February 28, 2008

  • Natural Born Citizen

    John McCain is about to secure the Republican nomination for President.

    There is only one little problem.  He wasn’t born in the U.S.

    According to Section 1 of Article II of the Constitution the president of the United States must be a “natural born Citizen:”

    “No Person except a natural born Citizen, or a Citizen of the United States, at the time of the Adoption of this Constitution, shall be eligible to the Office of President; neither shall any Person be eligible to that Office who shall not have attained to the Age of thirty five Years, and been fourteen Years a Resident within the United States.”  Here is the link:  Link

    John McCain was born on a military installation in the Canal Zone.  His dad was in the Navy.  Here is the link:  Link

    Military kids born overseas are U.S. citizens.  But the Constitution clearly states the person must be a “natural born Citizen.”

    Do you think John McCain qualifies as a ”natural born citizen?”

                                                                           

Comments (198)

  • Ugh..that man rubs my fur the wrong way!

  • Yes. Also, he was born to American citizens.

  • If his dad was in the military than I would say yes unless it was Hillary then I would say no.
    Only a joke.

  • well to me natural born is someone who was born on US soil.

  • Ugh, yeah. But I wish I could say NO! 

  • I’d say yes as his parents are Americans.  

  • Holy Crap…
    It’s been 6 minutes and damn… people pounce on your site, like it’s a helpless animal that might scamper off. But it won’t. It’s kind of amusing, actually :)
    ~M.E.

  • No

    give the nomination to Romney lol

  • @they_callmefaith - Absolutely– There must be something magical about the land we’ve stolen from the Indians and Mexicans. Perhaps it’s the nostalgic effect of all that spilt blood and suffering. Nothing quite like dead foreigners to naturalize good American soil.

  • Yeah, it was because of the Military!

  • yes, i think he has the right… though… i’m still supporting obama.

  • ooo thats a tough call… I mean while he was not born on U.S. soil he was still born of American parents and his dad was in the navy… you know we’ve broken enough laws so why not that part of the Constitution too? *dripping sarcasm* Oye, I’m not a republican but I mean if he’s gotten this far, why stop him now? If this was going to be a huge deal it should have been stated in the first place…  I’m indifferent.

  • I think that the language is vague b/c it says “a natural born citizen, or a citizen of the united states” I think it just means that you have to be a citizen from birth, like Mccain, rather than someone who emigrated and later attained citizenship (like Gov. Arnold).

  • legalism will get us in trouble

  • unfortunately, no. maybe they should change the constitution.

  • Is that Jerry Falwell in the background of that picture? Gag me!

  • His dad was fighting for our freedom, and just because of that, he cant be called a “natural” born citizen?!?

    Bull shit.

  • yes. he was born into citizenship.

  • A U.S. base/military installation *is* considered US territory, so yes, I believe that would be a natural-born citizen.  He was born on US land.  Not in country but on US soil.

    I so don’t like the man… but then, I don’t like Obama or Clinton either… God help us all. {eyeroll}

  • Rediculous question.

  • Ridiculous too.

  • natural born…doesn’t that mean he couldn’t of been born by c-section? we should check his birth record…

  • @shellybean99 -

    I think the “Citizen of the United States” is being qualified by the statement following it “at the time of the Adoption of this Constitution”.  This would be a necessary inclusion because the first set of Presidents could not have been “natural born Citizens”. 

    At the time of McCain’s birth the Panama Canal Zone was a territory of the US; therefore, I believe his claim of natural citizen is valid.  

  • I’m not sure I’ve ever understood why it’s a requirement to be a natural born citizen to be president in your country

  • @Ro_ad808 - Oh, that makes sense. Thanks for clearing that up for me! :)

  • Yes… I believe a military base or ship, or instalation of any kind is considered United states soil… metaphorically speaking… I think… I could be wrong, happens ALL the time.

  • Well him as a person just seems unnatural… perhaps unholy…

    but as for the law well the canal zone was US territory so ya it counts…

    unfortunately…

    would have been funny if it didn’t though, doing that whole campaign just to end up being disqualified.

  • @steph843 - I’m not sure I’ve ever understood why it’s a requirement to be a natural born citizen to be president in your country

    So that foreigners can’t worm their way into the highest office in the land and subvert the country to foreign dominion. My guess is that the framers had the British in mind at the time.

  • Military installations are considered US soil, even if they are in foreign countries.  So, yes, he is still a natural born citizen.  Otherwise you’re alienating a huge group of us military brats.  And yeah, some of us want to take over the world, er, run for President some day, too.

  • Yes.  He is a natural born US citizen.  Military bases are U.S. property.  

  • Um…  I donno, that seems kind of irrelevant…  I always thought that as long as they were born an American citizen, as in they didn’t have to gain it as a foreigner, then they were eligible.  Maybe my government professor will mention this in class…

    God Bless,

    Chris

  • Yes he is a citizen. But frankly after seeing that picture what concerns me more is whether or not that is John Hagee behind him. Not that I was leaning toward McCain, but if Hagee’s endorsing him that pretty much seals it for me that I will not be voting for McCain.

  • YES. Especially because his dad was serving in the military. 

  • @RevSteve224 - Yep. That’s Hagee. EEEEWW. I am still pretty undecided on my vote, but I think I just got swayed in a diferent direction, also..

  • @shellybean99 - 

    No Falwell is dead. I believe it is John Hagee.

  • @k8tthelate - 

    aw nuts, you beat me!

  • Interesting. And there behind him is a staunch supporter of the letter of the law vs the spirit of the law, as well as the Constitution. 

  • @aj_mudd - 

    thanks, I thouught so

  • Yes, absolutely.  I mean, I’m not a McCain fan, but this is a stupid technicality when that is definitely US soil.

  • @shellybean99 - No, that’s John Hagee.

  • military bases are considered “natural born” areas. silly you.

  • @RevSteve224 - I’m not a Hagee fan, myself.  And I consider myself an Evangelical Christian.  Glad to see I’m not the only one.

  • Hope Ralph Nadar brings this issue up.

  • but he is a citizen no?

    hence he qualifies?

  • or a Citizen of the United States

  • he was born to US parents on a US military base, therefore he is considered a “natural born citizen”

  • Obama shouldn’t count either, because Hawaii is really far away and is sorta not like the US!!
    /sarcasm

  • @huginn - we don’t have that rule and we’re doing well. It seems a little dated.

  • Congress first extended citizenship to children born to U.S. parents overseas on March 26, 1790,
    under the first naturalization law: “And the children of citizens of
    the United States that may be born beyond sea, or outside the limits of
    the United States, shall be considered as natural born citizens.”

  • Pretty sure that still makes him a natural born citizen. Though if not I’m sure he’d suddenly change his tune over immigration!

  • Mc Cains parents were citizens, and his father was serving with honor in the military. If he was born on a military base, then he was born on American soil. As mentioned by ro_ad88, before Jimmy Carter gave it away, the Canal Zone was American soil. So, that being said, where is the arguement?

  • maybe he’s old enough to fall into that second category about being a citizen when the constitution was adopted…

  • I personally want to see the spouses of the nominees get into it. If McCain’s wife ever had to defend anything, we’d all be in trouble.  She is about as bright as a 40 watt bulb.

  • @Whisper2theWater - Hahaha!!  That was funny. 

  • @RevSteve224 - I stand corrected. I tend to get my hyperpolitical televangelists mixed up. I do know that Falwell is dead, but I was wondering if it was an older photo.

  • He was born to American citizens on American soil, so yes, of course he’s a natural born citizen.  At the time of his birth, the Panama Canal Zone was U.S. territory.

  • US military bases are US soil. No matter where they are. So if John McCain was born on a US base anywhere in the world, he is STILL a natural born US citizen. It would be like a Chinese person that is born in the Chinese Consulat in DC. He’s born on Chinese soil because the Consulat IS chinese soil.

  • Definitely. Military Installations are included.

  • @steph843 - we don’t have that rule and we’re doing well. It seems a little dated.

    I would think so. In this information age, I don’t see how a foreign spy can try to slip his way into office without out us, the American people, realizing it. My only fear of lifting the restriction is putting Presidential aspirations into Arnold Schwarzenegger’s dull dull head.

  • 1) Born to American parents
    and 2) Born in a military zone…which I would assume is considered “our” territory. It may not be in our country, but it was in territory that Americans were in.

    If he was just born overseas or something because his parents were just living there, then no. The military installation, I would think, should count the same as someone being born here.

    (or, if they were like on a trip or something and it, unfortunately, happened to be at the same time the woman were to go into labor. then again, I don’t know why anyone should be flying overseas when they’re close to having a baby)

  • It still counts. US military instillations are still considered US soil. I have two brothers born overseas on US military bases and their birth certificates say that they were born in the US.

  • Of course, if we could keep McCain out in a technicality, I’m all for it.

  • @lissalinn - lol…hm, good point. i agree. :P

  • John McCain is an American, and as American as anyone born of American’s.  This is just more trashy bullshit.  Ugggh! 

  • Yes, he does qualify.  US military bases and embassies count as US soil last I heard.

  • Besides if his parents are citizens then he has both the mud and the  blood connections only one of which is required.

  • @steph843 - I think it’s kind of a precaution…I mean, if we had an unnatural citizen come in and manage to get elected, it’s possible that they could have their country’s best interests at heart or something.
    If that makes sense.
    It’s more likely that a natural born citizen would have the best interests at heart instead of someone who became a citizen only a few years before.

    That’s my best guess, at least: they thought it was a way to protect the country or something.

  • yes.

  • If I say no, will they give the nomination to Huckabee instead? In my understanding, a US Military installation is considered US soil and therefore he was a natural born citizen. He has every right to lead the country…and given the choice between him or Hillary (or Obama); I’d go for this guy!

  • But your Wikepedia article states that >>>>>

    “under the first naturalization law: ‘And the children of citizens of the United States that may be born beyond sea, or outside the limits of the United States, shall be considered as natural born citizens.’”

    so where’s the arguement? Surely “natural” means having a natural right to US citizenship due to citizenship of parents.

  • @Whisper2theWater - oh.. you bring up another question.. was Hawaii yet a state when Obama was born there?

  • Yeah, probably.
    But that’s a stupid rule anyway.

  • @sahel578 - According to Wikipedia, he just made it.. by two years.

  • @LarsThunder - I personally want to see the spouses of the nominees get into it. If McCain’s wife ever had to defend anything, we’d all be in trouble.  She is about as bright as a 40 watt bulb.

    What’s the basis for your conclusion?

  • um… definitely.

    they tell you when you’re on post/base anywhere in the world, you’re on american soil.

  • If it was a US military installation then hell yes. Gimme a break.

  • Regardless of being a natural born citizen or not, the guy is going to be the Republican nominee. Huckabee isn’t doing anything, so you know McCain has got this one in the bag.

  • Yes, he is fine to run.  He was born on a military base and those are considered U.S. soil no matter what country they are in.

  • @sahel578 -   BRILLIANT OBSERVATION!! 

    I do think when the likes of Louis Farrakhan lauds Obhama as “the savior of the country” with his radical affiliations with terrorists, it should give those “pro-Obhama” voters serious pause.  Barrack has $200,000,000 in the coffers already…and when does anyone actually think about “where and from whom” this excess is coming from?   Not Americans over all…they are too poor!   Something very serious to think about, really!

  • born to american parents on american soil qualifies as natural-born

  • Yes,  his father was serving in the military and he was born on a military installation! When on a military installation you abide by laws under the United States. He’s a natural born citizen. I think they are taking that out of context. Plus, military people do not have the ability to pick where they are stationed. If they are attacking him for this then it’s an attack on all families within the military.

  • he is natural born by being the son of American citizens and that is why he can run.

  • I believe a U.S. military base is considered American soil no matter where it’s located.

  • Yes! His dad was serving OUR country and would have been born here otherwise.

    The Constitution seriously needs to be updated to current times.

  • @GrapiesWordsofWisdom

     -  do think when the likes of Louis Farrakhan lauds Obhama as “the savior of the country” with his radical affiliations with terrorists, it should give those “pro-Obhama” voters serious pause.

    Why?

    Barrack [sic] has $200,000,000 in the coffers already…and when does anyone actually think about “where and from whom” this excess is coming from?   Not Americans over all…they are too poor!   Something very serious to think about, really!

    Not really. Barack Obama is popular and appelaing. He gets people excited, so people donate.

    How is your candidate doing in the fundraising department?

  • He was a U.S. citizen upon his birth so I have no qualms with it.

    I’m not wild about John Hagee being behind him.

  • Irrelevant in the face of Obamapalooza. 

  • Absolutely a US citizen.  It was almost the same problem I had when I was in the Navy.  I wanted to go to college but had to pay out of state tution because I wasn’t a citizen of that state.  -not fair. 

  • Technically speaking, the Military Installation *is* US Soil according to the “law”……

  • No, but it seems Bush can change the Constitution, why can’t McCain change the rules?!

  • Dan of course he is a natural citizen he was born to an American citizen. You can be a natural citizen through “the right of land” meaning you were born within the territory or borders of the U.S. or through “the right of blood” were at least one of your biological parents were a citizen of the United States.

    Oh and I wouldn’t rely on Wikipedia as a source for hard legal philosophy.

  • Does this make him an unnatural born citizen?

  • @huginn - Oh, I don’t know – how about the fact that she has been lying about her addiction to prescription drugs, or the fact that she was so addicted she was stealing the drugs from her own non-profit medical relief organization.  Perhaps it has to do with her money-bags father funding her husband’s first election campaign for the house seat in Arizona?  Perhaps it has to do with the fact that you never see her by herself campaigning for her husband. 

    Find for me anything that she has accomplished on her own and I’ll retract my thought.  She is nothing but a trophy wife who has money.  The first time anyone even really knew her name came when she told us she was “proud of her country.”  I’ll bet if you asked 25 people to name John McCain’s wife, at least half would have no idea. 

    John McCain is in for a serious battle come September until November.  He has a whole pile of skeletons in his closet that will be drug out for the world to see.  His wife is one of them.  Or didn’t you know he married the new Mrs. McCain only a month after divorcing his first wife? 

    I’m horrible at research and found all this dirt.  Imagine what someone who is getting paid to find it will do.

  • @LarsThunder - There’s a difference between a claim of dirt and a claim of someone’s stupidity. Cindy McCain is a Hensley & Company executive. I assumed that a spot on any large comapny’s board of directors requires a brain.

  • I am going to just not answer your question and simply say that I hate John McCain.

  • @pxrxcowgirl - Are you hating him as an uber-conservative or as an uber-liberal?

  • @soonaquitter - No, but it seems Bush can change the Constitution, why can’t McCain change the rules?!

    Because to abuse power, one actually needs to be in power first.

  • I think it would be sad to punish those who have served in our military overseas- by making their children ineligable to run for president.

  • @huginn -

    i am a liberal.  not an uber liberal.  but i strongly dislike him for not only his political stances but also his attitude and the way he interacts with people.  i was highly unimpressed when i met him.

  • Just as it is with our consulates, military installations are still “U.S. soil” He qualifies, no problem. Would I vote for him though? hmmmmm………………

  • Ok, so since i was born in Japan on an AMERICAN base, does that mean i am not a natural born citizen of America?? Come on… He would have to be born as a U.S. citizen to be going this far that he has been. Otherwise, he would have already been called out at the GOP convention a month ago. Are you serious about this stuff?? I know what is going on with republicans and democrats but i honestly feel that I need to vote for any republican who makes it this year. read my new blog site if you want to know why…

  • YES, DAMN IT!!!!!!!!

  • @pxrxcowgirl - I just find it interesting that McCain has people from both sides of the political spectrum who hates him. I’m left-leaning myself.

  • “McCain is a natural-born citizen under 8 USC
    1401(c): “a person born outside of the United States and its outlying
    possessions of parents both of whom are citizens of the United States and one
    of whom has had a residence in the United States or one of its outlying
    possessions, prior to the birth of such person.” http://www.usconstitution.net/consttop_citi.html

  • @k8tthelate - haha– i like the way you think. :)

  • The Canal Zone was US Territory at that time, he qualifies.  This footnote is not something of actual contention, this far along in the game.

    But I’m still not voting for him. 

  • Yes, if his parents were in the military, US citizens, on a base, etc.

  • @huginn -  Frankly, I am repulsed by both sides of the isle.  And, if you want to delude yourself as to “where” this money comes from…that’s your preogative…it’s a free country.  I guess American’s have the money to support their candidate of choice while their utility bills go unpaid because of lack of income. You got to get logical…none are so blind as those who “refuse” to see. 

  • Yes             : (

  • I think he does. . .I don’t really like him, but if his parents were Americans, who happened to be serving out of the country, I’d say he’s “natural born.”

  • I think the intention of the rule was simply to keep foreigners from taking control of our country. He was born to US citizens and he spent most of his life on American soil. I would say he’s qualified.

  • @huginn - Umm…daddy is a huge name in the alcohol business in Arizona and throughout the southwest.  You don’t think that he could pull some strings to get his barbie-doll daughter a spot on some board so she looks like she might have some sense?

    As for a “claim” of dirt, go look it up.  It happened in the mid 90′s and got “drug” up again in 99 when McCain made his first run for the White House.  Go and google Cindy McCain and see what she has done/is doing and then go google Michelle Obama.  Obama’s wife went to law school and was Barack’s supervisor at one point.  Are you honestly telling me that Cindy McCain would be able to stand toe to toe with Michelle Obama in any sort of debate?  The only thing she would know about that she could out-knowledge Michelle, Bill or whoever is spending daddy’s money.

    Here is the best part: I actually like John McCain and think he would be all right as president.  He actually would get my vote if I had to choose between him and Hellary.

  • well, his parents were citizens. that’s pretty much “natural born” to me.

  • yep- i had a similar scenario… i have this uber-fancy birth certificate that says “citizen born abroad”… technically, he is still born on us property, therefore a natural born us citizen

  • It’s a u.s military zone, he’s a natural born us citizen.
    I don’t care about the sex or race or place of birth of my nomination candidates.

  • If it was really going to be a problem, I think someone would’ve realized this a long time ago.

  • Yes. 

    @k8tthelate - haha, that’s what I was thinking when I first read the title too!

  • well this has been traditionally dealt with in a way where he cannot receive the nomination.  traditionally military children born overseas are citizens not born on us soil.  that means he, like all others before him who did not BOTHER to run because of this cannot be elected as president.  now this could be very interesting!

  • It’s a little late to go back on him now…

  • @GrapiesWordsofWisdom - And, if you want to delude yourself as to “where” this money comes from…that’s your preogative…

    There are governing rules for campaign fundraising. It is also in the interest of competing candidates to unearth irregularities in campaign fundraising.

    …You got to get logical…none are so blind as those who “refuse” to see.

    This is actually pretty funny coming from you.

  • @LarsThunder - Umm…daddy is a huge name in the alcohol business in Arizona and throughout the southwest.  You don’t think that he could pull some strings to get his barbie-doll daughter a spot on some board so she looks like she might have some sense?

    So what? This doesn’t change the fact that most executive position requires above-average competency.

    As for a “claim” of dirt, go look it up…

    I can. But that won’t magically change its relevancy to our sub-discussion.

    Go and google Cindy McCain and see what she has done/is doing and then go google Michelle Obama.  Obama’s wife went to law school and was Barack’s supervisor at one point.

    Great for her! And your point?

    Are you honestly telling me that Cindy McCain would be able to stand toe to toe with Michelle Obama in any sort of debate?

    Do you honestly have no memory? Scroll up see if I’ve muttered this point.

  • Yes…some people are just PC about everything. 

  • NO matter what you think of the man, a natural born citizen is one that’s either: (1)someone  born to an American (as in USA) citizen–and you can be physically delivered anywhere in the world, or (2) physically born/delivered in the United States regardless of the citizenship status of your parent(s).  I lived overseas for 10 years and all the babies born of American parents received American citizenship immedately as well as citizenship in the country of their birth.  They had to have two passports–one from that country in order to leave that country, and their American passport in order to enter the United States.  They may have to make a choice between the two citizenships at the age of 18, or if they get called up for military duty in the other country (you forfeit your Ameriican citizenship if you serve in the foreign country’s army).  A long answer to a simple question!!!!

  • I agree with”Let me go too”. He was born on a US military base, that is considered part of the US, no matter where it might be(lol on when the first humans are born on another planet) 

  • @huginn - I’m sorry, I didn’t have my facts straight before.  The company is her DAD’S company and she became the chair of the board when he DIED.  Gee, let me think, I wonder how that happened?  It must be because she is so bloomin smart.  It has nothing to do with her dad at all.  I guess I was wrong.

    As for our sub-disscussion, Cindy McCain has said herself that she wants to be a more “traditional” first lady, and she thinks that’s what America wants.  After all, America is full of women who stay home all day, cleaning house and fixing supper.  She represents very few American women.  My final word is she is a trust fund baby, plain and simple.  She might be the head of some company’s board of directors, but that doesn’t mean she got there because she is smart or savvy, especially when the company belonged to her family and she is an only child.  Tell me you can’t honestly believe that she got her chair position based only on hard work.  If you believe that, then I’m sure you believed Bill when he said he didn’t have sexual relations with that woman. 

  • he doesn’t look natural. he looks kinda waxy to me.

  • military bases and property are considered in other sections of the constitution as part of the USA.

  • No-brainer.  Children born out of the country to parents who are citizens are citizens also.  Just the way it is.  You don’t have to be born in this country to be a natural-born citizen.

  • @LarsThunder - Wow, serious props for pursuing this point.

    Unfortunately, my enthusiasn for playing Republican’s-advocate doesn’t extend very far. My only intention was to dispute the point that Cindy McCain wasn’t a mental shrimp. I think any reasonable person would grant you that she would be whipped in any policy debate with Bill or Mrs. Obama.

  • It’s a good question and probably should be tested by the courts.  But, I guess if a professor of constitutional law says he’s ok, then I’ll go with that.

  • What the fuck are you blind?  It says  “…or a Citizen of the United States…”

  • Yes

  • Um, yeah, it’s not like it’s his fault. He couldn’t say to his mom, “yo, birth me back in the US.”

  • it doesn’t matter. those bastards will find a way to bypass the Constitution anyway like they always have been doing.

    the current moron in power came from the devil’s anus, but he’s still in office.

    screw politics.

  • @huginn - Ya know, I have to give credit where credit is due….you are like a one man pack of dogs. on the loose and out for the kill.  I guess you have never heard that when rules are made, miscreants know how to break them…especially in government and government is chockablock full of them.  Or has that eluded you too?

    Why do you “always” have to be so arrantly snied?  Like I wrote before…it’s a free country and each man has his opinion but it seems with you…if an opinion opposes you, you quickly attempt to shoot it down.  Not debate it…just shoot it down.

    Don’t be so naive for one who has extolled himself for being so eruditious.   Even though you may think you are a “smart” ass…I think you are arrogantly a dumb one.

  • It is amazing how many don’t know that children born to service members, diplomats, and other dignitaries stationed outside the country are in fact “natural born” citizens.  There are other instances where children in foreign countries are considered natural born citizens.  This is yet another case of journalists either not doing research before publishing or knowing the facts and intentionally leaving them out in order to stir up controversy where none exists. 

  • @SarahAriella -   You have written the truth and dare I think it…journalism no longer exists…just gossip mongering and crap stirring.

  • Of course.  I believe it is considered US territory when it comes to where military residences are.  Just as if a ship from another country was docked here, that is considered the territory of their country. 

  • Guess Hukabee gets his miracle.

  • If it keeps Huckabee from getting the nomination, then sure

  • yep.  I like what lyricsninja said.

  • Well duhhhh. Even a basic High-School Civics class will tell you that.

    That part just means that they can’t become president if they became a citizen through a naturalization process.

    I.E. If they’re born a U.S. citizen, they’re a natural-born citizen. Period.

  • Sigh, I guess.

    Though I wish it was no.

  • The claim is tricky, but I’m going with ‘at the time of this constitution’ to mean when the constitution was signed, not necessarily where the person was born, physically.

    ’nuff said…

  • Of course he does, but I’ll say NO BECAUSE I DONT WANT HIM IN THE WHITE HOUSE

  • this is ridiculous. of course he is.

  • You all should read crafttealady’s comment, it clears this issue up legally. We will have to deal with McCain.

  • John McCain is a natural born citizen; he was born in a U.S. military installation to U.S. parents.

  • ABSOLUTELY NO, if he is allowed to do that, then everyone who isn’t born in the US should be eligible to run for president!!!  OR else, I am going to protest like there is no tomorrow!!!!! People are too lenient on him because he’s white.

  • Yes, I believe being born on a U.S. Naval Base should qualify as “natural born” as the base is US property. 

  • where in the world is the Canal Zone? what the…

  • @shellybean99 - 

    It is kind of hard to tell them apart sometime, especially since they all pretty much tend to say the same thing which is usually some spin on “America good, everybody else bad.”

  • LetMeGoToo and Ro_ad808 are right. The Canal Zone was U.S. territory at the time, and thus U.S. soil.  This sounds like someone fishing for a reason for McCain not to get a nomination.

  • the term “natural born citizen” means you were born as a citizen of the united states…

    this is a goofy question…

    whether or not we think this qualifies him as a natural born citizen doesn’t change the fact that HE ACTUALL IS ONE

  • @huginn - hey dude, bush didn’t change anything in the constitution and being a natural born citizen simply means that you were born as a citizen of the U.S. which he was.

    bush made lots of dicisions that me and many others don’t agree with, but to claim that he changed the constitution or thta McCain is not a natural born citizen is foolish

  • @GrapiesWordsofWisdom - Ya know, I have to give credit where credit is due….you are like a one man pack of dogs. on the loose and out for the kill.

    I would like to think of myself of the loud variety. =)

    I guess you have never heard that when rules are made, miscreants know how to break them…especially in government and government is chockablock full of them.  Or has that eluded you too?

    Cheating occurs at all evels of government and academia. My sense of the matter is that the stakes are so high here, with campaign financing, that the penalties for cheating would be enough to deter them.

    There is a cap for campaign donation per person ($2,000 I seem to recall). If the Hillary or McCain camp were to have tangible proof of shady activity from the Obama campaign, I have no dobut that they’d seek to exploit it to their advantage. Competition between candidates keep it a level playing field.

    I know this is some hand-waving on my part, politics isn’t my forte. But I hope that at least some of this argument seems reasonablly based.

    Like I wrote before…it’s a free country and each man has his opinion but it seems with you…if an opinion opposes you, you quickly attempt to shoot it down.  Not debate it…just shoot it down.

    I try to provide justifications in my oppositions. If my argumetns are flimsily supported, I’d like for you to call me on it (or better yet, offer counter-support for your position).

    Even though you may think you are a “smart” ass…I think you are arrogantly a dumb one.

    I don’t really care how you label me. More important to me, are the reasons you provide for your position. Personally, though, I think you’re funny.

  • @eadie - I think you mis-took my position.

  • According to Wikipedia’s entry titled “Natural-Born Citizen”, the issue was decided long ago:

    “Congress first extended citizenship to children born to U.S. parents overseas on March 26, 1790,
    under the first naturalization law: “And the children of citizens of
    the United States that may be born beyond sea, or outside the limits of
    the United States, shall be considered as natural born citizens.”

  • yes.  language states natural born or U.S. citizen.  he’s a U.S. citizen.  and he owes the vietnamese men who pulled him out of the water!!!  so they say, despite the subsequent torture.  yay.

  • Yes, I think he is. I don’t much care for him myself.. but his parents were citizens and That should make him one as well, from the very second he was born… He was an ‘american’.

  • technically if you were born in another country (you are an automatic citizen in that corrisponding country). not unless you filed to immigrate at least 14 years ago. like how my family were immigrents, and i was the only one born in the US. i’m technically originally a US citizen by birth. but if i wanted to go back to my parents country, i’d have to file at least a visa to go.

  • I think “natural born citizen” means did he qualify as a citizen at the time of his birth…

  • Military Instillations ARE considered US soil — While on them – even over seas – you are subject to the laws of the US NOT the laws of the country — so if you are born on a US  military instillation anywhere in the world you are a NATURAL US citizen 

  • You are a natural born citizen if you are born on US soil.  I believe it not only includes the territory on the North American continent and Hawaii, but also the various embassies and consulates around the world are classified as US territory, as well as military bases.  Unless there’s some verified definition that does not count a US military base on foreign soil as US territory…I believe he has the full right to run for presidency.

    And to all of you who say that the rule for a natural born citizen is too old and antiquated that it should be removed, it is part of the symbolic nature of the presidential office.  The office is not just a position of power in this country (and the world), but it is also a symbol of America.

  • the ads on this page are ridiculous…
    :)

  • Actually I think military installations and embassies are considered part of the US – I could be wrong, but I think that’s right.

  • Nope. My best friend can’t give blood because he was born on an American base in Germany. If he can’t give freaking blood, this guy can’t be president.

  • If illegal immigrants can come in and have kids, and have their children be considered “natural born,” then he could have been born to US citizens in another place – and it’ll count just as much.

  • No.  Should we follow the constitution of the United States?  Or break it for him?

  • @ComaWhiteX - Nope. My best friend can’t give blood because he was born on an American base in Germany. If he can’t give freaking blood, this guy can’t be president.

    That’s a Non sequitur if I’ve ever seen one.

  • I echo the sentiments of Ro_ad808.

  • @findingliberty - No.  Should we follow the constitution of the United States?  Or break it for him?

    As a child of immigrants, I’d think that you’d be more conscientious of stuff like this. Oversea military bases count as U.S. soil. McCain’s parents are both American citizens– this would make little Johnny an American citizen himself regardless of where he was born.

  • @UR_MUSE - “Congress first extended citizenship to children born to U.S. parents overseas on March 26, 1790, under the first naturalization law: “And the children of citizens of the United States that may be born beyond sea, or outside the limits of the United States, shall be considered as natural born citizens.”

    This is actually a moot point. As John McCain was alive during the time of the American Revolution, he was automatically granted citizenship when the colonies congealed into the United States.

  • “And the children of citizens of the United States that may be born
    beyond sea, or outside the limits of the United States, shall be
    considered as natural born citizens.” – passed by Congress March 26, 1790. Later laws that superseded this used different wording.

  • How is he not a ‘natural born citizen’? Last I checked a US military base was, well hell I’ll say it.. US TERRITORY?!?

  • military brats are considered US citizens regardless of where they are born if they are born wherever their parents were serving the US in the military. i seriously doubt his loyalty to the US is curbed by his birth being outside the 50 states- military families are among the most loyal US citizens there are.

    all that said, he’s still not much better of a pick than the Democratic ballot…

  • Yes-are we going to tell him that He is not a citizen because his father was serving his country?

  • he is a citizen by birth.  His parents we’re citizens.  he is a natural born citizen.

  • That’s a tough call. I believe that he is a citizen even though I may or may not vote for him.

  • Besides, if he wasn’t a natural citizen back in the 60′s and 70′s, he would not have been able to serve in the armed forces. It would have saved him a trip to the Hanoi Hilton as a prisoner in the Vietnam War. I don’t like him for a candidate for presidency, but he has been to hell and back and he survived. I do respect the man for serving our country when we have had presidents in the past that had problems with authority but it was ok, they “didn’t inhale” .

  • No Person except a natural born Citizen, or a Citizen of the United States, at the time of the Adoption of this Constitution, shall be eligible to the Office of President:

    there’s an “or” there i believe. so i think he’s qualified.

  • “No Person except a natural born Citizen, or a Citizen of the United States,

    As long as you are a legal citizen of the United States, you can be President.

  • Is that John Hagee in the background? What in the world?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *