October 30, 2006

Comments (129)

  • that’s bizarre

  • No way! I’d still trust myself more. Not that I don’t trust men…

  • If they can’t remember a condom, why would they remember a pill?

  • That’s bizarre.

  • hmm…doubt it…

  • i think they will be more reliable than some women. 

  • “it’s about time!!

  • please, like any asshole would be stupid enough like a bitch, to trick the partner into becoming pregnant.

  • I wouldn’t trust a man to do that at all.  Each person should take responsibilty when it comes to birth control. 

  • i think, as with most methods, you should double up. both take it. take it and do the condom, too. or all three, for the safest bet!

  • this is all well and good

    but no… men will forget way easier than women.. or just be like Whoops i forgot.. theres no negative downside to them forgetting. they won’t be the pregnant one

  • I don’t think most women will trust most men to do anything mature or responsible.

  • Please let it cure male PMS.  Lord knows they do it too. 

    I don’t know… do all men trust their woman to take the Pill like they’re supposed to?  I guess for men it’s slightly less important, since they don’t get the ramifications of unprotected sex quite like a woman can, but I’d still use other protection (like you’re supposed to to prevent against STDs and failure of something).

  • Top 25?

    Pills for men… lawl

  • Ha I don’tknow if I’d trust that pill.  I’d still take the pill ..even if the man I was sleeping with was taking it too.  When females are on the pill it’s different though… it affects their body alot more so they’ll remember to take it.. I think it would be harder for men to remember.

  • Well it’s just another barrier to un-planned parenthood…

    As a guy I would definitely take it…and make sure my partner took the pill…and oh…I’d still use a condom…call me Mr. Safety but…well safety first.

    Does a woman trust a guy?  Hmmm, I would hope before you have sex with someone you trust them at least a little bit….

    Difficult question to answer.

  • The male pill…haha, I needed a good laugh tonight. Thanks, =D

  • I wouldn’t expose myself to potential STDs.

  • wait, will it prevent men from becoming pregent? that doesn’t make sense… I guess it makes them steril? Thne how is he suposed to reproduce?

  • I wouldn’t take it unless I was sure my “GUYS” weren’t being killed off.

  • I like this, evens out the playing feild. Men are responsible too!

  • Interesting! I guess if a woman doesn’t have enough love to trust the guy, she should ask herself why she is having sex with him.

  • Women have about the same chance of trusting a guy to be taking his pill as a man does in trusting a woman to be taking hers. If you can’t trust the male in question, guess what? You shouldn’t be having sex with him!

  • you won’t hear of me ending my prescription for alesse…….

  • Depends on whether or not the men feel like paying child support for the next 18 years.

  • I don’t understand.. would they not be able to ejaculate fully?
    the pill does nothing but benefit me and yet I wonder if it would hinder the sexual experience for them?

  • Mmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeehhhhhhhh………..

  • I only fuck pregnant chicks. That’s my birth control.

  • I know my husband would take them ON TIME- EVERYDAY! Heeee- In fact honestly he is looking to get the big snip…soon!
    XoxoxoX

    Jane

  • first im not sure if i trust the pill
    thats kinda odd
    and then nothing against men but id rather it be me
    weather is be male of female i feel better when i know im doing it

  • i think you have to protect yourself.  if you’re in a completely committed relationship with someone you trust completely, then i’d say go ahead and trust the other person.  otherwise … if you’re a man or woman, protect yourself as best you can. 

  • Only if the label states to take pill with a large bottle of beer. Then he’ll remember to take it. Oh, no wait— men don’t read the directions.

  • are you kidding me?…any woman who trusts a man with this kind of responsibility deserves what she gets. How could anyone be so irresponsible enough to trust that kind of thing with someone else. If youre not trying to have a kid then you can only trust yourself…ugh

  • lol…who needs fiction?

  • Hahahahaha that is hysterical to me. I guess if people wanna do that…cool. I dunno, what ever happened to using condoms?

    Funny with the male PMS there, by the way.

  • Hell. Fucking. No.

  • First off, no I would not trust a guy who said they were taking the “pill.” Just because… they’re guys. No offence or anything.

    So let me get this straight. A guy takes this pill just like a woman takes her pill and it lowers sperm production to such a low level that if a man who was taking this pill and a woman had sex, then no sperm would be injected and no baby conceived.

    If that isn’t freaking weird, I don’t know what is.

    So… tell me again why they made this pill?

  • What’s up with the guy in the picture?  Looks like he needs medication for hemorroidal flare-ups.

  • Hm… any guy I would trust with sex, I would trust with the male pill…
    but I’d want at least one other form of birth control, just because no method is 100% sure, but it approaches that number with each additional precaution.

  • lol, no comment other than the fact that this is “mildly humorous”

  • Haha!  That’s the funniest thing I’ve heard all day!  Hell no I wouldn’t trust him to take it…I wouldn’t believe him unless I stood there and watched him take it.  It’s of no consequence to him if I get pregnant..he could leave and never look back.  It’s me that has to take on the responsibility of raising a child.  Of course, only a coward would leave his girlfriend or whatever while she was pregnant with his child.

  • no. i’d rather use a condom

  • I think it would be great to slow down the terrible trend in our nation of “baby’s daddy’s”. Perhaps this will be helpful as men take more responsibility.

  • i heard it kills the sperm…. amt arent men made horny by sperm? like the mor sperm they have the hornier they are? I dont wanna lose the driver behind the steering wheel.

  • When it comes to matters of sex, men cannot really be trusted.

  • UH, no.

    How many women were on the pill?

    As old as the hills.

    If you do not want any little ones running about choose a bj or cuddle.

  • Depends on the man. In general: probably not.

  • Very interesting article.  And a very cool concept really.  I think it would work well to do an implant or injections (as suggested in the article), b/c then it would be a scheduled thing.  I don’t know that Papa Bear or I would do very well, with taking a pill daily. . .Hence the 5 kids.  Ha!

  • If your sleeping with a guy he’d better be trustworthy enough to take a pill.

    Id stay on my pill but it be nice instead of condoms as far as doubling up goes.

    I really liked the bit about male pms [pissed male syndrome] you are clever.

    That is all

  • If it’s proven to work and yeah I trust the guy I’d be doing it with.

  • Why not just castrate everyone and be done with it all?!?!? This madness never ends…

  • Hahahaha, no. Well, a few would..but others would just use that as an excuse if they didn’t have a condom nearby..”Don’t worry Cupcake, I’m on the pill.” Hahahaha.

  • No, I doubt that women will trust men, but I also have no doubt they will be encouraged to.

  • Yes, because the men are still very responsible for unwanted results in a financial respect.

  • I didn’t realize men could get pregnant. Anyway, the easiest solution is for both parties to take the “pill”s then if each party is doing their job they can feel ok about it or whatever. Obviously STDs are the only concern for men so the pill is sorta silly in that respect.

  • Men are going to be a little inadimate about taking it but I know married men will take it when they no longer wish to have kids so ya never know.

  • Personally, I wouldn’t want to get a girl pregnant if that was not mine and her desire.

  • It is a silly concept, not producing sperm. I doubt guys will adapt this. What they really need to do is produce a pill that makes sperm unable to do its job.

  • It depends on the man, I guess.

  • i don’t want to become pregnant again, it didn’t feel good giving birth. morning sickness wasn’t that great either

  • Now that is just weird.

  • I’m not into roll reversals Dan. I wouldn’t take it.

  • this is men we are talking about! while we love them, we usually have no clue why, because trust rarely enters the equation.

  • I don’t see why the hell the man would slip up with taking his pill. I’ve never heard of a guy trying to get a girl pregnant so she’ll have to stay with him, but unfortunately this seems to happen a lot with women. I know this pill has been in the works for quite some time, and seriously, it really is about time they release it to the public.

    I bet the bigger problem would be that guys would be too stubborn to actually get on the pill in the first place. They tend not to like change, most of them are idiots.

    You know, after reading this comment over, I think I really should just become a full blown lesbian already.

  • YES!

    I’m already short, fat and bald, so how could side affects really be any worse?

  • o_0. After having said that…. I wouldn’t trust them at all, seeing as how I don’t trust myself to remember taking a pill every day.

  • do women ever trust men?

  • I don’t think women will trust the men to take it.

  • if it was my husband, i would trusst him. in general, i dont think its as wise…

  • Just about as much as men trust women to take the pill.

  • Yeah actually I think they would… cause they don’t want kids.. or most don’t. :)

    ryc: You’re right! And it’s even greater when I hardly ever drive because well, I hate it… so yay me! :)

  • Wait… how does that work?

  • I wouldnt, because i would need to know for certain.

    I do think its great that a guy now has this option to him though.

  • Ha! Ha! Giggle Giggle. Yey baby!

  • with a topic that serious i think that everyone would rather trust themselves then other. However, will this pill lead to decreased condom use, and increased STD rates?

  • “No side effects” LOL… suuuure…

  • I think in a relationship, yes.  If I can’t trust my boyfriend to take a pill to keep us from getting pregnant, then I wouldn’t be in a relationship with him.  Besides, if I do get pregnant he’s still liable and will be paying for it (literally) for the next 18 yrs of his life, so it’s not like he won’t be invested in this. 

    I also think the male pill is a genius idea for guys who like to sleep around.  This way they don’t have to rely on women to tell the truth about being on the pill.  Or, for famous athletes and such, if you’re sterile b/c of the pill you won’t get screwed by women who suck your dick, then save the semen to impregnante themselves.  (sad and disgusting, but happens)

  • excellent idea. men need to step up!

     I would trust them…..after all……they too must pay for the baby wellfare

  • probably not … God knows I forgot mine enough times..LOL

  • pregnancy is only one of the issues… even if i could trust a man to take his Pill, that wouldn’t protect against STDs, so, break out the rubber raincoat, we need back up

  • Yes, if it’s a good relationship and the guy cares enough about her enough. Plus, the woman would be stupid to go off of hers — so even if he missed, she’s still like 99.99% safe.

  • I sure wouldn’t trust him to take it.  If he forgets, the woman suffers the consequences. 

  • I’d hope you’d trust your guy at least a little bit if you plan on having sex with him…

    If hubby and I didn’t want any more kids, I’d say we’d both take a pill, just to make sure. Doubling up never hurts

  • Haha, that made me laugh
    The article was interesting,
    but I could honestly care less;
    it doesn’t effect me any

  • Ha, yeah right. But the girl will probably be able to make the guy show her his pill case every day if it meant getting laid.

  • The same issue of trust is present whether it be the male pill or the female pill. What guarantee do we as men have that a woman is on the pill when she says she is…?

    So long as doesn’t chemically castrate us and we don’t forget… we’d take it. It just means one less reason to say no… now if we can only cure the mystery headaches…

  • If he is on the pill and she is on the pill and a condom is used since AIDS is still out there, trust should not even be an issue or concern.

  • nope. But SMART men will take it. 

    If they can’t remember a condom, why would they remember a pill?
    Posted 10/30/2006 at 8:46 PM by LadyLibellule
     
    Lets face it men don’t remember condoms because men don’t LIKE condoms. Lots of men take the little blue pill for ED. If SMART men want to have sex with no baby, they’d take a pill.

  • I cant imagine a guy taking a pill ontime, if they forget a birthday or anniversary then its not promising for them to remember a pill.  I think the female would probably still take their own to be safe from getting pregnant.

  • “A new pill has been developed” is a bit deceiving. It has not even been into phase I studies yet; it is about 4-6 years from the initiation of phase I to on the market. Additionally, the number of compounds you must take into phase I to get a single marketed drug is rather high (approx 5-10) so it is very unlikely that this drug will ever be marketed. Is it progress though. Phase I is also where you start noticing side effects. It is promising that they do not see any in animals, but if it makes you moody. a rat or dog has trouble communicating that.

  • I wouldnt trust the guy to keep up with it.
    My body, my responsability.

  • Totally depends how cheap he is,if he is a tightwad and does not want to pay child support,he’ll remember,he would be the only one to trust!

  • Interesting Yes – Trust – No

  • Wow. If that’s really successful, just imagine what it will do to the culture’s view of sex in general. I mean it changed a lot when female birth control became common, everyday occurence. Now *both* men and women can control their ability to not have children… It’s interesting that we’ve made it so easy in our country to *not* have kids, but it’s still really hard for people that naturally have trouble conceiving to become pregnant. I think that’s backwards in priorities.

    Anyway, I think it sounds a little paranoid. And I wouldn’t want my husband messing around with his sperm production! When they say “if we can assure the public that their sperm won’t be affected…” I was like “Heck yes you’ll have to ‘assure’ them! You’ll have to prove it a million times before they’ll trust your pill and even then guys will listen to superstition over scientists.” Seriously. I can’t remember how many guys I know quit drinking Mountain Dew because of Yellow 5.

    ~Victoria

  • I’m not sure what the advantage is. One person’s gotta take it either way, and as a woman’s got more incentive, she’d be more trustworthy to take it.

  • I wouldn’t trust the man to take it.

  • I would trust them, I think.

                          -KrIsTiN-

  • Hahahaha NO!!!!

  • WOW, there are NO comments about what god wants here.
    Yet when you mention birth control for women, people either mention how she shouldn’t even be HAVING sex unless she’s married, how it’s similar to abortion, how she’s confused, how god wouldn’t want her to have sex until marriage, blah blah blah.

    That’s kind of weird to me.

  • I would hope so, and I also say it’s about effing time!!

  • Wow! I wouldn’t trust my husband to remember but that is why you should always use more then one type of BC.

  • Yeah, isn’t that a good question…..

  • It’s best to  trust someone if you are having sex with them, don’t ya think?

  • I’d trust my boyfriend to take it.

  • Dan, I’m so confused. I have no idea what you’re asking.

  • they have had it for several years but the FDA hasn’t pushed this pill because the average doctor doesn’t think that men would remember to take it and if they forgot they wouldnt want to admit that it wasnt safe for them to have unprotected sex. plus, most men dont want to be shooting blanks *thats exactly what my ex hubby said when i mentioned this pill to him years ago*

  • Well, if she trusts the guy enough to have sex without a condom (STDs), Im assuming they trust each other enough to take the pill.

  • I wouldn’t trust ‘em.

  • Sorry that I am not answering the question but… reading that made my day. 

  • I don’t think women would trust them. I know that I’d still take the pill if he was as well. However, they’re aren’t the one at a risk of getting preggo, so I think they will not think of it as much. I also think that they should take it though because if a teen couple or younger couple in general is going to take that responsibility they should both be doing so, not just the woman.

  • Nice to see we will have more options.
    NO I wouldn’t trust a man to take his pill, I’ve known far to many women on them and the stories oh the stories. Heck, I didn’t trust my pills even when I KNEW I was taking them right. that 2% is a baby for someone.

  • Oh no. Most certainly not.

  • i dont believe in birth control

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *