February 22, 2013

  • Father and Daughter Dance

    So I am going to a father and daughter dance tomorrow.

    My wife told me about it a month ago.  My response was “I don’t want to go. I have always thought they were creepy.”  I walked around the corner and my daughter heard what I said.  She said, “You don’t have to go if you don’t want to.  I can go with grandpa.”  This made me feel like crap.
    So I told her, “No.  I want to go.  I will take you.”
    I remember all of those home school balls years ago where daughters would pledge to their dads they would keep their virginity.  So that was my general impression.  
    But my wife said these are different and everyone is going.
    So tomorrow I am going.
    Father and Daughter dances:  Cute or Creepy?
                                                                                         

Comments (64)

  • Cute! I’m glad you’re going with her

  • Awww it’s a bit sad what she said. I’m glad you’re going though. I would have wanted my dad to go back then :)

  • I think it depends on the age of the daughter. The scale slides from cute to creepy as age rises, with the father-daughter dance at a wedding being the exception.

  • Cute, but sad for the little girls that don’t have a father for whatever reason.  I don’t like that it makes some kids feel left out.

  • Cute in the right setting. The virginity thing….that’s creepy. Having a dance with your daughter, I don’t think so. Depends on your relationship with your daughter I suppose. 

  • you could always tell you’re daughter you’re sorry…she sounds smart..

  • It’s cute if you don’t make it creepy.

  • I go to homeschool balls, and its not creepy. Its more like a square dancing. 

  • The Purity Balls were a creepy fad. Most father/daughter dances are harmless and relatively painless.

  • I find them creepy.

  • Cute. Many daughters don’t have dads to take them. I am glad yours does.

  • that is sweet that she knew grandpa would take her. She is blessed to have two men in her life who cares about her.

  • My dad died when I was 8 & I was always left out of daddy daughter dances. To this day, I’m still crushed by it. This is an unique opportunity to spend time with your daughter in her fleeting youth. Don’t miss out.

  • I didn’t know that history but I think today it’s innocent. I went to some with my Dad, and they are memories I cherish. I’m glad you are going. :)

  • I think it’s great you’re going with her to dance with her. It will be a golden memory throughout her entire life. You sir make sure to make her feel dancing with her was the best thing in your life. She’ll remember the day long after you’re gone. Make it a wonderful one for her. You’ll be even happier than she for having done so. 

  • TEACH YOUR DAUGHTER HOW TO GRIND

  • there is NO creepy in a father/daughter dance. that statement stands true just as long as the father is not creepy. if he is honorable, then this dance is one she will treasure forever. never EVER turn down your daughter when there is an opportunity to be IN her life. that way you will remain her rock, and she will place you on an undeserved but lovely pedestal.

  • Awe I think it’s cute! I always wanted to go to one with my daddy. 

  • I hate to  say this, but the night you deposited sperm a firm embrace with your wife; A sperm first signs contracts.  One; I shall call your brother sperm to this place more often; Two, I am cognizant that this has implications outside of the womb.  Three, I am going to get off my ass, accept invitations to hot wheels races, father daughter dances, or whatever the hell that I need to, for if this makes a baby, it is a part of me, and it shall bear all the love which I can possibly bear. And then, only then are you able to reach full climax.

    Also it is most pertinent, you will recall the little princess face — Admiring only you when you catch her as a teenager, underpants off, creepy guy on, for only such moments as the dance compels you not to bash the little creep endeavoring to learn to use his parts on your child.

    Saying Good Night To All The Sperm Out There,

    Barbara Everett Heintz, Author, “Pinkhoneysuckle,” Amazon, Kindle, Create Space – Awards 2012 –San Francisco HM, Hollywood Summer Festival #1, Hollywood, California – Wildcard for mixed genre. Truth, Fiction, The Appalachian Diaspora; Of course I want all of yoo fellows to read my book! Amazon, Kindle, Create Space

  • Very cute.

    I remember mine. It was in 4th grade. I had a cute dress, a corsage, and everything :)

  • Neither.  It’s more cheesy than anything.

  • Cute! My dad is gone now, and I remember every “date” we went on! He truly wanted to be invested in my life, and it showed!

  • Weird & awkward at first but then lots of fun, speaking from the daughter’s perspective (I was in second grade).  My dad and I are not the graceful dancing type, but I really enjoyed wearing coordinating outfits, having him spin me around a bunch, and just being stupid together…  When she’s grown-up you won’t be able to get away with that sort of stuff so easily.  Good memories, though.

      …Never did a virginity pledge, haha.  Yes, that would be creepy.  Have fun!

  • I believe the adjective you are looking for is ‘awkward’.

  • Dude. Homeschooling and virginity balls are not related. The virginity balls I heard about on tv were church oriented. I was homeschooled, and I now homeschool my daughter. I never knew anyone who did this in real life.
    And I’m glad you’re taking your daughter to the dance. My father passed away before any of us (me and my 4 sisters) were married. I never got the chance. Take the moment you’re given.

  • Me and my dad never had a father and daughter dance and I would never have that opportunity, because he passed away. Don’t let you daughter end up like me and miss such a great opportunity.  A father and daughter dance is a wonderful bonding experience and it will create nice memories for her that she can look back on. :)

  • It’s cute! 

    Why would it be creepy? Even if she’s a 21 year old? Because they’re opposite genders?
    Is it creepy for a hot 21 year old to hug her bisexual mother? 
    Anyone that thinks it’s creepy is a perv. 

  • it would be creepy if I was invited to one because I have no daughters

  • Cute and what a wonderful memory you are making for your daughter.  

  • Data Entry Job Paid Per Form Filled

    Earn Up To $50 Per Hour Working At Home As
    A Data Entry Typist. Earn A Guaranteed Income
    For Forms Filled. No Selling Or Recruiting.
    Easy Online Work For Great Pay.
    For Details Visi http://www.jobzinn.com/

  • I am happy her Dad is still around to take her… very cute… hoping you and she have a great memory filled evening! ^..^

  • you probably don’t have to worry about it too long. someone’s mother may complain since not all daughters have their fathers in their lives and ask for it to be ban

  • i actually like the idea its nice to see das involved in their daughter’s lives honestly we dont have enough of it in my opinon and i grew uo without a dad so the idea makes me smile :)  

  • I don’t think my sister and Dad had father and daughter dance when my sister was younger,   likewise son and mum dance when I was younger.   my sister phones my parents every couple of days,   mainly my mum because she works in a school catering,   likewise my Dad gets more of a chance to speak to my sister at weekends on the phone.

    I talk to my parents every day because I still live at home. 

  • it only reflects who you are

  • I think they are cute…..

  • @ShimmerBodyCream - Oh dear!  BWAHAHAHAHAHA you’re just full of craziness, aren’t ya?

  • They were wonderful way back when my father took me and I think they still are.  Uhm, not so sure about that virginity part. . . don’t recall making that pledge.

  • I think it’s cute. They didn’t have those while I was going to school. But they did have those ‘bring your daddy-grandfather to lunch’ dates at school.

  • I don’t really know the answer to that question as I have never been to one… It’s more about your daughter than you, though. If she likes wearing dresses and dances, she’ll probably have a good time– especially since a lot of her friends will probably be there.

  • Definitely CUTE… no, not CUTE.. it’s sincere… i’d love to see others doing it…. and besides, it’s a favor from the younger ones that should really be considered and yet u heard them say those words to u because you tried to ignore.. anyways, i think that would make ur heart larger and wider.. GOOD LUCK!! u should have fun and enjoyment by now ;)

  • It’s creepy because obviously you can’t trust men around their own daughters.

  • I think your daughter can make that determination better than you can.

  • Kids have the absolute worst timing when walking in on conversations! For me father daughter dances would be creepy but I also have a shitty relationship with both my dads. I really believe it depends on each father/ daughter relationship. Have fun at the dance.

  • It would be creepy if you asked another Dad if you could cut in.

  • It is cute, a special time for a little girl to be with her father, the man by which all future relationships will be patterned. Or something like that.

  • When dads like you and me go, it is cute. Other dads cannot meet our high standards. lol

  •  You’ll have to tell us! The only two times I can remember dancing with my dad were at his wedding and at my wedding. It was kind of awkward, but sweet of him to try.

  • Cute and fun. My dad took my sisters and me for many of our elementary school years and it made for great memories. He would also take us out on “dates”, just to talk to us more. I have the best dad. I don’t understand anyone thinking it is creepy. 

  • A great chance to make an awesome memory for her.

  • You are a creepy dad.

  • They are never creepy … anyone who thinks differently is creepy

  • How was it???

  • cute.  don’t let your daughter see you yawning.  she’ll feel bad that not only did you not want to go, but you’re also bored to tears. 

  • I believe the adjective you are 

    Thiết kế web chuẩn seo

  • You already blew it by letting her hear you say you didn’t want to go. Typical, you put your own feelings first instead of your daughter. Part of it depends on the age. If she is 6, hopefully quickly forgotten. If she is 12, you just blew her fragile ego out of the water. Never miss a chance to do things with your child. The years go quickly by, then all you have is memories. You want memories of things you did together, not missed opportunities. Sounds like daughter thinks Grandpa is more of a Dad than you. Instead of sitting behind your computer posting drivel on Xanga, you ought to be spending time with her. Now go see if you can fix this mess you made.

  • I think it depends on the age. The older the daughter is, the more it slides from cute to creepy, aside from the father daughter dance at weddings. Also, if it’s the kind where you pledge to stay a virgin…those are creepy. Always.

  • To me, a father-daughter dance kind of reinforced the notion that a daughter is her father’s property until she’s married off to the suitor that has the most expensive dowry. But, that’s just me. Hope you had fun.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *