May 12, 2013

  • My Mom Is Better Than Your Mom

    I am pretty sure I had the best parents ever.  I called my mom and I told her tonight that I could not think of one thing she ever did wrong as a parent.

    She spent so much time with me when I was a child.  I remember when I was sick as a child and she would get on the floor and play cars with me.  She took care of me.  
    I told her that I always had the feeling of being completely loved as a child.  I never once entertained the idea of my parents not loving me.  I told my mom that I grew up with a confidence that I could be a garbage man and my parents would be proud of me.  
    I am so sad when I hear stories of people who had parents that fell short of the mark.    I am so humbled by the sacrifices that my parents made so I could have everything.  (My parents were pretty poor in the early years but it felt like they gave me everything).    
    But my mom is the best mom ever.  I feel so fortunate to be her son.
                                                                                                                              

Comments (24)

  • Telling her that is definitely the best Mother’s Day gift I know of.

  • It is a good thing to have a Mom like that. And rare too, it seems.

  • I don’t suppose you take much stock in the Asian Tiger parenting method.

  •  I feel so fortunate to be her son.
                                                                                               

    So you’re not going to sing, “I ain’t no fortunate son” ?

  • My mum sucks, the first year I’m back from university for mothers day, she disappears of to the other side of the US for a week. -_-*  .. How on earth does she expect me to honestly show my appreciation when absent presence.  

  • Nice post and all, but you still have to get her flowers. lol

  • I also love my mum. It’s funny how kids these days are getting all the material things they want wjile both parents work and sacrifuce time to give it to them, when i was little my patents had no money, I didnt get all the fancy toys but i had the best childhood and had so many more experiences ghan the kids around me who played their gameboys all day. I wouldn’t change it for the world! DAMMIT IM USING MY PHONE, IT IS TOO HARD TO GO BACK AND FIX ALL THE TYPOS HAHA 

  • this is so sweet! I bet my mom would be some pretty darn good competition for yours. 

  • Glad for you! A good mom can make all the difference.

    I have serious anger issues because of my mom.

  • Sorry! My mom was the best mom ever – but I will let you think your mom is!

  • *sigh* 

    Well, how blessed are you to have your mom. I wish I still had my mom around. She was the best!

  • big ups to your mom!

  • my sons tell me now what I did wrong and I say,”I’m sorry that wasn’t very nice of me to do.” 

    I am glad they can tell me what they feel about me and then we move on.

    my own mother would say,”I never did that,you’re making that up.”

  • ALL mothers are special, whether they gave birth, adopted, or raised another’s child due to other circumstances.

  • congrats!

    my mom sucks but i still had dinner and was a good daughter on mother’s day, it’s not really her fault to suck and she made me who i am …so yeah

  • @theotherside@datingish - My parents had issues while I was growing up.  It was really that they were just too young to have me.  I love my mom though.  I always have.  I guess when I got older, I saw things through her eyes, but I did struggle with anger for a while.  Then I got a disease that took my emotions away.

  • Dan, Does your mother read your blog? If not, you should print this out and hand it to her.

  • My mom can beat up your mom.

  • My mom is pretty awesome.  No one is perfect, but I am positive that there isn’t much to forgive her for.

  • This is wonderful Dan.  Glad you too had a wonderful mother that gave you the self confidence so many are lacking.

  • Hubs and I don’t argue about whose mom is better. We argue about whose mom is worse (we both think we have the worst).

  • What a sweet blog! I think you expressed what every parent should hope for for their children :)  

  • My mom’s been gone for two long years. She was a stay-at-home mom and called herself the taxi without a meter! She did a lot of driving and she was a great mom. Unfortunately my brother took total advantage of her all of her life.

    I gave and continue to give my children lots of time and some things. Some are appreciative and some are not. We shall see if any come back to take care of me/watch over me in the long run.

  • I feel so lucky to have had such wonderful parents. Enjoy and treasure them before they are gone!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *