October 29, 2006

  • Halloween and Steve Irwin

    Steve Irwin Halloween costumes are apparently one of the more popular costumes for this year.

    Apparently people are buying out the costumes and buying stingrays.  The Living Planet Aquarium reported that they sold out of plastic stingrays because customers said they were trying to make Steve Irwin bloody costumes.

    South Park received criticism for showing a bloody Steve Irwin with a stingray hanging out of him.

    Do you think Steve Irwin would be laughing at all of this attention surrounding his death?      

         

Comments (153)

  • I would think so… I don’t think even he expected he would die from a stingray of all things

  • My cousin is making one.

  • Possibly, but ugh.

  • it makes me feel bad for his wife an dkids. they’ve recently lost somebody dear to them and the public are dressing up as him for hallowe’en? it’s a mockery.

    at least he hasn’t been forgotten.

  • He might be. But I wonder how his family feels?

  • unless like people were trying to use it to save animals, er somethin’

  • Probably, but I do feel bad for his family. This must be a horrible thing to go through.

  • I have no clue.

    Anything is possible but it is in poor taste.

  • I bet he’d get a kick out of it.

    OMG TOP TEN!

  • I saw that episode….it was shocking. Im not sure what else to say about it…ultimately it was wrong but what can you do?

  • Just kidding. Top Fifteen

  • When you are a celebrity, you have to be able to laugh at yourself – no matter how bad things get. It isn’t Steve that I would be concerned with though.

    I hope his family can have a sense of humor around this.

  • no

  • If not then he can’t have had much fun during life. If people made fun of the way I died, I’d laugh.
    Dr. Carasco

  • yea…why not?! XD

  • I have to agree with the above commenters that the people I feel the worst for are his wife and kids. It’s hard enough to lose someone without all the attention as a constant reminder of how he passed.

  • Probably. He was a generally good-natured man. Always had a smile. He made a HUGE impact in the short time he was here. I’m pretty positive he didn’t want to die. But if he had to, I’m sure he’s pleased with the way it happened and therefore, the attention to his cause..

  • I dunno what Steve would think but from personal experience, sometimes its better to laught at that which isnt funny than to let it cave in on you…so I dont see anything wrong with it as long as its not being flaunted in front of his wife and kids like Steve was dumb or something.

  • i think he would think its funny if he had survived maybe but now that he is dead he might be looking down at us hoping and praying his family doesnt see it.

  • Even if he would does that make it right for us to make light of his demise?

  • people can been so insensitive and heartless

  • Its horrible what the public is doing. Steve was a husband and father and I’m sure it is not helping their pain to see people dressed as him for Halloween or the recent south park episode.

  • He had a pretty good sense of humor. I would think he’d laugh it off.

  • I really don’t know. I’d hope one could laugh at their own death… But what about his family?

  • I don’t know.. If I were stabbed to death, I imagine all the costumes with knives sticking out of them might piss me off.

  • Does your wife know you pray for help before you eat!!!!!!! :P

  • I dunno. But either way that’s just sick. I didn’t even particularly like the guy, but htat’s just sick.

  • yes, because he seemed like a lighthearted guy.

    somebody from Comedy Central said, “It has offended people in the past and probably will again. Regular watchers would not be shocked.” that’s so true. if you don’t like it, just don’t watch it.

  • Probably. I think people should wait awhile before they start making fun of Steve Irwin again.

  • um no, meanest thing EVER!! how would you feel if people dressed up like you when you were DYING?!?!

  • It is definitely insensitive, but I doubt those costumes are nearly as possible in Australia. Steve’s wife and kids aren’t in America, so they hopefully won’t be subjected to them.

    I would also like to point out that this is not the first time that insensitive Halloween costumes have been made.

  • I don’t know. It’s probably hard on his family, and he probably wouldn’t like that aspect of it.

    What’s wrong with just going as Steve Irwin, sans stingray? He was still a character!

  • It’s disgusting, is what it is.  If he wasn’t Steve Irvin, would people dress up as him?  Probably not. 

  • Who knows? I wouldn’t like it though!

  • That’s absolutely horrible. What a nightmare.

  • If it were ME, I would not be laughing.. I would want my life to count a lot more than that.

  • Probably, but it’s still rather tasteless.

  • if a death doesn’t affect other ppl directly, it can be funny. yet if it’s THEIR loved one they think the whole world should bow before their suffering. just makes me sick. 

  • It’s not funny in my opinion.  Pete.

  • I think, after death, you get a sense of humor about these sort of things.

  • That’s a little sick. I mean, the guy left a wife and kid. But maybe he’d have a sense of humor about it.

  • he’s dead, how can he laugh? or get angry for that manner

  • LOL THAT IS FUNNY.

  • yes, he had a good sense of humor…

  • I don’t know him or his family so I can’t answer that question. What would Steve think about really stupid humor, done in very bad taste? He was a guy, he might like it, one never knows.

  • our radio station has an “attack on all stingrays” going. needless to say PETA is pissed. but it’s pretty funny.

    i’m not really sure how steve would feel. not sure what kinda guy he was.

  • no. people are weird.

  • I think it’s sad people are imitating his death….

  • It just shows how much respect we have for life. Why don’t we dress up as dead american soldiers? It just shows how hypocritical we really are. It’s not the dead soldiers we give a rip about. It’s politics. How about dressing up as a liberal with a bleeding heart?

  • I bet nobody in Australia is laughing. He was a hero.

  • As long as they respect him, I think it’s fine. Steve liked to play practical jokes anyway. But I think they should have waited longer – some people are still in mourning, and it is only funny when it is not sad anymore (when they have moved on)

  • Maybe.. He was a pretty fun guy.. ..but I think it’s stupid….I Loved Steve! He was awesome!!

  • No. People should be praying for his soul; that he may rest in peace. They’re making a mockery of him.

  • Yes he would. Crikey

  • People really have no tact at all.

    Steve seemed to have a great sense of humor, but he also had a crazy love for his family. I wonder how they feel about the whole thing.

  • That’s perfectly awful…

  • why would he be laughing? as daughteroftheking said, it’s insensitive and heartless and i can’t believe people are actually making fun of this

  • No, its morbid.

  • yeah but wth. he has a wife? kids?

  • That’s completely disrespectful.

    And I don’t really know if he’d be laughing or not.
    I bet he never saw it coming…

  • If I were Steve Irwin, I’d be laughing.

    But it is insensitive.

  • Yes, but I think it is disrespectful because of the family that is still here…

  • well i hate that south park has done that….its very disrespectful and mean…..he has died but y would ppl be laughing about that???

    i think it has bad taste!!!

  • I’d get a kick out of it if it were me. Would he? Maybe. Some people take death pretty seriously!

    Haha, feel bad for his family though.

  • Wow, that’s so wrong. Bloody Steve Irwin costumes?

    His family’s probably upset at the idea- trivializing his death and all. That’s gotta hurt. But you know, I think Steve’d laugh about it.

    Still wrong though.

  • yes, but that doesn’t make it funny or right

  • We’ve got a sick sense of humor.

  •  No I don’t think so. That is extremely disrespectful and I don’t know even he would find it funny.

  • i doubt it… something somewhere tells me this isnt right… but who am i to tell you all that?

  • i don’t think we could actually tell that…

    i absolutely love Steve Irwin. i’m actually imitating him in a skit for my drama class.
    i have pictures on myspace with a tribute to him and stuff.

    but the bottom line is. for all the people who love him, there are going to be people who disrespect him.
    but they’re all over the world. so there’s no one to stop them.
    it’s just frown’d upon.
    =(
    but maybe steve irwin has a great sense of humor, and is just laughing along. he was a pretty mellow guy.

  • bad taste

  • no way, thats just not right

  • That’s in such poor taste. All of it. People disgust me.

  • It’s horrible what people will do.

  • i think irwin himself would be laughing but i don’t think anyone in his family would. or the general public for that matter

  • probably not but thats a stupid costume no offense to thoes who do want to do that

  • I think this shows how humor can be confused with stupidity. I can’t imagine that anyone would find this funny, or ignore the grief of a family.

  • If it was me, I’d be laughing so hard I’d suffocate.

  • No, you should never laugh at death, or Death will swing by and give you something to laugh at.

  • prolly but i dont think that matters at this point.

  • of course he’d be laughing

  • cha i bet he’s up in heaven luaghing so hard

    xX-Nicole-Xx

  • lol i would. i’d be dead, so why would i really mind?

    that’s not very considerate of his family and such tho

  • Do people think about this man’s family? He had little kids for heaven’s sakes!

    I hate halloween and am heartily glad it has never really taken off in Australia.

    Shalom!

  • Maybe, but then again he might just be disgusted.

  • no, just rethinking his death, I mean if it were of sickness or old age then we wouldn’t be doing this…

  • Hell yeah, mate.

  • Steve has a right to laugh at his death

    we don’t

  • No, its very sad and people want to make money off of his death.  I could understand a regular costume but not with a sting ray, blood and any other mess.

    Steve would be crying.

  • No way, that is just pathetic!!!!

  • He seemed like a pretty easy-going guy.  I bet he’d take it in stride, and find it amusing.  At least people are remembering him.  It’s a bit of an honor to be such a hugely popular halloween costume.

  • i don’t think he likes attention…i think he just likes to teach people

  • ughh….

    Again, the guy deserves a Darwin Award.  I am surprised he didn’t die sooner.

    I’ll be glad when people stop talking about his death not because of his family or any other sappy ass reason, just because he made dumb decisions and he died because of it. He is going to get made fun of because he was a celebrity.  If he weren’t everyone else would be talking about how stupid he was.

  • nope.
    people are rude.

  • Not sure. Maybe he’d laugh. But it’s really mean that people are doing this. I mean, does the world have to be reminded that this wonderful guy is dead?

  • He probably would.

    It’s disgusting though. A bloody Steve Irwin costume … that’s SO tasteless.

  • Yeah. Why not.

    People have to remember, South Park makes fun of anything, even itself (Cartoon Wars). Not making fun of Steve Irwin would be completely out of character and make it look like they’re favoring S.I. Then people will be angry that something like the Holocoust and Hitler are made fun of and not Steve Irwin. Honestly, why should he get special treatment?

  • That’s gross

    I don’t know,
    assuming he was saved and is living with Jesus, I don’t think he’d really care
    if you assume otherwise, I’d think not

  • I’d laugh if it was me…hahahaha…

  • I bet its the funniest thing ever to him.

  • Ya’ know, I think he might have wondered how he was going to go and maybe even joked about it with his wife, but let’s face it, this was unexpected, too soon, and too much to take or make light of.

  • so tasteless

  • i think he would find it amusing that people would dress up to imitate him.  i don’t think he would find the stingray-with-bloody-tail-spike-still-embedded-in-his-chest part funny > he was always careful to give all animals their dignity.  i think his concern would be for the animal more than even for himself… and of course he would find it insensitive to his family in its entirety.

    now, if people just wore his uniform and went around saying “crikey, mate, ain’t she gorgeous?” that would be fine…

  • I really don’t know. Steve Irwin was a pretty good-natured person, but I mean, how good-natured can you be about people making a mockery out of you & how you died? I feel bad for his wife & kids, too. They just lost someone very close to them & people are making a joke out of it. It’s not right.

  • I’ll bet he would! (I know I would be laughing….)

  •  > I don’t think he regrets anything at this point, but there are some insensitive folks out there.

    Peace

  • Crikey yes!

    He was an optimist and loved life. A laugh at anyone’s expense, even his own, was always well received by Steve.

    Do you think a guy who wrestled saltwater crocs would be affected by any crap dished up by the wankers who write South Park?

    Crikey mate!

  • he had a good sense of humor, but no, i don’t think he would be laughing.

  • Oh, he’s a light-hreated guy.  I don’t think he’d mind.

    Besides, we all miss him.  He was a weird guy, but overall a great man.

  • Dunno.  But I am sure his family will not appreciate these.

  • I feel bad for his family. He would be laughing at that, I truly believe.

  • i think he’d be laughing. hell, if i were steve irwin, i would.

    i mean, dumbasses everywhere are spending money on plastic stingrays.

  • i can’t even believe his death has caused this big of an impact.

    i hadn’t even heard anybody talk about him for years until he died.

    he’s gotten a cult following from his death!

  • No , I don’t think he would I think he would be upset…

  • no, but i am…its just so ironic

  • no he wouldn’t. that’s cruel…

  • I think he would be laughing his ass off….never once did you ever see him get bent out of shape…even when a croc was chomping at him!

  • Yes, I think he would.
    But for Terri and the kids, that’s just plain insensitive.

  • Not amusing – no. Morbid.

  • Lol, it’s funny in a way, but sad in another. I think he’s flattered that people  remember him(and he did have a sense of humor) but I think he misses his family right now.

  • Its not what steve would think about it cause he would care about how his family would handle it and if it hurts his famliy, itd hurt him.

  • People dressing up as Steve Irwin is one thing because it would be an act of respect to his memory, and even if you just hold a stingray, that’s not bad either, but making a mock of his death is exactly that, a mockery. You ARE making fun of him.

  • I dunno but that’s totally disrespectful. Why would you even think of doing that, sometimes people are such bastards.

  • He seemed like a good natured guy, I think so, yeah.

  • no, he would not. if it were me, i would be furious

  • random comment here i always see your site on the featured contents list yet i’ve never came and saw it so this time i just thought i would finally pay your site a visit! Its gotta be the best xanga site ever to be on featured content as much as you are! anywho to answer the above question no i don’t think Steve Irwin would find it funny that we laugh at this.

    anywho

    Jessica

  • Does he seem like he would? I really wouldn’t know because I was too annoyed with his voice to watch his show.

  • He might laugh but that’s a pretty bullshit way to treat his family.

  • poor steve. well probably not everyone will understand this but i bet his family is deeply disgusted by this situation. =[

  • i feel for the fam, and it’s sad he died…but he got what was coming to him.  on the other hand, i heard one guy dressed as a yankee baseball player and had a propellerl sticking out of him–THAT is going too far!

  • Its kinda sad and disrespectful to the family so soon after his death. But to be honest the kind of character he was he proably would be laughing. :-p

  • This is wrong and cruel! Do you really think that terry wants to take her kids trick or treating so that they can see their dad in pain? Steve Irwin was a great guy and should not be portrayed as a symbol of comedy!

  • As sick and demented as it sounds, society does make light of tragadies. That’s just how it is. We are gonna have to deal with it and move on. People die everyday and people are going to do what they want regardless. So, why dwell on the fact that on whether or not someone is making fun. Let them and move on with your lives. Life is too short to not live each day to the fullest because you never know. Steve didn’t. Love it, hate it oh well… Sorry. That’s life. It’s not always always Disneyland and lollipops. It’s life (and death). I’m not being mean or insensitive but, it is what it is.

  • i wouldn’t be, but thats me.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *