April 26, 2012

  • Could You Wipe Someone’s Butt?

    My wife was talking about how she hates her job at the preschool. 

    She said she would love a job at the local nursing home.  I told her the job would suck.  I told her she would have to wipe people’s butts.  She said she does that for kids all the time.  She said it would be no different for older people.

    Could you wipe a person’s butt for a living?
                                           
                                                                  

Comments (92)

  • Old people and little kids’ changing is very different.  Let’s just say babies are cute for a reason.  Though I could manage neither.  Your wife should try volunteering for a hospice or nursing home before deciding for sure.  Old people are interesting but they smell and never hear what I’m saying, which is irritating.  Little kids give me headaches and make me want to kill them.  I prefer dogs.

  • IDK. I doubt I could do it for a living if other options were available. I certainly hope I can always wipe my own though. Sincerely. 

  • It depends on the age, little kids, sure. I interviewed for a job as a paraprofessional in a junior high. I was asked if I would be ok changing the diaper of a 14 year old boy who would probably be abusive toward me. I’m not a very strong or big woman and I had to flat out say no. They actually offered me the job…

  • I can’t even wipe my own butt.

  • I wouldn’t like it but just like any job,you get used to it.I wiped my kids butts and now grandkids but that IS a little different

  • Obviously, I can. And that’s the last time you have margaritas for lunch!

  • The real question is: Would you rather wipe someone’s butt, or have someone wipe your butt? I’m torn.

  • I think there’s a difference between wiping someone because you have to, and doing it voluntarily because you want to. I know someone who volunteers her time with elderly women who have no family in contact. She reads to them, converses with them, yes wipes them and helps them bathe….not because she has to, but because she has a heart.

    For my part, being the eldest of three brothers means that I may very well have to take on the responsibility of taking care of my mother or father one day. If they develope alzheimer’s or something, I think that means that I would have to take care of them as a full time job. OR, if things get really bad I would send them to a nursing home where I hope that people like my friend are there to be there for them full-time.

  • It’s not the same. I’ve changed an Adults Diaper and a babies… It’s not the same.  It’s hard to get used to it and it’s hard to know show it effects you.  You can’t just out and say “dang what you eat for lunch?!” It will really hurt them.

  • Absolutely not. I’ll have to whenever we have kids, but that’ll be OUR kids.

  • Probably not unless I had to.  I wouldn’t choose to.  And I don’t think I’d want to be alive if someone needed to change my diapers.  Let me die for God’s sake!

  • If you hat your job, you definitely need a new one! Just saying…

  • For a living, probably not.

  • No, not for a living. I might do it to take care of somebody I loved, but not for minimum wage.  

  • I don’t think I could do it for a living…. I have wiped kids’ butts before, though I feel like an elderly person’s would be different…

  • I worked at an assisted living and I am going to school for nursing, so yeah, I’ve done it and will be doing it in the future.  I eventually plan to go on to get my master’s though, so I don’t plan to do it forever.

  • I did it growing up, helping my mom with my younger siblings. I do it now with my own children. My mom still does for my brother who is 19 and completely disabled.
    I think that working with children (especially ones that aren’t potty-trained) and working with the elderly are jobs that definitely take a certain kind of person with a certain kind of heart. It definitely isn’t for everyone.

  • The only people who ever need their ass wiped by someone else are really old or really young. So yes, I could wipe my own kid’s ass. Nothing wrong with that. But doing it for a living like in the nursing profession… no… no… nooo… and no. You couldn’t pay me enough… (okay maybe but it have to be like a billion dollars lol) I just think it would be horrendous to get close to an old person’s ass and then to touch it, and then wipe the crud out. Probably develop PTSD after that job. Only in a perfect world were the ass was that of a hot chick’s would I say yes :) .

  • Your wife can get some good practice when she needs to wipe your butt.

  • So many people now days think that they want to be a nurse, “to help people”? But in all actuallity it becomes knowing the difference between getting paid to wipe someone’s butt and wanting to extend a dignity that no one would ever choose for themselves if they even had an option. There is an art to ignoring the name and description of the task, to garner the reward of being a valuable part of a much bigger picture. Yep you guessed it, nurse here and a nursing instructor who can definitely pick the compassionate students out of any group I am given….from even bedsides away. Plenty of room in nursing for all types of personalities but the oohs, ahhhs and I don’t do bedpans, can’t usually hide that they are just in it, for what is in it for them   I am thinking that you can dodge the issue as much as you’d like but as a nurse, it must be a chosen calling to be able to assist a patient to believe that they are not a burden, you can imagine their embarassment but are there to help them because you want to. It’s very hard to act genuine and  concerned when patients definitely can tell when they are being used for a paycheck, if and when they are. Butt wiping 101: Caregivers are heaven sent and one day, I may just have to hope that I may have influenced someone to be as careful and compassionate with my needs as I attempted to inspire others to be in general, with other’s.

  • I am in nursing school so technically I am paying to have the opportunity to wipe the butts of others.  Soon I will get paid to do it.  Though usually it isn’t the nurse that ends up doing it, it’s the assistants.

  • I have four boys that I have had to change and wipe as well as my grandmother when she was in her declining years. I could do that with pay if I needed to.

  • It’s part of my job now- and even though it’s (literally) crappy, I enjoy my job more than the corporate ass-kissing I had in a previous job. 

  • @TheMushyPear -  Sadly many caregiver jobs are minimum wage (or just over it).

  • I’ve wiped ass especially children’s since I work in Early Childhood Education. It’s part of what I do. And I’ve wiped my mom’s before she passed away. Her illness made her incapable of using the bathroom and I cleaned her up a lot.

  • For  a LIVING? No. I know that it may come to that someday with family, and/or friends and that’s an action of love because you have to.

  • No… I don’t think so.  I volunteered at a local adult day care center for people who have Alzheimer’s and other similar conditions and well, taking care of them was a hard job.. now imagine wiping their butts…. I’d rather wipe a baby’s butt.

  • who’s a big boy? yes, you are. yes, you are!

  • No thanks. Unless I’m being paid enough money to forget .

  • I do. My dog. After she eats grass or a piece of my hair. Ahh.

  • Hell yeah! That would be fucking hot!

  •  I dont think it is by choice that people do that that kind of work but by force of circumstances.

  • yep done it before.

  • It’s seriously not a big deal after a while. As a camp counselor for handicapped kids and adults, I had to do it all the time. It’s just a matter of thinking “Okay it has to be done so do it.” Maybe I just have a higher tolerance for gross stuff.

  • I could wipe a baby butt or a small child’s butt, I don’t think I could stomach wiping adult shit off of someone though.

  • Hats off to your wife homey.

  • Ok first off, changing a preschoolers diaper and an old persons diaper is COMPLETELY different. I have been a nurses aide in a nursing home for 3 years, and it is MUCH harder to change someone that outweighs you, is taller than you, and that is trying to punch you. That being said, yes, obviously I would change someone else’s diaper.

  • posts like this…make me wonder why i ever bother reading these things.

  • I’ve seen many people in nursing homes who either have no family around…or that ever visit them.  They are forced to rely on under paid employees to do things like this FOR them because they can’t.  I hope with all my heart that most people in those paid positions are gentle and kind.  I have a lot of compassion and respect for the elderly.  I could do it.

  • But, I’m also extremely emotional….I don’t know that I would do well in that environment because I would get attached to everyone.

  • Shop for your best <a href="http://www.noviamor.co.uk/wedding-dresses-2012-c-57.html">2012 wedding dresses at noviamor.co.uk. Their <a href="http://www.noviamor.co.uk/plus-size-wedding-dress-c-78_79.html">plus size bridal dresses and <a href="http://www.noviamor.co.uk/beach-wedding-dresses-c-59_65.html">uk beach wedding dresses are so popular.

  • I think I would as long as those people are babies or kids. 

  • @MistyEyes22 - Yes….very NOT the same.

    @Serenitykeeper -  Love your reply. I totally agree with everything you wrote and having a father who has had serious health issues for over two decades and been hospitalized many many times, I have witnessed and experienced the most awesome nurses…and the not-very-awesome ones. I’ve had to wipe and clean my father, change/wash his clothes (before we could afford adult diapers), and cleaned many a feces from the carpet. Its HARD. But its my father so I do it willingly. So I have the greatest respect for nurses, who have a heart to do the same for complete strangers. And as you said….the nurses that do it willingly are a God-send…they make what is a stressful situation a whole lot better. On the other hand, the nurses that obviously do it unwillingly, and make everything you ask seem like a huge chore just adds frustration to the family and I like how you mentioned the dignity of the patient. I still remember the very first time I was bathing my father after he soiled himself. It was pretty hard on many levels for many reasons….but the most difficult thing was seeing the look on my fathers face. A little sad, a little embarrassed, but I know it must have been a huge blow on his pride. I know it already hurt his pride that he was disabled and couldn’t provide for us financially as he would have liked….but now not even being able to clean/wipe/use the bathroom alone…..must be hard to deal with.

    Anyways, I’m rambling on with this long-winded comment….not even sure what I wrote really but I just wanted to say how much I love and respect the dedicated nurses who have a heart to genuinely care for their patients. You guys rock.

  • hi theo!!  i worked in a nursing home and now i am in early childhood education.   IT IS TOTALLY DIFFERENT!!!!  i rather wipe toddlers butts …..old people…never going down that road again

  • I worked with old people, but luckily I never had to do that…that’s just too much for me…a big no no. And when i worked/spend time with kids/babysit my niece and nephew i luckily didn’t have to do that. lol

  • I prefer contemplating the meaning of life.

  • Shop for your best <a href="http://weddingdressesz.quebecblogue.com/">2012 wedding dresses at noviamor.co.uk. Their <a href="http://weddingdressesz.quebecblogue.com/">plus size bridal dresses and <a href="http://weddingdressesz.quebecblogue.com/">uk beach wedding dresses are so popular.

  • Changing a baby and changing an adult are VERY different. Adults are often heavier and stronger than you, and if they’re elderly or disabled, they’re far more likely to lash out due to confusion. I’ve changed a babies diaper before and it doesn’t bug me too much – yeah, it smells but it’s not a hard thing to do. I would clean an adult’s diaper if I had to, but I don’t think I could do it for a living.

  • Thankfully not everyone thinks alike and there are a lot of dedicated selfless people out there who were basically put on this earth to help others and yes, even clean their butts.

  • Yes…after all older people did it for me when I was younger so I could return the favor..

  • It sounds like it isn’t the butt-wiping that she is hating at the daycare.  

  •       Babies only

  • I don’t think I can do it for a living.  But, when we have children, or must take care of elderly parents, I will need to suck it up and do.  Like others mentioned, there is a difference between having to do and choosing to do.  If I had other options, I wouldn’t choose to clean up others.

  • I could do it for someone I loved, but probably not for a living.  My son is a CNA and he has to do that all the time.  He says they get used to it.  One trick is that they put Vicks under their noses to mask the odor.

  • I’m a nursing assistant and I wipe butts for a living. The majority of my residents are very grateful that I am there to do that for them and so I do not mind it that much. You get use to it. I’ve seen some crazy big bowl movements though and done by people who are completely out of it. And its like if I did not do it for them then who would? One thing that helps me get through it is I double up on gloves and I just tell myself I am doing what is best for them.

  • No I couldn’t.  Then again I’m not into nursing or ECE. 

  • I work with people who have severe physical and mental disabilities where they can’t do much for themselves. I have to feed them, wipe & change adult diapers, dress them, bath them, etc. They aren’t elderly OR children.. it’s quite heart-breaking actually. Somehow it’s not that bad because you know they depend on you completely, and you’re helping them. If you’ve done it once, then it’s not bad after that. When I first started my career in this field, I told myself I could work with disabilities, but NOT personal care. It turned out that my personality turned out better suited for personal care than for dealing with physical and verbal aggression from other higher functioning clients (which is what I started with originally). Just like a lot of you, I told myself I would NEVER do that.

  • Um, my current job is taking care of triplet toddlers, so I wipe a lot of butts. But, I honestly don’t know if I could handle changing an adult. It’s definitely different. I have a really weak stomach, and it kinda took a little while to get used to changing babies.

  • Wiping an elderly person’s butt or changing their diaper is much different. For one thing, they eat solid food so it looks/smells a lot worse. For another, there are droops, folds, and crevices that are hard to get to. Another thing is positioning. Toileting requires a lot of effort to get the person to and from the toilet. Or, you need to rotate them and roll them on their side in bed. I think toileting an elderly person is a LOT more difficult. And you get paid, like $12/hr to do it and many more tasks, like bathing and feeding. I’d stick with a daycare job. 

  • I wouldn’t even wipe a babies butt…. You know those people (usually the dads lol) who wipe their babies butts and they are all gaging and stuff?… Yes.. That would be me, lol.. So definitley no.

  • Doing it for an old person would be a lot more uncomfortable than doing it for a little kid. A young child doesn’t know any different. An old person was presumably once capable of wiping his/her own butt and thought nothing of it. I’d feel incredibly awkward wiping a grown-up’s butt because I’d know it would be a constant reminder of the independence they’d lost.

  • I did for  a 24 yr old woman for over a year.  It’s no big deal. 

  • I can’t lol. I think that would be too much for me

  • This is why I’m having no children, and having someone kill me at age 55.

  • @tinymatters - You’re a brave woman.  Seriously.

  • i have done both. Adult changing is much harder physically since often I had to lift them. Kids are easy in comparison. Your wife needs to volunteer before she job changes.

  • I’ve wiped an adult ass. One of my ex’s a while back had gotten into a car accident and broken two vertebrae in her neck and two in her back. She was in a brace from head to waist for 8months…somebody had to wipe her ass seeing as how she couldn’t do it herself.  She’s lucky I’m such a nice guy eh? 

  • My kids are all grown, but when young I wiped their butts and cleaned up after them. I sometimes, now, do it when baby sitting grand children. When I was going to university, I worked in a nursing home for several summers as well as the odd weekend relief shifts during the school year. I often wiped and cleaned butts. The first few times were pretty tough. But it soon became routine as bringing them a glass of juice or flirting with the old ladies, etc.  

    It is a  fact of life that most of us sometime before we exit this life will have to have someone help us with basic bathroom issues. There is no shame in any of this and it is no terrible burden to help those who need help in this area of life.

  • Well, I’m a nursing student. I kind of have to until I get my masters and specialize lol.

  • Well.. I DID raise my nephew from practically from birth to about 13.

  • Yes. I’ve changed more diapers than I can count, mostly childrens but maybe one or two was from an adult. I’m just hoping that I never have to have someone else wipe my butt, either let me be able to wipe my own for the rest of my life or let me die before I get to that point.

  • I do wipe peoples butts. Its whatever. At least I can make the people i work with happy.

  • I am a master ass wiper if I am needed. 

  • Gotta chime in here!!  I started working as a Professional Ass Wiper (nursing assistant) about 18 years ago.  98% of my patients were adults.  I was so used to it that by the time I had a baby about 15 years ago, changing his little messes didn’t even phase me.  Now I work as a nurse in OB.  There really isn’t much difference between adults and kids, except for the amount.  And if any nursing students are reading this, do not be fooled — nurses wipe just as much ass as nursing assistants do; if you’re not, you’re not doing your job!  

    Also, it’s not just the really young and really old that need help cleaning themselves.  Anyone of any age could be sick or otherwise incapacitated at any time.  

    So, yes, I could.  I have.  And I do.  And it does an awesome job of paying the bills.

  • Been there, done that 

  • I don’t think that i could.. Little kids, yes, no problem at all. Older people, or anyone over like, child age, no way.

  • I used to do that

  • Only if I gave birth to them.

  •  The act of assisting anyone for any reason should be done with love and respect. Do you honestly believe that this could be anything but a normal human function. Taking care of a parent, who you love deeply, should never be a option. I have worked with the handicapped and it is one of the most fulfilling jobs a person can have. At the end of the day you can say that because you did your job someone was blessed by your presence. Caregivers do get paid minimum wage but there aren’t many jobs that pay any better now a days.  

  • For a living probably not but if it ended up being my living because I had all these lil munchins running around mine or baby sitter sure… or a husband of old age… other than that probably not. 

  • I don’t think I can do that for a living. I do think that wiping little kids’ butts is easier than wiping butts for old people because little kids weighs less, so if anything you can still hold them. For old and disabled people, it would be alot harder.
    I am proud of people who can do it because it takes alot of patience and dedication.

  • *Shrugs*
    When I was volunteering in pediatrics, I had to do that. Clean out the bladder bag for babies…which….picture diarrhea,vomit,piss, mucus, and medicine all mixed together in a sexy little bag.

    Still…who am I to be disgusted by it? The kid will have a life long condition, like many people who can’t take care of themselves…and we can say “oh..that’s disgusting”. Big fucking selfish whoop.

  • Yes, I could; I would have been doing it for months now but our nursing staff here insists on doing it for medical/legal reasons. Perhaps some day I will have to take care of people in that way and if that is what Jesus wants me to do, I will do it; He’s done more for me.

  • I couldn’t do it.

  • My brother is a home health aid, specializing in adults with mental retardation. He has a client in his 30′s that has the brain of a 6 month old. My brother basically tells people that he changes grown men’s diapers for a living. He’s currently working to be a paramedic. Quite honestly, I would rather have to deal with bloody cut up people over changing shitty diapers ANY day.

  • <table x:str=”" border=”0″ cellpadding=”0″ cellspacing=”0″ width=”64″><tbody><tr height=”17″>
    <td height=”17″ class=”xl24″ width=”64″>We are
    publishing the following in order to let you realize that what you might be
    doing a superb job by sustaining all of us published regarding this
    asian wedding venue
    banqueting hall
    conference room  hire birmingham

  • no, not me, not yet at least (maybe one day i can wipe my kid’s butt)
    i salute those working in the health industry who has big hearts to care for the sick and the elderly. They’re just awesome.

  • This is probably not something that I could do everyday for a living.  I would rather have someone else doing it and then I would take care of all of the extra duties that came with working in that field.  The field that I have majored in already requires that I turn words into numbers so that the insurance company can pay for the procedures that are done this is already a difficult job to do.  I currently just wish that I actually had a job so that I could be making money.  

  • Of course I can, as long as they’re under the age of three.   Kidding.  Given that I have a weak stomach, the only oldie butts I can wipe would probably be my parents. 

  • As a babysitter/ nanny/ teaching assistant I’e wiped many butts. And when my mom broke her shoulder and couldn’t move well, I had to wipe her butt for her. It’s not too bad if you don’t think about it.

  • whats the point of having facilities for these absolutely pointless ancient people anyway. look at the quality of life they have.Will any of them have any more to contribute to society? of coarse not. They are a financial and mental burden we all bear in some degree. Newly released convicts can at leased clean up highways , what can those old cripples do?
     If one has to rely solely on others to live, that sounds like a pointless existence to me. They never appreciate any care given to them, i guess being too proud or just tired of still being forced to live i think. What it comes down to is the fact that family dumps people in these homes once they become too useless and expensive to shelter anymore. the younger family members always leave happier once the old bags are locked up til death finally gets there for them. then its off to the lawyers to see whats waiting for them as an inheritance. Yeah that’s the embarrassing truth about the whole concept of a place to work so people can get grossly underpaid  for doing what the mass population will never want to do. Oh one more thing just how long has there been old farts homes anyway? If they always have not been there why do we need them now? jobs?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *