February 13, 2012

  • Overrated Bands Like the Beatles

    So my wife and I were watching the Grammys and we watched as the Beach Boys performed.

    beachboys

    We were pretty sure one of them was going to fall over dead on stage. Their average age was 70.

    My wife mentioned that she never liked the music of the Beach Boys.

    I told her I thought the Beatles were overrated.

    beatles

    It is hard for these old people to compete with people like Lady Gaga and Lil Wayne.

    Which musician or band do you think is the best ever?

                           

Comments (90)

  • everyone has and is entitled to their own opinion

  • Actually it is hard for Lady Gaga and Lil Wayne to compete with The Beatles and The Beach Boys, The Who…..I could go on and on. But perhaps that was what you were getting at?

  • I thought it was adorable that they were still able to perform so well. 

  • It depends on my mood. Sometimes CCR, sometimes Eva Cassidy, sometimes Ray Charles… I could choose a new favorite every day of the month.

  • Over-rated: Black Eyed Peas

    Under-rated: Lester Flatt and Earl Scruggs. I hear dueling banjos. Paddle faster.

    And I’m rec’ing every post of yours until I guilt you into rec’ing the dancing partner post. That thing has to pay off, I just know it.

  • There is no “best band ever” because people enjoy all different kinds of music.  I don’t like how some people will use certain bands like The Beatles to measure music with.  Music elitists are awful, but everyone’s entitled to their own opinion.  The beauty of music is that even if there’s a band or artist out there that you hate, there’s always plenty of other genres to chose from.

  • I dunno. The Beatles’ influence is pretty far-reaching. Even if you don’t like them, you can’t deny their impact on pop music.

  • Over rated – most everything that came out from 1978 to 1990. Almost anyway. 

  • barbara aannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn taaaaaaaaaaaaaaake my haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand (that’s my brother with down-syndrome’s favorite song in the world)

  • Whether or not you meant it, I do think the Beatles are overrated. But I don’t know who the best is. I have yet to find a band that holds my interest for years and years. Except Elton John, but still. 

  • aww, I don’t think the beach boys or the beatles are overrated! I like their music :)

  • The Doors
    Nirvana
    Jimmy Eat World

  • @TheGiantSlayer - did you ever notice how the lead singer from the Foo Fighters looks like the drummer from Nirvana?

  • Elvis Presley!

    The Beatles are not overrated, not even kinda. 

  • @godfatherofgreenbay - Nah man.. That drummer was queer. lol. 

  • Anthony Braxton

    Holst

  • ditto on you and your wife’s thoughts!!!

    My hell!!! Enough of Paul M. already!!! And the Beach Boys should take pride in  their fame ofthe ‘old days’…..because THESE days, we are all bored with their songs and afraid that  they are going to fall asleep or stroke out on stage.

    HANG IT UP!!!  

    with all do respect :)

    their concert kind of ‘creeped  me out’.  Some of the dudes still think they have “game”.

    Poor Adam Lavine looked very uncomfortable….I think he had regrets to his commitment!

    Yay for Adele!!!! She ROCKS

  • Is there even a doubt who was best?  LINK

  • Best band ever… Tears for Fears <3 

  • for old people bands, I’ll always love Mick

  • The problem is that everyone “loves” the Beatles because it is “cool” and “unique” to, but everyone also “hates” the Beatles because everyone “loves” them. I appreciate the simplicity of their music because you either love everyone or are too high to care about anything else. Best band ever? Probably not, but then again, every group flops or looses touch eventually.

  • Blood Stain Child. Crazy name. Amazing music.

  • Compared to the Beatles and the Beach Boys, Lady Gaga and Lil Wayne are freakin amateurs. Not even musicians.

  • @meta_k - I agree.
    It reminds me of when people hate on Coldplay for no reason but that it’s cool to hate on them.

  • I have a strong feeling 30 years from now people are gonna look back on Lady Gaga and think “What the @#%& were we thinking?”. Lady Gaga is as relevant to music as the Flock of Seagulls hairdos. 

  • I don’t have an all time favorite band. animated disney movie soundtracks are sooooo good. the jungle book songs are so catchy and awesome I also like alice in wonderland songs and aladdin to name a few. kpop songs are addicting even though I have no idea what they are singing about. I’m currently into french songs and I have no clue what they are singing about but I like the melodies. my tastes in music change quite a bit.

  • I really hope you’re in marketing. I have nothing to say on the topic at hand. Just that I hope you’re in marketing.

  • I enjoy Adele’s music. I think she has a beautiful voice and she doesn’t seem to be a snob about the fact that she is as talented as she is. Which makes me like her more. However, and I am trying not to be too mean, she could really benefit from a stylist. She always looks like she is on her way to a funeral.

  • The Beatles are nowhere near overrated. I love Tracy Chapman too.

  • Overrated is kinda vague. It’s not about that anyway, it’s about who influenced the music you like and how. Anyone can make a song, but not just anyone can make a song I like. 

  • Tokyo Jihen is the best band

    Shiina ringo is the best singer.

  • The Beatles are one of the greatest. ONE OF THE GREATEST. If you don’t get that, I despair for your musical ear, I really do.

    The Beach Boys are OK. If they want to sing their old songs at their age that is fine with me. They have nice feel good songs, even if they are not as good as the Beatles.

    SERIOUSLY, Dan.

  • Shakira!! or the bee gees!

    I also really hate the beach boys. The Beatles were good, but overrated.

  • Larnelle Harris in front of The Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir and Orchestra, ’cause they rocked the halls of heaven right here on the earth.  

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WAVdNyYYtj8&feature=related

      Could you have expected anything else from me!


  • The greatest band I’ve heard was Isis.

    The most overrated is too difficult. There’s too much stuff that everyone likes and that I think is garbage.

    About 98% of the stuff that was involved in the Grammy’s is overrated IMO.

  • i like several bands but i dont think they would fall into greatest ever. for that title it should be split up between bands who changed the industry for the better, metallica, nirvana, pearl jam, red hot chilli peppers, mumford and sons, (brought the banjo back XD ) and i know there are several others in different genre’s and yrs, those are just the few that popped into my head.

  • @wizexel22 -  When I see Lady Gaga I run…I run so far away.

  • For all music….I would say somebody like Mozart or some other classical composer simply because their music is still being played some 200 plus years after it was written but if you are talking simply rock ‘n roll and rock… then it is The Beatles…and The King of pop music Is Michael Jackson and I think the greatest female singer is either Whitney Houston or her godmother…Aretha Franklin or Mahalia Jackson.

    The most over rated band in my opinion is The Rolling Stones..

    And The Greatest Blues musician is either B. B. King or Stevie Ray Vaughn.

    The Greatest Gospel singer is Mahalia Jackson…The Queen of Gospel.

    The Greatest punk rock band is The Ramones.

    The Greatest Country Bands…The Carter Family, Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash, and Waylon Jennings.

    The Greatest singer/song writers….Van Morrison, Bruce Springsteen, John Lennon. Tracy Chapman

    The Greatest Bands that are female or led by a female…The Joan Osborne Band…Joan Jett and The Blackhearts….The Bangles….

    The Gayest Band ever…The Bay City Rollers.

    There are more categories but I will spare you for now.

  • 70 ain’t old 

  •          if it wasn’t for the Beatles you won’t have all these other young performers, you idiot. Oh, my I’m sorry

  • The objectively correct answer is Led Zeppelin. Led Zeppelin is the greatest band ever. 

  • Yep, there’s a lot of good bands out there.  

  • The Free Credit Report Band

  • times have changed, you should know that.

  • I hate the Beach Boys. 

    The Beatles have always been my all time favorite band. 

  • Whitney Houston had a beatiful voice. Why did she commit suicide?

  • Hey, the Beatles made all of Maggie’s baby music.

  • I actually like the Beatles and they don’t need to compete with Lady Gaga!!  But all time favorite would be Carlos Santana.  He was good in the ’70s and is still good today

  • Each to his own taste! 

  •   I suppose you think Nicki Minaj is more talented than Paul McCartney?  Delusional.

  • In the future people are going to look at pictures of LAdy GAga and think we all dressed like that.            

  • LOL! Oh, Danny boy. *shakes head*

    Well, best ever? There’s no such thing. Here’s a few: Hendrix, Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, John Coltrane, Duke Ellington, Cynic, Tarja Turunen, Primus…

  • Overrated? Underrated?
    A lot of people fail to realize that music is an abstract art.
    An individual either gets it or doesn’t.

    Technical proficiency performing something is an objective standard that can be largely irrelevant compared to whether and individual “gets it” or doesn’t.
    My good friends and I who had a band back in H.S. will look fondly on the improvised performance of ours know as “The Space Age Space Monster Song” or the “Alien Space-Monster song”
    There is no objective reason for us to think of that song so highly.

    My favorites?
    Laibach
    Medeski, Martin and Wood
    The Bauhaus
    Beck
    Al Jolson
    Myself.

    I put myself in there, because I relate very well to most of my music. 

  • Most overrated GROUPS/”singers” (bands play instruments and artists perform actual art)- Lady Gaga, Nicki Minaj, Justin B, Lil Wayne, all modern rap and modern pop

    My personal favorites- Slayer, AC DC, Kiss, Def Lepard those are just the classic bands (people who actually play real instruments and use their real voices- not computer generated and lip syncing).  All time favorites Lacuna Coil, Nightwish, Nickelback, Lamb of God, Cradle of Filth and Children of Bodom

    I never really could stand the Beetles but they are ten thousand times more talented than Lady Gaga and Lil Wayne.  Pop music in general today isn’t music, it’s computer generated crap. 

  • Becoming overrated comes from the listeners and not so much the performer. Clearly old or new music has it’s own appeal and talent. There isn’t any reason to needlessly put them down but most artists have their good and bad points and when people say “the best ever” it’s like putting them on a nonexistent pedestal. There is no such thing as a “best person” ever so why would there be a “best artist or band”? It’s unattainable and unnecessary. I believe the Beach Boys were appealing for the catchiness of their songs. The Beatles made a lot of difference in their time and that difference continued into today. It’s not difficult to see why people would like them but I also think another reason people see older bands as the best is because of a nostalgia effect as well. Every generation has done it.

  • Wow I think both are classics I prefer to not listen to music that doesn’t talk about sucking cock and beating bitches and hoes, just sayinn’

  • @imnotyourbrahbro - I meant I prefer not to listen to music tht..

  • Derek and the Dominos

  • who are the beetles?

  • Best band ever, a debate that will never be won no matter how you fight it!

    My favorites: Creed, Type O Negative, My Dying Bride (not for the cheery least of all for the Emo), Evanescence (I like her voice, it seems more natural and less high pitched fairy), Within Temptation (she’s got a pretty voice, nuff said), Nirvana (the band of my generation), Metallica (no on in their right mind would disdain this band) and my favorite band that brings energy to the table System of a Down, my favorite old timer band would be The Doors.

    Overrated: The Beatles and Nickleback

    Underrated: The Cruxshadows and Iced Earth

  • @imnotyourbrahbro - I’d prefer not to listen to music that talks about sucking cock and beating bitches and glorifies gang violence.

  • Well put it this way, most of the oldies bands or classic rock bands of the 60′s were revered because they were the major pioneers of a lot of rock and pop music today! Our favorite genres wouldn’t have existed without them being bold enough to stretch out and be creative or to experiment with different beats, toots and whistles.

  • @raon_pureheart – right . I hate how t the Grammys they have the save the music foundation when the music these days are shit

  • I hear everyone saying that the love the Beatles, including family, but never have I ever liked them or any of their songs. It seriously seemed like everyone but I enjoyed their music. Good to know there are others out there who don’t. But I don’t have a favorite band or artist, though I prefer old school R&B and classical music above all else :)

  • Beatles are overrated as a group, but Sir Paul remains amazing. I don’t think the Beach Boys sounded as good as the artists covering their work, & Brian’s face was screaming, “Get me off this stage!”

  • Adele is the most overrated artist of the moment.

  • I dare say most popular artists are “overrated” in comparison to their less popular fellows. And  it’s usually a huge team behind the person in the spotlight. depends on wat you rate too. talent? the sound? the person?
    idk.
    I like too many to list. I always liked eminem, pink and the red hot chilli peppers.

  • Godsmack rules to me.

  • Though my troll alarm is going off like crazy…

    I think most of the “Classic Rock” bands are overrated.  Fleetwood Mac, Skynard, AC/DC, Zepplin… I mean, they’re good, they did well, but people venerate them like they are deities, and their influence has not lasted past the generations of which they were most popular.
    Of the bands I’ve heard / are popular “recently” {last 20 years}, there are very few that I think will be really enduring for a long time.  I have some hope for Celtic Woman, Linkin Park, Amy Grant, Cascada, and Yiruma, but do I predict any of those names will be noticeable in 30 years?  Not likely.  Yes, I have eclectic taste.

    Since the days of Elvis/Beatles/Beach Boys, I honestly think the single best musician is Billy Joel.

  • There is absolutely no doubt that The Beatles were the greatest band ever. I am prepared to debate this assertion.  

  • Well, the thing is, that in their time they weren’t competing with Lady Ga Ga, etc. Rating them (whatever that means) against music two generations later doesn’t make a lot of sense. As far as performing side by side, I don’t love that they get these guys on stage again but nostalgia is what it is. Their performance, obviously cant compare to that of a 25 yr old, but that’s not why they are on shows like the grammy’s.

    And I think their historic “rating” is also based on their influence on rock music, their inovation, etc.

  • The Beatles, I thought they were overrated until I really got to know them and their music. They’re in fact underrated. 

  • The Beatles were pretty epic.  It’s sad that half of them are dead.  :(   I would personally vote Foo Fighters in my top for bands of all time.

    @pain2beauty - I love Tears for Fears.  Excellent choice :D

  • Oh wow. Do I have to pick?!

    The Foo Fighters are the most badass band ever. Dave Grohl is a rock GOD. 

    /end

  • I always colored outside the lines —-  I think Mark Heard (I linked to Wiki, cause I doubt one single person out there really even knows who he was) was the greatest musician to ever live and I have said that for over 30 years now, even now 20 years after he died…. performing on stage even while he was having a massive heart attack.

    Don’t we oscillate so we
    within our fundamental boundries
    while fiery foundries melt us down
    and kill tranquility.

    That is a sampling of his lyrical genius (the song was “We Believe so Well” from his 1982 album “Ashes and Light”)

    Here’s another sampling from the song “Pain that Plagues Creation”

    As this planet falls around the sun
    trapping us in the orbit
    creation groans in unison
    like a race of frightened orphans

    the darkness of this raging storm
    is covering up our portals
    but a yearning for the light is born
    in the heart of every mortal.

    and day to day we ache
    with the pain that plagues creation
    night to night, we lie awake
    and await it’s restoration.

    Marks ability to crystalize thought and make it profound influenced hundreds of artists out there, even while he himself never was able to make it big in the music industry.  No less genius than Bruce Cockburn calls him his favorite artist / musician… and that’s quite a tribute. (again, linked to wiki — you can find reference to Mark’s influence within the text).

    The Beatles?  Beach Boys?  —- rank amateurs lyrically compared to Mark, and I say that respectfully.

    a critic of the very field he helped pioneer — this next thought was written AGAINST Christians and modern Christianity.  BTW: the word “Anhedonia” means someone who is unable to be moved by pleasure.  Thus “Pious Anhedonia” is someone who feels superior simply because he’s unmoved by the need for pleasure.  An apt description of modern Christianity if there ever was one.  (the song titled “Straw Men” talking about the logic fallacy of setting up a fake argument, attacking that, and claiming victory.)

    He sees the masses dancing so he sternly reprimands them
    A reduction of their stance to some kind of earthly hell
    He don’t know how to be tender can’t appreciate beauty or gender
    It’s this pious anhedonia that he loves so well….

    He put out 16 albums in his life time.  He never hit the top ten.  He never had a smash hit.  He never played to a sold out stadium.  Heck, he never even was able to make a living at what he loved doing so well — he took up production and actually helped many, many other artists be heard…. and yet for all that, those that know him are still influenced by him today, and the list is pretty impressive.

    If you want to find out more about him — try YouTube and look up the song “Lonely Moon”…. someone did an incredible job working a video out for that one.

  • …The Beatles…

  • I like the sound of the beach boys they were always upbeat and happy music to me.  never liked the beatles.  dislike all their music.

  • Aerosmith!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • I’m amazed they’re all still alive… maybe that’s why Charlie Manson had to kill all those people… to give eternity, the Beach Boys. It depends. Jimi Hendrix, maybe, but, also this really made me want to listen to music.

  • I thought the Beach Boys sounded fantastic…I loved seeing them…but then I love so many kinds of music..so many genres…could never ever choose a favorite…my personal playlist is all over the place..:).

  • To be honest, I’m not following your argument.

    Saying that the “the Beatles were overrated” and then stating that “It is hard for these old people to compete with people like Lady Gaga and Lil Wayne” does not seem to follow. Are you suggesting that because it is hard for them to compete with Lady Gaga and Lil Wayne, that Gaga and Wayne are superior musicians?

    I know the post was generally to just create discussion, but I am having trouble understanding your point.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *