February 21, 2008

Comments (186)

  • Personally, I’m not tan at all… and I think girls who go out to tanning beds and crap all the time generally look orange.

  • Whoa. What a freaky picture!?

  • Healthy tan, yes; orange, no. The girl on the left needs to go outside a little more, and the one on the right needs to avoid the tanning bed for a while. She looks like she’s been eating too many carrots.

  • How about you stop asking race-based questions, Dan?

  • The one on the left should not wear white. If she wore a light peach she would look creamy rather than pasty. Her foundation is the wrong color. Ok, I’m done. 

  • natural. just not orange.

  • i have a natural tan!

  • Yikes, two extremes. Desinflan-very funny

  • these are toooo extreme of both i think that both tan and not can both look good….. but natural tan is always more pleasing to the eyes…..

  • The girl that is pale uses WAY TOO LIGHT of makeup… her arms have more color, and her natural skin on her face would have more w/o that paste she adds.

    The darker girl looks like she didn’t rub the fake tan on very well. 

    Both look pretty bad.

  • In this case……

    TAN

  • ohmyword.

    NO WAY EITHER WAY.

    thanks.

  •  Pale. Oompa Loompa syndrome is very unattractive. 

  • In the case of these pics, neither one is attractive.

  • Given those examples – neither

  • Either way I’d get made fun of, because I’m so pale naturally that people make fun of me for being so white, but then if I were to tan, I’d just turn red/orange, which isn’t much better. Just go natural!

  • i prefer a nice tan like jessica alba in ‘into the blue’, but this lady looks orange.. not tan!

  • I’m not the most tan person ever, but i’m not that pale either. I don’t go out tanning just because I think it’s a waste of time and unnatural.

    Eva.

  • The white girl looks  like the boy from the 1995 movie “Powder”

  • I’ve always thought that tanning is stupid…  I just don’t see the point.  It’s kind of like smoking; it doesn’t really do you any good except make you look “better,” however you define that, and it actually has a bad effect on your body anyway, so, why do it?

    In most cases, I think that un-tanned people can look just as good, if not better, than tanned people do.

    God Bless,

    Chris

  • Gah! I need a more moderate situation to judge!
    -David

  • Some people choose quantity over quality and they end up orange instead of brown.  Light tans are nice.

  • dude, that girl has orange boobs.

  • They both are in the opposite extreme ends.  One looks like albino and the other looks like she ate too much carrots.  I preferred natural tan.

  • I usually prefer to be pale, but she looks sickly!

  • I’m definately like pasty up there. I know my foundation, however.

    Funny thing is, I’ll be laughing it up when I’m 60 but look 50 and they’re 60 and look 80.

  • they both look scary.

    For me, I go not tan. keeps you looking young. Also, tanned (especially if it’s from a tanning salon) makes your skin look really gross. A little bit of sun does look good on a person though.

  • Ah, she’s totally orange! Yeah, it’s not good to be really tan because than you do turn out yellow but a little tan isn’t bad.

  • I’m naturally dark so yay me!

  • Eew. They’re both too much of an extreme. The white girl needs to wear a color that ISN’T white, or say hello to the sun. The tan girl has had a little too much fake tan. She needs whitening cream. =O Tell her to check out a filipino store and buy a shitload of Likas. She totally needs it.

  • Ugh in this case olive. Eww.

  • For one, white is NOT her color. For two, if pale is part of your look, and you have a fashion to match it, then it works, but for the most part, at least SOME color.

  • Not, at least you know the really pale one is naturally so. . . I think it’s kind of refreshing.

  • One is white as a snowman and the other is as orange as a tangerine…. You really cannot redeem either as attractive in these pictures :|

  • I say which ever way you choose just don’t hang out with someone the total opposite!

  • They should swap dresses and calm down with the make-up/fake bake in a bottle that they use. They’d look better.

    If I had to choose, based on this picture, tan. Just because the girl on the right looks sickly to me.

  • if those are the choices then tan…

  • How about in between??  Gosh, I do not want to be either of them. 

  • hahah thats a major difference!

    Are they from Girls aloud?

    I think a bit of tan…but not loads…

  • Either of these examples are a bit extreme, Ooompa Loopma Orange or Ghost White?

  • Tan, I love being in the sunshine.

  • There’s gotta be a happy medium.

  • if it’s a natural tan, tan. if it’s orangeish, go pale.

  • ew!!

  • No tan.  It’s healthier!

  • PALE is a million times hotter. 

  • well personally, i’m pretty pasty as far as tanning goes. however, having a very slight tan is nice and helps with not burning so quickly.

  • I never tan and never plan to. but I got a natural tan, lucky me :D

    seriously I think a little tan looks healthy but too much tanning increases your chances of getting skin cancer. so girl: DON’T TAN. take a walk outside when the sun is shining.

  • That’s not tan, that’s… rolling in Tang drink powder.

    Work the pale if you’re naturally pale! We’ll be sexier in 20 years without all that sun damage!

  • ^ Steph = the brilliant woman bar none. 

  • i vote no cancer, so no tan. if it happens accidentally from being out in the sun WITH sunscreen on, then lucky you. tan-ISH looks good, but i don’t think looking good is worth any type of cancer. (same goes for looking “cool.” cancer isn’t cool, smoking isn’t either. )

  • I was born with pale skin and that’s how I want to keep it.

  • both are too extreme.  bleh.

  • Tanning is not natural. I never go in the sun, since skin cancer runs in my family. And if I do go to the beach I load up on a high spf sunscreen. :)

  • Can’t there be like an in between?

    The person looks like an orange.  The other, a ghost.

  • I am thinking we need to find the happy medium . . .

    So I ask, what is the happy medium between orange and pasty?  

  • Not, but there has to be a happy medium between the 2 pictured above!

  • They both look grotesque. In all fairness (pun), the pale one probably can’t tan. She could, however, choose more flattering shades for clothing and makeup.

  • Not. Oh, please, God, not. It’s not good for your health.

    Unless you’re getting a spray-on tan: then you’re okay.

    -Guru on the Hill

  • nope. sometimes i look like that over the summer time. not because i go to the tanning salon, but because i got to the beach all the time!! :)

  • Those extremes suck. I’d rather everyone just look their natural color. I don’t think either of those colors are natural for those girls.

  • as a pale redhead, (but one that oddly tans easily), i have to stand by the pale girl, but please, she needs to embrace some laura mercier tinted moisterizer. 

  • whoa… casper is on the loose!!!  omg she needs to tan!!  or fake one!!

  • Eww, they both look nasty.

  • well holding two people up with wayyy different skin colors is tough. Light skin looks great on some people, while some other people could use some color. I like pale skin with dark hair. Sometimes too much “light” can be overwhelming to me.

    On the other hand, people who tan all the time gross me out. my boyfriend’s younger sister has already developed a form a skin cancer, and had to have it removed… yet she keeps tanning! It’s sickening–our country’s fascination with things that cause cancer.

  • It looks to me as though the pale girl actually has white makeup on. Looks like they were sent out in the media just for attention.

  • The non tan girl looks like a ghost compared to the other girl. But the other girl looks a bit orange, at least in the picture. I do think though, that the tan girl looks healthier.

  • ummm, theres nothing wrong with either? But these two girls have got to be THE WORST example of each. However if I just HAD to pick between the two, I’d say the tan one, she at least looks alive, albeit a little orange.

  • She needs to book herself on the next flight to the Caribbean and work on turning that ghostly white completion into a golden tan one from the sun. Holy wow. 

  • Both of the girls in that picture look kinda scary… but generally I prefer “not”. 

  • NOT, thank you very much.

    Both on me and on most other people.

    But my boyfriend needs a tan.

  • DEFINITELY to tan!  or else get at least some sort of sun.  my gawd!!

  • Well, the problem here is that the untanned woman is wearing a white dress which makes her look washed out.  The color is horrible for her complexion.  She should try other colors and I am sure she would look just as nice as the tan woman.  In this case, I say tan wins.

  • well thats hardly a fair representation- they both look like goobers

  • I’m naturally tan.

  • Lets see them in 20 years when the tan one looks all dried shriveled up eith melanoma.

  • I hate the “I’ve been laying in a tanning bed for twenty minutes every other day for the last two months” tan.  But I also hate the “I never go outside for fear that I might actually be exposed to sunlight” look.  

  • The fair girl has red hair so I doubt she could tan even if she wanted to.  She is most likely the instant burn, freckle and peel type.

  • I think tanned skin looks sexier than pale skin, but the idea of cancer is so unsexy so I’m as pale as the ghost in the picture. I admit though, the ethnicities that have a natural tan are that much sexy for that reason ;D

  • Tan!!

  • I’m certainly pale in the winter, but I LOVE being out in the sunshine (I think it comes from having a pool at my house for the entire duration of my childhood) so I can’t resist getting a bit of a tan in the summer. I know its bad for me though. (And I’m reminded of that everytime I look at Nicole Kidman’s gorgeous fair skin!) But I’ve tried the spray on fake tan (when I was in my cousin’s wedding) and I really didn’t like how it looked. The lotion looks a bit better, but its such a pain.

  • i would normally say tan, but not THAT tan. she looks totally fake and orange. so in this case, pale wins.

  •  Yes, these both are extreem in each way! I go for a natural tan…more tan then white. During the winter once a week tanning doesn’t hurt anyone…the make up job…omg

  • A light tan looks healthy. Too much looks orange. The other girl looks like the walking dead, but that might just be a contrast with the woman next to her.

    A bit of color is usually nice.

  • She should also lighten up her hair to a very light natural blonde [think Nicole Kidman] and NOT wear any article of clothing that is white, which, in turn, makes her appear more white than she is.

  • Tan… although, I think the redhead  probably has much healthier skin. (She could use a little more sun-to get rid of that “Powder” look)

  • The pale one should just rock what she has and stick to lighter clothing and leave the extreme make-up at home. I find the other girl attractive, so I differ in oppinion from most of your readers.

  • or is the real question: “cancer or no cancer?”

  • not, although that girl looks albino…

  • i think natural tans are fine, but there’s nothing wrong with being a bit light skinnes, but those pictures portray two extremes in my opinion.

    hope that made sense. =

  • I think it’s fine if people tan once and a while as long as they don’t go overboard and end up looking like that girl. 

  • No tan…but that pale lady is on the extreme side.

  • I don’t tan anymore, it is too risky…

  • I’d rather be tan than ghostly white, but that “tan” girl is more orange than what I would call tan! I like the natural beach tan. :)

  • Those girls shouldn’t hang out together.

  • I don’t tan, it’s not a choice its a fact, when I tan it just doesn’t take I get all red and then 30 minutes later I’m just as white as I started

  • Natural tans are my preference.

  • mmm this is crazy! she isn’t really that pale is she?

  • a little tan.

    i like the natural look too, but, not quite this much Casper-ness.

  • Yeesh.  How about somewhere in the middle?

  • for me personally, i cant tan.  i burn no matter how hard i try. so i never tan.  but i guess if that floats your boat..*shrugs*

  • Not. But not so white as the blond one. What ever happened to being normal?

  • Natural tan – and not too much. 

  • Girls straight out of tanning beds are extremely unattractive.

  • The one chick looks like an Oompa Loompa and the looks like Casper the Ghost.

  • a natural tan looks ok.  oompa loompa orange does not. tans were not meant to come from a bottle.

  • Tanning, whether from a bottle or the sun, just takes way too much maintenance for me. It’s so hard to get a bottle tan to look natural/non-streaky, and a suntan takes multiple hours/days for me to get and only lasts about a week after anyway.

  • not- for me at least. i’m what you’d call a candy cane when it comes to tanning- red with white stripes- and then i peel! no fun! but i DO love the beach:)

  • tan. thank God i’m naturally tan

  • Roasted Turkey or Casper… hmmm

  • Not, but damn that is a crazy picture. 

  • Please get a tan, Casper!

  • Did they do some wierd thing with the lights…one looks ghostly and one looks orange.

  • Well, next to each other they both look horrible.  One looks like skin cancer walking.  The other needs lotion.  So.

    I don’t tan.  Although I have enough freckles to usually give me some color.

  • who in the what in the hell are those things…
    i would say NO to tanning.

  • somewhere in between

  • Somewhere in between would be good.  The white one looks pasty and sick.  The tan one looks too fake in the color.  She looks like she used that old Coppertone QT from the 1970′s.

  • Interesting contrast. People are people though and if you tried to tan the lady with white skin, she would probably look lake an overcooked lobster.

  • Not! I love being pale as hell. =]

  • Not. But PS, whoa re those people?

  • NOT!

    FAKE TAN EWWWWW!!

  • Haha look at ‘em guns. :P

    Umm, for this, tan. That chick is crazy white!

  • Natural tan, yeah, like I get a slight tan when I’m lifeguarding in the summer with 50spf still. but fake bake orange…ew.

    generally I think if you’re just slightly tan it’s attractive. But some girls go too far. And ghostly white is unattractive too!

  • Preferrably, I would choose tan. I am quite fair and can tan to a very dark naturally. I love it.  Those are two ridiculous extremes, its quite sickening actually. Do they not see themselves in the mirror?

  • I choose…

    Asian!

  • Well, I’m pretty much day-glow white myself, Dan, so I guess I’d better go with no tan.  

  • having lived the majority of my life in Hawaii and knowing what the sun can do to your skin in the long run, i’d have to say: not.

  • and i think the flash is blanching her out.  if you look closely, you’ll see she actually has freckles (and, hence, color).  

  • Pale Chick may look ghostly, but ghostly paleness is way more attractive than melanoma.

  • tan. for sure.

  • not tan and EXTREMELY PALE aren’t the same.

    healthy’s best.

  • One girl is way to pale so she needs a little sun.  You can over do anything.

    I basically think you look better with some color.  I’ve never thought lily white skin was that attractive.

  • i think you should be happy in your skinnn no matter what !

  • I think the tanned one looks better in the picture. But not tanning is probably the safe way to go. No cancer, and Asian people like to be as pale as possible anyway

  • LOL…in my wedding pictures, I look like a freakin’ orange! So, pasty white girls, like myself, are wise not to tan OR fake bake! Plus, cancer looks bad on ….everyone.

  • that’s a little too pale.

  • Tan looks nicer now, but not later. She can get skin cancer and her skin will age sooner. 

  • SPRAY TAN ALERT! SPRAY TAN ALERT! and a BAD ONE at that.  They are bad anyway.  If you are going to tan, go NATURAL!

  • Can you say Photoshopped!

  • Has the not tan girl Ever Seen the Light of Day?  Moderation is a good thing.

  • shes orange so in this case pale. But people with a slight tan do look good

  • Well…they’re both extremes…
    The really “pale” girl looks like she bathed in baby powder or something.
    I’m black so a tan is quite unecessary. I try not to get any darker.

  • Personally, I don’t tan. It’s bad for your skins. But that girl need a smidge of color. The other one, however, took the tanning a bit far. Orange does not equal tan

  • I’m naturally tan but i wear sunscreen every day…i tell my friends its ok to be white, As a cashier i see lots of women that have spent tooooo much time in the sun and it shows!  You see the “tanning bed” lines in the neck and they are in their 20s.  They get that weird patchy look from burning and peeling and burning. Ive seen young people with more wrinkles then me.…what are they going to look like when they’re in their 40s..lady’s keep putting on the sunscreen Look at all the beautiful women that chose to be pale, Nicole Kidman, Julianna Moore to just name two. There is nothing health about a tan!

  • There’s something called a middle ground. If you’re too tan, you either look orange or burnt. If you’re too pale, you look like a fluorescent lightbulb. It’s a personal choice though. I’m really pale and I don’t go tanning because I don’t want skin cancer. I go out into the sun and burn, then I freckle. I don’t really tan.

  • Eh.. neither I think. I mean.. they both look fake. Fake tanning isn’t good for you.. tanning isn’t good for you either.
    It amazes me how society sees things that do serious damage to your body as “cool” or “in”.

  • Cuteluvr21 is right.

    white makes the girl who doesn’t fake-n-bake look washed out, ESPECIALLY in harsh bright lights. 

    I say that if you’re naturally blacklight reactive, be that way. If you’re naturally tan, go for it.

    just don’t be stupid about tanning outside and make wise fashion decisions.

  • I like to take a trip south for a nice, natural tan in the middle of winter.  I’ll only go tanning on those rare days where the temperature is below zero and I’m craving some serious heat!!

  • Why would someone where white when they are already so pale???   Why do people tan so much that they turn orange?

  • Sooo…much…contrast… I like tanning every now and then, less than a dozen times a year though. If you over do it, it doesn’t look right.

  • NOT!!!

  • I like the untoasted version.

  • not so pale…but also not orange

  • not

  • There are those of us who are incapable of tanning, you know.

  • dark tans are gross

  • I personally feel more attractive when I am tan. But, most 16 year old girls that live remotely close to a beach do.. There is a thing called being too tan though, and it looks gross.

  • Tan is ok but not leathery.  And the girl in the picture looks like an albino.  I’m pale and I don’t look like a marshmallow.

  • I don’t need to tan.

    But ew. Orange.

  • not

  • I want to take this time to point out that that is super, super gross and disgusting.  And, I’d stay pale instead of tanning.  Even if I were that pale.

  • Hell no!

  • I will appreciate not having skin cancer in my later age.

  • I look very much better when i am tan than when i am not but i don’t get orange. I say tan but not orange.

  • one time my friends asked me to go tanning with her. i juat laughed a little bit.

  • I’d say in-between, if you can. Too white looks Dracula-ish, and too tan makes you look like an orange.

  • Personally I can’t for health reasons- Lupus. I wish we would just get over the looks bit!!!

  • Both these pretty girls need to spend some time in Jerusalem, where they can learn modesty, which enhances a girl’s true, mysterious, beauty!

  • A healthy tan.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *