November 27, 2008

  • Birthday Post Part 3

    I would like to thank everyone for all the expressions of Happy Birthday and for all those who posted about my birthday.  I had a good day even though I worked most of it.

    Maybe I am just getting nostalgic with my birthday but I have been wondering with some people leaving xanga if slowly but surely we all might be gone some day.

    It is easy to say that we will all stay around but we have all read the post by some friend saying that they were done with xanga and going somewhere else.  Some of them even pretend to have real lives. 

    I think the Xanga is different in that so many are expressing their thoughts and emotions.  I can’t help but to think that one day some of us will be saying, “I wonder whatever happened to . . .”  But on the Internet there is no way to go back and catch the person.  Usually we leave without giving a phone number or a last name.

    Do you think we will be here on xanga ten years from now?

Comments (68)

  • Hard to know. Will Xanga be here ten years from now?

  • Probably not.  …but you never know.

  • happy birthday!! Glad to kno u had a good day at least.

    and yea i was just thinking of that myself about the Xanga. How i used to LOVE being on it almost ALL day long. but lately, since Revelife exist, I slowly disappear from Xanga. And now that I am seeing MORE AND MORE new site related with Xanga, I feel that it is becoming pointless. The xanga lost its special touch.

    It is no longer alone and special. It is spreading into other world. It is not the same anymore. Will Xagna exist in 10 years? Most likely, but will it be as popluar as it used to be?? Most likely NOT.

  • I hope that 10 years from now I may find a different way of sharing my thoughts and emotions than just Xanga…although, I love being able to do it here as well!  Hmm.

    Oh my goodness, 10 years from now my son will be driving!  And I’ll be…are you ready for this!?  I don’t think you are!  I’ll be….YOUR AGE!

      Glad you had a Happy Birthday!

  • There’s no guarantee that we’ll all still be breathing ten years from now. But if I am, I hope I’m still on xanga. I just hope I have enough of a life that I’m not on xanga as much as I am now!

  • I never thought I’d still be here five years ago.

    Your birthday got you thinking about blog mortality?

  • yes, assuming this planet will still have electricity and air ten yeats from now

  • If it is here I will probably be here too.

  • Noo..  The world’s supposed to end in 2012, right?

  • Well I’ve been on over 5 years now, and I wasn’t even sure when I first got my blog if I’d have it for 6 months so at this rate it is quite possible! I’ve grown quite attached to xanga.

  • hah i wood leave u my number hehe

  • i think so!

    do you read all your hundred’s of comments?

  • I’m staying positive that if we all stick around, Xanga will be here for more than 10 years.

    I had a similar thought about a big forum I was attached to. Sometimes people just leave, and you wonder where they went to.

  • I will prob be here in 10 years from now. Maybe not on Myspace or Facebook. I don’t know. I love Xanga. They will have more features in the future. So it will be good.

  • Maybe.  I don’t plan past breakfast though.  And even that’s shaky.

  • I dont know…I have already been on here for like 5 years so what’s another 10. It would be interesting if I did though…I wonder where my life is headed. But anyways, I know everybody and their mother has already done this and I am a little late on the bandwagon but HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! :)

  • I hope so.
    Admittedly, I always take a hiatus from Xanga without warning. But I do always come back. & they usually aren’t long breaks.
    That being said, I’ll probably still be here.. especially after I get my new modem installed in my laptop because then I can take Xanga with me even when I’m busy as hell (which is when I take my hiatuses(sp?).

  • Some might.  I think a lot of people will move on.  Really, I can’t even picture myself being alive ten years from now.  My future is just a blank to me.

  • I don’t know if I will still be here on Xanga in 10 years. I suppose that as long as I have the strength to plant myself in front of the computer, I will be here.

  • …This post is a little depressing…

    If Xanga lasts for ten more years, I believe a few of us will be here.

    People leaving is why I like to connect in other ways. But not everyone has a Facebook, or wants xangans on their Facebook… they have real-life friends and family on their FB- in other words, sane people. :P Xangans would ruin their reputation, so I understand why they wouldn’t want to connect there. Haha.

    …Also, staying in touch tends to require sharing personal info of some kind- phone numbers, email addresses, etc. And not everyone feels comfortable handing over stuff like that to people they’ve met online.

    :( Now I’m depressed. If it weren’t your birthday I might complain. Happy Thanksgiving, darn it.

  • Who knows. 10 years are gone fast.

  • I’ll be leaving xanga when they shut the site down.

  • I know I’ll be, if only from time to time.

  • I think Xanga may be around in 10 years time,   unless the company sells itself and Xanga 2 is born.

  • I might. I need somewhere to blog about my graduation, wedding, and kids.

  • i hope so…

    again

    Happy birthday (in chinese:生日快樂… i am not sure if you know this or not )

  • No. Xanga = the new AOL.

  • Glad you had a great birthday.

    I don’t know about whether we’ll be on Xanga in ten years or not. I know with having started school this semester, I haven’t posted very much at all, but I still read subs every few days or so.

  • yyesss! i need my xanga!!

  • Some of us well be here, and some of us not… 10 years is a long time. I have been on xanga on and off for 6 years now… So being here another 10 isn’t so farfetched… I am sure at one point I will be taking a break in some way shape or form. 

  • maybe not that’s why i’d you in facebook.

  • Dan,  I probably won’t be here two MONTHS from now.

    After a while,  when you spend literally hours upon hours writing to impress a crowd and try to entertain them,  and you’re still a teenager,  you get burned put,  tired,  wondering exactly what to write,  and just thinking,  hey,  I could leave and they wouldn’t notice…

  • i paid for a lifetime! it BETTER not go away or i will want my money back!!!!!

    lol!

    ok… i probably would get over it… and will be doing some other new hip thing!

  • I don’t think so.

    I just started posting more but I while back I wouldnt’ post for months at a time or even took off. I have a feeling we will all eventually leave xanga!

    However. I have most of my xanga friends on Facebook or Myspace. I’m addicted to facebook…so thats nice. Even then I have most of their mailing addresses too! So. I can snail mail them if I like! I have ways of contacting them. They are my friends & I want to be able to remain in contact with them!

  • You will, probably.  :)  Happy belated birthday!

  • Who knows, but I do know, Dan will always be in my heart.

  • No…I don’t think all of us will be here,Time moves on and takes its toll….

  • I’ve already been here five. I’m sure I can make 10 more.

  • I might be, but probably not. =/

  • I doubt I’ll be on Xanga in 10 years.    Heck, I used to think I’d be on CompuServe for a long time too.

  • I’d like to hope so. I’ll be 26 going on 27, so i’ll still be young enough to like blogging ;) lol

  • If Xanga is still up and running.  I will stay.

  • “Some of them even pretend to have real lives…” lol. XD

  • I doubt I will still be on here for 10 more years.
    I have a tendency to forget about it and remake
    one. Maybe I’ll still be here.

  • I think so…When I joined in 2003 I didn’t think it would be around 5 years from then…and it’s been over 5 years.

  • Happy belated birthday!
    I hope that Xanga is still around by then….I have lots of important parts of my life that I wrote about. It’s neat to see how much I change through the years.

  • I plan to be. Xanga is ajournal for me. I have kept it for over 4 years…why would I stop?

  • there was a time when i quit xanga for a good 2 years. But i came back cuz i needed an outlet. And i guess it can help to improve my creativity a bit.

  • I think I will.

  • It would make for a nice featured question. But hopefully, I’m still here in Xanga. Unfortunately, that might be a tad difficult because it’s been the first time in almost a month that I was able to log in. It’s not even because I’m busy. I just can’t log in because Xanga hasn’t been loading properly in the Philippines for quite some time now.

  • I hope we will still be here!  I’ve got a lot of history documented on Xanga.  I wonder if I can get a backup copy of my page contents sent to me to store on my external hard drive with my other backups???  I think Xanga needs an “Export Post to My Documents” feature.

  • The internet only came into existance ~10 years ago, & you want to know where we’ll be 10 years from now?

  • @mashimaroboi - might want to work on the spelling & grammar too,,,,

  • I hope Xanga lasts 10 years.  I use it as a brain dump, to archive thoughts for personal reference and for reference of others.  If I build a body of quality material, it will be worthwhile even if I stop at some point.

  • I’ll be waiting for my 10+ years badge when the time comes. I’m half way there already. How about a 5+ years badge while I’m waiting?

  • I think I will, even though I seem to get a lot of views but very few comments. Someone out there wants/needs to hear what I say, and I think I’m doing some good in the world even if it’s just making an inane post about my blah day.

  • Actually, I started Xanga about 5 years ago. At that time, I had an array of people that I had subscribed to…and it was nice to read their posts and interact with them. Then, it was like they all slowly dropped off of this site. It’s weird, but I still wonder about some of them!

    I’ve restarted a new Xanga profile since then…but it’s definitely not the same! Alot of new people have come to Xanga, and the website has changed alot.

  • Some Santas

    Coach Outlet Online

    are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have greatness

    Gucci Belt

    thrust upon them. And then there are those happy fellows who take a week-long class in all things

    Coach Factory Outlet

    Father Christmas, and come out the other side with a coveted B.S.C. degree

    Coach Outlet Store Online

    (Bachelor of Santa Claus).Such was the fate of those

    Coach Factory Outlet

    who, for years, chose to take instruction at Charles Howard’s

    Coach Outlet Online

    Santa Claus School in the upstate New York town of Albion, not far from

    Coach Online Outlet

    Rochester. In fact, the school still exists today, 75 years after it

    Coach Outlet Online

    was founded by Howard in 1937; since the mid-1960s, it has operated

    Coach Outlet Online

    out of Midland, Michigan, and remains the world’s oldest Santa

    Hermes Belts

    school.In 1961, LIFE’s Alfred Eisenstaedt visited Howard’s school for would-be Santas,

    Coach Factory Online

    and made a series of photos chronicling the evidently quite fun process

    Coach Outlet Store Online

    of learning to be all the Santa Claus one can be. (Many of the pictures

    Coach Outlet Store Online

    here were not originally published in the article that

    Coach Factory Online

    ran in LIFE.) In its November 17, 1961, issue, LIFE shared the lighthearted

    Coach Outlet

    goings-on at the school with its readers
    He teaches

    Coach Outlet Store

    the history of Santa Claus, make-up and costumes (“Don’t use false

    Coach Outlet

    eyebrows — let your own grow”), Christmas stories and how to be jolly. He tells how to cope

    Coach Outlet Online

    with young hazards Santa may find in his lap. There is the tear-spiller

    Coach Factory Outlet Online

    (“All you can do is get his mind off what’s bothering

    Louis Vuitton Belts

    him”) and the shin-kicker (“Santa is no reformer so don’t spend much

    Coach Handbags Outlet

    time with him”). Most dangerous of all is the beard-yanker. “When

    Coach Outlet Online

    you see a devilish gleam in the eye,” he says, “you know you’ve

    Coach Factory Online

    got one. So you grab your beard underneath, hold tight and when he

    Coach Factory Online

    yanks, holler Ouch.Finally, we’ll end with one of Howard’s more

    Coach Outlet Online

    memorable quotes about St.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *