June 30, 2006

Comments (166)

  • Different reasons

  • I have no idea.  I’m not depressed. :Þ

  • sorry…i couldnt resist.

    i think its the estrogen in their bodies

  • Because they have to deal with men all day long.

  • Because life sucks….

    But it goes out of its way to make life harder for them.

  • PMS, progesterone, men….

  • Men are equally depressed, we just don’t show it as much.

    Women are culturally allowed and expected to voice their emotions. Therefore, they are more comfortable speaking out.

    Evan.

  • because we’re solving the problem men leave behind and don’t realize… =)

  • * Too much BAD estrogen. We have good estrogen and bad estrogen and most women who are depressed have high levels of BAD estrogen as well as LOW seretonin levels.

    Not eating right and living w/ a jerk off will make you depressed too.

  • Because Men are jerks.

  • Everyone goes through depression at least once in their life. Well, maybe not everyone, but I think 99% of people go through a temporarily depressed state for a bit.

  • because they don’t know you well enough, dan.

  • Are they depressed as in official diagnosed with depression or are they just disatisfied with thier lives and the decisions they made.  There is a difference. I think a lot of women wake up one day and realize they are disatisfied with the decisions they made.  A lot of women live their lives to please others and one day they just realize they want to live for them.  It isn’t the same as depression…trust me on that one.

  • My endocrinologist says mine is caused by my blood sugar swings….

    Never had a problem with my moods until I got type 1 diabetes.

    Candy

  • That’s a good question, i try not to be depressed though. I know a lot of depressed men too though.

  • I don’t think more of us are depressed; It’s just that we share feelings more easily.
    It’s quite the relationship hurdle, really, that difference.

  • Check out PROGESTERONE cremes for info on help w/ PMS as well as menopause.

  • Because they have PMS…and because they are too emotional about everything.

  • Dude, im never depressed

  • Because men SUCK (present company excluded)

  • because, dan, sometimes, life is depressing. maybe women just realize reality a whole lot better than men? maybe women have more things to be upset about? i dont really get it, but its true, you hardly ever see a depressed guy.

  • because they go through PMS?

  • Most women are just a tad bit more emotional than men. Or, at least they’re a bit more open/expressive of their emotions than men are…

  • What you’re talking about is less depression, more a mix of culturally-mandated low self-esteem, an ever-present need for attention, and self-inflicted personal crisises to define their otherwise empty lives.

    Men go through this too, but they don’t call it depression, they call it infidelity.

  • No offense, Dan, but why does it have to be that women are depressed? It seems like a bit of a sexist question, man.

  • I agree with one of your commentors, men are equally depressed, it’s just that they were taught to not show or repress feelings.

    People are depressed because life is difficult. Now for some reason, they feel that life should not be this way. Maybe it’s culture that tells us that everything should be coming up roses.

    The fact is the life is difficult – and then you die. Honestly, that is not a bad thing, it’s just a fact of life.

  • Because guys can be so trying, because they try and feel good about themselves but it’s hard, because they don’t always feel up to par, PMS, because you just give give give and rarely receive. Shall I go on? No, my fingers will cramp.

  • i’m a woman, and not depressed. actually never. but pms does throw every one of us for a ringer for a week every month- that equals 1/4 of about 40+ years of our lives. so…what can be expected other than emotional women?

    not to downplay depression which many do suffer from. however if it is primarily women or men that suffer from depression, i do not know.

  • we r more emotional than men! IDK y else women r depressed…IM not :) lol

  • IDK but it begs another question.  Are men and women depressed for the same reasons?

    I think my depression if felt most whenever I start thinking about all the wasted time and wrong roads I have taken in my life and look at what I have to show for 50+ years of living.  I don’t seem to have done well and I think that this leads to feeling inadequate and substandard.  I look at all the junk in my life and wonder if I will ever have time, energy, or initiative to clean it all up again.  But I can combat those feelings if I remember to stay in the day.  I have to remember that not everything has to get fixed ‘right now’.  Then I try to focus on something beautiful that God has given me (a flower or my grandbaby, for instance) and enjoy – for the moment – simply BEING.

    L,r

  • Plus, it has elicited some sexist responses. You have a huge fallacy in the question. If we answer “because…” then we have admitted that many women are indeed depressed, and if we answer that there is no reason then we are denying that any woman is depressed. tut tut…

  • FOR ATTENTION AND SYMPATHY

  • This is not a sexist question. All females are way to overdramatic for their own good, including myself.

  • or worse saying there is no reason for women’s depression. What about the men?

  • there is very little in our society that affirms or appreciates women (apart from good friends… and many women I’ve met don’t have many of those – or at least not ‘good’ friends who remind them they’re special).

  • Stress, idiotic men, PMS, the need for God… The possibilities are endless.

    Men get depressed too, though.

  • Why is a very good question. The ultimate cause of depression is unknown much less why it is gender selective. There are likely many causes. It could be that women have more of a certain receptor, that they express more neurotransmitters in certain brain regions, or simply a result of genetics or hormones.

    Progress is being made towards treatments that will go after the cause rather than the symptoms, but we are many, many years from it.

  • because they have mood swings. Although I have been known to have those too, and I’m a guy. I don’t know

  • RYC: Hannibal Lecter, huh? I take it you like fava beans! haha…I love it.

    And the unfortunate truth is…I could be a villain…I think I would choose to be The Godfather. He is both hero and villain. Plus, you just can’t beat that scene in the first movie where he is beoming godfather to his sisters baby and is swearing off all sin while committing them all at the same time. It is BEAUTIFUL! Love it. I think it might be my favorite movie scene ever.

  • haha…equity for all. That is all I ask.  :)

  • Hormones, and guys i suppose.

  • im like hitch dude im a pro at the ladies…i agree with that one guy they are more emotional…but more than anything is that their life isnt what they want it to be…its supposed to be all princess and fairy tale i married a rich dude kinda thing…but like i dunno i just had some chick dump me last month because she thought this other guy had more benifital qualities…

  • i can point my finger because i have manic depression anyway…so yeah…but im not a chick so it doesnt count…

  • We need or want more money, are husbands are so into there work, we are stressed out from kids and home life.

    Bills too!

  • clinically depressed or just saying they are depressed?  most women are just more overt with their emotions…

    like today, i was depressed when my lawn mower broke down…and i had to borrow a neighbors’…lol…in truth, i’m rarely depressed despite my often “somber” posts…i owe it to appreciating what life can bring and has brought to me…

  • lol cause we gotta deal with jerks all day. and everyone else on top of that. -.-

    ***nicole***

  • You’re a selfish evil bastard for posting so much.  And you have the guts to call yourself religious.  You’re a hypocrite. 

  • They’s a whole lotta people would love to get on featured but can’t because you playing trivial pursuit with the top 50.  Shame on you.  You can’t sleep at night?  God is gonna get you for this. 

  • Women are more emotional then men, we also have “PMS”. Hormones also play a role there, and some have no idea they have a under lying health issue. There are many health issues that women can have, that can cause a rise or fall of hormones.

  • Because they’re all on birth control pills.

  • I think guys and chicks are probably equally depressed, just for different reasons.  I could name a whole bunch of reasons why I PERSONALLY am depressed sometimes, but it’s different for everyone.

  •    Because woman are more emotional.

  • because most men don’t understand what it means to be men… -

  • We have a different set of hormones. Also that and knowing some of the things in life we are restricted from in the Bible. I mean, if you think about it, there’s lots of stuff against us.

    But I love being a woman nonetheless.

  • FOR ATTENTION AND SYMPATHY

    Posted 6/30/2006 at 6:00 PM by xx_ExtraordinaryMachine_xx

    Lol what an idiot.  It’s called a chemical imbalance, sweetheart.  People make depression up as easily as they make up a broken leg.  Besides, most people hide their depression.  Now how would that attract attention and sympathy?

    Not too smart, are ya?

  • cause we over think things too much.

  • horomones…..plain and simple

  • Girls are much more emotional than guys. I think an increase of sugar in foods also has something to do with it. Sugar and estrogen just don’t mix.

  • Sorry Drak, can’t agree with you this time.    Gotta go with ronlawhouston and his answer.

  • Yeah, I think it’s because we have to put up with men.
    Actually, I think that women tend to be more expressive about this kind of thing than men, and are more willing to talk about it than men.

  • Shut the fuck up.

  • I’m not depressed…that is not to say I never have been…the reason depends on the situation…stress, emotions, the hormones that cause those emotions…and I think previous commenters were right when they said that men get depressed too, but women show it more…

  • For lack of love.

    (Not me!)

  • Please do not generalize and say that every woman is depressed. It’s sort of demeaning.

    Actually, ment are just as depressed; women are more likely to share their feelings, though. Therefore, the problem is seen more in women because men can’t share their feeling as easily. This is why males tend to kill themselves more often than women.

  • Depression results from living in a patriarchal world run by old white republican assholes where women are treated like property, sex toys, or punching bags.

    Just thinking about it makes me depressed.

  • i am depressed, sometimes, cuz i think i am fat XDDD

  • the obvious answer is men

    but most of us aren’t depressed.  it’s just that the few who are really make a fucking melodrama out of it

  • I wonder if women are more predisposed to passing along that genetic trait to female offspring??!

  • i didn’t know they were, perhaps it’s just your perception. i thought all the women out there were doing good…well 75% of them at least :p

  • because they have more mood swings!

    With things like their time of the month, and pregnancies. 

    plus– all those men.

    psh.

  • I don’t know, I think my husband is depressed most of the time, but he would never admit it, there’s always a “reason”. Me, it’s hormones. As soon as my cycles regulate (for a few years until menopause) after nursing this baby, I won’t be as moody or depressed. For now, meds helps me!

  • i think it’s because women tend to drastically overthink things…and i know that when i think too much, i get depressed.

  • Because we’re told that we’re “too much,” and yet “not enough.”

  • It just happens. We can’t explain it any better than you. Somedays it just feels like the whole world is on your case.

  • Hormones.

    Its the fucking hormones.

    And men are wimpy jerks.

  • pms or they think they r fat.

  • Women are very emotional and don’t like to let go of things…They are more in-touch with their ‘inner selves’….

    XD

    Yeah, PMS.

  • Dude, you’d be depressed too if society said you had to look like Jessica Simpson to be beautiful!

  • CAUSE THEY BEEN THOUGH SHIT

  • It is a Fact that More men are clinically depressed.. Its the women you hear about because we are more talkative and more in touch with our bodies & feelings- To know something is wrong..

  • They were created with more emotional needs.  Different chemicals in the brain = more emotional instability. They aren’t refered to as the “weaker sex” because they have a hard time building muscle.

  • i’m really not gonna respond to that.

  • Because they know they shall never partake of what I have to offer them….

  • I am officially PMS-ing, so that’s my excuse.

  • men hide it better in my opinion

  • Because we allow ourselves to be.

  • women share their feelings and emotions more openly, I guess?

  • we’re all on our periods at the same time.

  • i feel a lil depressed because im pregnant, hormones are raging, and my man aint holding it down.

  • lol! Because there are men?! Because the weight of the world is on our shoulders?! Hmmmm … let me see …. pregnancy, hormones, varacous veins (can’t be bothered spellchecking!), hormones, PMT, hormones, childbirth, hormones, breastfeeding, hormones, cooking, hormones, cleaning, hormones, menopause …. oh, yeah … and hormones!!!! OK?!

  • because there are so many men.

  • maybe it has something to do with estrogen levels.

    here’s a theory: it’s said that talking lowers women’s stress and it can actually heighten men’s stress. and i think, because of the emtional wiring of a female, they get lonely easier, which means they may not feel they have anyone to talk to. so i think lonliness leads to depression in women more than it does in men.

  • Well, I have known at least three depressed adult males in my life, and they usually express depression not by being sad, but by being reactive, irritable, angry, clingy and/or distant,  and resistant to change.  Women’s depression expresses itself differently.  I don’t know about the numbers.

    Think about how many women are out there that have good reason to be depressed – all the women who have been sexually abused, raped, abandoned, left alone with kids for whatever reason….plus all the expectations that are placed on us to do it all – have careers, children, be the perfect little wifey, and still look like a Barbie doll.  We never feel like we’re good enough, and we’d like to be loved and cared for, not abused or left. 

  • I think it may be just a perception you have that alot of women are depressed. I think women are more open about talking about feelings and seeking help if they think they need it. I think men tend to hide it and consider it a weakness if they are depressed so they don’t talk about it.

  • Alright, I’m not a woman but I am female (you can say I’m a young woman). Women sometimes want to express their emotions, or maybe they are just going through a tough time (PMS or menupause).

  • uhm excusee me??

    thats a littlee stereo typical if u askk mee…

    women are not alwayss depressed.

    and if they aree it usually has something to do with men.

  • “lyke omg, guyz r depressed 2″

    No fucking duh. What, is there a medical statement that says guys DONT have depression? Everybody is sad to a point, but the person who made this post was just asking why WOMEN were depressed. He wasnt asking why MEN were.

    Wow. Im bitchy. Excuse that.

  • women have to deal with crap all day long. people try to walk all over women because they think it’s all right.

    and pms

  • Lack of chocolate?

  • Why the hell do people insist that people are depressed? I was apparently accused of that recently.. ? I guess my personality can come off that way sometimes? I have no idea. Anyways, I think you’re confussing depression with stress. Some people think I’m depressed because my husband is deployed again – yes it’s depressing that he’s gone, but I’m not depressed – I’m stressed out. And no medication can fix that – I don’t care what you say about meds – they’re simply a mood-alterer, it doesn’t cure or fix and problems you are going through, definetly not for me.

  • in my opinion .. and im not just saying this because i am a woman .. but in my opinion woman have alot more to deal with .. we deal with pms, pregnancy, childbirth, the grocery shopping, finding daycare for the kids, getting screwed over at the mechanics, and finding a job that pays woman as good as they do men .. there is alot that we woman do .. where as men dont have to deal with pms and childbirth and all that ..

    no offense to men, and again im not just saying this, but i dont think that woman get the full credit they deserve .. honestly

    - Desiree

  • Cultural expectations. I think men get depressed too. They just express and deal with  it differently, often even calling it by another name altogether.

  • True, lack of chocolate makes me depressed.

  • Probably something you did.

  • Because of the “cycle”.

  • maybe women are much more emotional

  • women are depressed because they think too much. Men usually don’t care, while women are naturally inclined to judge and think they’re being judged. of course, this doesn’t apply to every woman.

  • boys are stupid

  • i not depressed =) haha

  • Because I’m taken.  Sorry ladies.

  • I think it’s because women are more perceptive than men (sorry guys). We pick up on things that men don’t necessarily pick up on.

  • we think the worst

  • One word: PMS

    Okay, one acronym, so sue me.

  • the same thing i ve mentioned before

    they think too much…

  • Lots of things can cause depression. Huge amounts of stress is a trigger for me. I get so loaded with stuff to do that I begin to feel that I can’t do anything and I feel like a worthless failure because I can’t accomplish all my given tasks.

    I think a lot of the reason that women seem to be depressed more is because they’re overworked, and underappreciated. Its a social thing. Women are supposed to be nurturers, housekeepers, cooks, cleaning ladies, chauffeurs, and on top of that a large number of women have paying jobs. And they only thanks they get is maybe a “Nice job, honey.” And usually not that. Pile on top of that the pressure to look the way Hollywood, &tc. portrays beauty in a society that is having growing problems with obesity, and you have the perfect recipe for a complete emotional breakdown.

    So, I guess in a nutshell what I’m saying is, all these women you know that are feeling depressed, do or say something do brighten their day and make them feel appreciated. If more people would do that, there’d be a lot more happy, non-depressed women for sure!

  • Many guys have depression as well as ladies :) Guys are more private about it, I think.

  • hormones for one….well only for a few, there are so many factors to depression tho. there are some pretty bad cases because of body issues, self-given pressure to be perfect, and lack of friends or popularity. the media pressures young women(or really all women) to look perfect, have perfect teeth,skin,hair,nails, etc. and of corse men get depression too, its not just emotional women who get depressed. when things dont go right and you dont know how to fix it, there is a feeling of lonelyness and helplessness. then, well, we do express our feelings more…we dont have to prove to the guys that were more macho than they are,lol.

  • o yeah…and here another good point…MEN! men are some of the worst causes of depression,i swear….drama drama drama….not that ALL men are bad, but seriously, there are some really stupid guys out there.not you of corse, dan :)

  • hormones,men,bills, low self-esteem, other witchy women…..i could keep going…..:)

    guys tend to let the women worry…its our god-given job.

  • Because we deal with men.

  • Because no one takes women seriously and it’s depressing to be ignored.

  • How’d you like to bleed from your penis every month?

  • Emotions play into it. But women have been told that being beautiful or being in business is what will satisfy them. No woman is ever beautiful enough in her own eyes, so there is a self-worth issue there. And most women in business end up desiring to have a family and be at home more. Also, there are marital issues that play into things. Most men are incapable of giving the emotional intimacy their wives desire. Add to that all the women who have monsters on their backs about being abused or having abortions or some other huge life experience that is difficult to deal with and you have a lot of depressed women. What shall we do about this? Get drunk and forget about the worries until they return the next day, along with another problem- a hangover. That probably is not the best approach. How about encouraging women to seek emotional intimacy with God. By asking forgiveness through what Christ did, they can have a right relationship with God. Then they can tell God everything, they can be accepted not on the basis of their looks, and if they have God as a top priority, they will have joy and success (not necessarily financially, but in their hearts.) They could even connect emotionally with other women who are tight with God and create great friendships of accontability and emotional connection. Oooh, and their husbands could get right with God and then they could have a spiritual connection in their marriage making the mundane better and the bedroom more intimate. Yes, it seems that God can make things better and a little less depressing. I guess it depends on what you look at. If you look to yourself or look to your circumstances, life is depressing. If you look to God, their is love, joy, peace, and hope.

  • We express more and are more in touch with our emotions (generally speaking; I don’t mean to clump all males and females into different stereotypes!).

  • Men know how to contain it. There’s a difference in self-expression. Although the estrogen is subject to be apart of the reason too.

  • I’m not. Why do you think I’m depressed?! No one understands me! *Sob*

  • Probably because we don’t have the 49 hour days we need to complete our missions in life. Or possibly our husbands are not pulling their share. I think people abuse the depression thing now.

  • Being depressed gets attention. Duzn’t every girl wanna B the center of attention?!

  • I often wonder this very same thing.  I think all the answers are mulit-faceted enough to fill a book.

  • uhhhhh i think they got it ^^ life is just depressing

  • >  Abuse, misunderstanding, neglect, lonliness, isolation, hormones or the lack thereof, life and liberty or the lack thereof…. the circumstances and reasons are numerous and definitely of concern. We should all be more compassionate toward the depressed, and can only hope individually that everyone will remember that only they can change their circumstances…. Not much help, but you asked the question.

    Peace

  • r u saying that because they cry easily?  It’s a female characteristic. I will cry if I go to a sad movie, so I avoid them altogether. I am not depressed. I need to cry every now and then, just to feel better. It is cleansing.

  • Because they show it more then men. For example lets take sucides. Women are reported to wanting to do it, while men actually do go thru it. In other words women are more open to showing their emotions then men.

  • Women probably just show it differently, and it is more easily detected in them because of how they express themselves.  Or it could be that it’s not depression and they’re just really hormonal.

  • Dan…the reason it seems that women are always depressed is because they tend to be very vocal with their feelings. Their outlet is to tell you how they are sad or worried or depressed or bored. Men don’t tend to share their feelings perhaps because it would seem to femy or gay? Plus, if you think about it women do have a lot of shit they should be depressed about here are some:

    1. They deal with PMS.

    2. They do the same jobs for less money.

    3. They know that every man would lie to their face in order to get some.

    4. They usually have to cook and clean and do a gazillion other things on top of having a job.

    5. Can’t ever just innocently eat ice cream or a bannana without a guy turning into an erotic fantasy.

    6. Can’t ever just have a regular guy friend (unless they are REALLY ugly) that just wants a platonic relationship.

    7. They can’t just belch or fart or scratch themselves or pick the underwear out of their butt in public and have to wait until they are alone.

    8.  It’s that much hotter outside with all that hair!

    9. Have to undure the pain and suffering associated with Bras all day.

    10. Have to have matching shoes for every outfit, unlike two pairs of shoes that go with everything like men.

    11. Have to squeeze a 10 lbs baby through an opening designed for a quarter pound penis…ouch!

    12. Deal with men looking at their tits during job interviews.

    I could go on but I just realized I seriously could spend too much time on this. Laterz.

  • Men.

    And lest we forget, Children.

  • Men actually have more depression issues than women.. just don’t admit it…. or understand it as much…

  • MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN,MEN

  • cause life just plain SUCKS

  • because women long to be lovely and and loved… and often they don’t feel like they are.

  • well women have to go through alot. i’ve been there. its very confuzing in a women’s mind.

  • Because not only do we have to put up with men’s shit, but we have to work full time, keep the house in order, contend with the kids discipline and education and are expected to be “ready” whenever they are.

    Actually.  I know just as many men who suffer from depression as women.

  • It varies depending on the woman, but as a rule, women are a tad more emotional than men.  Also, society places a lot of pressures on women that are simply not placed on men.  The pressure to be thin and beautiful, especially, can be very difficult for many women.

  • Consider that about 40% are going through the ‘trend’ and about 20% of the rest are going through a(n) (extreme) mid-life crisis.

  • well, I suppose it depends on the age. A lot of older women are going through hormone shifts because of menopause. Younger women are going through a lot of life changes in their early 20s. Then, there are always menstrual cycles. Of course, women tend to be (and often are) more emotional than men, and every little thing can affect them, hence changing their mood, hence making them depressed.

    Or, it could always be that you know the moody ones.

  • i was depressed for a long, long time. i always ended up stuffing down my emotions, so they just came back in a more out of control form later on. i know many women who do this. women sometimes have chemical imbalances–low serotonin levels, etc.–and other physical problems that can cause depression. they are also good at internalizing issues and things that are said to them/about them. depression is a huge issue, especially for women. thanks for acknowledging that.

  • part of it depends on the person, part of it is because we voice our opinions louder…part of it is in your head….

    ok…so I do get depressed…well actualy I dont get depressed I just get mad….anger and frustration….and then I’m either realy quiet…or screaming at the top of my lungs with the music up realy loud….

    ya…I need to control anger…lol

    but still…not every woman’s depressed….and if they are…its probably just temporary…

  • Good question. Wish I had the answer.

  • in all honesty i have met just as many men who are depressed as women….i lived with one for 13 years

  • It’s just one of those things that comes with being a woman…. you gotta love all those hormones shooting through us…

  • maybe they are only depressed around u… jk lol

  • hmm not sure

  • Probably all of the pressure of the media.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *