July 25, 2010

  • Shooting Someone

    I was reading an article about two women who were being robbed.

    Two men robbed the women and one of them held a screwdriver up to the throat of one of the women.  He then told one of the women to take off her clothes.  The woman told the men she had more money in her purse and eventually she was able to get to the gun in her purse.

    She shot both men and killed one of them.  Here is the link:  Link

    Do you think you could shoot and kill another person?

                                                            

Comments (173)

  • In that situation, hell yes! You don’t threaten another person’s life and expect to get away with your own.

  • That’s admirable♥

  • Hell yes, I would! She was in the right.

  • Hell yes I could.

  • I honestly don’t know, and I hope I never have to find out.

  • I wouldn’t ever have access to a gun, so I guess I would die. And according to the NRA, I deserve to because I don’t agree with them and the rest of the gun lovers. I refuse to own a tool that was designed to violate the Fifth Commandment just because others have one. If I am meant to be killed because I don’t have a gun, then so be it.

  • in certain circumstances… probably.

  • It depends on the situation.

    It’d haunt me regardless, but if it was defensive, then I would probably at least injure them.

  • and I’d stab the carcass too. 

  • In a situation like that, but not really in any other circumstances. 

  • I’d shoot them and not feel so bad. Survival of the fittest/smartest mutha fakas. The guy was dumb for believing anything a woman would say, especially when it involved money.

    Of course I’d feel remorseful and go through a period of tramautic feelings and what have you, but I’m sure it’d pass with time and counseling. At least the thug is off the streets.

  • No, I seriously doubt it.

  • I’d be in deep doo doo because I don’t own a gun and I don’t know how to shoot one either. lol.

    But yes, to save myself from getting raped and murdered I could definitely kill someone else in self defense. I hope it never comes to that.

  • easily and mechanically.  I’m thinking about work in a morgue or something.  i am a robot human.

  • in a situation like that…yes of course i would shoot them! and if one of them died well then hell…they shouldn’t have been trying to rob me! and they damn sure shouldn’t have been asking me to undress.

  • I don’t own a gun, so in the situation I’d probably end up raped or killed.. but if I did own a gun, HELL YES! I was trying to defend my life.. of course I would kill them.

  • No. But I’d probably ask them to kill me so I wouldn’t have to go through the misery afterwards.

  • whoa she’s bold !!!!
    American women with gun in their purse lol…..

  • In self defense, absolutely.

  • hmm I think I could injure but not kill =
    I actually was in a situation where I think I had the opportunity to but I just couldn’t … In self defense, I’d injure haha

  • In that situation, I don’t know what could stop me lol.

  • I think in a situation like that, I would not see the criminals as human beings. It would be a lot easier to shoot them under those circumstances.

    Not to say that there’s anything easy about being in that situation.

  • I could shoot someone.  No problem.  Especially if they’re a threat and they’re in my house, around my kid.

  • Yes I could.
    Not for for fun, for kicks, or some other sick intention.
    But for my life or someone else.
    Yes. I would do it over and over.

  • My issue (in our home) is trying to decide what gun to shoot them with. Such a dilemna…

    No, if my life or my family’s life is in danger, I have no problems shooting someone.

  • I have no idea and I hope I never know.

  • if it was me or them, hell yeah.

    xo

  • Very stupid question.  You already either know you can (because you have already done it) or you just do it when you have to.  If you “think” about it, even in this context,  you’ll probably hesitate when you shouldn’t and be the one who ends up dead.

  • Depends on the person. Some people I would shoot without a second thought. 

  • In self defense yes.

  • Seeing as how I don’t own a gun and the only time I ever shot one I was seven years old and the kickback knocked me on my butt, I’d say the answer is no. Hypothetically, though, I don’t have a moral dilemma about defending myself or my family.

  • everyone is capable given the right cercumstances

  • In that situation? Yes. The women might not have made it out alive if they hadn’t taken drastic measures.

  • Not only could I shoot another person for violating my life but I would tie their nuts together and pinch their balls with vise-grips till their nipples popped out of their asses. Then I would check and see if I killed them with the gunshot.

  • yes if my life was in jeopardy

  • Do I have to wait until they try to rob me?

  • If I had to, yes.

  • Nah, I aim to maim.

  • Only if my family was in danger.

  • Yes, definitely
    I think in a situation where our lives are threatened, or people we care about, we are capable of doing just about anything to survive and protect

  • Yes.  I think most people could.  Fight or flight is a powerful response.

  • The women’s lives were in immediate danger. With the threat as you describe it, lethal force was justified.

  • @Megan@revelife - u could shoot em in the leg

  • I’d probably aim for a thigh or something, unless I needed to be sure they were down for the count. If their only weapon is a screwdriver, there’s no need to kill him, but if he had a gun, then obviously a hit in the leg would’nt be enough to prevent return fire.

    I don’t see why some people seem to think it’s okay to kill a person for taking your money, but not okay to kill someone when they take up residence inside your body.

  • I could kill millions of people if it were legal and just.

  • I don’t think I have the balls to actually kill someone, even if the person deserves it. But I would be more than willing to injure and/or disable the assaulter if I were facing a situation like that.

  • Lots of expert marksmen here.

  • If given a gun, then hell yes.

    I doubt somehow that I’d have an easily enough accessible gun for that, though. I imagine I’ll own a gun at some point but I ALSO assume I’ll have kids and therefore the gun should at least be hard for them to get to. So I’d probably die. :

  • In a situation like this?  Yes!

  • Without hesitation, mercy or remorse. 

    Not because I’m heartless, but because I’m well trained.  It is natural to hesitate when it comes to actually pulling the trigger on someone so you have to train until the hesitation is gone.

  • i think  the only situation i would kill someone is if they were trying to kill me.

    eat or be eaten

  • I have no problem with taking human life

  • As  a moral person deep down it would be hard, but if I’m in a situation that threatens me or someone I care about then yes I would do it in an instant.

  • in the heat of the moment…everything seems and feels right. screwdrivers can kill and maim too. Does not make them less of an aggressor.

  • In that sort of situation, you bet!

  • in that situation, yes.

    out of pure spite, no.

  • If someone broke into my house, I’d shoot in a second. I have kids, so I wouldn’t even chance it.

  • In defense of myself, my family, my property, or others…yes.  Though I certainly hope I never have to.

  • If someone was seriously threatening me or someone I love, yeah, I probably could.  But I would aim for a non-kill zone if possible.

  • @LoBornlytesThoughtPalace - make sure to practice taking off that safety, and double tap for good measure

  • @SuperCrazy_CStuff - The safety and double tap are trivial when you have to blow someone to Kingdom Come.

  • I read the article and it looked like there was just one woman, and her boyfriend came out of the back room. It said the score was Woman: 2, and thugs: 0, not two women. I say good for her.

    My thoughts: If they want my money or my possessions, they can have those things and I’m not going to hurt them if it is clear that is all they want. If they threaten to rape or kill me or someone else… MAKE MY DAY, PUNKS. I can’t say for sure how I would react, but I know I tend to make decisions based on how I think I’m going to feel about it later and if I think my actions are justifiable and moral I will do them. I think it is justifiable and moral to defend myself with deadly force if necessary and I am never without some form of defense item. That being said, I don’t carry a firearm and would probably fare better against one attacker rather than two. I carry pepper spray in my purse and I have a kubotan on my keyring disguised as a (rather strangely large) decorative item so I don’t look as paranoid as I really am.

    I actually kind of don’t want the responsibility of a firearm. Look at this situation: This woman was GOOD at what she did. She was an accurate shot and was able to shoot just the attackers and not her boyfriend, who was grappling with them through part of the time when she fired her shots. I’d be afraid the gun would get taken from me. There was a struggle here where that could have happened. Maybe she was lucky. She had a “death grip” on the weapon and they couldn’t wrest it from her grasp, though they tried.

  • Yes. Even if it takes my bare hands.

  • @LoBornlytesThoughtPalace - I find that the safety is not trivial when shooting someone, as for the double tap, thats just peace of mind…all goes back to muscle memory.

  • If my own life was at stake, yes.

  • @SuperCrazy_CStuff - The safety and double tap are useful for all target shooting.  The problem with killing a human being is psychological not mechanical.

  • @LoBornlytesThoughtPalace - Hardcore answer. I suspect things will go similarly to this case if anyone decides to so attack you in the future.

    Quote from the article: “She reached inside [her purse], and the first shot was clear of the muzzle and into
    the torso of one of the attackers before she even pulled the weapon
    clear of the purse.”

    That lady was either really lucky or had put some serious practice in. I mean, seriously, she hardly had time to aim that thing. They couldn’t even SEE the gun before they were getting shot at. It must have been second nature for her.

  • I can certainly kill someone. Especially with a gun. 

  • If I really believed someone’s life was in danger, perhaps.

  • I dont believe in having a gun in my home. But i would do whatever it took to protect myself and make sure im the one alive at the end of it all.

  • To protect myself, I don’t know. To protect my family, hells yeah! I’d even tear an attacker’s throat out with my bare teeth Jack Bauer-style.

    As far as weapons go, I have a sword from Spain, but no guns. Nor do I foresee myself ever wanting/needing a gun.

  • I don’t think I could shoot to kill, but definitely to seriously handicap.

  • Yes. I’ve killed for less. Just joking.

  • You do realize with all the gun control happening events like this in the future won’t turn out  favorable for the victims.

  • without a second thought.

  • I would do what it takes to defend myself and my property but I doubt that I would shoot to kill unless as has been said, the other guy had a gun too. Reasonable force laws might say that using a gun against a screwdriver is beyond reasonable force. I hope I am never in the situation to find out. I don’t own a gun, for one thing.

  • Yes, absolutely I think I could.

  • From the article: “She recalled with clarity the five shots, including those in which she
    picked out the attackers even though her boyfriend, black like the
    attackers, was struggling with them.”

    Yes, because all black guys look alike, right?

  • I wouldn’t be able to. :/

  • @Mangonese - I thought I was the only one who picked that out. I laughed so hard when I read that.

  • @Megan@revelife - how does owning and using a gun violate the 5th commandment?

  • If they were a threat to me or someone else, yes.

  • If my life was in danger like that, I have no qualms.

    @MyJudas - Don’t forget that this robber was probably going to rape her too!  And who knows, maybe he would have killer her after.  Someone once told me, “if you have to shoot, shoot to kill.”  IF you shot them in the thigh or something they can try to get revenge on you later or somehow turn the situation around.

  • I dont think that I could..although they kind of deserved it..
    ___
    best nosie cancelling headphones

  • under the circumstances yes…kill or be killed!

  • @Megan@revelife - A more accurate translation of that commandment is that you shouldn’t murder. There is a difference between killing and murder. God tells people not to murder each other, and in other places, he makes specifications of killing.  it isn’t a contradiction as many might say. This instance for example, is killing and not murder.

  • @LoBornlytesThoughtPalace - Yes, it is psychological, that is why the military switched to targets with “faces” on them years ago to help break down that barrier, I have read Grossman’s works as well.  That is the other part of muscle memory too.  One should practice drawing, placing on fire, aim and fire just as much as they practice firing, if not more so when an event happens their body is trained to act without having to think through the motions.

  • I need to learn how to shoot a gun now

  • I could shoot at them if my life or those I care about were in danger but I don’t know if I’d stand much chance of killing anyone.

  • @Megan@revelife - Kudos for at least being consistent (at least on this issue.)   Many Christians strongly embrace the whole gun culture, which I find baffling.

  • Those men weren’t people, just mad dogs. They got what they deserved.

  • In that situation…DEFINITELY! But just randomly, no.

  • I would. It’ll just prove that I anit easy to mess around with haha!  

  • @TheGiantSlayer - 

    I am a Catholic and the Church translates it as “kill” which more accurately reflects Christ’s teachings instead of Mosaic Law. See Matthew 5:21-22.

  • @JJ_Ames - 

    You shall not kill. See my comment directly above this one.

  • @Megan@revelife - there are various areas in the Bible where God commands individuals to kill and Jesus praised the Centurion whose job likely involved killing and the commanding of killing. How does the Catholic Church deal with this?

  • @Megan@revelife - i dont go to church often but commandment 5 is honor thy father and mother do you mean 6? thou shalt not kill?

  • @JJ_Ames - 

    I would say one that those commands from God came before Christ. Two, the centurion was not a follower of Christ and Christ was not praising him for his killing abilities. If you think Christ is ok with killing people you have go reconcile that with pretty much the entirety of the Sermon on the Mount. I don’t know that the Church has any official position on those specific matters. Don’t confuse my opposition to guns with an opposition to self defense or defense of others. What I am saying is that I just would not be able to defend myself with a gun in that guns are made to kill.

  • If it comes down to it, yes.

  • @invalidbeowulf - 

    I am Catholic, we actually numbered them first. Non-Catholic churches number the Commandments differently; other Churches split the First Commandment in two and combine the Ninth and Tenth into one thereby lumping women in as property.

  • In self defense?  Yes.  Those fuckers shouldn’t have robbed them.  /deserved

  • yeah, and try not to kill

  • Yes. I may not like guns, but if my life is on the line, I will not hesitate to shoot the person threatening it.

  • Anyone with firearms training, in that type situation will shoot to stop the action, not shoot to kill. We all have the right to defend ourselves and our homes, no matter what. It’s the law.

  • …and not even bat an eye. 

  • In self defense maybe. You never really know what you will do unless you’re put in that situation. 

  • DAMN. She showed them not to mess with a woman! Bwahahaha.

    I’d prefer not to kill them. I really, really would prefer that. But they were the ones who put me in the situation of threatening my life, so if I have a gun and can use it to save myself or others, I will not hesitate to do so. I would aim for a leg or shoulder, but if I miss and shoot to kill, they were the ones who forced me to be defensive and put themselves at risk for being shot at. It would haunt me if I killed them, and I’d feel guilty even if they were the ones trying to kill me in the first place, but in the end, THEY chose to try and hurt someone else. If you’re going to shoot, be prepared to be shot back. 

  • I don’t have a gun in my purse.

  • wowowowow((GORGEOUS))wowowowow
    wowowowow((FABOLOUS))wowowowow
    wowowowow((EXCELLENT))wowowowow
    wowowowow((((GOOD)))))wowowowow

  • absolutely, but only if I had to in order to protect myself or my child.

  • Not only would I shoot someone, once they were down, I would put another round in their head to make sure that they never got up.

  • I don’t know. Probably not.

  • Are you training? I need my husband to be first trial!

  • @mikewb1971 - 

    No I am not. Jesus > Wikipedia.

  • @Megan@revelife  Speaking as one of the “gun lovers,” you’re misinterpreting the Fifth Commandment. But that’s OK.

  • I could do many things if someone wanted to hurt me … killing could be included.

  • In that situation, i guess i could.

  • yup. I walked in a burglary in progress in my own garage today. had he been armed or threatened me, one of us would have been dead. no doubt in my mind.

    I just love Houston 

  • in that situation, yes. i could. i’d actually try to kill both men. if it were up to them, i’d be the dead one by the end of the robbery, so yeah. shoot to kill. that’s what guns are for. i wouldn’t own a gun if i was afraid of the possibility of killing someone.

  • If I had to save my life or the life of another, then yes.

  • @Megan@revelife - The mosaic law is the commands of God. Do you believe that Jesus taught something contrary to the commands of God? Can he still be the messiah if he is teaching something contrary to the spoken word of an unchanging God? 

  • I was discussing this with my boyfriend the other day, and in fact I might write a blog, instead of leaving a long stupid answer on yours. but like, YES. I would. FUCK THAT. and GOOD for her, I wish there were more women like that, that carried guns to protect themselves.

  • Yes. And considering my home defense tool of choice is a .12 gauge Remington 870 shotgun with an 18-inch security barrel and five rounds of .00 buckshot, you’d better run the fuck out of my house unless you want your funeral closed-casket. 

  • I’d shoot them with no hesitancy, just not to kill.  

  • @TheGiantSlayer - 

    Never contrary, but a clarification of the law for Christians, not Jews. This is not my belief, it is clear doctrine of the Catholic Church, followed by over a billion people and backed by 2000 years of authority, including the authority of Christ Himself. If you disagree that is fine, but your disagreement is with the Church, not me. I’m nothing more than an obedient follower.

  • She’s awesome. She acted very courageously and saved herself and the other woman.

    Morally, I could kill someone if they were threatening me with harm.

  • Yes. Especially in a situation like that. That woman did the right thing. She gets points for bravery. It must have been terrifying to be in that situation.

  • In self defense, certainly.

  • @Uek - I don’t even understand what you are talking about. The funny thing is, someone wrote a post about how much of a loser jerk you are and I was going to defend you until I remembered how you started harassing me and picking on me for no reason whatsoever. I even unblocked you. That was a mistake, I guess. It’s too bad you are trying so hard to prove that post correct. I actually thought you were a nice guy, just a little odd sometimes. I usually don’t get people that wrong.

  • I couldn’t do it. No way. It’s easy for people to say, “oh, definitely,” but in the heat of the moment I don’t think I could. No way in hell. I couldn’t take another person’s life. It would hurt somebody. That person has some family who would be hurt because of this. Just because they’re a bad person doesn’t mean their family deserves to have a loved one shot and killed. So I couldn’t do it. Knowing what it’s like to know someone as a friend who was wrongfully killed, seeing what that person’s family went through. I couldn’t take the life of someone else, because their family doesn’t deserve that. Send him to jail, lock him up for life. But don’t kill him.

  • I’m probably more like imasilentheart, but I hope I would have the courage to stop evil in its path.

  • No, as disgusting as those men are… I would be killed before I kill another person. I’m not God, so I don’t get to choose when somebody dies… No matter what the circumstances are. I would hurt them if I had the right weapon. Shoot them in the foot or something, for sure.

    Hopefully I’m never put in this situation though.

  • That’s a great story.  The woman and her boyfriend are lucky it turned out this way, because the only guarantee with making such an attempt in that kind of situation is that somebody will be severely harmed or dead.  If I were attempting such a thing, I would only hope that the gun didn’t get out of my control and be used on me or whomever else I would be protecting.  In this case, I think it was meant that everything work out for this woman just as it did.  I could do this if I were meant to.

  • It definitely depends on who it is and what the situation was.

  • Hell yes!  I’d kill anyone who tried to attack me or a loved one like that.  Good for that woman!

    Edit: I couldn’t just shoot someone out of the blue, though.  I’d have to have a reason.

  • @Megan@revelife - Does it not say that the law is for both the Jews and the Gentiles alike? If this is not your view, then why would you bring it up, as your entire point ( in my opinion, which I may be wrong) of posting your original comment was express your view. If it is not your view and only the view of the catholic church, then why would you (presumably by your inference) differ in those views, and not other views like that of self defence?  What If it was clear in scripture that we are supposed to be keeping the commands of God ( as to the best of our ability) as per the commandment that was given by  the Messiah. 

  • @TheGiantSlayer - 

    It is my view. I am a Catholic. I follow the teachings of the Church. Why do you have such a problem with me believing what I believe?

  • That is SUCH an Oklahoma story. And all those comments from readers of the Tulsa World? SO typical. 

  • Absolutely. Self defense is not an issue for me. :)

  • @Megan@revelife - I hold the bible to be truth, personally. You believe the bible to be truth as well. We have opposing views, and we both cannot be right… but we both could be wrong. Is it wrong for me to challenge you to take a closer look into why you believe what you believe as I make sure that I am clear where I stand? Is that not the essence of Iron sharpening Iron? Are you opposed to this discussion? Are you uncomfortable with a scriptural critique of the catholic churches views?

    All in all, I am curious.

  • @Megan@revelife - what do you do when teaching of the church are contrary to the scriptures?

  • @TheGiantSlayer - “what do you do when teaching of the church are contrary to the scriptures?”

    That doesn’t happen.

  • It’s never easy to think about killing another human, but as they teach you in a class to be able to carry a gun, they ask you to think about it would you be able to take a life of one who may take yours! My husband and I are both responsible gun owners! If it came down to someone holding anything to me or threatening my life or my families life I would! In this situation its kill or be killed!

    Its always something to think about when owning a gun!

  • @Megan@revelife -  I’m not sure if that is sarcasm or not… so I won’t tell you if I laughed at it or not….

  • @TheGiantSlayer - 

    That isn’t sarcasm and in that comment proved my suspicion about your bigotry against the Church, you see why I have no interest in a discussion with you. The conversation is over, as is the possibility of ever having one with you in the future.

  • @Megan@revelife - Not bigotry, but history. Are you opposed to honest discussion? I meant no disrespect, but historically the church has strayed in several places from the biblical text. 

  • Maybe. But I guess I’d be haunted by my guilt for life.

  • If my life or someone’s life who I cared about was threatened, I believe I could do it.

  • Oh hella to the yes.

  • Shooting, maybe. Killing, not so much. However, that brings us to the run-around, I would think. So, shooting wouldn’t be in the best interest of someone with the way the law is these days. You know? It’s sad.

  • in that situation, absolutely!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *