to know before I die that I feel very ashamed about that drunken night with John and Ricebunny. I swear I’ve never had absinthe and E before that very weird night. I’m sorry I won’t be around to profit off of the sex tape, but please use all of the profits to cure breast cancer and start a charity Girls Gone Wild Video.

    -Dan.

    Go here and vote thetheologianscafe and shimmer:  Link

               

  • Name the Caption

    Caption this doctor holding the World’s largest tumor.

                                                          

  • Helmet Laws

    A guy from work died recently.  He was in an accident while on his scooter.  He was not wearing a helmet. 

    My brother was in a serious accident when we were kids.  He was on his bicycle.  That was before helmets were popular.  If you think about it, you are traveling pretty fast on a bike and the pavement is so hard.

    Do you wear a helmet when you are riding a bike?