June 1, 2013

  • The Xanga Countdown

    No matter what happens from here, I want to say that xanga was a great experience.

    I must admit times were tough when I started on xanga.  I had just experienced the toughest period of my life.  And the good people embraced me.
    I remember when I posted about a tumor I had.  I had to have surgery and I was a little afraid.  I posted about it on my xanga site and over 100 people commented on that post.  I pulled out of the surgery and signed into my xanga site and I had never received that many comments before.  I was touched by the comments that people left.
    I then posted quickly and once again, there was such an outpouring of support.
    We don’t know if xanga will raise the money. I hope they do.  
    But no matter what happens from here, I am so thankful to everyone in this great community.
    I am thankful for the xanga team and all of their efforts.  I am thankful for the special friends I have made along the way.
    Dan
                
                                                                              

Comments (68)

  • hi dan, where are you planning to move on? wordpress or tumblr?

  • Now show us YOUR boobs :P

  • Dan,

    I am so grateful to have known you, and have grown from the intellectual stimulation you provide. I hope that our paths continue to cross and I sincerely wish you well.

  • Wishing you the best and hoping Xanga raises the money.

  • I’m going to miss you, dearest XangaGod.

  • seven.

    Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

  • It has been fun and hilarious and thought provoking knowing you, Dan.

  • I feel the same way

  • I am thankful for you and all the true friends I’ve made here.

  • You are and have been one of the few Xangan celebrities around here. I’ll miss not seeing Theologian’s Cafe pop up in my feed. Gah, I’m going to miss not having a feed.

  • I’m going to miss some people from here. DANG, this sucks. 

  • Hey Dan, you have a lot of xanga clout. You should be on the xanga committee (if there is one) and come up with an awesome solution!

  • Rob of the Sky

    (I’m kinda sad that I won’t be able to do that much longer)

  • I hope they can raise the money! If not, where’s the bandwagon going? I want to be on it! Tumblr? :/ If nothing else, It’s been a good nine years, guys! 

  • No matter what happens, can’t say I regret the Xanga chapter in my life.

  • I hope they can raise the money too. Either way, I don’t regret spending as much time here as I have. Xanga has been a great community.

  • Dan, I’ll miss Xanga the same as you. If you need me, I’ll either be chatting people up on MySpace or downloading some new tunes on Napster.

  • Nice story. I’ve met many wonderful people here too. I guess we’ll see if Xanga survives. 

  • Same here. Great community, great people. The party will go on, elsewheres. 

  • Your back story is compelling and your posts have never been dull.  Thank you, Dan.

  • The community is the best part about this site. I doubt it will ever be duplicated. 

    Cheers.

  • so long
    tanto tiempo
    si longtemps

  • we’re still gonna smoke together, dan!

  • If it closes, some have suggested moving over to WordPress.com and sharing screen names here… Any thoughts? I have open a trial account under EvangelistGuy… God speed, ~ Pete

  • I haven’t been on here in a long time, but I miss it, & it will make me sad if it goes away………. 

  • So everybody go pledge or sign up! Quit moaning and groaning and sign up! Who knows what a new xanga would be like – there’s only one way to find out!

  • You were one of the first persons I met on here. It’ll be sad to leave.

  • My life has already changed to the point the closing of Xanga doesn’t affect me greatly.

    I feel bad for John. He took our shit.

  • It’s been a pleasure answering your questions. :)

  • But how will continue to help save the boobies?!

  • @Baseballchik138 - 

    That it was I am wondering about,    also about his question of the day

  • thanks for keeping xanga fresh.  le sigh…

  • I’m about to cry! Is this true? How much money do they need?

  • Dan you had many compliments as well as critique over the time you had been on Xanga. I think at times you kept Xanga going with your keen observation and method of evoking emotion and responses.  We were Xanga friends till that mass message you sent out about Christianity or something. I can not even remember what it was. However you being so often on the front page I continued reading and responding. So now I want to formally say thank you for your contribution. You and Xanga is for me synonymous and if there is anybody that was a true Xangan then it was you. I know it is not easy to always find topics that will create a readers and commentators but you managed to do precisely that. Thank you for all the effort. 

  • That is the same for me too. Joining Xanga has been great and just connecting with others too has been a wonderful experience. It’ll be sad to see Xanga get shut down but we’ll always have those good memories.

  • I have enjoyed your posts, and comments people left, sometimes controversial they might have been. Made for highly entertaining reads.

  • upto I looked at the draft for $5746, I did not believe that my brothers friend woz like actualie taking home money parttime on their laptop.. there best friend has done this for only about 16 months and a short time ago paid the loans on their house and got themselves a Acura. this is where I went, http://www.rev24.com

  • you’re a nice guy Dan and I hope we can continue to know each other.

    you and Seedsower have be my constants to do to.

  • Theo, it’s been a surreal pleasure meeting you. *Grin*

    Truly – I hope to see you in Live Journal, that’s where I’ll be headed once the ashes clear.

    But – we have a few days yet. (looking at my pc calendar) 45 days – to smell the hands and shake the flowers, or – something like that.

    Spend your eProps wisely – tomorow – may never come at all …

    Theo (Dan) if you want to back up your pages with comments, I wrote an article recently telling you how. Hope you save the good memories for years to come. 

  • The answer is 42. It always is.

  • So I guess this means they’ll not be finishing the settings page update then?
    I’ll miss seeing the promise it’s coming when I click that tab. Best six years of my life waiting for that.

  • One last time, for nostalgia’s sake guys.

    ” We are in the process of converting all the settings pages into this new look…

    In the meantime, please use the links on the left to access all your settings”

    *swoons*

  • indeed. xanga has been a great place to escape from other social networking sites. 

  • I agree-Xanga  friends walked me through breast cancer,,the loss of my Mother and other family members. Some of these people have become family to me. But if they scatter to different blogs(which they will) we will lose touch. I have not always agree with some of your ideas–but they kept my mind sharp and kept me reading,,,,but then I have an idea that was the purpose of some of them huh? Good luck to you

  • I’ll really miss this place.  I’ve gotten a lot of support here.  

  • Never mind (I know how much $ now) . I’m so upset :’( 

  • xanga is xanga, unlike any other thing..   yep..

  • i dont believe it still…

  • What I genuinely think is… Xanga is a good place for people to begin their blogging career because it provides a place for people to write, and to read! It also helped me in building up my interests in writing!

  • I’m thankful for you too, Dan.

  • It’s been fun, I’ve enjoyed our interactions here over the years. 

  • Always a pleasure to read your stuff and to know you. Thank you for being there for me in my tough times!

  • I agree with this wholeheartedly. Xanga has been here for me when no one else was. If this site gets shut down, I wish I could tell everyone I knew once more whether or not they’re still here that they meant a lot to me, all of them. 

    Including you, my dear Dan. :)

  • It’s been great knowing you all this time. Your entries never cease to amaze me. :)

  • Don’t give up hope yet Dan. I’m sure you have some plan up your sleeve.   

  • Sorry to hear that your leaving? What is this about Xanga needing money? Is ther eny away that we can keep copies of our blog?

  • A bunch of us are going to wordpress! Join us!

  • this made me a bit emotional, dan. i always liked you even though you posted sexist, sensationalist crap sometimes. one of my favorites even.

    and i hope you find another place on the internet to post your things. you will find an audience no matter where you go.

  • well said!  Will truly miss this place.  Thank you, Dan for keeping the conversations lively!

  • I”ve been a member of Xanga for 8 1/2 years. This is the first I heard of it. I cant believe its s hutting down :( . I have met the most wonderful people here.

  • I’ve been very thankful for Xanga too. I would not have gotten into blogging if not for Xanga. It’s been amazing meeting people as well, even though most of my friends don’t blog here anymore. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *