November 25, 2008

  • An Eye for an Eye

    A woman teacher and 15 schoolgirls were injured in an acid attack in Afghanistan.

    Attacks have been made by Islamic extremists on schools because they do not believe girls should receive an education.

    Now the teacher wants the attackers to have acid thrown on them and then have them hanged.  Here is the link:  Link

    Do you think the attackers should have acid thrown on them?

                                                                  

Comments (145)

  • Yeah I read about this earlier.

  • Mebbe. Prolly not. 

  • Why not?
    If they can do that to another person, why not have it done to them?

  • Sure.  Why not?  Especially if they’re going to be hanged anyways…

  • Definitely.

  • If it happened to me,no,but for her I can not judge.

  • yes…

  • Sounds fair to me.

    Gosh, that must have been awful.

  • I think no matter what they should be punished. The proper question is will they be punished? 

  • I absolutely believe that ALL criminals should first, before any other punishment, have done to them what they did to their victims. If they mugged someone, they should be mugged before spending 6 months in prison. If they shot and killed someone, they should be shot. If they die, they die, if they don’t, they spend their term in prison.

  • No.
    The spiral of violence an vengeance needs to be broken. an eye for an eye is very primitive and tribal – mob families, gangs, endless feuds

  • FUCK YEAHHHH.
    PAY BACK IS A BITCHHH

  • I don’t know. Probably. Maybe not the hanging part. But treat others how you want to be treated. Maybe the person’s a freak and it turns them on to have acid thrown on them. They just want someone to return the favor.

  • man, knowing that this shit happens makes me mad. i’ve heard of men throwing acid when the girls reject their arranged marriage ‘proposal’ 

  • they do say, “dont do to others what you dont want done to yourself
    however, where would civil law or proper justice be if we all got to keep running around hitting each other the same way we were hit…
    when would violence end then
    id say no…hanging them is enough.

  • “do on to others as you want done to yourself”…  Give me the acid.. I’ll do it for them!

  • Wow, that is injustice.  No one deserve to be treated that way by all means.

  • They should not have acid thrown onto them. That would not serve justice at all. They instead need to be locked in a room, tied in chairs, and have heretical teachings pass before them. Make them go insane by just shoving beliefs they don’t like or understand down their throats.

  • No.  We need to learn from things, not repeat them.

  • Yes. That’s fucking horrible.

    But I don’t think they should be hanged. Just burned and maimed.

  • Makes the whole world blind.

    So no.

  • yes, extremists they are.
    -but not hanged…

  • @yet_still_learning - Are you ever frightened by the responses you read here? Not in a personal safety sense, just… a where is the logic sense.

    That being said, when in Afghanistan, do as the Afghanis do. I see some people hanging soon perhaps, possibly burned with acid. We have done very well introducing our superior peaceful selfless sharing culture all over the world thus far haven’t we?

  • No. I am of the Gandhi school of thought that “An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind.” But they absolutely should be prosecuted.

  • @captain_jaq - You’re not serious are you? Hanging is actually a very humane form of execution. Done properly, death or at least loss of consciousness is instant.

  • an eye for an eye will make the world blind.

    but fuck that, i hate sexists! throw acid on them– TWICE.

  • They’re already being hanged for this crime.     Rather than throw acid on them and hang them, they should be shot, having the bullets first dipped in a pig’s blood.    This way, they won’t go to Allah and won’t be martyrs for their crime.    That’s how old Black Jack Pershing handled things.   Maybe the Afghans could learn from his methods.

  • Of course they should be punished, but having acid thrown on them is unnecessary, no matter what they did.

  • No, but something that will keep them from entering paradise.

  • Yes. Show them what it was like.
    That is horrible.

  • No! No! No!
    Is that justice?
    No! It doesn’t matter what you do to those people who attacked them with acid. It doesn’t cancel the fact that they were already attacked. It won’t make them feel any better. And if it does, it is a poor sense of betterness.

  • Dan you are starting to ask THE MOST stupidest shit ever

    um who in their fucking right mind is going to say, oh yes they should have thrown acid in their faces

  • Certainly seems fail to me. Actions need to have consequences. The repurcussions should at least equal the transgressions.

  • Yes?
    No?

    I’m neutral

    ~~~~~

  • @benjimau5 - I could care less if it’s fucking humane. But I only think the death penalty should be used in murder as “an eye for an eye”…and I don’t think that’s right, anyway. But since we won’t obliterate it, that’s the stance I take. I think burning him with acid and forcing him to remember the pain every day of his life is a far better punishment.

  • As angry as this makes me to see that done to someone, no.

  • No, hanging would do the job.

  • Well, since I don’t believe the attackers demonstrate any shred of true manhood, their testicles should be dipped in honey and they should be forced to sit on a fire ant colony.  I’m more for justice than vengeance.

  • No…In my experiences, I have found that God can do more to anyone than we can in the form of revenge, although I likewise do not believe we should pray that He does. The Bible tells us He reigns over the just and the unjust, to say the saved and the unsaved.  I have complete and utter confidence in Him. BUT, in all fainress, it wasn’t my face that was burned with acid. Otherwise, I, too, might be beating to the drum that she is!

  • I dont see the harm in it considering…

  • for shits and giggles, yeah. lol

  • =(

    i prefer jail time, but that won’t be enough for the damage they did to the girls’ faces. that’s so terrible!

  • That’s a brutal way to attack women, to destroy their beauty.  Very sad.

  • As much as I want to say yes…. no… but god I wish.. they certainly deserve it

  • i always fight with myself on this issue….i believe proper punishment is key in teaching children…

    aka: you make a mess, you clean it up. you break something…you work until that something is paid off…the punishment=the crime.

    but that’s children.
    and these people probably won’t achieve the same positive results…

    this comment really has no validity..because i can’t decipher my feelings…

    @psybels - and that is f’ing brilliant.

  • Immediate knee-jerk reaction is YES.

    Why? The society in which they live is different than that we enjoy in the United States. You have to look at the cultural differences and see that their way of life is still very much like the Code of Hammurabi still to this day. If a man steals food because he needs it to feed his family or they will perish, you are incorrect if you believe that his hand will be removed for stealing. He will be given a job and a chance to earn a living. If a man steals for the thrill of it or for monetary gain then yes, his hand will be removed. Based on this model for society, then absolutely the men who threw the acid should have that same treatment.

    It’s sad to think that they didn’t care if it was someone’s daughter they were hurting, someone’s future wife, or the fact that the girl could be scarred for life. The girls are going to school because they understand the need, it’s a shame their men aren’t able to progress outside of the tiny bubble of their own experiences.

  • Anytime we hear things like this, my mom always comes up with these weird things to do to people who do bad things. She kinda does the whole “if you steal, you should have your fingers cut off”

    But this is my opinion not hers.

    I think they should have  it splashed in their face and then put in jail. With NO help. xD That way they suffer. Idk. I think I got way to mean, but not really.

  • Absolutely yes.

  • Yes, if it would help to bring the victims some sense of closure. 

  • Personally, I do not think they should.

  • No.  They should serve a life sentence though.

  • Um, I say either do the acid or hang them, not both.  It’s kind of pointless to acid the men and then kill them.  It’s not like any more justice will be served in torturing them before they die.

  • Heck yes!
    I may just be saying that because I’m feeling particularly evil at the moment though.
    But then again, if we use that whole “two wrongs don’t make a right” crap will they ever stop? Maybe if we did throw acid on them they’d be like “dude, this is going to keep getting thrown back in our face unless we stop.” Because if nothing happens to them.. then why WOULD they stop?
    I don’t know if that made total sense.. I’m watching House while commenting. Heh.

  • They need a lot more then acid!!!!

  • No. The justice and morality behind the law is based on the fact that it does not work for vengeance, but for the betterment of society. It tries to protect the citizens by removing or reforming dangerous elements. The weeping victims may, in their emotion, long for retribution, but that is exactly why the law must be impartial. If it stoops to acting on blind emotion it loses legitimacy.

  • Someone said earlier that an eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind. I do agree that it was a horrible thing done for them, and as much (meaning very little) that I can try and place myself in their shoes, I no doubt believe they wish for justice.
    But we need to learn from out mistakes.
    My first reaction was, “hell yes”. But looking back on it, I think hanging is out of the question. The acid… that should be out of the question too. We need to learn, not repeat.
    I am so sorry it happened to them. Hunger for education should be cherished and fed, not looked down upon.

  • I can use a scientific law to answer this. “For every action, there is an opposite and equal reaction.” Therefore, yes — they should.

  • Let the families of the victims handle the matter.  Justice will be served.  If I were a father of one of these girls acid would be the least of the perps worries.

  • defiately, and lot of it

  • I initially thought, “YES”, but… I don’t know. I guess it isn’t necessary if they’re going to be hanged, anyway.

  • An eye for an eye and the world would go blind (I don’t know who I quited, but I agree with whoever said that).

  • yes.

  • i read they were paid to do such disturbing act against mankind. cannot recall the precise figures but yeah, regardless of its incentive they should simply drown in their own shame for life. 

  • yes i agree, if they caan do it to others, why can the girls do itback to them? its only fair.

  • 1) Sex change operation without anesthetic
    2) Acid poured on face
    3) HANGING

  • I believe in justice but “vengeance is mine, saith the Lord.” If that were the sentence the attackers received under the government- fine- that’s what governments are instituted for- but I don’t think people should take justice into their own hands.

  • I’ve never felt quite right about the eye for an eye type punishments. Fighting violence with violence just doesn’t seem right to me. :/

  • Hell yes! But it won’t make a difference. Islamic extremists are fucked up.

  • No. The men who did this were evil. Retaliating just makes you as evil as they are. 

  • I would not sink to their level by using acid, but I would have them tried in a court of law, if found guilty, then an appropriate sentence could be administered – hanging, firing squad, whatever is the accepted form of punishment.

  • An Eye for an Eye.
    Remember that.

    As much as i would wish for the criminals to get what they deserve and have acid thrown on them, and to have them hanged, violence begets violence.

    In a perfect world, we wouldn’t need these kinds of choices.

  • Yes. 
    How is that fair when scums of the earth go around doing terrible things to others, yet never get a taste of their own medicine?

    Do unto others what they did unto you..now that’s justice!

  • Why the hell not? If they can dish it they can take it. 

  • @nluvwgreenday - I agree with this 100%

  • No. Though justice must be served. 20 years would do nicely.

  • well… no but i’m anti-violence, at least during my rational moments. :)

  • According to facebook…happy birthday!

  • This is why I don’t believe in religion anymore.  The crap people do “in the name of God.”

  • sure. why not? an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth.

  • yes, on their fuckin nuts…

  • Sure..as they say, “do unto others” so really the attackers would have brought it on themselves.

  • you’re not teaching anything by doing that. i’d say put ‘em in jail…fo’ life!

  • @relaxolgy - Ghandi said something about that.

  • @GunStarHero1988 - ah, that makes me feel good, thankss

  • those extremist need to be soaked in acid! it’s way too cruel to deprive someone from education in such a manner and they seriously need to be educated first.

  • Oh gosh, maybe they deserve it, but I guess that’s where you have to be better than them, and perhaps seek a better justice.

    Its sad that this happens at all. 

  • no, i think they should be punished by law instead. It is not right and does not serve justice.

  • Aww hell, why not?

  • That would be a fuck yes from yours truly.

  • unbelieveable!

    why should they attack their own kind?

    why female cant get education??

    but, i dont believe on that ‘an eye for an eye’ phrase

    well, i got my sunday school teacher taught me well,
    she said, “if someone slap ur right cheek, u should give ur left cheek to be slapped and take no revenge”

    well,, my religion teach forgiveness,
    thou i had to admit that wasnt easy to do..

    but as they say, “a revenge lead to another revenge”

  • It might stop that sort of foolishness–or at least minimize it.

  • @Soultender - Ooooh… I like that one.

  • I say throw acid on THEIR balls and then hang them by the balls … er, don’t mind me, I’m just in a crappy mood today.

  • they should be loved;  and know Jesus.  that would make them suffer so much more.  They could realize what they had done.   

  • Hell Yes.  These guys will not understand until they really suffer the consequences.  The only thing I’m not too fond of is that these guys probably think they’ll go up to heaven and get 9 or 16 virgins all to themselves. So, they’d probably be okay with a hanging.

  • No.  The teacher is upset right now and is basing her words on anger.  Once she starts to think clearly again, she will realize that she really doesn’t want to stoop down to the bad guy’s level by doing the same to him.

  • yes, just looking at those makes me cry. my heart goes out to them.

  • No.  I think they should be executed…slowly and very painfully.

    Make them watch old episodes of Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood over and over.

    Seriously, in that part of the world, they believe in “an eye for an eye,” and take extreme steps to punish thieves, cheaters, and those who commit sins against Allah.  Steal a loaf of bread?  Lose your hand.  Steal again, lose the other hand.  Cheat on your husband?  Get stoned to death…and I’m not talking about stoned, of the cannabis variety.  Their values are so much different than ours that it’s not even  reasonable to discuss what should happen while looking through our American-values tinted glasses.

  • Most defiantly! are we just gunna let them attack us, fuck no
    we gotta get them backk!

  • Hell ya mainly because I am all for equality. Why should the women get the “pleasure” of it. Only instead of throuwing it at the mans face, strip his pants down and throw it at his “manhood”.

    But I sort of agree with one above that the teacher is upset and is letting emotions get the best of her. My hub grew up in Saudi Arabia (he is not arabic) and he knows first hand how it is there. He almost witnessed a beheading, a stoning, and other things. His mother pulled him away so he would not be forced to watch.

    I partially do agree with some of their laws, such as stoning of a rapist, but do not agree that the victim also gets the stoning. Thievs getting hands cut off…hey, at least they will learn eventually. If not, they die. 

    My thoughts are this though. How the hell does heaven have so many virgins unless some of those virgins are male, there is no way that these guys are getting the real deal. Heaven must have performed some sort of revirginization of these chicks and they are just playing a part. Then that makes me think, if “Allah” is going to reward these guys with “Virgins”, doesnt that make Allah a pimp

  • yo do it 1523 style and have the town square decide what to do

  • I’ve been looking for a peace loving religion that treats women worse than stray dogs. Maybe this Islam thing is for me if my current religion that tells me to love others as myself and show honor to all women as I would my own sister doesn’t work out.

  • The title says it all–sure it should be done.

  • @walden_thoreau - What do we do about those who insist on repeating them?

  • two wrongs wouldn’t make a right.

    i feel really bad for those innocent girls and teachers
    that had acid thrown at them
    but throwing it back isnt going to solve anything.

    but i think he should defnitely be thrown in jail

  • hell yes, fuck u people, lets see the motive and if they were mentally insane bull

  • Yes, look what they did to those poor girls.  

  • Acid in their faces?  Gotta say I agree with that even though returning evil for evil is wrong.  How dare those idiots try to run other people’s lives? 

  • “Eye for an eye” is a Hebrew Bible *principle* for guiding punishments in their court system. Contrary to popular belief it isn’t a strict rule for revenge.

    “You stole my horse” would result in the criminal either returning the horse or repaying the victim an amount equal to the value of the horse.

    In this case, it isn’t civilized to throw acid on the perpetrators’ face but it is just to punish them very, very seriously as their crime permanently harmed those women. I say several years in prison and a severe beating at the very least.

  • They should be dipped in acid with a dissolveable rope tether.

  • Yes. Throw acid on them. If they can do it to someone else, they can have it done to them.

  • sure.

    karmaaaaaa

  • An eye for an eye and the whole world goes blind.  Jesus says “love your enemies as yourselves.” and the Bible also says to have compassion on your enemies. Jesus, while hanging on the cross even said, “Forgive them, for they know not what they do.” Those people are just really misguided. They should be punished, of course, but more than anything encouraged and persuaded to turn from their evil ways. (:

    God bless and have a blessed Thanksgiving.

  • In this case, yes. 

  • I watched a documentary once about a Nazi soldier and how he came to be there and how he was able to carry out gruesome and inhumane orders, the now old man said that it was like a spell woven around you if you idolize someone with a lot of power. His whole family, town, society worships Hitler and when you are borne into such a community, you buy into the whole ideology (fully believe in your mind and soul) and would do anything for the leader. He went on to say that it took for years to undo the beliefs and be “normal” and now he regrets his actions (of course)…

    In light of that, I think those people are victims themselves. Perhaps the mastermind deserves the punishment much much more, rather than his mindless followers.

  • Yes, absolutely. However, I’ve been forgiven much, and there is a lot that I deserve too. As some have stated break the cycle of violence. A little grace and forgiveness goes a long way. And an eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind. We’ve all sinned and deserve death. If we all got what we had coming to us none of us would be alive.

  • @rinrinchan@revelife - Your comment made me think of a book I read earlier this year. “The Sunflower” by Simon Wiesenthal.

    The author is a Jew that lived through concentration camps in World War 2. During that time he was pulled aside by a dying SS who confessed to some atrocious stuff. At the end of his confession the SS asked him for forgiveness for his crimes against the Jewish people. The book itself is Simon’s thoughts exploring forgiveness and ends asking the question of what you would do if you had been in that situation. In the edition I linked to above another book is added with many people’s responses and thoughts on the matter.

  • @Tom@revelife - Oh wow. I read the reviews to that book and they are awesome. Thanks a lot for taking the trouble. At the end of my last comment, I still said that these extremists should be punished for all the sick things they have been doing around the world (but maybe we should punish the leaders and not the devoted but mindless followers). Do you think even those leaders deserve forgiveness?

  • Hmm……I don’t know, my heart said ‘Sure, they DESERVE it’, but my brain said ‘We should not use violence to revenge’

    Alas, I am in a mess…

    I only hope the ladies and girls can get well soon!

  • Yes. No one who is improving themselves should go through that.

  • @rinrinchan@revelife - Forgiveness doesn’t mean lack of justice.They should still be prosecuted. Given the country they are in that seems a bit unlikely though.

    My view of forgiveness comes from Jesus. That being that He paid with His life for our offenses that we would be forgiven of all of our transgressions. In that, justice is served as well as forgiveness offered.

    Keeping that in mind I, hopefully, could forgive anyone for anything because I have been forgiven of everything (at least in theory, in practice it’s much harder). But, I don’t think that means that they shouldn’t be prosecuted for their crimes. If we pardoned all the criminals we would have chaos.

    The Old Testament of the Bible established a legal system with consequences for different actions. The idea of an eye for an eye is in that system as well (as long as with Hammurabi’s Code, but I don’t know much about it). The idea behind the eye for an eye system wasn’t to hand out severe punishment equal to the crime. It was instead to limit punishment to be no worse than the crime committed. This hopefully takes vengeance off of the table for criminal proceedings.  And ends escalating violence between the two parties involved.

    When Saddam Hussein was caught he had several different trials to go through for his many different war crimes, crimes against humanity, etc. He faced the first trial and was found guilty then very shortly afterward he was hung. He didn’t even have time to face his other trials. I’m sure he would have been found guilty anyway though. But, it bothered me that he was hung so soon. Even though it’s unlikely that he would have had a change of heart I felt bad that he was never given a chance to.

  • Yes.  Seeing as how nothing worthwhile happens to terrorists to make them learn a lesson, then an eye for an eye would be vlid.

  • All religion is good. It is how they interpret it that make all the difference. It might be reasonable to let them feel what they did to the victims. But still they deserve a fair trial, the system will deal with them in accordance with the crime they commited. The system will prevail, hopefully…

  • “And if any mischief follow, then thou shalt give life for life, Eye for eye, tooth for tooth, hand for hand, foot for foot, Burning for burning, wound for wound, stripe for stripe.” -Exodus 21:23-25.

    “And if a man cause a blemish in his neighbour; as he hath done, so shall it be done to him;  Breach for breach, eye for eye, tooth for tooth: as he hath caused a blemish in a man, so shall it be done to him again.” -Leviticus 24:19-20.

    “An eye for an eye” is not merely revenge, but also a legal limitation.  The attackers should not be hanged unless a victim died.  Burning for burning would be equivalent; death for burning would not, unless it was attempted murder:

    “And the judges shall make diligent inquisition: and, behold, if the witness be a false witness, and hath testified falsely against his brother;  Then shall ye do unto him, as he had thought to have done unto his brother: so shalt thou put the evil away from among you.  And those which remain shall hear, and fear, and shall henceforth commit no more any such evil among you.  And thine eye shall not pity; but life shall go for life, eye for eye, tooth for tooth, hand for hand, foot for foot.” -Deuteronomy 19:18-21.

    This is, of course, only the legal issue.  If the victims grow bitter instead of forgiving, their emotions become scarred as well as their bodies.  Bitterness torments: “Shouldest not thou also have had compassion on thy fellowservant, even as I had pity on thee?And his lord was wroth, and delivered him to the tormentors, till he should pay all that was due unto him.  So likewise shall my heavenly Father do also unto you, if ye from your hearts forgive not every one his brother their trespasses.” -Matthew 18:33-35

  • @herzog3000 - In Exodus 22, theft crimes actually require restitution of more than the value of the stolen property, with distinctions between grand larceny; petty larceny; and burglary, recovered property, and embezzlement:

       1 If a man shall steal an ox, or a sheep, and kill it, or sell it; he shall restore five oxen for an ox, and four sheep for a sheep.

       2 If a thief be found breaking up, and be smitten that he die, there shall no blood be shed for him.

       3 If the sun be risen upon him, there shall be blood shed for him; for he should make full restitution; if he have nothing, then he shall be sold for his theft.

       4 If the theft be certainly found in his hand alive, whether it be ox, or ass, or sheep; he shall restore double.

       5 If a man shall cause a field or vineyard to be eaten, and shall put in his beast, and shall feed in another man’s field; of the best of his own field, and of the best of his own vineyard, shall he make restitution.

       6 If fire break out, and catch in thorns, so that the stacks of corn, or the standing corn, or the field, be consumed therewith; he that kindled the fire shall surely make restitution.

       7 If a man shall deliver unto his neighbour money or stuff to keep, and it be stolen out of the man’s house; if the thief be found, let him pay double.

       8 If the thief be not found, then the master of the house shall be brought unto the judges, to see whether he have put his hand unto his neighbour’s goods.

       9 For all manner of trespass, whether it be for ox, for ass, for sheep, for raiment, or for any manner of lost thing which another challengeth to be his, the cause of both parties shall come before the judges; and whom the judges shall condemn, he shall pay double unto his neighbour.

    Simple return of the property wouldn’t be enough of a deterrent- it doesn’t cost the thief anything.  A net loss removes the financial motive behind theft.

    I blogged a little about different punishments for crimes against life, liberty, and property.

  • No, not at all. An eye for an eye doesn’t work- take the Iraq war for an example. We thought we’d “get back at” those who’d attacked us (doesn’t matter for some reason that none of the hijackers were Iraqi), and we created more terrorists and more people who hate the US all around the world. Plus it’s bad karma. As I live by the Wiccan Rede, I believe that anything I do will come back to me three times as good or bad. If the teachers threw acid, they’d have something even more terrible happen to them, whether in this life or their next (I also believe in reincarnation). The attackers will get what’s coming to them karmically.

  • @Exhorter - You are correct, sir. I was generalizing to make the point that “eye for an eye” has a particular context. Most people think it is a license for personal vendetta which it is not and ridicule Christianity/Judaism because of it.

    But thank you for the specific retort and forgive my sloppiness.

  • I’m a Christian and shouldn’t be saying this, but YES! (sorry Lord)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *