February 27, 2006

  • Prenuptial Agreements

    In my last post, someone mentioned in the comment box the issue of prenuptial agreements.  I have read about 4-5 post in the last few weeks on the issue of prenuptial agreements.  I always looked at prenuptial agreements as something for the rich.  But even if I was rich, I think I would have a hard time asking a potential spouse if she would sign a prenuptial agreement.  I would think it would take out an element of trust in the relationship.


    So let us try a hypothetical related to prenuptial agreements.  Pretend you are worth 100 million dollars.  Pretend you want to marry a person who has no money.


    Would you make that person sign a prenuptial agreement before you married him/her?


     

Comments (188)

  • Nah.

  • ok so that comment wasnt funny. seriosuly

  • No. Pre-nups strike me as contrary to the spirit of marriage. Of course, I’d also be sure I knew the person before I married her.

  • Oh c’mon Dan….Hell yes!!

    Love, Candy

  • lol

    umm… i’m not sure. i’d like to think i wouldn’t, but who knows…

    :/

  • no because i would never plan on getting divorced

  • If I have 100 millions, then I would not want to marry at all … lolz

  • I think it would depend on the person I was going to marry.

  • I will never get a pre-nup. I believe strongly in the element of a “one flesh” relationship, and holding back ANY part of myself, even finances, is going to be detrimental. If I commit myself to someone, I will be committing my whole self to them.

    .. even if he turns out to be a golddigger, divorces me, and runs away with all my money. Where my heart is, is where my treasure lies. My heart is in a fruitful, trusting, fully committed marriage. I will only marry someone who shares this dream with me. And if it turns out that my judgement and discernment were that bad, so be it. The Lord gives and takes away, I suppose. I don’t think He would seize to continue taking care of me if it were to end poorly.

  • i hate to say this but I think I would. 

  • It would not be a hard choice for me because I would never take a marriage proposal lightly.

    I mean who knows how I would feel if I have 100 million but I am married now so.

  • defiantly.

    with divorce rates as high as they are…

    not many people go into a marriage wanting divorce.

    and its not only security for the person worth 100 million, but also for the other person. They could end up getting nothing with
    an unsympathetic judge.

    plus, if you’re going to marry someone and love them enough to do that, a pre-nup shouldn’t damage yer relationship if it is infact strong enough for you to consider marriage.

  • Um…maybe and maybe not…i don’t really know yet…hahahaha^^

  • hhhm….I would like to think that marriage lasts forever, but if I was worht that much, I may have a hard time with that whole trust & real love issue…hmmm…it’s hard to say…

  • no… marry for love… not money right?

  • I wouldn’t let them know that I’m worth 100 million until we actually get married. If i have that money, i would have a regular house, with a regular car, and regular clothes, etc. for whenever i would hang out with the ladyfriend. Then on our extremely expensive honeymoon that she says “we can’t afford this” to, i would drop the bombshell on how much i’m worth.

  • In my family, at least, we have always had a sort of prenup, mainly for the benefit of the woman, so that she is sure to have at least some amount of money if she has to leave her husband. The girl’s family play a large part in deciding what the amount will be because they want to ensure that thier daughter will not suffer if she does have to support herself, and any children she might have. It’s supposed to be a rather large amount of money.

  • No. …good question though.

  • the only prenup i’d ever sign is one that agrees that 1) we won’t get a no-fault divorce and 2) whoever is responsible for the breakup loses everything

  • i’m having trouble imagining myself with 100 million dollars to begin with…

    but…i don’t think i would.  i’m a bit too much of an “old romantic” and that is not a super romantic thing.

    and i like to try to think the best of people for as long as i possibly can.

  • IM NOT GREEDY.  IF I WERE IN LOVE, TRULEY IN LOVE AND WAS WORTH 100 MILLION, I COULD STAND TO LOOSE A BIT OF MONEY IF THINGS WENT DOWN.  I THINK NO MATTER WHAT YOU SHOULD BE CAUTIOUS ABOUT ENTERING MARRAGE.  MANY PEOPLE DO IT WITHOUT THINKING IT THROUGH I BELIEVE.

  • Probably

  • No, I’d marry for keeps. And I’d make sure it’d stay that way before I got married.

  • Then work hard at it too, I guess…

  • Yes. 

     Not having a prenup in situations such as this (or with a family business, trust fund, etc) is the smart thing to do. 

    I don’t think prenups are a set up for divorce.  Things we don’t expect to happen in fact happen all the time.  Just because I have health insurance to cover extensive trauma or car insurance that covers me if I kill someone doesn’t mean I want it to occur because it may never in fact take place.  Insurance, like a prenup, is there in case it does.

  • Well, for the rich these are rather common things now, so I would not think it would be unexpected. 

    Could I do it?  I would not want to do it.  But obviously with $100million, my whole world would be different.  Even losing half of that is more than I can ponder having in the first place.

  • No.

    If you don’t have full trust in the person you want to marry then you should not be marrying them in the first place.

    Trust is a must.

    Nicholas

  • if they love you, they’ll sign it; they may go through a thing of ‘you don’t trust me’ & all, but they’ll come around.

  • i dont think i could ever marry someone that i didn’t believe would be with me forever. I guess this may be naive, but i just think that when you find someone and u commit to marrying them, its forever.

    ryc: i’m glad u dont think i look like i need to lose weight! I’m tall, so it helps..but i still have some pounds to lose.

  • I don’t know. Tricky question. I would say “no” based on my gut instint but it depends on the person

  • 100% YES, and i’ll sign it if it were the other way around. 

  • I may be naive, but I believe too much in true love to do that. I’d marry without it, believing with all my heart that “it couldn’t happen to us.” If I was worth 100 million however, I probably would have taken a very different path in life and not have found an amazing man like Andy, but some charming leach, so who knows.

  • No, I wouldn’t.  That affects some amount of trust….

  • Sure I would…  People always think their marriage is the one that will last forever, but the reality is that about 50% of all marriages bite the dust.  Why not protect your interest?

  • depends on how long we are together. if we’re together for a long time and they didn’t really know how much i was worth [they knew it was a lot, but not that much], then no. but if we’re together and i get proposed to just up and out of no where, then yes.

  • No; If I were marrying the person, I would have complete trust in them. Therefore, you wouldn’t need a pre-nup.

  • Yes, if I was Donald Trump.

    He got completely screwed over because of his wife, man.

    Ok not completely, but he lost a lot of $$

  • Of course not because love conquers all, even money!

    Pesky

  • yes, unfortuantly that wont happen to me.  I married into a good income and after 17 years he has no job now.

    100 million is alot of money.

  • If I ever get married again, no matter how much money I have, I will  do a pre nup

  • I would agree with coach… People can say and do anything to make you believe how much they love you if you’re worth that much. It’s something celebrities deal with EVERYDAY….

  • I think I’d ask her first and see if it would offend her. If it wouldn’t, then yes, but if she had a problem with it, probably not. It is a good precatuion though. Love doesn’t conquer all.

    -Jared

  • No. If I trusted someone enough to marry him, then I would trust that he wouldn’t leave me. If I had even a sliver of doubt, I wouldn’t marry him.

  • oh yes. we can all learn a thing or two from simpson n lachey.

  • you should marry someone whom you love and admire…therefore a peice of paper shouldnt mean anything to a marriage…so why not…it would be understandable if you had 100 million dollars….but if you love someone signing it shouldnt be an issue on either part if it to protect you and your loved one….divorce shouldnt be an issue when you marry someone…nowadays the only reason divorce rates are so high is because people get married without really knowing a person…if you got to know the person before hand then divorce shouldnt be a issue with you or your loved one…it should basically just be up to you and what you feel is right….if you want to get it so be it, if not so what….a peice of paper shouldnt control or distroy a marriage if you really love and trust your significant other.

  • as someone said if i had 100 million I would think twice about marrying at all.  I think I might just be too busy to worry about getting married.

  • I’m torn between Yes and No because if you do sign in it then,aa you said it does take the trust element away and it makes the spouse question themselves on whether or not your really in it for love.If you dont then while the divorce is going on the can claim something really bogus and take all your money. So I’m not really sure what to say.

  • Never… that would be a clear sign you didn’t trust the marriage would work out completely. If you aren’t 100% going into a marriage, you have no business getting married.

    Now some people are 100% and still get divorced later, but at least they gave it their all.

  • nope not me

  • defineately!

    you are marrying for love not money as some people said right?

    then….by signing the prenuptual agreement, it will clearly show what ones motives are! 

    If you are married, there will be no issue about how to use the money while you are married.  Prenuptual agreements don’t usually discuss how you will spend the money while you are married, but rather if there is a divorce.  This is especially important, in the case for example if the person with the lower income is caught cheating!  Then they get a divorce!  The person with the lower income will still be paid alimony, even though they are the ones that cheated!

  • Whatever they want.

  • depends on if he know about my money before he met me…i don’t know…i don’t think i will have to worry about that bc i don’t think i will ever become rich enough to go there lol…but you never know…

    Rachel

    ps if we can still vote i like #1 – flanga…its fun to say lol

  • No true relationship would ever warrant such a obvious display of distrust…. If one is so rich extensive and extreme precautions should be taken when looking for the right person….

  • initially I would say no, but I don’t really know what is at risk. If we did get divorced how much would they would be entitled to. If they would end up getting 50 million they yes, probably.

  • yes, of course.

  • Nope.  I’d be offended if I were asked to sign one, and wouldn’t do that to anyone. 

  • I really cannot answer that question truthfully unless I was in that situation.  But I don’t know if I’d sign one.  I think I’d be insulted.

    RYC:  I loved Phil Hartman.  He was so funny.  That sketch he did of Bill Clinton at McDonald’s is my favorite on that DVD.  I also loved the one he did with the debate between Clinton, Perot, and Bush where Dana Carvey played both Bush and Perot.  I was sad when he died also.

  • One of the corner stones of a good marriage is trust. If you can’t trust ‘em …don’t marry ‘em. Nuff said.

  • Yep, if you feel that there is a possibility of unfaithfulness or harbor distrust of any kind then you really have no business marrying the person. People who marry based solely on a beautiful body or great sex really deserve to lose everything in a divorce. A Pre-nup however just makes marriage a bigger joke than it already is. It’s funny..I feel that people defile the sanctity of marriage, but I don’t even believe in the religious god ordained aspect of it.

  • I’m so happy that I’m worth 100 million.. that I dont’ think I’ll get married just yet…

  • No way….marriage is forever.  Why would I pay a lawyer for something I don’t need?

    ~G~

  • hm.  i guess the question is are you more worried about losing your money or losing your spouse.  invest accordingly.

  • yeeeeeeea

  • You need a prenup even more if you aren’t rich–because either way she’s taking half.  if you make a million dollars and she gets half, you aren’t starving.  But if you make 30,000, you might have to kill her.

  • Well, a few weeks ago I’d of said NO…but now that I see what’s going on w/ Jessica & Nick, I’m changing my mind.

  • Marriage, for me, won’t come quickly. Given this, I will — that’s not a “hopefully,” but an “absolutely will” — know who they are, who I see them to be, what they think of me, the reason for their love, etc. etc. I won’t sit down and question the person; I’ll simply know. If I don’t, then I don’t forsee myself marrying someone. I’d rather not be met with the hassle of divorce, so there will be no second thoughts when I decide to “tie the knot.”

    So no, if I had $100,000,000.00 to my name, and wanted to marry someone who was, for instance, flat broke, I wouldn’t worry about a pre-nuptual agreement. I don’t see myself as someone who would be easily fooled, in that regard, nor quick to jump the gun. I’ll marry for love, and love only, myself; if someone happens to marry and divorce me, and run away with a good portion of my monetary worth, then so be it. Material wealth is far too over-rated in this world of ours in the first place; I don’t plan to stash 100 million USD away, even if I somehow come upon it.

    Stephen

  • hell no.

  • i think for me that gamble is probably worth it. 50 million dollars (assuming my ex-husband is going for half) or trust and a lasting relationship. no prenuptial agreements for me, thanks.

    put yourself in the poorer person’s shoes, though. would your feelings be hurt if your future spouse asked you to promise not to take his/her money? Mine probably would!

    Chandra

  • that’s evil and greedy.

    but you never know how worth stuff can switch.

  • No.  If I didn’t trust her enough to entrust my life and my fortune away into her hands I wouldn’t marry her.

  • Only if we were both really wealthy. Being an average person with an average income there is no need.

  • If it were a second marriage for me, and there were children involved from my previous marriage, yes.  I wouldn’t want my children to lose out on an inheritance should something happen to me.

  • Yeah, unless she was rich and I was poor.

  • no i wouldnt, because even if they got 99% of my money, i would still have plenty to last for a while

  • Of course! U never know what is going to happen, especially these days. Any husband of mine would understand that.

  • Well….no.

    Marriage is the combination of two bodies, in essense, right?

  • Definitely yes…then we would both know it was not for the money :~D

  • Hey Dan!  Another tricky one….which is one of the reasons that I enjoy reading you so much—you make us THINK— (and by golly you DID give a teeny hint to your own thoughts/views on this one, even!!!!  WOOT!  I like when you share yourself)……  The answer for me would be NO prenuptial agreement!  If I were worth 100 million dollars and were getting married it would be all about LOVE….pure and simple love and passion.  There would be no need for (in my eyes) a prenuptial agreement because I would never settle; it’d never happen unless I was SURE, and at a place where this (the marriage) was  without a doubt what I wanted. 

  • No, people sign prenups just out of selfishness to make sure that they keep all of their money if things don’t work out.

  • If my family has a part in my fortune, my worth, then yes. But if they dont, then I would probably not get a prenup. However, I would never marry a man poorer than me. I believe husbands take care of wives financially while women take care of husbands emotionally.

    If I won the lotto than thats a different story. I wouldnt get a prenup then.  We are in this TOGETHER. What is mine is his, what is his is mine.

  • Yes. I just don’t trust people, since many simply can’t be trusted. I think I’ll get a pre-nup no matter what. Unless we’re both dirt poor or something. :P

  • No

  • I would hope I wouldn’t have to..

    [ariana]

  • yes.

    however, in reality i wouldn’t want to sign one because i don’t want to get divorced and be a statistic. but since that’s not totally under my control, i plan on having a job that’s good enough to support myself

  • One person wrote that the person is being selfish to ask for a pre-nup…is it so wrong to want to keep what’s ours?

  • Yep.  Prenups are a good idea for lots of reasons.

  • I will say ditto’s to Jrod.

    very good.. very good…

    oh and I get to take out a 2 million dollar insurance policy on her, but I would only have a 6,000 policy for myself! hahahaha!

  • I would be hesitant that the person was out for my money. In that case I probably would.

  • yes

  • oh.. and I know of a GODly man, who married a (seemingly) Godly woman, but then she turned into the anti christ, and cheated,  got preg., but another man, ran up credit cards… and all sorts of other wildness… could he have foreseen that? what if one’s spouse becomes demon possesed, like said spouse above? wouldnt a prenup be handy then?

  • WE WANT PRE-NUP, WE WANT PRE-NUP!!!

    Sorry, someone had to do it.

  • no.
    even if I had that much money, marriage is permanant. If they would want the money, they would have to kill me, and then I wouldn’t need money anymore!
    if they had an affair and divorce then was filed, they wouldn’t get the money

  • If I was worth 100 million, I’d have a boy toy, not a husband. ; )

  • Fine, you are added. You just wanted another comment, you punk!

  • The perfect prenup would read something like this:

    “We, the undersigned parties to the anticiapted marriage, do hereby agree that once we are married, there will be no divorce. None. Nada. Ever.”

  • I disagree in the assessment that prenups are for the rich.  After all, if I had $100 million, I could afford to let some of that go.  Division of assets would be more devastating if I had to work hard to save what little I could.

    That aside, everyone is dwelling on the idea of divorce, and that’s cetainly the most common application of the prenup.  But there are other situations to consider that might make a prenuptial agreement less of a selfish issue.

    Let’s reverse things; say my wife is the wealthier party (not rich, but she’s the primary source of income).  Fast forward to when we’re in our sixties, seventies.  I become diagnosed with Alzheimer’s and need to go into a nursing home.  Nursing homes are expensive.  I wouldn’t want my wife to lose everything she’s worked for in order to pay to keep me in a home, especially when mentally I’m already gone.  Admittedly, I don’t know much about law.  But if it turns out a prenup could help save some of her assets from being liquidated by my illness, then I’d be for it.

    I’m just saying, the nuances of the legal system are tricky.  There might be more to consider than meets the eye.

  • I don’t like prenup agreements.  If you want the other to sign one you probably shouldn’t get married.  I am for premarriage counseling.

  • Prenups are contrary to the idea of marriage; I agree with the one-flesh theory, Notthing should be held back.

    Of course, it would make one more caeful of foolish engagements.

  • No. Marriage is forever. Entering into a prenuptial agreement violates the covenant that a marriage should be.

  • What is a prenuptial agreement?

  • If I had a $100 million then I think I could bear with parting with half of it if things went south.  BUT if there’s that huge a disparity between our incomes, I’d have to make sure that he wants to be with me for ME and not for my money…

  • That post reminds me of Intolerable Cruelty

    Ahh, what a great movie.

    Anyways, I don’t really know if I would have a spouse sign a prenuptual. I guess it just depends on whatever is going on.

    I like you site.

  • “Ivana betta Deel” – Ivan Trump   If you are worth a 100 million dollars I think something needs to be written up.

  • >I’m inclined to old school it . Pre ~nup takes the trust out .

    Peace

  • If I had $100,000,000. (Gosh but I like the look of that!) I wouldn’t be dating a POOR person.

    Truthfully now…No I wouldn’t because I would hope that I wouldn’t rush into marriage without knowing the person enough to know it would be unlikely that we would be divorcing.

  • I get married for forever. I also think that if you get married with a prenup, it is because you fundamentally do NOT fully trust the other person. If you did, why would you need the prenup? And a marriage that is not founded on trust is not going to last.

    So I think that signing a prenup would amount to admitting that I don’t expect my marriage to last.

    I also think that if I were ASKED to sign a prenup, I would be so offended, I would call the whole thing off entirely. That is just too offensive. Just being asked to sign would make me lose trust in the other person. “What do you think I am? If you think I just want your money, do we even HAVE anything in common?”

    Distrust and total commitment are mutually exclusive in my book.

  • nah.

    I’d have to trust my boyfriend immensely (that means with all my money) to marry him in the first place.

  • yes i would..even if i loved them i would have to protect that 100 mill that belonged to me haha

  • Hells Yes. It is the smart thing to do.

  • Nope.  I wouldn’t marry someone if I didn’t fully trust them.  Nor would I marry somone who showed signs of distrusting me.  Could she take me for all I’m worth?  Maybe.  But the destruction of the marriage would be more crushing than any material loss.

  • no. if you can’t even believe that you’ll be together ’til death, don’t get married…

  • Yes. Insane amounts of money make people go insane. Even if the case were: I’m worth 100 mil and she is worht 5 mil. I’d still pre-nup. If I’m worth $500K then nah. Large amounts of money make people act weird.

  • I’m super romantic, and therefore yes, I would… and you think why??  Well, it’s because I tend to fall in love with the wrong people, I fall in love with men with potential… so darn romantic. 

  • Well, I wouldn’t marry anyone I didn’t trust with things like that.

  • Yes, to ensure that he wouldn’t use me for my money. Too many people are dishonest and greedy, and I’d be willing to share, but I’ll be damned if one more person will use me for money.

  • Never.  If I’m not marring the woman on the idea of it being a lifetime commitment then I don’t want to marry the woman at all.  Dating is the forerunner to marriage and so I date someone I am interested in for marriage, not just a “good time.” 

  • I think it really depends on how much I really loved or trusted him, then again, I wouldn’t marry anyone unless I really trusted or loved them, so no, I wouldn’t.

  • depends on what i thought of the person if i had known them long enough and heard good things about them then probobly not but if the contrary then almost certainly

  • Possibly/Probably – My mothers close childhood friends husband basically went through all of her money.  After she found out she had breast cancer, one child had just graduated and the other child was a junior – He left her for another woman.  It was really sad because they were such a neat couple.  I still go visit her at least once a year.  She is someone else I have great admiration and respect for.

    If someone asked me to sign one I wouldn’t mind – to me it is separate prop. anyway. 

  • It would be tough to not do it, but I don’t think I could sit, look my future spouse in the eye, and say “Just in case this marriage doesn’t work, you need to sign this.” I mean, you’re getting married under the assumption that it is “‘Til death parts us.” It would be wise to protect yourself, but it would make the marriage seem fake, in a way.

  • No, we didn’t sign anything! That’s half the problem with divorce, you’re already prepared for it before it happens. No wonder divorce is so rampant!

  • hmm.. didn’t see this post yesterday.. so im giving my comments now.. lol
    even if im worth more than that, i won’t be requesting my husband to be to sign a prenuptial agreement.. if im going to marry him, he needs my full trust.. so im giving it to him..

  • Duh.

    Sure true love is forever and all that… but 50% of marriages end in divorce nowadays.

    I’m not a naive little girl who still believes in fairy tales, unfortunately.

  • I couldn’t sign a prenup. If I was ever to get married (assuming my kind of marriage ever became legal), I’d be committed, body, spirit, and mind to the person and I’d be one-hundred percent positive that they were equally committed to me.

  • Interesting question.  I would generally frown on a prenuptual agreement for first marriages or for marriages between younger folks where there are no children involved. As you and many of your commenters have said, it lays a foundation of mistrust in the marriage, and allows for the wealthy spouse to have a built in “escape hatch.”  But prenuptual agreements are handy for older folks who are financially secure, with older children, who want to preserve the estate they have accumulated over thier lifetime for thier own children.  As an attorney, I have drafted these types of agreements.  For example, the last time I drafted a prenuptual agreement was when a 70ish gentlemen who had been widowed the year before married another 70ish woman who had been widowed for about 10 years.  They were both financially secure, and each had 2 or three grown children.  The point of the pre-nup was not to protect the husband or wife, but to ensure that the assets they brought into the marriage would go to the children of the person who brought those assets in, and that assets accumulated after the marriage would be split between the two families 50/50.  Its designed to prevent the kids from fighting over the estate.  (It prevents a surviving spouse from changing the will and leaving all to their own kids, freezing out the kids of the spouse who died first). 

  • Hi there. I have a question for you. Would you consider yourself to be a good person? Most people would right?
    Have you ever lied? What does it make you when you lie? A liar right?
    Have you ever stolen anything, even something small? What does that make you? A thief right?
    Have you ever murdered anyone? Jesus said that if you hate someone you have already committed murder in your heart. That’s pretty serious huh?
    Have you ever used God’s name in vain? You know like saying God D**n or Jesus Christ in frustration or anger. The Bible calls that Blaspheme and God said He will not hold someone guiltless who takes the Lord’s name in vain. Pretty serious huh?
    If you died tonight (you have no control over your next breath or heartbeat) and God judged you based on His standard of good, would you be innocent or guilty?
    If you are judged guilty of breaking God’s law, would you go to Heaven or Hell?
    You may be one those people who at this point says “well God knows my heart and He will forgive me because I am basically a good person” or “God is forgiving right and if I admit I did wrong and say im sorry He will just forgive me right?”.
    Please think of how a courtroom works. Let’s say you committed several serious crimes and have a $1,000,000 fine or you will go to jail for the rest of your life. Now let’s say you have confessed to the crimes as you did a moment ago to the lying, stealing, hating and blaspheme. You say to the judge “I am really sorry and I won’t do it again and I know you’re a good judge so I expect you to just let me go and not punish me for the crimes”. What do you think a good and just judge would say to you? He would say “your right you did wrong, you should have known better, and you’re right I am a good judge so I will make sure that justice is done and find you guilty”. It won’t matter in that courtroom how good you think you are or how many good things you have done. You will be found guilty as charged. Likewise you would be found by a Holy God to be guilty and spend eternity in Hell.
    You also may be that person that says “well God knows my heart and the judge doesn’t so God will be more merciful”. Actually the fact that God knows your thoughts and intentions works against you, not for you. He knows all the selfish, hateful, lustful, arrogant, evil thoughts of your mind and takes all of them into account when finding you guilty. Imagine if I could implant a chip in your head that could record all your thoughts, words, and actions the last month and show them to your parents or friends. You would be very embarrassed and not be able to claim that you are “good” at heart. The Bible says”
    Rom 2:5-6 But because of your hard and stubborn heart you are storing up wrath for yourself on the day of wrath when God’s righteous judgment will be revealed.  He will render to each one according to his works  Rom 1:18 For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who by their unrighteousness suppress the truth.
    God in His goodness is just and Holy and must punish for sin.
     
     
    God gave you a conscience to know right from wrong. The word “con” means with and “science” means knowledge. When you lie you know you are doing wrong, no one has to tell you. When you steal you know you are doing wrong, no one has to convince you of that.
    Think about the fact that you never have to teach a child to lie, steal, cheat, be selfish or hurt others. Its natural, more specifically called a “sin nature”.
    Do you know what the Bible says God did so that you would not have to go to Hell? He gave His only son to die on the cross so that He could give you life. He paid your debt so that you wouldn’t have to go to Hell. If there was anyway we could get to Heaven and be in God’s presence based on our own goodness then Jesus dies for no reason. If He died for no reason that would be a mean God wouldn’t it. Jesus said “Luke 13:3  unless you repent, you will all likewise perish”.
    The key is to REPENT which means to turn from your sin and trust in Jesus Christ as Lord and savior. He died on the cross and bared the weight of all the sins of the world so that we could pass from death unto life. It is not enough to just tell God you’re sorry and say you believe in Him. You must turn from your sin and place your faith in Him your creator. God in His mercy does not wish that any perish and go to Hell but that all would come to repentance and trust in Him. You have a choice. God doesn’t make anyone go to Heaven and He doesn’t make anyone go to Hell. It is free will.

  • Yes, because people are evil. It doesn’t matter how much you love them.

  • Yes I would! You just never know if it will last or the motives a person has.

  • i want to say no. but it almost seems foolish. of course you are going to trust your spouse before you marry them. but at the same time, you never know what’s going to happen down the line… i mean… who ever exoects that their spouse will cheat on them/leave them/abuse them etc… nobody expects these things or wants them to happen, yet they still do. and also, i’m not 100% sure, but i don’t think divorces work the same in Canada as they do in the US… i haven’t heard of any huge alimony payments being done in canada…

  • Yes, I probably would. I’m not sure its the “christian” thing to do, but if my money were her real motivation it would draw out her true colors, so to speak.

  • NO I WOULD NOT, BUT I WOULD SIGN ONE IF HE ASKED ME TO. NOT A BIG DEAL REALLY.

  • no. whatever happened to “till death do us part?”

  • Aesahaettr111, wonkeydonkey in his 2nd comment (or whatever his screenname was), and soxfan59 seemed to cover the complexities that come to my mind when thinking of a prenup. 

    It’s not that you don’t love or trust the person when you marry them (why else would you commit yourself to them if it were otherwise?…oh wait, there’s convenience, vanity, greed…for this argument’s case though, let’s assume it is for love, trust and companionship), but never forget that the human brain runs on chemicals that break down and can go awry over time.  NOONE can predict what a person is going to be like 5, 10, 20, 40, 50 years down the road, or how their heart or thoughts toward marriage may change.  The prenup isn’t protecting you and your family from the person you’re marrying, but from the person they (or you) might turn into.  If I had to do a prenup, it would be set up in a way to protect me AND the person I was marrying.   Someone mentioned it would allow for an “escape clause”, but I’d rather have that than worry that someone I currently love or that I, in ten-20 years may have to fight for their possessions and quality of life just because one of the two had a change of heart or became mentally ill.

  • No- but I’m not like the hollywood stars who change spouces like I do my undergarments.

    ((( GRANDMA HUGS )))

    Lori

  • A big fat…YES.

  • Not at all!!! What’s the point of getting married if you don’t trust the person you’re marrying? That’s just like saying the marriage is gonna fail before it has even began.

  • No because if I am marrying someone, I will know what they are all about, therefore, there would be no reason to have them sign a prenup.

  • No! Hopefully I’d only be marrying someone who was actually in love with me, and not with my money, and unless I get abused I wouldn’t even think about getting divorced.

  • Yes i would- if something was to happen no matter how much i trusted or loved my spouse things happen, people change, sometimes you have to breakup. So if i had money i would ask just because i have worked very hard to earn that money. I wouldnt mind giving up 50% of my property to the person i once loved. but i would find it hard to live after going through a divorce and also losing all my things.

  • I prefer to not think about having that kind of money as a burden

  • Yes i would- if something was to happen no matter how much i trusted or loved my spouse things happen, people change, sometimes you have to breakup. So if i had money i would ask just because i have worked very hard to earn that money. I wouldnt mind giving up 50% of my property to the person i once loved. but i would find it hard to live after going through a divorce and also losing all my things.

  • If everybody married for love, there would be no need for pre-nups. People have very complex motivations. For me, it would depend on my feel for my situation. If I thought my spouse was marrying partly for money, then yes.

  • yeah ! i would make ‘em sign!! gold digger… and it wud take an awful lot of convincing to convince me otherwise.

    but anyway – i dont think i’d marry someone who was penniless if i was a multi millionaire. i think that smacks of stupidity and if i was a multi millionaire you think i’d have more sense? *unless i happened to be an entertainer of course… they’re all thick and rich.

  • if i trusted them completely. which i would, if i was marrying them!

  • No because I wouldnt marry someone unless I felt absolutely sure that we would never be in that situation.

  • I don’t think I would

    I think that a lot of divorces happen becuase people don’t really know each other that well before they get married, I don’t really think a ‘year or two’ is enough time to know someone before making such a large comitment.

    So in short I would like to think I owuld know someone long enough to trust that we would be together for a veeery long time

  • Probably. I mean, if they love me, and not my money, shouldn’t matter anyway.

  • I dont think I would.

    I think prenups really say “I know we are not going to stay married.”

  • HELL YES I would make them sign a pre-nup.  Actually, my family’s estate has been parlayed into a corporation with only immediate family members as shareholders so no one’s spouse would be able to touch it anyway.

    I know it’s not romantic but there are too many gold diggers in the world. 

  • i dunno it depends on y we got divorced or how he treated me during tha marriage. i think i would tho. he….he =]

  • ooopz ooopz i didnt understand tha question right. i think i would but it depends.

  • well if when your sure you love someone then your sure then no there would be no point but i dont think people are sure if they were then why would they need to wait till marrige to have sex why not just say im sure we will always be together so whats the difference….

  • LOL OF COURSE!!!

  • I’d probably have a prenup whether I were which or not.
    Autumn

  • Sure, for the sake of making decisions easier.  I wouldn’t want to think through this while in a divorce-inducing conflict…just crazy.

  • Yes  I would .. even if I am not rich I would!

  • wtf does Prenuptial Agreements mean?!?!?!!?

  • I wouldn’t marry at all if I had 100 million… haha

  • $100M, shoot, for that kind of money…I wouldn’t even marry, I could buy my relationships!

  • The sell them on ebay for more!  That’s called turning $100M into more.  I guess I’m just a hustler with relationships.  Love is my drug.  Go figure.

  • NO CAUS THATS WUT EVERY1 ELSE WAS SAYING…

    RANDOM PROPS- HIT ME BACK!!

  • Well I wouldn’t get married in the first place. Just ditto what gargoylejoker said.

    If your relationship is strong, the partner wouldn’t care about a prenup. If the discussion of a prenup causes problems, then you need to take another look at the relationship. Especially with all the golddiggers in the world.

    To me, it’s not a matter of trust. It’s a matter of keeping what you rightfully earned if the marriage goes sour.

  • Signed in blood.

    -Kidding.

    -Scott

  • Let’s see. She get’s half and runs. That leaves me with 50 million. Ok. Sign me up.

  • Only if God told me too… The answer is No

  • Since it’s hypothetical…if I was marrying for love I wouldn’t, if it was for convenience I would.

  • A prenup is leraving room for divorce.  God HATES Divorce, and there is only one reason Christ gives for it.  And if one can prove that in a court of law, ge would’nt need a prenup!

  • I wouldn’t think there would be anything inherantly wrong with them, but if you’re going to do something like this, are you really committed this marriage for life, through anything? Preparing for an easy out, while saying “I don’t think we’ll need this but….” kind of worries me. I would have had some serious issues if my husband had wanted a pre nup.

  • Even if one of us was rich!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *