November 22, 2009

  • The Blind Side

    My wife and I went to the movie “The Blind Side” tonight.

    In the movie that was based on a true story, a rich white family took in a homeless black kid.  I really liked the movie and would give it an 8 on a scale of 1 to 10.

    My parents took in foster children and my brothers who stayed with us the longest were hispanic.

    If you were to adopt a child, would it be more difficult for you to take in a child of a different race?
                                                                                     

Comments (79)

  • I don’t see why it would be.

  • No. I would take anyone in who needed a home, no matter what race they are. I want to see that movie.

  • I cannot wait to see this movie.

    If I were to adopt, the child’s original culture would definitely be a challenge, but it would be something I would really try to incorporate into their lives.

  • Nope…I’d adopt in a heartbeat if I were in a position to do so and race would not matter one bit to me.

  • Nope! I don’t understand how that could even be an issue.

  • I can’t wait to see that movie, it looks so good! 

  • Nope. If I wanted to adopt a kid, I’d take whatever kid needed a home. 

  • not at all and  that sounds like a movie i should see. 

  • i want to see this, along with precious. a lot of inspirational shows out around thanksgiving time.

    i don’t think it would be very hard for me to adopt a child of another race.

  • I don’t think it would be.

  • It would not matter to me what race I adopted…I just want to adopt children someday! (And I don’t care how old they are either — babies to teenagers.) I really want to see this movie!!

  • Not in the town I live in, but I could see mixed families catching shit in some of the more rural areas around here.

  • no i actually want a couple black kids so either i get married to a black man or i adopt them but yea i will most likely adopt them

  • I don’t see why it should be difficult…

  • i keep forgetting about this movie but i do want to see it.

  • i would take in anyone. no matter their race.

    but it could be difficult in a way. not that my relationship with them would be strained, but as a white person who has never dealt with serious forms of racism, taking in someone of color could be hard when it came to helping them with the problems they were having with racism. they’d probably feel more comfortable with someone who could relate to that.

  • No, I think it would go over rather well. My three kids are all very different looking from each other anyway, so one more oddball wouldn’t hurt! :)
    Seriously. I get asked in Walmart if they all have the same father. (which they do.)
    ~V

  • I Can’t wait to see this movie. I’d adopt no matter what race they were. 

  • it wouldn’t happen to me.

    love is love.
    xo

  • I don’t think it would matter if the kid was a different race. All I know is that I don’t want to have kids of my own, as long as I know that there are kids out there who don’t have homes that need one.

  • Race wouldn’t matter at all.  Culture differences might cause a slight tension at first but we’d work through them.

  • Race is not an issue for us. I have brought a few homeless people home with me from time to time. Ones I had gotten to know at the shelter. A friend of mine also saw this tonight and he said she reminded him of me so now I have to go see it in order to find out if that’s an insult or not.

  • Not at all. Our family members have adopted several different races of children. We don’t see any difference. They are ours and we love them all dearly.
    I do want to see this movie. So glad you saw it and thought it was good!

  • Why should it matter?  Needing a home should supersede color.  It’s unfortunate that it ever should.

  • Race would not be a factor at all.  Actually, I love seeing families with children of different races growing up together because they all really do seem ‘color blind’ as we all should be.

  • ethnicity wouldn’t be an issue for me.  or my husband.  i’d actually want to adopt. any race would do. thanks.

  • I want to see that so bad! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  • I am not concerned with the race of a person when they come into my home. So no it would not be an issue for me at all as a matter of fact it would probably be easier in my city to adopt a child of a different race simply because there are more of them available.

  • Nope.  It would be life changing, of course.  Some people might not like it.  But that wouldn’t stop me.

  • I’m hispanic myself, I wouldn’t mind any race, it shouldn’t matter.

  • I almost tossed a chinese baby from the third floor, very smooth white skin, well fed, I’m going to regret not pushing through with it

  • I think it would, because I believe everyone should stick to their roots. I want them to have a home, but also learn about their family histo- oh wait.

    D:

    - Kunoichi

  • One of my professors (white, now middle-aged) had adopted three black kids (all girl).

    Can’t help but seriously admire that.

  • No! I would prefer to, for diversity, as long as the child was okay with it. :)

  • Fuck yeah. There’s a little racism in each one of us.

  • Not at all.  Some of my own grandchildren are 1/2 Chinese,  others are 1/4 Hispanic.  I have 2 grand-nieces who are 1/2 African-American, and I am 1/2 Armenian.  Some of the cutest little kids are African children.  Unfortunately, my husband and I are a bit too old to adopt.

  • A little, just because there are still some racial issues in this country. White parents taking in a minority kid will catch flak from whites who are a bit racist and from the more racist members of the child’s race who think he ought to be raised by his own kind. But I think any good, healthy family can overcome those things.

  • No  race would never matter to me.
    I keep thinking how much Sandra Bullock looks like Kathy Lee Gifford in that movie

  • It probably WOULD be more difficult, for a lot of reasons.  Cultural differences, problems with friends and neighbors, possible distrust or leeriness on the part of the adoptee.

    Doesn’t mean I wouldn’t do it.  Just, ya gotta be prepared for the possible difficulties.

  • It was a good movie.

    It would be just as easy of a choice, but life would be more difficult.  Like in the movie, you have to deal with other people not understanding.  But I would adopt a kid of any race just as quick as one of my own “race.”

  • Race? No. Cultural differences? perhaps

    where I live I doubt it would be a big deal

  • no it wouldn’t. 

  • I live in a multiracial country and yes, people adopt kids from other races. The government even encourages families to take in a foster child as part of a ‘adoption program’ for students who came from other parts of the country or from other countries. This will help the children to have a foster family to fall back into when they feel homesick and be integrated into the society.

  • No. Why would it be? (Beside the fact that, if they came directly from that country I’d have to learn to speak their language.)

  • I would be afraid of the social stigma from certain people in the community, but otherwise, I wouldn’t find adopting a child of a different race to be more difficult than adopting one of my own race.

  • It would only be hard in the sense of trying to keep their culture alive without forcing my culture down on them.

  • I want to adopt a little Indian boy so bad!!!!

  • I don’t think so. I think if you adopt young enough, it doesn’t matter who the child is because you get past cultural differences. 

  • Not at all. In fact if I do, that’s how I plan to do it. lol anyone I marry or adopt or whatever would be a different race than me since very few people have my exact blend.

  • I want to see this movie. It should be a beautiful movie. I would adopt a child of a different ethnicity. It’d be neat to see a black/hispanic/white child walking around speaking Cantonese.

  • This movie was amazing.

  • Nah, when you adopt, you do it out of love.

  • @twoberry - Glad someone is finally being honest.

  • I read about this argument in Essence. I personally do not think that adopting outside the race is bad, as these children need homes, whether the parents be white, black, Hispanic, gay, or lesbians. However, if you do adopt outside you’re own race, you need to mke sure that the children can properly learn about their culture and history. My one friend was adopted from Korea, and he knows nothing about his culture. Yes, he’s an American, but his origins should be known. He should know the struggle and strife Korea has gone through. He should have a sense of pride and respect for being Korean born. Be proud of where he came from. If parents can remember this when they adopt outside their race, then there shouldn’t be a problem.

  • Well, I was prepared to raise my biracial son, so there would be no  problem with me raising a child of any other race, biological child or not.

  • I think it would be easy to take in a dog but it would be hard to take in a child

  • I don’t see races, some people are just different shades of skin, that’s all.

  • I would find it easier.

  • Ah I saw it last night. It was soo good!

  • Race wouldnt be an issue for me, it would be if I were able to provide for any child, you know? It sounds like you had really good parents, how old were the adopted kids, you still talk to them?

  • nope i love all people unless they are assholes

  • For me it would be no problem at all. I would love that, actually.

  • honestly, I can’t imagine adopting a child who wouldn’t identify with me.

  • @TheMarriedFreshman -  wow. people in wal mart are so bold aren’t they? to just come out and say “hey, youve gotten around, eh?*eying the children*” basically.

    once i was shopping with my husband and his oldest son (my husband was 29, i was 19 and the kid was 9 at the time) and one couple came up to him and just outright asked If the boy and i were his son and daughter. Seriously? seriously. Sometimes, I am appalled by how people make assumptions then take it upon themselves to make it their business.

  • adopting outside of my race would be an absolutely HUGE issue. Transracial adoption is a big deal and shouldn’t be taken lightly.  It’s beautiful when people say “oh, yes! children are children no matter what their race” but once they are in your family they are a part of your family forever. Even with adoptions within your race, it’s sometimes heartbreaking to look at a child that you’ve loved for years and see someone elses features.  These beautiful children will gow into teens and adults eventually and unless your family can provide a truely cultural inclusive feeling and education then they may feel lost and like some part of themselves has been neglected.

    I have spent years researching adoption for the time that we may be able to adopt and have spent time recently looking into transracial adoption. We were informed that Ugana or Haiti would be the best choice for us to adopt from. My husband isn’t exactly into adopting a child of a different race. He says that our family just wouldn’t be able to provide the kind of multicultural lifestyle that a child would need.

    It IS a big deal. for us anyway.

  • I think it could be harder, in ways, because if you know nothing about their culture and want to have them keep that aspect of themselves you would need to learn about it and learn how to teach them about it. In the greater scheme of things though no I don’t think it would be any more difficult. It’s all difficult (bringing up children).

  • My family adopted three black kids, but I think my parents are racist.

  • I don’t think race will be an issue. The bond will eventually overcome that. :P

  • I am actually been considering to adopt a kid for the longest time now. I really want a kid that is not my own race.

  • Not at all!!  I have been thinking about my future and kids, and I think adoption is the logically choice for me and if I do I won’t let race effect my decision.  I actually always say I won’t the oldest, most problematic kid they have.

  • I plan to adopt someday, and I plan to adopt a waiting child from foster care. Statistics show that the child might not be caucasian, just because of the demographics of kids, in foster care, in my area. It doesn’t matter to me, one bit. Honestly. All kids are beautiful, and they all deserve love, a home, and a family. It won’t matter to me!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *