January 12, 2013

  • Ugly Women Are Ruining Their Marriages

    Ladies, are you letting yourself go?  You might be ruining your marriage.  Pat Robertson suggested that ugly women may be ruining their marriages.

    (Pictured above:  Male model Pat Robertson)
    A boy wrote to Pat Robertson and mentioned his parents no longer had romance in their marriage.
    Pat Robertson then told the boy that sometimes it is the woman’s fault.  He also went on to tell a joke about a man who took up drinking because his wife was ugly.  Here is the link:  Link
    Does a woman have the responsibility to keep herself up for the marriage?
                                                                              

Comments (70)

  • LOL that is one ugly dude!!! He should talk! :)

  • Depends on the man, the marriage, where everyone’s values lie, why she may be getting “fat” and what the core of the entire relationship is actually all about. 

  • Any woman willing enough to have sex with me for the rest of our lives can do whatever she wants. It’s only fair.

  • Along with cooking and cleaning…of course.

  • My wife is beautiful and takes care of herself. Men still take second looks at her and she is 75. 

  • Sure,as long as it does not cut into her dish washing time. Those plates are not going to clean themselves!

  • People write to him? For advice? That’s too bad.

    I agree with @mtngirlsouth on this one.

  • Both the husband and wife have a responsibility to one another to stay in shape and look good as much as possible. It’s one thing to lose physical beauty as a result of age, illness, other medical conditions, etc., but it’s another thing altogether to be lazy. 

    That being said, if physical appearance becomes the deciding factor in a marriage’s survival, I would suspect that the marriage was built on shaky foundations to begin with. 

  • The older you get with most people the more the metabolism slows down. Also for some getting pregnant slows it down. It’s a hell of a lot of work to lose weight when it slows down.

  • I do believe it is the man that needs to keep it “up”.

  • “Pictured above:  Male model Pat Robertson”

    hahahahhaha

  • i think a woman should be able to look like shit and still have her husband’s love.

  • @Kellsbella – curious if you have to do anything kells to keep that thing you got goin on lol but still this post ignores the male beer gut too, and the limp noodle that you pointed out

  • both men and women are responsible for taking care of themselves, silly goose. 

  • Pat Robinson is a moron!!

  • @Kellsbella - At least they have pills for that now.

  • I’d suggest a ball gag for Pat Robertson.  Okay, off point, but be honest you’d greatly appreciate it if Robertson was forced into a permanent gag.

  • Damn Pat Robertson is sexy!

  • Only if she expects it from her husband.

  • @Rob_of_the_Sky - They have pills but a guy who needs them isn’t sexy.

  • No, but she also forefeits the right to be upset if the husband lets himself gets fat and stops trimming hair from.. well anywhere.

  • @EmilyandAtticus - Of course, there’s the other reason why a guy takes em, and that’s to see what happens after four hours.

  • I have no opinion that would hold up in even 50% of possible situations that occur in the real world.
    However, I don’t like Pat.
    Is he picking his face?
    Pat is a bigot, he suffers from delusions of knowing the world like as if it is his,
    and Pat is insensitive and he’s an insincere man as well.
     
    The boy deserves some real help; and he won’t get it from Pat on TV.

  • feminism.  Enough said. 

  • its always been my belief that sexy is an attitude, but then again I’m not a shallow person unlike “Savior of All Marriages Pat Robertson”. Thank god he pointed this problem out, now we can get to work on lowering that divorce rate!!

    On a less sarcastic note, I really don’t think my husband will care as long as my boobs stay amazing :D

  • Ah, I hadn’t heard that one. I’ve heard a lot of his other comedy hits though. 

  • @Rob_of_the_Sky - Hey baby, it’s my favourite recreational drug. People say, ” Oh, your husband’s got issues?” I say, “Not at all. I just like the party to continue…..”

  • it ought to be both people…

  • omfg hahaha

    but seriously though, I’d like to keep myself at least semi attractive/youthful for quite a while more for myself and fashion career, since i don’t have a husband, but I know that my future husband would be a great factor in my own upkeep. I do want the guy to be attracted me, of course.
    But I’d expect him, as I know he would expect of me, to be there even when/if I start gaining weight from something like pregnancy or depression (if that ever even happens) or something else, to be understanding, especially when work gets too busy for me to even look in the mirror.
    If he is referring to people who are pretty much all instincts and are so controlled by their sexual attraction, and have no ability to let their brains overpower these animalistic instincts then maybe the marriage wasn’t really based on too strong of a foundation in the first place =

  • I’d say yes! Even a married guy likes to look at his wife’s butt (or legs, or midriff) and get turned on. It’s part of the total package he married into. For a woman to neglect that aspect of herself because she ‘doesn’t have to’ now that she is married, indicates that she doesn’t understand how men think. This neglect might lead to the guy having an affair. I mean, let’s face it! A guy can only take so much cellulite before he starts pulling away. Men are physical even in marriage. And if after a pregnancy she balloons up, a considerate man will deal with it with compassion.

  • As a married woman of almost 6 years, I’m going to say yes. For many reasons! 1: attraction, if your not still physically attracted to your spouse, your sex life will suffer, hence you marriage will suffer. I’m not saying you have to be a size 2, perfect hair every single day, but it’s good to make yourself look good for your husband every now and then. 2. Even more so, it’s good for you as a woman. Spending some time prettying yourself up will raise your self esteem. And make you feel better all around. 

    Men, this is a two way street, you gotta keep itself up for your woman too. @amateurprose - I’ve been on here too long, I gotta get back to my dish washing and laundry washing and need to get a 7 course breakfast on the table. Haha

  • Yes! And never gain weight, ever. I mean, come on, there’s no scientific evidence proving you have to gain weight when pregnant, right? ….right?

    God, reading some responses, being a woman sucks balls. I’m getting a sex change. Forget this! ;]

  • LOL funny stuff that Pat Robertson.Man lost his credibility with me years ago.

  • My Support group for women who lost weight, lost more than weight, many lost their husbands.

  • Interesting you chose Pat Robertson for your “male model” How about the left wing adulterer David Letterman? Would have been a better selection for a discussion about staying faithful to your wife. Or perhaps making fun of a Conservative politicians daughter, saying she looks like a “slutty flight attendant” or perhaps should have been raped by Alex Rodriguez. Those comments were prompted by someone’s looks (and of course he never misses a chance to take a cheap shot at a Republican politicians child..) 

    When my wife gained 40 lbs and refused to do anything about it, when she decided she didn’t want sex anymore and said “too bad so sad”, I said “see ya”. I didn’t get married to be celibate, to be an adult roommate, a live-in handyman, and a money source. Marriage takes work, commitment, sacrifice. Two way street. The benefits can be great if you are willing to put in the work. But it takes two people. You can love someone all you want; you can’t make them love you back… and if you want to be a fat do-nothing couch potato, you can do it alone.

  • @amateurprose - LMAO!!!  Only you Johnny, only you!!!

  • My take is that it’s not just on the woman.  I haven’t been married long on the grand scale so that isn’t an issue and I don’t really think it will ever be an issue with us.  It’s about the love you have for each other.  I personally feel I make my husband very very happy.  Sure I may have help, but happiness plays a big part too.

  • LOL If someone thinks a woman is ugly in his view, why bother to marry her? And after that take alcohol and drugs and have sex with her and make kids? 

     You know what is the problem with many marriages? People have no idea what marriage is all about. They meet in high school have a lot of sex, then they go to college and have a lot of sex, by this time many already will become parents (as condoms and other contraceptives are not 100% safe) then they move out of their own, buy a house taking massive mortgage and start to live something everyone call “American Dream”. It is all perfect, nothing wrong with it at all. The problem is marriage is the bonding of two people materially and spiritually. The spiritual part is something no one cares at all. Once these folks reach about 28 and between that age and 32 people change a lot that’s when kids notice, mom and dad are no longer rocking the bed. That’s when mom and dad understand they should have never been together. Maybe it will be a good idea for youngsters to wait till they are 30 before doing something called “Marriage”

    The Signature Of A True Human Is The Smile He/She Brings On The Face Of Others.
    Lone.

  • Wow, Mr. Robertson you’re such a sexy beast.  

  • Umm…I’m confused. Could be because I only had time to skim the article and thrash out this comment–got a plane to catch–literally. But does Pat Robertson read Maxim? Doesn’t that steal time away from reading the bible?

  • every day I take a shower and get dressed the hubby says,”who are you meeting?” lol

     just think if I put makeup on

     we’re retired,too.

  • we can learn alot from Pat Robinson. BAM! Robertson draws the woman-hating card hahaha

  • who really knows this question.

  • @QuantumStorm - YOU AND YOUR STUPID REASONABLE COMMENTS

  • It’s age that does it . As soon as you marry a woman, she starts aging.

  • Dear Pat Robertson, I am very concerned about the health of your marriage.  Please look into treatment for your liver spots right away!

  • @QuantumStorm - i agree with you completely

  • That’s ridiculous. Like really? If you’re expecting me to keep up in myself that’s fine. But you better too. If your not, my actions better be excused :)

  • I think so but the same could be said for men. Taking care of ourselves is an expression of love toward our spouse. But what do I know I am not married and the chances are against that I ever will be.

  • I stopped reading at Pat Robertson suggested.

  • @Kellsbella - hahahaha.  you’re awesome.

  • that man makes my skin crawl.

  • No, but then she can’t expect the guy (or the women) to still be attracted to her either. Come on, pretty rhetoric aside, we are all attracted (or not), in part, to the physical.  

  • No.  A woman has the responsibility to take care of herself for HERSELF.  

  • And if my husband looked like Pat Robertson, we’d always be getting our groceries in paper not plastic.

  • I don’t think he has ever been a good looking man.

    I think men and women both have a responsibility to keep themselves up. I always will, not just for him, but for myself, because it’s important to me.

  • @EmilyandAtticus - hes old…. i wanna see you when ur 80+ lol

  • @wengertime89 - I’m pretty sure when I’m that age I won’t be making sexist comments about how marriages end because the women are ugly! Kind of my point …

  • @tendollar4ways - I hope that was sarcasm.

  • If he takes really good care of his own body, then it’s fair. More often than not, though, men get a beer belly themselves and then complain about how their wife doesn’t look good. Sometimes you need to look in the mirror…. And not be a sexist jerk.

  • Hahaha…you mean people are still paying attention to anything this man says anymore? Just because somebody goes around quoting the Bible or claiming what they do and say is in the name of God, doesn’t mean God actually has anything to do with it, so I really wish people would give that some real thought before following anybody or trusting them for advice.
    Besides, just because you were born shortly after the beginning of creation does not necessarily make you wise.

  • somebody tell the boy not to write to Pat whoever-this-guy-is

  • Pat is another person who has saw dust for brains.

    He should take a good look at his inner self before he starts spewing hate on women. 
    I’d like to see him dish out $$ for makeovers.  If you are not part of the solution, don’t be a part of the problem.Come on Mr. Pat Robertson, Christian Dior me, Coco Chanel me. I dare you! Bring it on.x D

  • both husband and wife should work to maintain an attractive appearance.  attraction is just as important as trust.  

  • Oh for heaven’s sake…I really wish that man would stop talking and making all Christians look bad.  But to answer the question, yes.  A woman does have a responsibility to keep herself up after marriage.  Now, that does no mean that she has to be a size 2 or perfectly made up before her husband gets up.  It just means that she continues to try to impress her husband and continues to try and “win” him.  Now, that goes both ways!  Men can’t just decide that since they “put a ring on it” the work is over.  I have been married nearly 17 years and my husband and I will both tell you that the reason we are still crazy about each other is we always put the wants and needs of the other person first (and neither or us are skinny or particularly attractive, we just work really hard to make the other one happy and it works!).

  • This is too complex of a question. You can’t just look at one aspect of it, prescribe a solution to that aspect, and then generalize and say that that solution is the only one.

    First and foremost, you should never, ever blame the person who was cheated on for being cheated on. If he/she cannot stand the relationship that much, then he/she should get a divorce.

    But as for it being the woman’s responsibility to keep up her looks, why has she given it up? Does she not have enough time? Is she exhausted? Has she hit a rough time in her life? Is she depressed? Does she feel as if she’s not beautiful anymore and that trying would be not only a waste of effort, but in the end when she finally confirmed that she was ugly, that she would feel more depressed?

    Or has she just decided that she doesn’t want to, that he’s going to have to put up with her like this, because nanny nanny boo boo, he married her and he can’t take it back now?

    Obviously these all have very different remedies, very different reactions should be had, and very different answers to your question.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *