June 3, 2013

  • Your Xanga Anxiety Level

    When xanga announced that they would shut down xanga if they did not raise $60,000 by July 15th, people had all sorts of responses.  (Go donate:  Link)  $18,000 and counting

    Some people acted like they didn’t care.  Others acted as if they were told a friend was dying.
    Lets rate this on a scale of 1 to 10.  1 means you are indifferent.  10 means your life is impacted in a significant way.
    On a scale of 1 to 10, how anxious are you about xanga shutting down?
                                                                                                                     

Comments (156)

  • I was probably at an 8 at first. But now that I’ve learned how to contact most of my friends, I’ve calmed down a lot. So maybe a 4?

  • I’m at a 5 probably :/ I’m not as concerned as I should be.

  • I think most people are going to be a five. Five for the five stages of grief. Right now I’m sad with a bit of anger.

  • maybe a 5. I’ve been preparing for it for a while. life kicks us in the balls at times, but we have to just get up and move on. 

  • I’ll know when doom’s day is here.

  • 8. I feel like I’m losing family. 

  • I gotta get all my posts off of here! 9 years!

  • 10…but I have Xanax.

  • When I saw 15 messages in my inbox, I knew something had to be up. I’m in a state of shock at the moment, sprinkled with some sadness. Also some regret for not staying as active as I’ve been meaning to over the last year in particular, and regret for not getting to know my xanga friends better like I wanted to.

    Damn, xanga. Why?!

  • I haven’t stopped sweating and shaking for 3 days.  10 

  • 10!! 

    Xanga has been a huge part of my life for 10 years! I feel like I spend a lot of my day thinking of things to write about. Now when I think about it I realize there’s no point because in a few weeks it’ll all be gone. I’m devastated. I don’t know where to go or what to do?? I really don’t want to start at square one with a whole new blogging community.  

  • 6. But I am NOT donating to this. I refuse. I love this community but even if the amount is reached, Xanga is doomed. I will move on with my life, making this a happy memory which has been there for me almost a decade.

  • 10 if I can’t download my archives. Other than that I think I’m doing ok, probably 3-4.

  • Probably an 6-8. I’m not sure! If it goes and I can’t use or don’t like the other sites, the upside is that I’ll get more work  done haha Xanga is my procrastination as well as my outlet.

  • I am a xanga addict and will deny anything more than a 2! Sure! I can live without it! I can quit anytime! It’s not like I have to have it or anything! I have gone weeks without it! Ermm… I dunno!

  • 5. Been basically gone 2 years and decided to return last week. I just don’t want to lose the years Xanga got me through some rough times.

  • For myself–a 4. I do feel sad, because the wonderful people I’ve met have helped me grow with us all sharing our lives.  But, it’s been so long, about two years since I’ve written on here, due to college and other circumstances.

    But for others, I feel a 6-8 range.  There is a special community here that you don’t find on most social media sites these days.  It would be sad to see this one come to a close.

  • 7 or 8 currently.  Xanga reminds me of an old beloved dog that I just found out has a life-threatening illness.  Part of me feels like it’s his time, but a part of me remembers all the good times we shared so I do not want to let go just yet.

  • 10. I might not post or comment all of the time, but I feel like it’s the only place I can go sometimes. If I didn’t have it, I’d be a mental case by now.

  • 5 neighborhood would catch most people I think.  I have drifted away, and lots of others have too. It reflects the ground truth and will be hard to reverse.

  • Probably about a 7. Xanga has given me some wonderful friends and gotten me through some dark times. But my friends will still be around and there are bigger tragedies in life than a blogging site shutting down. This place and the people who populate it are very dear to me, though; I don’t want to lose it.

  • It’s a moment by moment thing.  It would be freeing in some ways if it all just disappeared.  Looked back through my old posts and it no longer said who had left half the comments; makes it hard to reminisce.

    Did a Google search for Xanga news and was happy to see a couple articles about the situation.  Won’t help, but it’s nice to see. 

  • I’m going to miss a lot of my friends from here. I think it will be hard to reconnect anywhere else. But I’m willing to try a Xanga-Wordpress if they get it together.  Still waiting to see. Put me at a 6.

  • About a one. But I do care but I am not going to worry. If we all want to do it, it will happen. And I think it will happen

  • Probably 4-5. I’m sad and nostalgic, but it does not impact my life in a huge way. Before the announcement, I hadn’t realized how much I loved this website, it really isn’t just about the blogging. But in reality, for me it is just a website I frequent. 

  • I wish some dramatic people just would wait to know what Xanga was doing before jumping ship.  Everything is up in the air…and even though they just present 2 options for now, I hardly doubt one of those two ways are the only possibilities out there ..they are just the only 2 they are presenting.  I wish people wouldn’t jump ship until they knew exactly what was going to happen first.  My thoughts.

  • Just came to Xanga, don’t even have the hang of it yet, how to set up a page, or even get it to upload a picture.  No one seems to offer any advice either as to what could be wrong, except to read other peoples questions stating they are experiencing the same problem.  If you need to buy a membership, then they should tell you.  I blogged over on Yahoo for many years, had a lot of friends there, and lost them when Yahoo left.  I also am on Facebook, but you don’t have the capacity to blog over there like here.  You can comment, but the whole thing doesn’t show on a page such as here, you must click to read the whole thing.  So for me, not having much fun here yet as I don’t have many friends here, so I will just wait and see what happens before I get too involved. 

  • Are we allowed to go negative here? Because a 1 isn’t even close to the utter lack-of-caring I have for a site shutting down because it’s grossly mismanaged.

  • 10 if i lose my archives…..so many great memories of my kids.

  • @karen_lynn - They’re the only two presented because…they’re the only two options they have. They don’t have a plan in place for, say, attracting new customers. They don’t even have a working demo yet, which most people have BEFORE they launch a kickstarter.

    As great as this community is, it’s not worth nearly fifty bucks a year. Not even close. Maybe if they fire everyone and bring in people that actually know what the hell they’re doing it’ll be worth something then.

  • A 4. Just want my archives. I don’t get a lot of readers here anymore because of my hiatus so. I guess I just don’t have the connection anymore. Plus when I returned, I could totally tell it was pretty dead. When I get in on top blogs with 30 views…Yeah. Dead.

  • About a 7. I’m not extremely depressed, but I’m sad to see it go. I get separation anxiety about these things.

  • I think I’m at 20. I’ve started blogging here thanks to bianca.

  • @bloggicus_maximus - It’s the only 2 options they’ve presented. Impossible to know by either of us if only 2 options they have. I guess we’ll see.

  • @karen_lynn - If they had more options, they would have presented them already. They really should have done this more than six weeks out, but it’s Xanga, so my hopes are already fairly low at this point.

  • 9 … there’s no place like xanga. I created a tumblr account http://www.missnursetinkerbell.tumblr.com but, i miss the xanga community…=(

  • At first I was at a 10…. Xanga has been a huge part of my life for 10 years. But now Im at a 1. Ive accepted it and moved on to another site already (that Im really loving). Even if Xanga raises the money, it wont be the same Xanga Ive known & loved. 

  • OH MY GOD WHAT?!?!?!?!

  • About an 8. There are so many wonderful mothers with blogs on here, how will I keep up with their family pictures?!?!!Their kids are too adorable.

  • 8. I would go crazy,would have gone crazy, if it weren’t for xanga…I’ve been writing since high school…about ten years and two different sites. Sad chubby bunny. :(

  • 8

    But last month the team I supported needed to win to make sure they were safe for championship football,  one below the top flight in England) on the last match of the season,  if results went against us and we have lost we could have been playing league one football,   two below the top flight in England.

    I think most fans in the match between Sheffield Wednesday vs Middleborough were nervous,    I think I was about 10.

  • 10! I didn’t know how much I’m attached to Xanga until now.

  • I need to start copying my better xanga writing and filing it. I may not get on here as often as I wish but it feels like a table at a small, warm tavern where we meet and have fun. I will definitely miss it if it goes away. :( At least a 5 or a 6. 

  • 8. I really enjoyed being on here. it has helped me in many ways. It has given me an opportunity to grow. to share myself, and to allow others to help me when I needed it. I love this place. but I seriously don’t have any money at the moment. but that might be changing here soon. I want to help, so I might.

  • 11 shitting bricks yo

  • i would say that a 7 is pretty accurate for me. although i was initially really upset & i’ve been on xanga for almost the past decade, the only thing i really use it for anymore is to do surveys. that’s my way of journaling/ranting outlet, but it’s something that i can continue to do on another site so i’m just going to have to suck it up & move on. 

  • @isitreal_no – I’m with Holly here on everything she said, except perhaps the number. I think I’m more between 4-7.

  • On a scale of 1-10, I’m an 11, down from 14.  Hardly slept Friday night.  The gloom has faded, and if my archives can be saved, I’ll have no trouble at all making lemonade out of this bunch of lemons.  The big thing for me is my file of Scrabble word lists and also the hyperlinks that I don’t even know how to make anywhere else but Xanga.  And I’ve never been able to keep my list of doctors’ appointments straight any other way.  Xanga has provided the only filing system that works for me.  I’ve got a lot of learning to do.

    As for losing this community of friends, I can TRY to make lemonade but it will be hard.  Venting away the bad stuff, sharing all the good stuff — I’ll adjust if I have to, but I don’t love this place just a little bit.  I love it heaps.

    I think I’ve worked myself back up to a 12.

  • 6… I’ve made some lasting friendships here that will continue regardless. But no use crying over spilled milk

  • 8.5 — I have been using xanga for a long time (10 years) and so there are a lot of memories associated with a lot of my entries. I have taken advantage of the free archive Download, so at least I will keep the diary part of my xanga with me but I’m still shocked that it’s going away. I donated, but I can’t offer much. =(  At the same time though, I’ll miss stalking other people’s problems on the front page– since most of the people who read my blog or who’s blogs I read regularly, are people I know in person. 

  • I’d rank myself as a 6/7…

  • 0. everybody I like is on xangaville/FB now. I am considering blogging on Microsoft Word (diary style) instead out in the public eye anyway
    Best of luck to Xanga anyway. If their idea works and everyone helps raise funds, will we be making internet history?

  • I’ll prob have post-traumatic xanga withdrawals for a couple of days but i’ll live and move on, prob on a scale of 5-7?! Still hoping the site could be salvaged somehow :)

  • 9-10. I’ve had xanga for 9 years; it’s been the one stable thing in my life throughout that time.

  • I am not surprised .Too many Xangans left to play with facebook .
     But I am not of those crews  who leave the ship threatened and I have just paid my premium and this from 2002.
    I did not use to comment here because we are not on the same register of topics but I appreciate what you do to save Xanga .

    Go ahead !
    In friendship
    Michel

  • 10. I do hope xanga makes it, but I probably won’t be staying if so as heartbreaking as it is to say :(

  • I wonder if this was one of the big popular websites would it featured in the news that the site was in trouble.

    Xanga not seen anything in the news for the last couple of years.     My anxiety is now a 9.75

  • Hello. My name is Kelly, and I’m a Xangaholic.

  • I would say probably about 8 – 9. I just figured this out. It’s really sad since I’ve been using Xanga for almost ten years. I’m not really close to anyone here, but I secretly am happy to see everyone love Xanga so much. I wish I had the money to fix it.

  • Definitely a 10.  I met the love of my life on Xanga and it holds so many fond memories for me.  

  • Yeah, its a 10. I know I haven’t been active for a while, but that’s only because my life has been very busy not because I wanted to leave.

  • A HUGE TEN. I’ve had this since high school (I am past college now). This is like my personal, private diary between my best friends and if they wipe this, it’s like wiping the story of my life. I know that sounds sort of lame but it’s like having a bunch of pictures from when you were young and then having it burn. As I get older, I forget little details from the past and having Xanga to read things I wrote before is quite awesome. Shit can Xanga have like a backup thing like facebook to download everything! Some things I have on Xanga are irreplaceable!!!

  • 6, because it is the only place where I write blogs and I don’t get followed by my family

  • Zero.

    You, on the other hand, are clearly sweating bullets. With xanga gone, your existence would lose its meaning and purpose.

  • I’m not anxious at all, just sad… but my sadness on a scale of 1-10 is probably a 6 or 7. This is part of my routine, and something that I’ve really enjoyed over the last 8 years.

  • still need 850 backers if everyone’s going for $48…around 21 people backing per day.

  • @PinkPinecone – What’s the new site you’ve moved on to?

  • @Beanie_617 - That’s how I felt too (the erasing our past part). But we can archive all of our stuff, so that’s a relief. 

  • i’ve been on this thing since i was fing 16 years old.  can’t live without it.  11!!

  • 2 or 3. It would be sad, but there are other options and it’s just part of the cycle of the Internet. Websites are born, websites down, and the Earth keeps revolving.

  • 2. It won’t be completely unimpactful, but I’m not feeling anxious or mournful about it in the least. I’m looking forward to applying my energies elsewhere.

  • 10—definitely.  Xanga got me through eight years of recovery from an abusive marriage.  It was my therapy, my friend, my diary, my courage.  Gonna try to archive and download everything, but heartbroken anyway.

  • Not much higher than a 1. I am not completely uncaring, it’s sad that Xanga will be no more for me (even if they do save it, I do not have the money to spare to pay for blogging), but I’m not shattered either. I haven’t been using it much in the last couple years anyway, and my closest friends on here are now on my Facebook so I don’t feel like I’ll be missing much. I’d say maybe a 3. I can totally see myself starting to miss it more after it’s gone though.

  • I have a lot of blogging years into this site.  I have tried other hosts in the past and never found it as welcoming and user friendly as Xanga.  I am not upset enough to want to donate money because, I guess I am optimistic that I will be able to find another host but, this is really distrupting news to say the least.  5. 

  • I’m at a 5…I’ve tried WordPress, Blogspot, shit I even tried Livejournal, but I have this love/hate relationship with Xanga ever since I created one in 2004. I’m sad to see that it will go.

  • 9! Xanga is my life!!!

  • Not really on here enough to have any anxiety about it.

  • The first few days was definitely a 10. Currently, I’m at 6 and dwindling. For the most part, my Xanga experience died a while ago. Most of my subscribers moved on to other sites with no signs of returning. I’ve been going at it alone, so to speak. I enjoy the users that recently subscribed to me, but after exchanging emails and links to other spots on the internet, it certainly made the transition easier for me. Don’t get me wrong—I would miss the shit out of this place, but I’ve lived through this before. This time, it just feels more official.  

    Add in the new subscription model and I’m quite turned off. I’m a broke artist, struggling to find work. $48 might seem like a drop in the bucket for some, but that could potentially knee-cap me. I’m in survival mode right now, so paying for blogs just seems… unnecessary. Besides that, I already have a Word Press domain…and I’m debating on whether or not to keep it. If I had steady income, I would be singing a different tune, for sure.  
    I know this sounds silly, considering there’s a “TRUE” badge at the bottom of my post, but that’s my sob story. The House of X may live, but I won’t be there to see it… unless my financial situation changes between now and the deadline. 

  • @Donkey_Guy_10 - yeah, my husband says I have a problem with xanga as he smokes a blunt. 

  • @Unstoppable_Inner_Strength - It must take so much unstoppable inner strength to lash out at people about their relevancy

  • I would give it a 2 or 3. 9 years in the past! Going back makes me feel as if someone is taking a band-aid off of a sore that’s not healed. So many ups and downs, and angst! I haven’t found a whole lot of Xangans on FB, but have made new friends. I DO feel nostalgic, but not wanting to continue!

  • @Yorokobi1010 - You meant “relevance.”  I’m not lashing out, just stating a fact. Nice try, though. Also, get a dictionary.

  • I’ve had my site for about six years, but only made one “friend” from it, so i’m going with a 3. 

  • @LSP1 - Ive moved to Blogger & now that Ive figured it out I really like it. Seems like most xangans are moving to WordPress though.

  • as Nathan answered I am stunned that any body can profit $7783 in a few weeks on the computer. did you look at this site http://www.rev24.com

  • 10 seriously, I have been here for 11 years, my friends have seen my kids grow in pictures! Ugh so, so sad. :( I loved it then, I love it now. I’ve tried other sites but I never stick to them. Xanga is just something else… :’(   

  • Making plans to migrate to another blog host in case the fundraising falls short. My site will live on somehow. – Peter

    http://kwantifiable.xanga.com/

  • I would say 10 but perhaps I’m a little older and wiser now and I realize there are many blogging methods and programs out there and a whole new batch of friends just waiting to be found – many of which will be from Xanga, in time.

    Oddly it seems like Xanga might even reach their $60,000 goal before the due date considering how much is raised already. I just hope they don’t take the money and run whether or not they do or do not reach the desired amount.

    So I would rate my Xanga Anxiety level at 8, but that is merely because I have grown so comfortable and acquainted with everyone in here. I will sorely miss the familiar and interesting conversations.

    Parting is definitely difficult, goodbyes are so sorrowful, can we just say – hope to see you again soon, mate ?

  • Probably an 8 and I haven’t been very active this year but it got my attention.

  • I’ll be okay as long as I have my archives. Most of my friends have connected with me on Facebook and most of us no longer post here. I just need my old posts, as it contains the first few years of my almost 6 year old’s life. I think, in the future, I’m going back to go old fashioned pen and paper. I can’t count on digital services to stay forever.

  • Okay, I lied: 10.

  • About a 6/7. I would be concerned about all of my 10 years of journals disappearing along with it. But as for my devotion to Xanga, it’s waining these days, I’d still be sad though!

  • About an 8. Yes there are other social networking sites, but xanga is completely unique and the sense of community on here isn’t found anywhere else.

  • @soonaquitter – there quite a few ex xanga people on FB. Check out xanga alumni on FB.

  • not sure… maybe a 5.

    I’ve got a LOT of FB requests lately… so my guess is that everyone I’ve loved and appreciated will still keep in touch. Either way, I still still meet new people and still blog. It just may not be here. =[
    Honestly, I was thinking of kind of giving it a rest here for a bit because of all my marriage is dealing with. It just feels like I can’t think of anything else to write about these days… my hope is when i blog again, i will have a fresh, new perspective and joy again.

  • like a 3? Guess I always so it coming. 

  • 9. There is only one Xanga. No other place like it. I’ll find some other place to blog if I have to, but all the times I’ve “left” xanga in the past, I always come right back. I’m sad. Xanga has been there for me for 7 years.

  • 5 or 6. I’ve only used the site a year, and granted, I haven’t really made any friends, but this is the only place on the entire Internet where I don’t know anyone in real life. It’s my escape and I get so much off my chest here. It’ll be a shame to lose that.

  • @PinkPinecone – That’s what I’ve noticed too.

  • DIEZ!! Me gusta muchisimo Xanga!!   This Oct. would be 8 years that I have been on Xanga.  

  • I wonder what their stress level is knowing they face one hell of a class action law suit if they “fail”!

  • Close to a 10, but I have started downloading my archives, exploring other blogging sites and informing my xanga subscribers where I can be found as an alternative. My preference is to be with Xanga but I am not making myself dependent on Xanga. If the time comes to move on, then i will be ready..if Xanga continues in a way I can continue with Xanga …then I am happy.

  • honestly, probably about an 7 or 8. I’ve been here for almost a decade. i also have met people i enjoy, even though we are different we all share our life, joys and struggles, through writing/blogging.

  • 10, for sure. I actually commented to someone that I felt like I just found out my best friend had terminal cancer. 

  • It really kind of pisses me off the lack of loyalty and appreciation that is being shown here. “uh 1 because I’m cool and hate all the years of loyal service has given me” I’M SO COOL I GIVE NO SHITS

  • At first, an 8. Now that I’m backing up my stuff, and have started a new blog elsewhere (that I’ve yet to write on), I guess I’ll be okay. I guess I’m at a 6 now. Whatever else I do will never BE Xanga :/ 

  • I was at about a 5, but now that I’ve downloaded all of my archives, I’m like a 3. I will miss Xanga, but I have facebook and a new blog over on BlogSpot. I will live.

  • 7 , lots of memories here in Xanga

  • Can we put it on kickstarter?

  • Three or four. Xanga isn’t as fun as it used to be. The bloggers I like the most are either gone from trolls or gone because they are in relationships which hinders their creativity. 

  • I’d say ‘non existent’ if that existed. I wasn’t indifferent, just didn’t feel it was something to stress about. Xanga will either continue on or it won’t. I’ll do my part to try to help but life goes on & so does change. We will all survive in one way or another…

  • I love doing my quotes site it helps me relax. so im goin to say like 9! We need to keep this site running!

  • My anxiety level is between 7 and 8. :(

  • I’m at a 10, Xanga is totally a huge part of my life.

  • 10 xanga also help me through some hard times, i also have a bunch of quotes that would help me in rough times, it was a whole lot easie to post them and then i could go and look at them when i had forgotten the words. i dont want xanga to close im always on here !! grr.. pissed.

  • WHAT THE LITERAL FUCKING FUCK THIS IS MY CORE 10/10 CRUSHING SADNESS

  • @excitingfloatybubbles - THIS HAS ALWAYS BEEN AND STILL IS MY MAIN BLOG

  • I have three sites on here. One “Lifetime” and two “Premium”s. Put me down for an eleven…………….

  • If it goes I will be very sad as it got me through the many rough times in life . I come in go and ihad been meaning to blog more even though its not the same as it once was before

  • Man, it’s gonna take forever to save my posts. Years of stuff on here. Other than that, I don’t care much. 2, maybe?

  • I think I’ll do a contest. Winner gets a paid year if xanga makes 60k

  • 9 – (I’d feel like I was losing a friend.   A good friend!] 

  • 20!!!! Im using it since 2003 WTF!!!!

  • @MomWithoutaMinivan - Its xanga……get a  freaking Tumblr or Instagram…..this module is outdated…..do you have an iphone or do you operate on a 1993 Flip phone? exacty…..

  • guys shut up grow up and stop whining about your internet friends. get off the computer, and go find real friends. I was bullied on this site. so much drama. I love my page but I have tumblr now……I can archive them and keep my wallpaper no big loss idiots. you are all idiots…are we still in high school? TUMBLR

  • @mitztaken1 - you wont archive them

  • I won’t know for sure till it’s gone, if it goes.  I’m hoping it doesn’t go.  I will lose people I feel quite connected to.

  • @Jeremy_Sheer - Not all of us have the health to get out, for some of us this is our connection to people and the world.

  • on a scale of .01 to .10, I was a .01

  • X has captured my life from the time I was 14 years old…… I’m 25 now. I have captured deaths, births, loves, graduations, and marriages… EVERYTHING.  I met my best friends on there… I’m even getting a tattoo of all my “X Girls” on my wrist next paycheck… How does this effect me? I’m not going to be able to put a number on this…. This is awful

  • @Jeremy_Sheer - I don’t even know where to begin with you. I’ll be nice, though. You claim to have been born in my year of birth, so as someone who’s almost 30, I’d expect a little tolerance and understanding. As we grow up, we *should* start to realize that even though people’s feelings don’t mirror our own, that those feelings are valid. Just doing a quick skim of your blog, I can see clearly that if you are in fact, 28 (or have you already had your birthday this year?) that your thought process remains that of a junior in high school.  I have both tumblr and instagram. A twitter too, and of course a facebook.  How in the world that is even remotely similar to blogging,  I’m not sure. It could never even compare to networking at such a personal level so please, don’t go there. Do I have an iPhone? No, actually I just ditched that. I was saving my upgrade for a galaxy s4. That’s not even important, though. Your claim that we are all stupid and need to get off the computer is juvenile at best. In this thing called life, many of us don’t stay in the same towns we grow up in and keep the same friends. In fact people like me have spent the last decade and a half moving across the country first, then moving all over the northeast. It’s been impossible to make and keep many friends, especially being a mom who worked 50 hours a week turned stay at home mom. Xanga has been where I came together with some of these friends I’ve had for the last 10 years. I am happy to report that I moved for the last time 2 years ago and finally have friends and a support system in real life. But I still come here because I love those who have been there for me when I had no one else and still enjoy documenting my life and my childrens milestones. 

  • 10. I was about the 7th person to sign up with Xanga and have been here ever since. I’m one of those who touts that we are a community. I’ve even flown across the country to attend the burial of several, gone to weddings and even vacationed with some of my Xangain friends. I couldn’t say that of Blogger!

  • @MomWithoutaMinivan - I’m really sorry I wasn’t Being sympathetic you are right I overreacted please forgive the only reason I overreacted is it’s just Xanga there still blogging platforms out there word press tumbler it’s the same thing there’s not much of a community I’ve been on here seven years I was bullied six years at the most on here this place shares memories for me to and it’s hard I totally agree but we shouldn’t be grieving acting like it’s Armageddon there still life

  • 6-7. Xanga is my main creative outlet!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *