December 23, 2012

  • My Blind Date

    I only went on one blind date.  It was back when I was 17 years old.  

    I had a friend who wanted me to go on a double date.  He wanted me to take his new girlfriend’s best friend.  I told him I would find my own date but he insisted I take her.  I wanted to see her photo first and he promised me he would get it and yet I never saw her photo.
    I walked up to the door and she walked out.  I was superficial back then but I thought she was ugly.  I took her on the date.  I am not sure I ever made eye contact with her.  
    I walked her up to the door and she told me it was the best night of her life.  I felt bad about the whole thing so I kissed her.
    Have you ever been on a blind date?
                         
                                                              

Comments (45)

  • never but curious :P

  • Thay is quiye the story! I have never been on a blind date, I wouldn’t be opposed to it but I wouldn’t be thrilled either.

  • Gross. Should not have kissed her, man, if you weren’t feeling it.

    I’ve been on one blind date, with my sister’s BFF’S brother. And it was the worst date of my life. Besides the fact that all he talked about at dinner was his (recent) drug addiction and rehab, at the movie, his cell phone rang (loudly) and he answered it. “Hey bro! Nothing, just watching a movie. What are ya up to later?” etc. 
    … as I slouched farther and farther down in my seat. I came back from the date and said to my sister, “How could you?” LOL!

  • Never. Dating guys I knew was awkward enough.

  • …and now you’re married to her, right?

  • Why do people think that’s shallow? Dating is about physical attraction, not only that but if there’s no attraction there’s no attraction. But if it was the best night of her life on a date with a guy who couldn’t even look at her, that’s so sad, and I feel sorry for her too. :(

    I’ve been on blind dates. Generally a bad idea and set-ups are the worst.

  • no one would want to set me up on one

  • Nope and don’t wanna. 

  • You’d have to be blind to like me, so a blind date would be wonderful.

  • I wonder if she was being sarcastic.

  • No blind dates. However, in high school, I did have a female friend that was extremely overweight and NOT very attractive. (The two are not exclusive by the way.) She was not that attractive in terms of personality either. But she was NUTS about me. I never told her she was pretty or attractive – but I was politely nice to her – which apparently was more than any other guy had been. We went out on dates just a couple of times. No kissing. I liked her – that was it. But she got such a blast out of hanging with me – I never chased her off. What was the point? She had a few boyfriends while we were friends. I think she was trying to make me jealous. Of course it never worked.

  • You’re the man Dan. Taking one for a Bro, there are few greater sacrifices. 

  • I’ve never been on a blind date, but I’d be interested in going on one. Hell, it’s a lot better than my dating record right now… which is zero dates ever

  • Nope, not in the mood for disappointment.

  • Well, I once went on a date with my ex blind folded the whole time. we both did it together, so does that count? its hard to eat when you cant see your food. her parents laughed so hard when they saw the mess we made on ourselves.

  • Nope, but I’d be interested in going on one just for the experience. Then I’d write all about it on xanga, but if I thought the guy was ugly I’d definitely turn away if he tried to kiss me :P  

  • Yes and I wasn’t attracted to him. I ended up just talking about my research to keep the date going until it was late enough to go home. I wasn’t really ready to date yet. 

  • never been on a blind date. 

  • Nope,    or a date.

    I must be something wrong,    wait I had one marriage proposal she only knew me about 5 minutes on holiday.  she turned round and asked my parents could she married me.   (I am older enough to get married)

  • I think there was one but it was so long ago I honestly don’t remember if I like him or not. I always had dates, and I never lacked for attention. I wasn’t shallow and I always looked for the good. Maybe that was it!

  • Sort of..? My sister and her boyfriend and I all wanted to go swing dancing, but I didn’t have a boyfriend at the time. They invited their guy friend whom I’d never met. It was a good time, but we both knew it wasn’t meant to be a serious date or anything. Just dancing.

  • Nope. But interesting story. I wish you took you took a photo so we can all judge.

  • At 15.5, my parents fixed me up with a girl, 18, a friend’s daughter.  She wanted to go to the prom but no one had asked her.  They showed up with a white dinner jacket (way too short) for me to wear and drove us all to the hall.  It was at Lovett Hall, Henry Ford Museum, a fancy place.  Afterward, all of us (both sets of parents) went somewhere to eat, very awkward. 

    Here’s what I remember:  The girl’s name was Julie Harris, same as the actress.  She had a lot of VO5 hair spray which I gagged on when we danced slow and my face was close to her hair.  Julie’s dad had a brand new 1966 Chevy Caprice, first year of that very sharp-looking model.  When he parked the car, he jotted down the license # of every car parked near him in case someone dinged the door.  I quickly forgot about everything else, maybe I will use this story for a movie script someday.  Too bad John Hughes isn’t around to make the movie.

  • Only once.  He had a vein in his forehead that stuck out and it grossed me out.  I think I was 16 or 17.  I wouldn’t even kiss him.  Never went out with him again.  

  • Never been on one, and I can’t really say I’d be interested in going. My group seems to have a thing for hooking each other up, sometimes without permission.

  • I only ever went out with one guy.  I had liked him for a couple months.  Although he was first going out with a girl he met from Match.com and she introduced us.  They only went out a few times.  We’re all friends now though, and I married him.

  • I went on a blind date once…with a blind guy. Didn’t know till I showed up. That would’ve been nice to know in advance…
    Also went on a blind date once with a guy who was bipolar. A few weeks later he was killed…he walked down a highway completely naked and was hit by a car.  So yah, I’m not big on blind dates.

  • I don’t know why guys do that, my best friend kinda set me up in the pretext of just hanging out without me knowing with the guy she was seeing, his best friend, think it was his idea… I’m not that crazy bout looks but i just wasn’t interested, i think my eyes are quite expressive.

    Nice guy, i was just not interested.. Plus was super awkward seeing your bestie making out and the guy i was with kept staring..lol. I remember wanting to leave so bad but couldn’t without her however on a different note, i would not mind trying the speed dating thing. I heard it’s quite fun..haha

  • Blind dates are wrong..a person has to be more organized and be in control of their lives..being too random and playful can be dangerous… 

  • I went on a blind date in college. I made the mistake of wearing platform shoes. I’m already nearly 5’8″ in stocking feet. He was probably about 5’6″ or 5’7″. I felt kind of awkward. I had a good time later, but that first moment, when I realize I’m towering over him in those shoes…awkward as hell!

  • i went on a blind date when i was 18.  it wasn’t HORRIBLE, but it wasn’t pleasant either.  i never talked to him again after our date, and i never went on another blind date ever again. 

  • Im pretty adventurous- so blind dates would be something different! lol

  • I did twice (by definition of never saw her before) and another one I didn’t know. The first girl was a twisted sort… she’d probably have pink hair and snort coke these days. She was more than cute. She had some awful depression though. I wasn’t sure what to say, so half the time, I just nodded yes or I’d say “Oh” and she’d go on. She probably needed electro-convulsive therapy. I didn’t even get her phone number. We dropped her off with her girlfriend. I didn’t even get out of the car. I just waved, “good bye ____.” The second time was not a blind date. It was a college buddy that knew her. I’d seen her. She was attractive. She was some sort of victim of something probably awful going on. She was built real nice and wore a hot outfit–don’t remember what. I tried to kiss her, and I’d have been around longer but she pulled back. My college buddy’s girlfriend roomed next to her. She wasn’t even interested in men so I was told a few days later. The third was someone I dated for several months. My cousin wanted me to meet her. I was reading a book when he called. I should have said “No thanks.” I liked her somewhat. We saw each other and I stayed at her house for many nights. It didn’t work out. 
      
    Meeting people was at least as difficult back then as it seems from reading about it now. I retired from intimate relationships… I think that is best for me. 
     
    I don’t know how to find a soul mate. I think if a person misses finding a soulmate person, then, don’t go any further with it. 
      

  • haha i have…and it was torturous

  • thats funny:) i went on a blind date once and it was not good.i feltso bad but i dipped out. theguy was really self centered and not open minded at all. i couldnt be around him long. nexttime, i wont ever agree to a blind date :)

  • I did.  And he was literally blind.  A bit strange at first but after about 15 minutes, I thought he was terrific.  His positive attitude, manners and intelligence dazzled me.  He’s now a college professor, we are close friends and he still dazzles me.  

  • A couple of times and they were wonderful…

  • No, and I never will. I prefer to know the people I go out with. A few of my friends have had horror stories. haha. 

  • did you use tongue?!?! lol, how long did it last? Or was it like a fatherly kiss on the forehead??

  • you know i’ve never been on blind dates, but if i ever did go on one and the guy was ugly as fuck, i’d at least straight up say that i’m not into it, and just totally friendzone and have fun together laughing at the other couple

  • your went better than mine. actually, now that i think about it, i had a really decent one, too.

  • Some Santas

    Coach Outlet Online

    are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have greatness

    Gucci Belt

    thrust upon them. And then there are those happy fellows who take a week-long class in all things

    Coach Factory Outlet

    Father Christmas, and come out the other side with a coveted B.S.C. degree

    Coach Outlet Store Online

    (Bachelor of Santa Claus).Such was the fate of those

    Coach Factory Outlet

    who, for years, chose to take instruction at Charles Howard’s

    Coach Outlet Online

    Santa Claus School in the upstate New York town of Albion, not far from

    Coach Online Outlet

    Rochester. In fact, the school still exists today, 75 years after it

    Coach Outlet Online

    was founded by Howard in 1937; since the mid-1960s, it has operated

    Coach Outlet Online

    out of Midland, Michigan, and remains the world’s oldest Santa

    Hermes Belts

    school.In 1961, LIFE’s Alfred Eisenstaedt visited Howard’s school for would-be Santas,

    Coach Factory Online

    and made a series of photos chronicling the evidently quite fun process

    Coach Outlet Store Online

    of learning to be all the Santa Claus one can be. (Many of the pictures

    Coach Outlet Store Online

    here were not originally published in the article that

    Coach Factory Online

    ran in LIFE.) In its November 17, 1961, issue, LIFE shared the lighthearted

    Coach Outlet

    goings-on at the school with its readers
    He teaches

    Coach Outlet Store

    the history of Santa Claus, make-up and costumes (“Don’t use false

    Coach Outlet

    eyebrows — let your own grow”), Christmas stories and how to be jolly. He tells how to cope

    Coach Outlet Online

    with young hazards Santa may find in his lap. There is the tear-spiller

    Coach Factory Outlet Online

    (“All you can do is get his mind off what’s bothering

    Louis Vuitton Belts

    him”) and the shin-kicker (“Santa is no reformer so don’t spend much

    Coach Handbags Outlet

    time with him”). Most dangerous of all is the beard-yanker. “When

    Coach Outlet Online

    you see a devilish gleam in the eye,” he says, “you know you’ve

    Coach Factory Online

    got one. So you grab your beard underneath, hold tight and when he

    Coach Factory Online

    yanks, holler Ouch.Finally, we’ll end with one of Howard’s more

    Coach Outlet Online

    memorable quotes about St.

  • I was superficial back then….I laughed out loud when I read that!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *