October 28, 2006

Comments (175)

  • holy fracking $hi+; 2nds!! cool.

    still, no.

  • but in other ways no….

    I’m actually not sure..

  • That’s probably more than what Americans use.

  • Wow!  Wasn’t aware of that, but no, not if it keeps others from dying from AIDS

  • eh…

  • They’re used to prevent disease transmission all over the world, so definitely not.

  • Eh, how much could 9 billion condoms cost?  I bet you can buy them in boxes of a million at Costco for $24.99.

  • It doesn’t bother me, it’s trying to help save people.

  • doesn’t bother me.i live in Canada..lol.

  • Every time I heard the late Pope talk about the Church’s stand against condom use, it made my blood boil. How could anyone be that disillusioned?

  • OH MY GOD TOP 20!!!!!!!!!!!

  • anyway back to business…umm…Well…Why can’t other countries spend thier own money? Why does everyone have to have a free ride?

  • I think it’s a good idea as long as they’re being used….

  • ok, I think that I was excited about being first.. so I read the question and made my decision quickly.

    So, my real answer is no.

  • Kind of…a little bit…but if it really protects people from AIDS then not so much.

  • Bothers me that they seem to be getting laid more than I am.

  • It’s nice that my tax-dollars protect people that I don’t know from countries that I’ve never heard of.

  • No. They’re not my tax dollars.

    But even if I were American, I wouldn’t mind. If it helps make life a little better for others, it’s a small price to pay.

  • Yeah, it does, because where are my free condoms???

  • It helps people stay healthy, and not have as many kids and unplanned pregnancies.  Overall, those are both great things for the world at large.  Not using the condoms would cost much much more in consequences, so it’s a good investment.

  • i may not pay taxes, but it bothers me either way.

    a condom may protect us from having children, but it won’t protect us from STDs.

  • i don’t pay taxes! but it’s kind of stupid.

  • So many jokes

  • It bothers me a lot since they could be using that money for prevention of ABSTAINENCE. Nobody uses them anyway so they’re wasting our money just like they’re wasting their money look for a cure. THE CURE IS ABSTAINENCE FOR GOODNESS’ SAKE!

  • Excuse me- I mean prevention of AIDS.

  • No, not really.. If it is to help prevent and manage Aids.. than, why not?

  • Why should it bother me? It’s my world, anyway.

  • Yes it bothers me.
    What bothers me more though
    Is that the US is the biggest supporter of the UN
    And th UN has given billions of dollars in DIY abortion kits to be handed out in poorer countries
    And that they have lauded China in their abortion practices.

  • condos? how would condos stop aids?

  • hmm..awkward.

    at least it’s for a good cause

  • And in response to all who wonder why they don’t endorse abstinence as much as safe sex: it ain’t so simple, honeys.

  • Give me them condoms!

  • somewhat.

  • Yes, it bothers me that my government does something that I view as morally unacceptable with my tax dollars; however, that is the way it goes when you live in a democracy. Condom programs have not been shown to prevent AIDS or teenage pregnancy; abstance has been proven effective. The adds stating that condoms protect from STDs is true for most STDs, but not for all which is certainly not the message that condom advocates are communicating.

  • no.. aids needs to be stopped

  • Yeah…I may be wrong, but I thought I read somewhere that condoms don’t protect against AIDS. I could be wrong, though.

  • Uh… yeah. I suppose…
    At least we know other countries are having safe sex… I guess.
    Better than tax money being used to send bombs or continue the war in Iraq I guess though.

  • No, contributing to the prevention of the transmission of dangerous STDs and incurable, terminal viruses like AIDS in does not bother me at all.

  • If it prevents AIDS it’s okay for me. I also think we should find other ways of preventing AIDS, like a long-term cure so rape victims or people who don’t get our handouts can prevent AIDS but then again if they aren’t getting our condom handouts they’re probably not getting the treatment either.

  • uhm…………………………………….wow……… stupid america

  • If we have enough condoms to hand out to everyone, then why do we have the highest rate of teen pregnancy in the world? Out of approximately 45 million abortions a year, the US is accountable for about 1.5 million. Who are these condoms helping?

  • Since you are the question guy.
    Maybe you have the answer.

    WHAT’S SO GREAT ABOUT HALLOWEEN.

  • I’m bothered with the fact of my state paying for something called VDOT (Virginia Department of Transportation)…the amount wasted in tax-dollars for a project that a state like Wisconsin could handle in two weeks is taking us almost 10 years to complete (which is just really fucking sad)

  • It doesn’t bother me that my parent’s tax dollars are being spent on condoms.

    I guess its for a good cause, even though it’s stupid, and as long as it isn’t my money, I’m fine. 

  • No.  I am for preventing disease and pregnancies.  I wish more people used them.  You know how little that is compared to how much we spend in Iraq??

  • unfortunately, although the intention is good, condoms dont protect us from AIDS… so its a waste of money, and yes that bothers me…

  • Absolutely not.

    Educating the uneducated is the only way to stop it, and what good is knowing about safe sex and not being able to afford it?

  • I want to say yes, but then I consider other factors, and I don’t know.

  • I don’t pay taxes, so I don’t really care.

  • sort of, because condoms really don’t protect you from AIDS. that’s what i was always taught in health class anyway. i’m too lazy to google it.

    i really don’t care though because i don’t pay taxes.

  • The fact that condoms exist bothers me, so you can imagine my position on this…

  • ROFL ROFL I SMELL A BIT OF HYPOCRISY.

    Over the last year, 400 million condoms were donated. Right? Right. I have no idea how much money that actually is, but at least it’s for a GOOD CAUSE.

    Now, let’s talk about the war a bit. In the last three to four years, we’ve spent 378 billion dollars on it. Now, that’s about.. 108 billion a year.

    Now, unless a condom costs 270 dollars, it’s a bit more.

    Now, of course, a great WAR should cost LOTS more than this cause, that’s what you’re all gonna tell me. Except I’m highly against the war so that won’t prove anything to me :]

    Okay, done ranting.

  • yes; abstinence (outside of marriage) costs a lot less and is preventative of all issues concerned!

  • Sorta.

    It is sad because countries might think we’re a little “too promiscuous”.

  • No, the aids problem is out of control…at least we’re doing something even if it may cost alot of money; there are lot of things that cost alot more money that i don’t agree with…but we won’t get into that.

  • If they’ve been doing it over the past two decades it’s pretty evident that it hasn’t helped prevent the spread of AIDS.

  • I’m not crazy about it.

  • Yep, it bothers me. Abstinence is the only method of birth control I support. Children are not merely “consequences”… they’re people, and they’re blessings.

  • Wtf.
    And I thought our taxes were being put to somewhat good use, like for education or something.

  • Not nearly as much as it does that my tax dollars are being spent in a sand box named “Iraq”..for a “cause” that was a blatant lie that most in the country could see through and others at first supported…….not even close to as nearly…not even close.  Fighting AIDS is a good thing.  Educating people on safe sex and giving them condoms is a worthy cause……starting a war within a country that had nothing to do with 9/11 while the man who attacked my NY still roams free was/always has been just plain LUDICROUS!

  • Doesn’t bother me one bit. In fact if they wrap me in one I’ll deliver it personally.

  • NOT AT ALL! They won’t use them if they don’t have them…

  • wow…

    I never knew…

    I am not sure what I think of this…

  • Condoms help protect against most STDs, but they are not completely affective. STDs can still be transmitted as can AIDS, just like people who use condoms can still get pregnant. Condoms also have to be stored properly to make sure that they are in their most affective state. Heat weakens the latex significantly (even renders them useless, according to my doctor). How many of these poor people would be able to store them the right way? And even if they did…AIDS could still be transmitted.

    Personally, I think abstinence is the best way to go. Why take the risk of getting such a deadly disease? Is the pleasure worth your life? It is everyone’s personal choice though, I guess.

    And another thought…AIDS is often transferred through rape in foreign countries. Because the person doing the rape is already inconsiderate and violating the other person’s well being, do you seriously think they’d take the time to put on a condom even if you gave it to them for free? I highly doubt it. I’d rather we be sending foreign countries food or medicine if we’re going to be sending them things.

  • So yes, it bothers me

  • Wow – I had no idea – I guess it bothers me a little but then with world population booming like it is – somebody’s gotta do it LOL

  • weird

  • That’s kinda crazy…they won’t stop AIDS…

  • That’s really stupid, being that condoms are not 100% guaranteed into protecting AIDS. Plus, it would be better to teach abstinance, being that that would help get rid of AIDS a lot quicker then risking transmitting AIDS.

    So I refuse to pay my taxes for that.

  • nope, helps aids from spreading =) or over populate the world.

  • I don’t pay taxes yet, but I don’t care.

  • Not if they are defective.

  • whats the cost of a condom vs health care for someone with AIDS.

    I’ll save the life over the dollar.

  • Kiddies, you go to a normal high school and tell them all the benefits of abstinence and all the deadly horrible stories of people who got diseases from sex, you really think they’re gonna wait for marriage? Not even close. No matter what happens in the world, teenagers are gonna have sex, no matter what. There’s only a select few who can actually control themselves and practice abstinence. But the majority won’t, so for those that are going to have sex anyways, would you rather them have unprotected or protected sex?

  • How about if we put a surprise in everyone. Like Crackher Jacks. A secret decoder ring at the top of every one.

  • Yes it does!  Why should my hard earned money go to support something like that?

  • Yes, no. I don’t know.

  • “According to a 2001 report by the National Institutes of Health, correct and consistent use of latex condoms reduces the risk of HIV/AIDS transmission by approximately 85% relative to risk when unprotected.”

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Condoms#In_preventing_STDs

  • No. There’s another 8 million a year not going to schools that desperately need funding.

    a 12 pack costs around 5 bucks.

    400,000,000 condoms / 12 condoms per pack = 33,333,333.33 packs

    33,333,333 * $5 = $166,666,666.67

    $166,666,666.67 / 20 years = $8,333,333.33 per year.

  • sick

  • Thats alot of money…

  • It doesnt bother me at all

  • it only bothers me if they’re made in a third world company, brought over to the US, the prices jacked up for our government, then redispensed. I’ve paid tax dollars for stupider things, though.

  • No, we give turkey a billion dollars a year, just cause! i dont think those condoms are that costly. Its not really a big deal, plus in the dry season the natives can use them to store water!

  • Hm… depends are they flavored? If so then yes i have a problem, other countries are getting better quality stuff then i am!

  • umm.. thats weird..??

  • Yes, definitely. 

  • well, it would probably only bother you if you were xenophobic, ignorant, imperialistic and had no perspective about what how the things that happen in other countries will sooner or later reverberate in our own.

    so, of course it doesn’t bother me.

  • Yeah; especially because I’m being taxed without representation!

  • Not at all.  I think it is a great idea. 

  • Well, I don’t pay taxes because I’m only 13, but if I did pay taxes, it would probably bother me a little, lol.

                                                                                                                                  -KrIsTiN-

  • no its for a good reason

  • Yes, it does, even though I dont’ pay taxes. I don’t think it’s wrong, but I think condoms solve the sympton of the problem (and sometimes encourage the problem) rather than solving the problem itself.

  • US administration has been screwing US with no lubrication

  • I don’t like condoms.

    My reason?

    If I wanna make love, I don’t want to feel rubber inside me.

    which means, I will really wait for the person I love to do it with and not just anyone.

  • The whole tax issue should not bother you! Remember you elect who decides how your taxes are spent! If you dont like that your taxes are being spent elsewhere then elect people who will only use it to buy condoms for you.

  • But for those who are sexually active, ah well…condoms are for you.

  • aids still spreads anyway… condoms dont always help. this umm, how to say it, pisses me off! :D

  • I guess nobody can say that we don’t give a f**k!

  • Yes, but I think it’s better that then people getting infected with AIDS, since, let’s face it, people aren’t going to stop and abstain any time soon….or ever.

  • no. it is possible that someone could decide to use a condom and it could save their life, and if it saves even one life then I think it is worthwhile.

  • If it helps against AIDS, I guess it’s okay…

  • Think of the energy that we maybe could harness from all of this action. Damn the government must be thinking ahead. I can see it all now. All of these foreigners must be fueling a missile somewhere.
     
    Is it just me or doesn’t it give you a warm feeling knowing someone is getting laid almost always with a US condom.
     
    Now I am just getting depressed that I am not helping out much.

  • Hell no!! IN fact, let’s get more and spread ‘em around here!!

  • so they’re dirt-poor in other countries… they’re doing what they can afford to do..

    at least it’s safely..

    but come on…. what about food?

  • THEY should be giving them out to ALL THE STUPID PEOPLE here in the United States first…
    Our country is pretty screwed up and we could use less people…

  • AHH! YES

  • If that’s really the best way, then okay.

  • yes.

  • Let’s see…

    Hammer $290.00 some odd dollars – government purchase.

    Condom – 5 cents

    Saving a life of some woman who does  not have protection except for this little square package?! 

    Priceless.

  • wow i never knew this..  but that is waste of soo much money.. 

    the condom corp must be making so much money and must be supporting these presidents and gov officials.

    j

  • i don’t get it..  how do you post at 3:50 pm.  yet the first post is at 3:47  4 min before you’ve post it?  there must be some thing to this!

    haha

    jk

    j

  • We saw this Gummy Bear Condom Ad PIC in Germany.”Don’t forget the rubber, darling.”
    http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel/Europe/Germany/Local_Customs-Germany-BR-1.html

  • … yeah. A little.

  • why?  does it bother you?  would you rather spend your tax dollars on bombs?  suck my big toe.

  • not a bit.

    sex all around!

    -Jacob

  • No. Its helping others =]

  • Yes. Let them spend their own money on condoms.

    What they don’t have money to spend on condoms?

    There are other ways to prevent pregnancy and AIDS that don’t require condoms.

    But those countries are too lazy to do those kinds of things. Nope. They want their gimmie condoms.

    Kind of disturbing when you think about it. More than 50% of my taxes go to pay for people who don’t want to work, then there is a chunk of my dough going to people in foreign countries who want a free supply of rubbers.

    And it doesn’t even look the program works. AIDS is spreading like wildfire all because people can’t take a little responsibility for themselves.

  • No. Our tax dollars are spent on a lot of things many of us will never fathom. At least the condoms are going to a good cause. We can’t stop the people over there from raping, from being adulterous, but we can help somewhat slow the spread of disease.

  • There can get condoms cheaper from elsewhere to prevent AIDS (which crosses all boarders). 

    The real issue here is economic.  It’s not a good sign that the American Government has to support businesses and chooses to do so in a short-sighted stop gap measure (downward spiral).

  • It bothers me a whole lot more than a little bit
    Instead of sending condoms and promoting “safe sex”,
    ((like there is such a thing..))
    we should be educating people on the risks and diseases,
    The only truly “safe” way is abstinence,
    if they were using that tax money for something really beneficial like that,
    I would have no problem with it

  • Haha, someone’s post made me laugh.
    Something about not being able to prevent rape,
    but at least we can help the STD’s from spreading.

    Yeah, right.
    Like a rapist is going to give a rip about wearing a condom or not?
    Give me a break

  • Hey there, Free Music Codes For Your Xanga!

    Just go to

    http://www.crazybeatz.com

    Enjoy!

  • What makes me laugh are people who read more into a comment than what is written and then feel the need to make a snarky retort.
    Anyway..
    Two-thirds of the 40 million people with HIV/AIDS live in Africa and 95% of all the people who have HIV/AIDS live in a developing country. They are living in an entirely different world over there. A world where women are little more than possessions. A world of uncontrollable promiscuity. A world of “sugar daddies”, “widow inheritance”, “panic breeding”, etc… A world of little education. And yes, we do need to teach them about AIDS, but that can only do so much! They will still continue to have sex, as in some African populations, multiple sexual partners is expected as part of cultural expression. Again, different world! Sending free condoms over there is the best shot we have at slowing the spread. And no, I agree, we can’t force someone to use a condom who doesn’t want to, but we can’t just turn a blind eye either.

  • sure, why does the u. s . help out everyone?

  • are you f***in serious? holy crap we should have used that money on something for the country or our frickin education system. i mean we have enough problems let the other countries solve there own.

    “you can’t help anyone without helping yourself first.”
    - my dad

  • Not if it can help end (or at least reduce) the AIDS pandemic.

  • um… since condoms do very little, if anything, to protect against disease transmission, yes.  That bothers me quite a bit.  If we’re trying to tell people that a little balloon will keep them and their children from dying, and they die anyway… no.  That’s not good.

  • Yeah, just a bit (a lot)…

  • No, it doesn’t bother me– we need to understand that the US consists of a huge mix of people from around the world. If we don’t protect those countries, we’re not protecting ourselves.

  • o_o I’m not old enough to pay taxes…But that’s just…weird, I guess?

  • SHOCKED! WOW…I GUESS NOT SINCE THEY HAVE ALREADY DETERMINED THAT AIDS DIDN’T START HERE!

  • HOW COME I HAVEN’T GOT ANY!?!?!

  • If they’re being used to stop the spread of disease in third-world countries, and to prevent more children from being born into emaciating, suffering poverty, then I don’t mind.

  • Yeah, I’d have to say that steams me a little. And to think that here in the U.S. condoms are one of the top things that are shoplifted out of stores everyday—go figure?!

  • I had no idea!
    And yeah, it kinda bothers me. So much help is needed right here, in the US. And not just with condoms.

  • no, in fact, I’m encouraged. 

  • Condoms are vital in stopping the spread of most STDs through sex. There are too many diseases running rampant, and the world is overpopulate. I think it’s a good investment.

  • Yeah. It’s disgusting.

  • Heehee, I may have used a few of them (I live in South-Africa) and not for the “safe sex” use either. To think the U.S. Government is nice enough to buy me water balloons!

  • “a condom may protect us from having children, but it won’t protect us from STDs.”
    actually.. they do.

    “I don’t pay taxes, so I don’t really care.”
    this is the kind of mindset that leads to our generation being called indifferent and ignorant. just because an issue doesnt affect you[r pocketbook] personally, doesn’t mean you can turn a blind eye on it.

  • i don’t mind in the least.
    this is much more of a humanitarian effort than bush’s war on iraq.
    plus, the point isn’t to express your religious/moralistic tendencies. unprotected sex WILL happen, and it WILL affect the world population. people DO need to be educated on ways to protect themselves.

  • While I don’t live in the USA, I hope that my government gives condoms to help stem AIDS.

    I am terrified by the amount of people who posted misinformation on condoms in their comments. Condoms *do* help prevent most STIs, including AIDS.

    Everyone that’s upset about not getting free condoms, have you tried to find free ones? Places like Planned Parenthood normally have some. We have 3 places just at my University that give out free condoms, and at least 3 more in the community.

    Abstinence is not the solution. Unfortunately, I cannot remember the names of the researchers, but studies have been done that found that a lot of teenagers in the US who make abstinence pledges engage in more anal sex than those who don’t because they consider it not breaking their pledges. Anal sex is risker than vaginal sex! There was a stat about condom use as well that said that those who did abstinace programs also used condoms less because the program led them to believe that condoms are ineffective–an absolute lie!

  • I don’t pay taxes, but I think that that’s way too many condoms to buy, it’s unnessecary. Use the taxes money for something a little more helpful. Don’t get me wrong, giving condoms to other countries is a good idea to prevent AIDS and educate people, but it’s also not the only issue we need to work on…

  • I don’t have a problem with giving countries free condoms  but what bothers me is we are getting screwed and the government will not help us but we will give tons of free money to a country that would like to see us dead. I just can’t understand the logic of it all.  Can anyone explain to me the theory in sending food and clothes and yes money when your own people ae homeless and some might very well starve and freeze with the upcomming winter.  Send the condoms and make sure they know how to use them, and not to cover there rifle barrels in bad weather.  The world is overpopulated as it is.

  • No, it doesn’t bother me.

  • I don’t pay taxes….

    Why don’t they get their own? I mean, the US seems to need the money for other problems. To pay of debt, maybe?

  • yeah. if the government is going to send something over there why not education instead of condoms.tell those people with aids to quit making babies and quit being so promiscuous

  • Wow… that’s a sad waste of money when they’re not very effective!

  • 400 million condoms. That’s 400 million unwanted pregnancies avoided and who knows how many AIDS cases avoided?

    Condoms DO protect against STD’s.

    I think its far more worth it than money to provide weapons to foreign countries.

  • no because I’m not from da usa but I think that’s good coz it preventing aids

  • Ummm…yes, considering that every condom warns that it is not a sufficient form of AIDS prevention…

    Cowboy

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *