April 20, 2013

  • If Your Brother Was the Boston Bomber

    For a few days, most of the nation was waiting for the arrest of the Boston bombers.

    I noticed the father of the guys is saying they are innocent.
    He said they were “set up” and “very nice kids.”
    He also said, “If they kill my second child, I will know that it is an inside job, a hit job.  The police are to blame. . . Someone, some organization is out to get them.”  Here is the link:  Link
    I am of the opinion in situations like this, that most people would protect and even hide their friend or relative.
    If your brother was the Boston bomber, would you turn him in?
                                                                                          

Comments (65)

  •  Only after I clubbed him over the head.

  • Yes. I would also have turned him in if he were the Unabomber.

  • If he’s my brother he wont be a terrorist…

  • I don’t have a brother so trying to turn him in would be a ticket to the loony-bin. 

    in all seriousness though, this thing stinks to high heaven. they expect us to believe a 19 year old kid from the suburbs has the US military scratching their heads running around everywhere looking for him? whether they did it or not, which I have my doubts about, this whole military incursion, locking down Boston, Watertown and Cambridge is a test to see what the American people will tolerate. The FBI is more than equipped to handle hunting down a 19 year old kid. 

  • I would have to hurt him first for shaming my family. Once that was over, I would drive him to the cops myself.

  • I would be conflicted. On the one hand, he’d still be my brother. But on the other, I wouldn’t be comfortable knowing that he’s fine with blowing people up. So I’d probably turn him in once I’m able to say my proper goodbyes to the last vestiges of the non-blowing-people-up version of my brother.

  • Yes and if I didn”t I would be as guilty as him.

  • Depends. I feel like if my brother did do something like that, then he wouldn’t be the person I am so close to now, so in that case yes I would probably turn him in.

     If he WAS the person he is today, and out of nowhere he decided to build bombs, I most likely wouldn’t, depending on his reasoning. I’d get him help, but I wouldn’t send him away for life.

  • Parents almost always think their children as innocent. That’s just the way it is. 

    I only have sisters but if I had a brother and he was a bomber I’m sure people would hate him because most people hate the NY Yankees, “The Bronx Bombers”. I’d still route for him.

  • …Somehow that statement does not seem entirely unlikely.

  • I don’t have a brother, but if my sister did it I would turn her in. You have to face the consequences of your actions.

  • If it were my brother, yes I would turn him in.  It’s heartbreaking for the family so I understand his father’s reaction.  No one wants to believe they raised someone to turn out like that.  If he were my brother I’d be so ashamed and I’d feel guilty for all the harm he’s done :(

  • i’d totally turn him in

  • how about, what if you were alive in war torn Syria 2013 right now?

  • I’d say lets blow up some beaver dams instead.

  • I’m not sure what I would do.  I don’t have any brothers or sisters, so I don’t know that connection that people have with siblings.  I see my husband interact with his sister and my son interact with his sister and I honestly have no idea what either of them would do in that situation.  It’s a shitty situation either way.

  • It would depend of course on so many circumstances.

    I’m a teacher and many of my students are about 19.They are so young.Yet some have gone off to war already–half way around the world……
    I am saddened that a 19-year-old could have his life destroyed in this way,apparently by an older brother who became, as they say, “radicalized.”
    I am saddened by the continuation and even escalation of violence in our world.I am working to try to end it….the violence that is.And, yes, I know…ah ha! “that would be the day!” eh?

  • Right after I kicked the living crap out of him! I would be pissed if he bombed something with the intentions to harm someone! He’s already a pyro, and already messes with fireworks enough to make me worry. but if he does something like that, I will kick his ass ten times over.blowing up fireworks is ok. but when it comes to people, I’ve told him to keep it in the video games.

  • no matter what they were pretty screwed, so really I’d throw my hands up at that point.  I feel bad, I think the younger one got pulled in by the older one, and the older one is dead and the younger one has to now suffer the consequences.

  • The sad part is… I would turn in my brother faster than I would my own son.  But I would try to make arrangements to do it safely… so he survives it.

  • They had guns and used them when confronted by the local peelers. They were up to serious no good in some way. My money is on their guilt.

  • i’d definitely turn him in.

  • My brother is a gentle giant, he would never do anything like this. He was raised with good morals.

  • I would encourage him to turn himself in.

  • @mrqtran - Tragedies can only exist in good ol’ ‘Murica! The test of the world doesn’t matter! :P

  • Theoretically, yes.

    In reality, I have no idea. That’s one of those things you just can’t plan.

    I’m not worried about my brothers being terrorists, though. They have other issues.

  • The first answer that came to my head was “without a doubt”, but the more I think about it, the less I’m sure. I love my brother. He did so much for me growing up. I just hope I’d never be put in that situation.

  • if i know he is indeed responsible, i’d definitely be the one sending him in

  • my brother? I won’t believe it so I won’t turn him in.

  • Yep, I would.  And I also wouldn’t speak to anyone from the press EVER.  And a clue for everyone saying this poor kid was corrupted by his older brother:  Don’t assume that since there’s a possibility it was the other way around.

  • I recently started reading a book called “Nineteen Minutes.” I honestly haven’t gotten far enough into it to really say much about it, but on the back it says, “A brilliantly told tale, one that dares to remind us that someone loved the killer, too.” I’m a nurse in a prison, and I see murderers and rapists every day who say they’re suicidal because they don’t want their parents to feel the burden of having them as a child. It’s hard to really explain and help them understand that most parents would still be absolutely devastated if their child committed suicide, even if they were a murderer. When you love someone that much, when they’re a part of you, it’s hard to destroy that hope that they’re either innocent or that they’ll change for the better one day. 

    I honestly don’t know whether I’d turn my brother and/or child in or not. That’s one of those “you have to be there” situations, I think. You never know what you’ll think or feel until it happens. I’d like to believe that even if I didn’t have the guts to turn him/her in, I at least wouldn’t necessarily protect/hide him/her. 

  • I would have to be sure he did it, and I honestly doubt that any of my brothers would do something like this.  But under the hypothetical that they did, I would talk to them to be sure, and ask them to turn themselves in.  If they didn’t they would either have to take me out, or get turned in by me.

  • I think these ‘brothers’ wouldn’t have been responsible had they not been using guns – maybe someone did ‘frame’ them for the bombs and exchanged backpacks. But this is dismissed in light of there was a shootout and one of the brothers did know how to use a gun and did use it against the police.

    So – the Father saying, “They were set up” is inadmissible. Minju, with all suspects dead the police will have even less to go on. I hope they considered that when they exchanged gunfire instead of using tear gas and later sodium pentathol to get some answers.

    Yes – emotions are high – no, I think there was a perfectly valid way to capture the first without gunning him down dead in a gunfight.

    As for me ? I like the initial post in here. I would definitely do something to incapacitate him before the police arrived and let them sort out what actually happened. I would turn him in.

  • If I knew for a fact that it was my brother, I would encourage him to turn himself in and get him a really great lawyer, but I don’t know if I could turn him in myself. Blood is blood, that would be a tough one. If I thought more people would be hurt in the future I would do it.

  • Yes, for his own protection. I’d try to arrange a surrender – the police were so spooked by the idea of IEDs that they were in a shoot first mode. The younger bomber is very lucky that he was not shot on sight.

  • Theologian: I have changed my user name to miamivikingwoman. please befriend me there and let mvw befriend you here. namaste!

  • like Thelma said I am alarmed that a stay at home mom can profit $6712 in four weeks on the internet. did you see this webpage http://www.wow83.com

  • Probably, unless I was in on it like the younger brother…

    Anyway, when I heard they captured the youngest one and he was still alive and on his way to the hospital, I was thinking more along the lines of “I wonder if the doctors are going to do something that will ‘accidentally’ do something to kill him…” 

  • The conversation I heard this week was the thought behind it was Westboro Baptist.

  • I would go with him and make sure he turned himself in.

  • Absolutely not.

  • Want a stay at home job I can help you and make you a part of my team! I
    can get you started ASAP! Just contact me so i can get you started! My
    eamil is Sbuckner55@gmail.com

    https://www.facebook.com/sarah.buckner.351?ref=tn_tnmn

  • If they give me shittons of money, sure.

  • It’s a hypothetical question folks, lol.

    Probably. I would feel guilty if he did more damage. If I was absolutely certain my bro did it, I think I would.

  • After I beat the crap out of him, then whatever is left, would be turned over to the proper authorities.

  • we humans have a tendency to favour our close relatives..which is very limited and is a reflexion on our limitation to embrace humanity……if and only if these young men are guilty..the broad triumphant smiles of the laughing crowd that i see on my tv, irks me..it tells me that as long as they have not lost a limb themselves, it’s just another game of entertainment for them..no doubt they will return home, then lash out on their next shopping spree..for the need to keep their mental balance with a shopping bag on each side of their body..and forget until the next bomb…and the next one and the next one….

  • I would absolutely turn him in.

  • I hate my brother. I’d turn him in anywhere just for the hell of it.

  • I’d turn him in before the smoke dissapated.

  • Knowing my brother like I do I’ have to say yes, but it’s a lot easier for me to be “unbiased” in that situation than if it were my son.

  • I’m an only child. If a friend or relative did something though, probably not. I don’t think I’d actively hide them, but I wouldn’t involve police and I’d help them. Unless it was personally offensive to me (like raping children) then yeah I’d turn them in. 

  • Yes I wouldd have to turn him in a New York minute.

  • If they are so innocent then why did they kill that security officer why were they running why did they have a shoot out with police why would the kid kill his brother by running him over? In my mind that’s all weird behavior…running away from a problem in my mind

  • And yes I would turn my brother in he’s family but he still has to follow rules

  •  I am not like a lot of others in that I would swiftly do it and take pride in it or in beating him up. I would grieve deeply and shed a lot of tears for him. I would have to encourage him to turn himself in but ultimately, I would have to do something if he didn’t do it himself. At that point it wouldn’t be about a vendetta. It would be about the danger he poses to others.

  • In a heartbeat.  Because(and I only have sisters) we were all raised to be a certain way and to have a set of morals and beliefs.  And if they betrayed those by doing harm upon innocents, I’d turn him in.  As for this whole thing being a setup… I can see it… but its highly improbable.  As to the father stating someone is setting up his two boys… well what the hell were they doing or into to even thin that anyone would go through the trouble of setting them up in the first place.  AND if they were innocent, then why did they run?  Why did they kill that cop?  Why were they engaging LE’s and tossing out IED’s at the cops?  Hell no they are innocent.

  • My question is, where did they get the hand grenades? The homemade pressure cooker bombs I can see, build it yourself, but hand grenades? This isn’t just two kids that were “radicalized” and did this thinking “Allahu Akbar”  I’m gunna get me some virgins… and seems very ironic that DHS was “training” with it’s full gear and staff, and were deployed in full force, locking down an entire city the size of Boston. Then you read how they ordered millions of rounds of ammo, thousands of military style vehicles, etc.. easy to see where the conspiracy theorists get their fodder…

  • I would turn either of my brothers in if they did this, or any other crime.

  • If I knew he did it, I would turn him in, in the blink of an eye.

  • ….In a heartbeat!!!…. what was done was wrong on any level, no matter who did it…. no props for snitching family, perhaps, but oh the well, their problem as well as mine, under the circumstances…. Peace

  • My brother’s too lazy to be a terrorist. Maybe a drug dealer, but never a terrorist. If he showed up on the news, my first thought would be “he can’t even make jello, this has got to be a mistake…”.

  • Nah, I’d just take him out back and shoot him. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *