May 30, 2006

  • Music

    The music I hate most on this Earth is country music.  My mom used to listen to the country music station when I was growing up.  I thought one day they would have music in hell playing in the background.  The Bible says that there will be “weeping and gnashing of teeth” in hell.  I figured only country music could cause that kind of reaction.  People will tell you it is different today.  I still hate it.

     

    What type of music makes you want to gouge your eyes out?

     

Comments (327)

  • really bad wanna-be- punk music.

  • and candy-ass pop music.

  • Country definatly

  • instrumental jazz, vocal jazz i like, instrumental jazz makes me crazy

  • Rap. Any kind of rap.
    Anything else I can handle.
    ~Akania

  • You hate country music?? Are you sure you left Texas voluntarily? Sure they didn’t kick you out?

  • OMG I forgot about Opera, can’t stand Hip Hop (I’m 48) or Classical.   I’m a southern/classic rock kinda girl.

  • “gangsta” rap

  • emo music. anything really pecimistic

  • how about emo with the boys just crying about their girlfriend leaving them!!

  • Check your email – I sent you a really interesting article.

  • Country!!! and yes…I am from Texas.

  • Christian music. I’d rather listen to emo crap. Oooh, is there Christian Emo? Cause that would be the worst.

  • Hardcore country, heavy metal, and some rap.

  • RAP! Country music – I used to hate it, but I’ve changed my mind. I really like it now.

    RYC: I had a great one. How about you? How was your Memorial Day?

  • CHRISTIAN ROCK, THAT AMERICAN IDOL POP CULTURE BULLSHIT, EMO MUSIC MAKES ME WANT TO GOUGE EMO’S EYES OUT, AND THAT STUPID HIP HOP RAP.

  • no type of music, except some yodelling

  • I can put up with some country. And I do like Johnny Cash.

    Mainstream rap, I don’t like…but some more ‘indie’ rap I do like (i.e. MC Lars, Gym Class Heroes)

    Pop music is just kind of there, I don’t really have an attitude for it.

    Those are the worst 3 I suppose. So I guess my answer would be that I don’t really hate any type of music, because there’s so many artists within that type to decide. Basically, genres are stupid. What’s wrong with just liking music because you like it?

  • gangsta rap. oh brother. singing tuff guys=morons.

  • Country!!!

    Ughhh.. I hate it.

  • Bleh. That didn’t really come out right.

  • Right with you Dan, country music as a whole makes me want to drill holes through my eye sockets through the back of my head.  I will say there is maybe a handful of songs that I will listen to, but other than that, kill me now and get it over with.

  • Some country is good.

  • hiphop and bubblegum pop music

  • Jazz is the only one that consistently makes me have that reaction.  I like a little of almost everything except jazz.  There is jazz in Hell, I just know it.

    RYC:  It’s just freaky that an 8 year old has to have angioplasty, but how amazing they can fix stuff that way.  Like you said, a deformed valve would’ve been a death sentence not too long ago, but now they can fix it with one quick operation.  Crazy. 

  • Country

  • I don’t like most rap.  Especially the whisper song.  And some country umakes me want to throw myself into oncoming traffic.

  • Awwww… Dan I’m sad to hear that you don’t like country music.  I do really love it.  But I cannot stand is mumbling rap songs.  So annoying.

  • “Jazz is the only one that consistently makes me have that reaction.  I like a little of almost everything except jazz.  There is jazz in Hell, I just know it.”

    SamsMom1004

    LETS HOPE DMV IS STILL OUT COLD IN AN ALLEY SOMEWHERE AND MISSES THIS COMMENT.  FOR ALL OUR SAKE

  • I don’t hate a lot of music, I’m not going to comment on someone else’s taste nor make fun of them. Which is why I’m letting your comment about country music slide.

    I don’t like bands like Fall Out Boy or Green Day, etc. They sound so fake and fit the defination of “emo” as it applies to today’s culture. So, no “emo” music. Not a huge fan of opera either.

  • RYC: My step daughter got a real bad burn at the pool yesterday, too, even though she used SPF 30 waterproof sunscreen (which she applied every hour!). Her eyes are almost swollen shut. We may be taking a trip to the local Urgent Care. Looks like sun poisoning or something.

  • i’m totally with you! country music stinks (for the most part). but i also don’t like cheesy christian music. or stupid rap crap about how i shot my brudder in the hood.

  • Top 40 pop.  American Idol stuff.  Most anything that is mindless and trite. 

  • Country, anything overly religious, some rap, and most of this…”emo”…whatsis. Fall Out Boy playing live makes me want to shove broken chopsticks into my ears and up my nose.

    Don’t get me wrong though, there are certain artists in each category that have their merit. I can find something good about almost any song…But sometimes it’s so much easier to save my ears the pain.

  • for the most part, Country music and I are mortal enemies.  Rap is just bad since there is such little variation in the subject matter of the lyrics.  it’s all about bein’ a pimp and beatin’ your ho.  yeah. that’s good music.

    Christian rock just annoys me because once again, there is no lyrical diversity.  “I love god and jesus” that’s it.  plus, to me it always came off as trying to make some money off the religious beliefs of people.  that’s just not right.

    Hardcore christain rock is just an oxymoron. it’s like *insert heavy beat* I LOVE JESUS! *screaming* and I’m just…no.  no. it doesn’t work.  it’s like trying to put two opposing elements together. you can force it, but it just doesn’t work at all.

    along with the screaming thing, I also hate hardcore death metal and the like. the kind of music where it’s just a guy screaming into a microphone for ten minutes.

    I don’t know exactly what you would classify “System of a Down” as, but I can’t stand them because it’s too repetitive.

    repetition can kill a song unless it’s done well.  Techno for instance. techno is bad. techno knows it’s bad. that’s why it’s good. it’s repetive but it’s repetitive in a good way.

    I think that pretty much sums up my musical bias

  • as one other person said, “gangsta rap” or whatever. I don’t really even consider rap as music. It’s talking in rythym. Besides, it’s more noise than music anyway, some i can tolerate, but, when it’s like “I went and got drunk and sold drugs and slapped my bitches at this party and shot this guy and blahblahblahblahblah” wtf?

  • i hate country!!!

  • Oh, and I love (!!!) jazz. And good rock, like U2. Some country is alright (like,hmm, having a hard time with that, um Lynard Skynard’s Sweet Home Alabama?).

  • rap, usually.  I just don’t hear musicality shine through the “lyrics” (when they can be understood…) and the chords/melodies are simple/nonexistent.  The only thing it has going is a decent beat. 

  • I’d have to go with most country.

    There is some that I can tolerate… and even like.. but most.. yeah… makes me want to rip off my ears.

  • Nothing really makes me want to gouge my eyes out…but Im not a big fan of country either. Im not too picky though, I can bear through it if need be.

  • R&B/Hip-hop/gangsta rap

  • WHAT THE FUCK DID SOME IGNORANT SCUMCUNT SAY ABOUT JAZZ

    Right right.

    Let’s just hope when you’re getting raped to death with Bright Eyes CD, Django looks down from heaven and laughs at your shitty-music-death-related sodomy.

    Anyways, let me lay it down for you all;

    YOUR TASTE IN MUSIC IS FOR SHIT. YOU ARE TRAINED BY MTV. YOU WOULD LISTEN TO A DOG GET RAPED OVER A GUITAR IF TRL SAID SO.

    You programmed fucks.

    Go listen to some decent metal, jazz, a bit of classical, go out and find something, don’t fucking listen to other people! Other people have shitty fucking taste!

    Except me. I’m the Jukebox Buddha and I’ll meditate on the fucking melody if I want to.

    That is all.

  • If Kenny G, Michael Bolton, and Yanni got together — THAT would be the worst.

  • i agree with u!! and sometimes classical cuz it puts me to sleep.

  • Also, country is inbred buttfucked hillbilly shitkicker music that should only be played at a funeral where the parents are brother and sister and grandma and grandpa are cousins.

    The only exception is Johnny Cash.

  • ok. . . i think that any genre of music done poorly (excluding rap and hip hop. . .they are always bad)makes me want to gouge my eyes out.

  • ^ WELL I WARNED  YOU NOT TO MESS WITH JAZZ. AND YEAH JOHNNY CASH IS THE MAN.

  • Classical, pop music, and most rap make me want to gouge my eyes out with a spoon.  I’m punk/alternative/folk/country…weird combination, I know…

  • that suicidal loser punk emo crap

  • Rap or heavy metal

  • Modern country (Big and Rich, Rascal Flatts, Gretchen Wilson, etc.)is absolutely my least favorite… But I like classic Southern Rock, and old school Johnny Cash and Pasty Cline. Go figure.

  • Punk…some rap and hiphop….the annoying beats…some System of a Down stuff….
    Punk again…Mainstream pop.

  • Some country music and BLUEGRASS…

    I can’t stand that stuff.

    ~Caroline~

  • All secular music. I hate it.

  • some country music, and some rap music….and Kathleen from AI!! LOL

  • You know what I really hate though?
    Those CD’s with a group of children remaking songs, that are already annoying, like an Ashlee Simpson hit

  • I’m pretty open to all music but I hate hate hate listening to the traditional country music, for sure. Also, religious music and opera.

    I think these days, anything with a catchy tune can become a hit. It doesn’t matter if the lyrics are the stupidest things you’ve ever heard or don’t even make sense. As long as it’s got a good beat, people don’t care.

  • I don’t like a lot of rap or Opera

  • Rap, HipHop, anything on Sunny 99.1

    I only like Ciara when it comes to HipHope/Rap/R&B

  • Umm…

    REALLY bad metalcore..

    I like Metalcore.. but if it’s bad.. it is REALLY bad…

    And (c)rap

    And Country

  • I don’t know why everyone hates Opera so much. I love it!

  • Country. Sometimes hip hop depending on the day and who is singing.

  • Hard metal and punk is pretty darn bad. (Dude, country music is awesome! xD And opera is great also.)

    By the way, I loved the “weeping and gnashing of teeth” reference…I nearly fell out of my seat!

  • country, pop (like britney spears, nsync), some rap, and really bad emo.

  • I’m not a country fan either.  I don’t allow it played in my car. :)

  • AMEN TO THAT!! I hate country. Now, the older country is ok. I like Johnny Cash. But anyway I hate rap. Actually, I wouldn’t even think rap as a type of music. It’s a type of genre. Rap is a nasty poetry scene that gets the attention of youngsters. It sure doesn’t get my attention!

  • You guys are just limited by labels.  You hear a couple country songs and assume you hate it.  But not all country music is the same.  Same goes for every genre.  You’ve been blinded (deafened?) by the music industry’s labelling.  It’d be more accurate to say which artists’ music makes you cringe as opposed to genre.  Personally, I agree with this one:

    If Kenny G, Michael Bolton, and Yanni got together — THAT would be the worst.

    Posted 5/30/2006 at 12:21 PM by YourOuterCritic

  • most country and rap sometimes.

  • man, i dunno, but i got so used to country music. maybe you’re talking about bluegrass…? i hated that stuff. :p

    anyway, gwen stefani and 50 cent sure make me want to stab myself… with a screwdriver.

  • Rap,Pop,Christan Rock, Country and yea

  • metal…. gag me….. .i don’t mind hard rock, but metal is just a bunch of guys yelling to the point that you can’t understand them

  • pretty much only country and some new pop stuff makes me want to puke,
    and sometimes Opra is a bit much.
    otherwise i listen to it all.

    [j]

  • Um…i don’t really know what type of music i hate…hahahah^^ Have a nice day Dan…

  • You know what I really hate though?
    Those CD’s with a group of children remaking songs, that are already annoying, like an Ashlee Simpson hit

    Posted 5/30/2006 at 12:38 PM by steph843
     
    I cracked up laughing with this one. Man, I hate those crappy commercials of fake punk’d kids. That’s a heck of a lot worse than country music!

  • really bad rap

  • bad bagpipes or violin. And I have experienced gnashing of teeth while riding bike.

  • sappy assed poppy shit lyric religious music, anything pop. horrible horrible stuff. torch songs. prety much everything i hear on the radio. or used to hear. back when i listened to the radio.

    some country music is good. johnny cash, linda rondstadt, dolly parton, june carter, arlo guthrie. good stuff man.
    it’s the CMT shit that sucks ass, but then, i guess that would be right up there with pop music.

  • all market-driven pop-culture music, anything mass-marketed and consumable/disposable, anything gunning to be a hit in any market, almost anything that requires electricity

    pop-culture music in all its forms (as opposed to the music of high culture, folk culture, and high/folk combinations like 50s jazz)

  • techno. and more recently, jazz (as in norah jones). I know it’s popular to hate country and techno, and classy to like jazz, but country has value (as I learned from ryan adams, the artist) and jazz is pretentious and annoying.

  • regae and spanish

  • worst of all: market-driven pop-culture music that is vaguely about God but might equally be about the female singer’s boy toy which ends up in a church service coughed and bellowed by a musically illiterate congregation gazing up at a video screen.

  • i’m with you, mr. theologian.

  • Hate – very strong word.  Wonder if that’s what you really meant to say.  At any rate, the music that I most despise is emo.

    Peace,

    Chaz

  • Opera, country and head-bangin’ metal…yuck!

  • Listen to Toby Keith’s “Get Drunk and Be Somebody”.

  • ryc:  I know–pictures aren’t your forte–I figured it out, I think.

  • Christian Rock.  Fuckin’ Christian Rock.   The lyrics are always so unoriginal. 

    Check it out, I’m gonna make my own Christian Rock Ballad:

    “Jesus, oh I love my Jesus,

    He’s bright and shiny and he lives in heaven…

    Jesus.

    Oh God, I think I’ve sinned,

    Deliver me from those things,

    God.

    My saviour saved me from the stuff,

    and will save me right into salvation,

    where I’ll be saved for eternitum.

    Chorus [The chorus isn't really important.  Just take the words "Jesus, Christ, God, Saviour, Salvation, etc. and scramble them together in different variations.  Add a trio of harmonizing female singers to chant "Aaaahhh.... Oooohhh... Eeehhh.." to give it that shitty "Enya" feel.

    Faithful father flowing faithfulness and

    forgiveness forever-r-r-r-r.....

    Heaven! I can't wait to live there!

    Chorus, again.

    Bridge [The bridge is equally unimportant.  Just throw in some bargain-bin guitar licks to trick people who've just tuned that station into thinking that "Hey, this might be rock!"  Well, it isn't.]

    [And then finish off the song with an unorganized flourish of poor drum beats, uninspired guitar riffs, and some cheesy synth effects, to remind people that those 3-5 minutes of their lives are never coming back]

    ….Oh, I don’t really like polka either.  No particular reason, though.

  • must’ve been really twangy country because country isn’t that bad

    i like all music….except really heavy metal, like death music

  • Rap, anything emo, or glass-shattering opera

  • rap. I dislike rap considerably.

  • Oh Dan – don’t get me started…I can’t stand Bluegrass.

    Candy

  • I agree, that Hathaway quote is a good one.

  • Tejano & rap.  The worst being tejano rap.  Bleh.

  • What have you been listening to Laika_Lost ? Some christain music in bad, and so is some secular. Don’t just sterotype all christain rock based on a few songs

  • Rap and some country and western.

  • i’m totally with you on the country thing. i hate music that’s just a bunch of noise and sreaming too – i don’t think it should be considered actual music. ewww.

  • RYC: No way! I wonder if that’s the case? Now I’m going to have to use myself and my children as guinea pigs to get tot he bottom of it, I guess. I had thought that after you get to a certain SPF (like 30, or something) going higher was moot. We’ll see. You should ask a sunscreen question, Dan. Find out which SPF works best for everyone. Seriously.

  • “CD’s with a group of children remaking songs”

    So TRUE!!!

  • Commercial jingles…

  • practically any music after, say, 1920.

  • I was going to say rap, and then I remembered you said, “music”.  So instead I’ll offer anything poorly written and poorly performed … which is an awful lot of stuff of all genres done in the past couple of decades.

  • I hate country!

    :[

    It’s so disgusting.  I can’t stand the accents.

  • most rap and heavy metal. and the stuff in which there’s no hope of understanding the words.

  • death metal, country says here’s a spoon for your gouging

  • Because I am a true music lover, I can usually find something enjoyable in just about any genre. I pity those narrowminded fools who baselessly dismiss something because it’s a genre they don’t care for.

  • Much of what people include in their definition of music is not music but poetry, or at least words, set to music. If I leave the “music I hate” question behind and allow words into the discussion, I have to say that I hate crypto-poetry. You know what I mean. Song lyrics that are deliberately and pointlessly so vague that both you and probably the performer have no idea what is being said.

    Today it seems that the further away from clear English expressing a clear idea it gets, the more “profound” or “important” or “artistic” a tune’s lyrics are regarded.

  • Country, definitely.  Although I like the occasional Shania Twain or Faith Hill.

    I also hate hip-hop sung by girls.  I don’t know, it really annoys me.

  • There’s always at least one song from every genre that I like.  Rap, country, opera, polka…Maybe it stems from being a band/choir geek almost all of my life.

    HOWEVER, certain songs that strive for dissonance (*cough* Eric Whitacre) give me the creeps.  I’m not sure if that’s to the extent where I want to gouge out my eyes, but I don’t particularly care for it.

  • Oooh, and screamo.  I hate that crap.

  • Rap, closely followed by Country.  Oh, and there’s heavy metal from a few years back. 

  • Heavy metal and hard rock.

  • AND RAP.

  • I HEAR PEOPLE PUTTING DOWN HARD METAL AND PUNK? 

    THAT IS THE MUSIC I GREW UP TO AND THAT RAISED ME TO BE ME.  HMM, SUDDENLY THE SOURCE TO ALL THE PROBLEMS WITH MY CURRENT STATE ARE BECOMING MUCH MORE CLEAR.

  • I have to agree with you! I’m driven to absolute insanity when I’m forced to listen to country music!! Any other kind of music- jazz, orchestral, rock, alternative, pop, r&b, punk, emo, soundtracks, swing, blues, etc. are all great. We just need to eliminate country music. lol

  • Rap and country.  Neither are actually music.  Both are just noise.

  • gotta be country. BLECH, The newer stuff isn’t as bad, but the traditional stuff… blech

  • Heavy metal…that is so heavy all you can hear is screaming…and badly played guitars…ugh…makes me want to drive my car right off the road just to make it stop!

  • rap!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i don’t think it even qualifies as “music”, though.

  • Yuck i hate country music especially country music in spanish called Banda its the worse!!!

  • I hate that people are bashing country just b/c their accents…we cannot help it! Everyone has an accent…no matter where you are from…you just can’t hear it….so hate country music b/c it sucks or for any other reason…just don’t hate it b/c the people singing it have accents…:(

  • I used to hate country, but then I was forced to listen to it for so long that I got over it. It’s not my favorite, but I can tolerate it. I feel really uncultured about this, but I HATE classical music. I can’t stand it.

  • Blue grass music and very Heavy Metal music

  • new age crap and most country Johnny Cash rules though I can listen to most any thing else

  • I can like just about any style if it’s done well. But there are some styles that when they’re not good, they’re really bad. Country music is one, especially when it gets really twangy. Rap is another, especially some of the stuff out today where it’s apparent that I have a better sense of rhythm than the guys who are trying to rap.

  • i would seriously rather stick needles in my eyes than listen to country music!

  • Rap and bad country. I like Johnny Cash and John Denver, but modern country (She Thinks My Tractor’s Sexy) is a joke.

  • And, sadly enough, some modern Christian music. A lot of the artists have NO talent.

  • Stop inbreeding…ban country music

  • Alanis Morrisette, the rest I can handle, but I just cant force myself to listen to her CRAP!

  • Country.
    *shudders*

  • That fake R’nB vocal gymnastic nonsense, and most hip hop. uggghh… I get angry just thinking about it, and it’s all that’s ever on the radio.

  • I forgot to mention piano music written for neighborhood recitals. I’m a music teacher, so I fully support the study of piano by as many kids as possible, but those pedagogical piano works written just for kids’ recitals–Beethoven or Chopin or Debussy would have chopped up their pianos if they’d known what their beloved instruments would one day participate in.

  • Also, pep band music at small-town basketball games when the whole band is a bass drummer, two flutes, and the director on french horn.

  • Alternative Polka.

    Larry

  • The above pep band playing “Ina Goda da Vida”

  • Rap. Some of the older stuff I can (barely) take (like early nineties and eighties) but today’s just sucks.

    Laura

  • country. definitely. and pointless rap.

  • Stupid rap. Not all rap, just the really stupid kind. Ha.

    I never liked country until recently, and my husband has actually got me a little interested. I mean, you can’t help but love good ol’ Garth Brooks!

  • CCM (and for those of you who don’t know what that is, it’s Contemporary Christian Music). That shit is the WORST. I had to listen to it all the time at my high school, when my dorm parents at the time banned any “secular” music unless they listened to it first to see if it was “okay” to listen to.

    CCM is preachy, repetetive, vapid, and boring. Sorry but there are only so many modern songs one can make about religion. I don’t care if it’s country Christian music, wanna-be-punk Christian, wanna-be-metal Christian (like P.O.D.), pop Christian, or anything. It ALL sucks. Find something ELSE to write about, other than the fact that you want to “fall in love with Jesus” (man that creeps me out).

    So some of them are okay. Plumb and Switchfoot are tolerable. Of course, the legalists at Focus on the Family (more like Fucking up the Family) get pissed when a CCM group with a smidgen of talent starts to sing songs about something OTHER than religion. Honestly. If a Christian group has a song about love or relationships or something, Christians get pissed. It’s called trying to “cross over” to us “godless” music-lovers. It’s the Christian version of “selling out”. Dear god.

    Don’t even get me started on the way everyone had a cow when Sixpence None the Richer had a song in the background of a birth control commercial. WTF is wrong with birth control?? It wasn’t a fucking abortion commercial, just one for the Pill. My MISSIONARY MOTHER has been on the Pill. People are idiots.

  • techno and lounge type stuff

    grr…

  • All secular music. I hate it.
    Posted 5/30/2006 at 12:35 PM by sing_Your_GLORY

    I feel genuinely sorry for that person. They probably hate Mozart and Bach along with NIN. Throwing the baby out with the bathwater.

  • COUNTRY!!!god i hate that kid of music!!! ANTI-COUNTRY!!

    !~nicole~!

    I can’t stand country it makes me want to hurl my breakfast !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    kylee

  • Nothing really. It used to be country, rap, hiphop, and pop.

    Now, I like most country, some rap (very little), some hiphop (more than rap, but not much) and like all pop.

  • You sure you’re allowed to hate as a religious man?

    Or perhaps thats discrimation .. or something. Hmmm….. ._.

  • lmao. same here. country. and im anti all groups that sound as disgusting as good charlotte. i can’t believe you could call what they sing MUSIC.

    XOXO,
    cG.

  • anything rap, metal, and that screamo crap

  • I would say rap… but is that even music??

  • I enjoy an eclectic mix of music styles.  Music captures different moods and events that continue to amaze me.  Depending on my disposition I will listen to R&B, Country, Rock, Motown, Indie, Jazz, Rap (I’m just not into violent content tho), Classical, Gospel, and Disco.

    Hmm… so what do I hate?  Bluegrass – I can’t think of any that I’ve enjoyed.  I not really big on bagpipes.  Celtic music – a little goes a longgggggg ways.

    Yeah … that’s probably it.

  • Definately opera. But country music runs a close second.

  • I’m not a big rap fan. I can handle it, but not for long periods of time.

  • Most new country (the old stuff was good song writing with chords and what not), rap!

  • Rap because I don’t even consider that music.

  • Country, and very obscene rap. But I like Christian rap. And also gospel.

  • What they play now isn’t even really country music.  It’s pop-junk something-or-other.

    “Gangsta rap”

  • Did I already mention solo versions of our national anthem at ball games? When I was in high school everybody sang the song together. Now we stand there staring at one of the stars or stripes on the flag while the local head cheerleader or farm co-op manager starts too high, misses the top notes, forgets a word or two, and then does a little wannabe Whitney Houston or Toby Keith thingy at the end . . . slightly out of tune and way emotional.

  • Hm, I’d have to say mainstream rap, if you can call it music. I actually like country music; they have catchy tunes and that one instrument that is quite unique… I love Johnny Cash, among others.

    Although I don’t really dig metal, either. It makes me want to bash my head in. And not in that good, metaholic way.

  • Kind of music? Lo-fi perhaps. But that’s just because generally lo-fi is just a euphamism for “recorded in my basement on a synthesizer …”

    The non-poor-quality type of lo-fi is generally very nice.

    As to country, my only issue with the broad generalization is that I find it difficult to distinguish where country ends and other styles begin. Pure bluegrass … shoot me in the face. But Jenny Owens, Over the Rhine, Rilo Kiley, Nickle Creek, Lauren Miller … while they all have country leanings they also tend to dip into other styles … folk, indie, even electronica.

    However, I do know what you mean about mainstream country.
    Then again, mainstream anything generally leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

    Hope all is well,
    Peace

  • Christian pop stuff. Hymns are beautiful, but I just can’t stand this new watered-down garbage.

  • Off topic. 100% of the people I know who say they hate opera have never listened to a CD of even one of them, let alone attended an opera live at the theater. Reminds me of kids (and adults) who hate all kinds of food they’ve never tasted.

  • Oh, singers that have too many key changes in the National Anthem because they don’t have the range. Leave it to an instrument if you don’t have the range or a singer that knows what s/he is doing. Please!

  • hard metal

    all it is, is screaming.

  • Oh, Country is just….. AAAh! makes me want to scream when I hear it.

  • the techno my mom listens to. ugh.

  • That Christian crap or Rap. It’s just so vulgar. Why would you want to say things like that?

  • country. rap (can’t spell crap without rap)

    heavy metal. nothing but screaming.

    and gross pop music.

  • Question… How come I can’t access your first entries?

  • no type of music causes that strong of a negative reaction in me, though im not fond of rap….

  • Very rarely will you hear me listen to Pop Country…however I do have a Place in my heart for Johnny Cash and Roger Miller.  Cash because of my grandpa, and Miller because he was the rooster in Robin Hood.

  • Anything with the word “Baby” used repeatedly. Or tons of useless swearing (there’s a repetative statement – huh?). All I do is classical and show tunes (including opera.)

  • Country.

  • I’m not really a big fan of country, but I think I like rap even less…

  • punk, some musacles, school choir, country and black gospel

  • Used to hate country music now I like it.

    I don’t hate any type of music but I don’t care to listen to rap or pop music.

  • Christian music and rap music.

  • i hate country and rap and any combinatin of them.

  • I guess, as a musician, I don’t think in music that sort of way. I think more political when it comes to it. I mean, I have music I don’t like, and prefer to not listen to – but when it comes on, the words out of my mouth aren’t usually, “Oh God, not this crap!” but moreover something that has to do with the content of the lyrics, or the type of person that artist is outside of their music. Like Ashley Simpson, I would probably say, “Hey, it’s the girl that is making a 7 figure income, and she has no talent! Wow!”.

    But, if any music would be playing in hell, it’d probably have to be nazi-influenced punk.

  • rap. I routinely listen to country.

  • hahaha, this post made me crack up. I don’t much like country music either but what really makes me cringe is bagpipes, they remind me of a nail scraping against a chalkboard. Ohhh I’m cringing right now just thinking about it!

  • if lyrics are discounted, it is a toss-up between country-western and rap.  toss in the lyrics, and it has to be rap hands down > i cannot stand the concept of all women being bitches or ho’s (farm implements gone amuck?) or that all white people are crackers etc….

  • I can not say that any music has compelled me to gouge my eyes out. Even music I do not care for is tolerable, because there is some part of it that I like, be it the lyrics or the beat ect.

  • “screamo”    its horrendous…

  • here’s my list

    -country..it flat out sucks, its pathetic
    -little kid’s remakes of songs…with their high pitched voices, and how everything is much “bopp-ier”
    -anything sung by someone with a bad sounding voice just kind of ruins that music/song for me
    -certain types of r&b that sound like the guy’s having diarreah while singing
    -country, it deserves another one, i dislike it with a passion 

  • RAP!!! I don’t think it even really counts as “music.” I’m not a hip hop fan either.

  • Country and Rap.

  • rap and opera >.O

  • Country… ack. **shudder**

  • heavymetal… I absolutly cannot stand heavymetal ( is that one word or two?)

  • Folk and Jazz…. *shudders*

  • I hate RAP…I listen to all Emo/screamo/rock/metal/that stuff. I hate all other types of music.

  • Rap, most definitely. And most country.

  • Rap is probably the worse music on Earth followed by Country-Western. 

  • Same as you Danno… country sucks…

  • rap country and emo

  • “Gangsta” rap. I like a lot of different rap and hip hop groups, but when all you can rap about is how you smoke weed and shoot people, you’re not very entertaining to anyone with half a brain cell left.

  • Country and teeny-bopper pop crap.  The only country song that I’ll listen to is Skin by Rascal Flatts, which isn’t all twangy and crap.

  • Country music is the only kind of music that can bring a tear to my eye just from listening to it– love, life, children, the simple life… it’s all just so good sometimes.  (there’s also stuff that’s just horrid, too). 

    I don’t care much for Tejano music.

  • classic rock!!!!!!! ick

  • music with an a negative agenda… like cradle of filth and slipknot… it doesnt matter that theyre metal, i love metal… but they make me wanna vommit…

  • Country.

    No one likes country.

    People that like country, are lying.

    Country is musical suicide.

  • screamo.  it hurts me.  death metal’s close, but it’s very cool in another language.

  • Jazz fucking rules!

  • People that listen to country music should be killed. 

    :)

  • alternative or indie
    those genres confuse me
    wtever
    hahaha

  • Opera. Hands down.

  • Rap. And country music!!
    One of my really good friends, she said her mom stated that hell would just be endless country music. On the same thought path as you, it seems.

  • Most rap, and all Hardcore. No talent.

  • the blooodhound gang – bad touch

  • its not really not music, but i cannot stand heavy metal, and i dont appreciate rap. i also hate any kind of “music” with innapropriate, discriminitive, negative, or blasphemous lyrics.

  • its not really not music, but i cannot stand heavy metal, and i dont appreciate rap. i also hate any kind of “music” with innapropriate, discriminitive, negative, or blasphemous lyrics.

  • Rap, R&B, soul, anything like that. I cringe everytime I hear it. I have to change the radio station or shut it off. Rock all the way baby!!!

  • Country, emo, and *most* rap songs make my ears bleed.

  • Most Rap music.  It gives me a total head-ache.

  • I can stand pretty much anything.  X/c a lot of trad Mexican music.  The cheap mariachi stuff.

  • Metal and music before 1985. Sorry.

  • Defnitely latino music. Songs like La Bamba and stuff like that drive me INSANE!!! I honestly am not sure why.

  • Soul, and uh..

    I like Alternative, some pop and rap. The rest I hate.

    If God hates me, he’ll play death metal music in hell.

  • Poppunk and metal make me wanna toss my cookies.

    Eva.

  • That stuff today that kids listen to. My kids call it ‘screamo’ that’s all it is, too, some idiot screaming fit to burst his vocal chords about something I can’t make out because of the distortion of his voice.

    I want to drive sharp implements into my eyes when that stuff is playing.

  • Heavy metal/gothic/emo/punk whatever it’s called. I hate it. Country isn’t too bad…you have to be in the mood. Otherwise, it gets on my nerves, too.

  • Old country music, like Waylon Jennings, etc, and some rap and R&B.

  • I love country music!!! It is the only genre I listen to.  I hate rap. I respect your opinion, but why do you hate country?

  • You might not want to come to my site because there is country music playing. 

  • Most classical or just plain rap. I do like eminem, but not the language.

  • country, gospel, emo, some R&B, some pop, and contemporary christian.

  • Heavy metal. It’s noise, not music. Always make me want to pull my ears out whenever I hear it. The eyes stay in place. :)    

  • Country. “Gangsta” Rap. Opera. Those are the worst.

  • opera, some country (there is some good country though), shitty pop like the click five ect., stupid rap but there is great rap out there.

  • i really like fusion

  • All music. Music in general is annoying! I hate music and art but I’m as unfascist as people can get. Does that seem slightly or entirely ironic?

  • smooth friggin jazz….no words…i dont want to hear dammit!

  • country, whiney music, most metal, songs about how much “I love you baby” , songs that repeatedly use the words ‘yeah’ and ‘baby’ to fill up time.

  • elevator music

    music where people only yell and not actually sing (even tho i do like some harder stuff:)

    some *rap* is okay, but most of it i don’t like…

  • country, i l i <33

  • but mostly like, old rock. KNOCKING ON HEAVENS DOOR- COME SAIL AWAY- CHERRY PIE- that kinda stuff. ya know?

  • You are rith I hate it to and when Iwent to school on the bus  had it on all time. It is nuts.  sweet bye chantel

  • Country. Rap. Hip Hop. Moronic Pop.
    Anything that degrades women or is ridiculously useless, basically.

    [ariana]

  • I hate  Elevator Music and Classical

  • I luv my allternative rock but i hate all that crap like elevator, classical, jazz and other junk.

                                                                                        Skaterchic_16

                                                                                                (aka lizzie and i just turned 16 yeah me!!!!!)

  • I like country. Dan, I could dance to a toilet flushing, or country.

    Country makes me want to dance!

    Breakdance that is! To country!

    Woohoo!

  • I always see that you are in the top 50 for most commented and what not so i decided to respond to your ever logical questions and i would say country and modern rap. Old rap had a beat

  • Wow.  You might not wanna cruise through my neck of the woods then.  It’s open season on Country Music Haters all year long.  I like all kinds of music…except for rap. I HATE RAP! 

  • you hate country music but you want a country song to be played at your funeral? Don’t get me wrong but I hate hate hate country music as well, and I do believe that it is what satan makes you listen to in hell, but the song you want played ,and hating country music…kind of contradict each other.

  • eminem, some of his stuff makes me feel physically sick. also system of a down is IRRITATING and christian rock shit also sucks.

  • Pop Punk. Ugghhh…

  • gansta rap

    just the fact that I have to call it gansta, when its gangster. 

    and with Christian Music, its mostly the fans that bug me, and the faux preacher/singers doing it.  The songs might be good still, it just comes with a culture I don’t like much.

  • I agree completely on country music! It will be played loudley throughout hell! Just as Hitlers propaganda was played throughout Russia! I do like Cash though! He’s the man!

  • OH yea! I hate rap because it’s not actually music! You can make an entire rap song in about 5 minutes! Thats one person by themselves doing all the parts! Why? Beacuase rap has no integrity! Rap is what people with no musical ability create! Rap is all posing! Nothing else! Not only do they make there so called music on a 10×12 inch piece of equipment. But they are eliterite and don’t know enough words to rhyme with real words! So they make up thier own like manizzle, or rizzle! Or whatever! In anycase it’s all fake! It’s a discrace to music!  

  • The stuff they dance to at ballet recitals, heavy metal, goth music (scares the crap outta me) a lot of rap, ummm, I can’t say I’m pleased with a lot of the music of the world. I love country and Christian contemporary,Gospel and Worship, and the occasional hymn, and like Relient K, I like them, but pretty much anything else I don’t like.
    Tori

  • mysogynistic gangsta rap.

    I LOATHE it.

  • Country…Oh GOD yuss…i HATE country.

    ~*~Paige~*~A.K.A.Twinkie!!!Boomboxx!!!

  • just about anything being played by popular stations nowadays – nothing is original anymore…

  • Anything by Bob Seeger and the Silver Bullet Band. ‘Band on the Run’ by Paul McCartney. ‘Don’t Fear the Reaper’. Peter Frampton. Only because our local radio station has killed these songs by overplaying them to the point of obsession.

  • wazupman   i  hate    contry   music  to   but   moast   of  my   coisins    listen to    it.   leave    mea  comment    at   thomas    01   later

  • My grand mother loved Hank Williams >< and my mother Elvis 0_0, I heard way too much country music growing up…my mother wouldn’t let us listen to any music past the 60′s :(

  • Rap………disgusting crap that trys to masquerade as music and talent.

  • country music, and Fall Out Boy.

  • Hate? How does hate work for you? Isn’t hating something like letting Satan have a little piece of you? Is there someting wrong with Country music or something wrong with you? What about people who like country music? Do you hate them? Think they’re stupid or evil? Why are you such a big phony?

  • I can’t stand most rap and r&b.

  • Wow, don’t you think there is good and bad of all genres? I can’t believe you could sit down and listen to Patsy Cline with me and find it to be teeth-gnashing!

  • I hate those hymns. Oh they make my ears bleed!

  • some country music, once you get past the twang has some pretty good wisdom in it.  I happen to like some CCM, and yes it does mean contemporary christian music, so what else are they gonna sing about, but God? Am i right.  I have no problem if christian musicians and bands want to talk about other stuff in life.  I mean heck look at Barlowgirl, one of there songs was being played on secular stations, christians were having a cow, but they weren’t bashing anyone or anything.

    I like older rich mullins music.  he was the grand daddy of worship music.  may he rest in peace.  Right now i am listening to hard core worship, if you have any questions as to what that is let me know.

  • Anything by Barry Manilow.

  • I don’t hate any type of music, but I don’t like much.  I guess opera is pretty annoying.  I can get some jazz and classical when the instruments wordlessly tell the story, but, in opera, voices without words (that I can understand) still trying to tell a story is just annoying.  Though, I do like it when I catch a bit of the opera song from The Shawshank Redemption.  The more hardcore perversions of rock where it’s just constant horrible things done to instruments and devil-voice screaming about rape and death and violence, though, seems to top my list.  I would happily take a sappy christian country song over it.

    And Johnny Cash is amazing.

  • Sugary pop… ughhhh.

  • It’s a tie between Country, Death Metal, and “Gangsta” Rap.

  • Well, there’s good country and there’s bad country.  Country when you were growing up would be bad country.  New country, country music in the last several years, sucks hardcore.  But, country from the 90′s is amazing.  Like Garth Brooks…he’s just the man.

    When I listen to some counrty, I ask myself how anyone could hate it.  Other times, I’ll listen to a country song and say “THIS is why people hate country”

    -Matt-

  • Like moths we seem to crowd your site. So, heres to keeping up with the Jones’es(ses?)!

    Johnny Cash transcends genres. I like him. I find most country tiresome though.

    I love Ryan Adams (Not Brian Adams which, heartbreakingly, he is commonly mistaken for). Jack Johnson, mewithoutyou, Modest Mouse. And Mindless Self Indulgance (being my guilty pleasure).

    Its a list, for your convience. I suggest down loading alittle Ryan Adams and Jack Johnson. They’re timelessly (agelessly?) talented.

    -Chanda

  • Johnny Cash is great, but I don’t like other twangy country music.  Or rap.  Or goth.  Or most hip-hop stuff that the little girl cheerleaders are “dancing” to these days with sexually-overt moves that are WAY over their pre-adolescent heads.

    Mostly I listen to Christian music, classical, stuff from Broadway musicals, classic rock, just about everything else. 

  • anything with no meaning, I’d rather listen to someone with no voice and good lyrics then some 14-year-old computer modified thing

  • I hate country and rap

  • Country, salsa, and Mexican music.

  • praise and worship, actually.  and i consider myself a religious person; i just hate the repetition of it, the mindless robot droning.  “we’re not worthy.  we’re not worthy.”  it reminds me of the scene from monty python and the holy grail where the monks are walking around hitting themselves on the foreheads…”Pie Jesu Dominum” *whack* “Dona Eis Requiem” *whack*

    and anyone who hates opera hasn’t heard La Boheme.  Puccini makes up for all the bad opera.  ever.

  • lol,  just cruising xangas again, im a random commenter….

    The only song is Mr. Sandman, i wanna jump off a cliff when i hear it. my sis used to play it over and over when she was in the 10th grade…

  • Its amazing its like youre reading my mind….. Is it possible that you are?

  • Most “Emo” music and all of heavy metal

  • i have evil,. spooky ways, so it is QUITE possible i am reading minds to…

    and, omg!n i LOOOVVVEEEE techno! my bff got me into it

  • anything by the black eyed peas or gwen stefani or snoop dogg or hilary duff or green day.

    ewwwwwwwww

  • Emo and rap >.< 

    Emo–>All they do is complain in the most annoying singing voices about how their girlfriend of three minutes left them and now they’re going to slit their wrists.  Good riddens! 

    Rap–> I like the music but I hate the lyrics.  They don’t even sing and all they talk about is drugs, sex, and money.

  • Yeah, that slut Gwen Stefani makes my ears bleed and don’t get me started on Green Day.

  • bebop, disco, and hardcore rap/grindcore. Who really can express themselves through songs that lyrically describe raping babies and shooting bitches? Please tell me!?

  • > Gangsta wannabe music. Stupidist, pathetic sh*t I’ve ever heard in my life. Right up alongside ‘cry about the dog dyin’, ‘she done left me’ country music.

    Peace

  • hmm… country is hard to beat. how bout when a japanese band tries to play rock music

  • bob dylan…if you call that music….well its the “singing” I hate. 

  • Jesus Christ…Gospel Music. totally.

  • I’m with you on country.

    I LIKE classical, thank you.

  • I love Country..I hate hard rock metal music

  • Normal
    0

    7.8 磅
    0
    2

    false
    false
    false

    MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

    /* Style Definitions */
    table.MsoNormalTable
    {mso-style-name:普通表格;
    mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
    mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
    mso-style-noshow:yes;
    mso-style-parent:”";
    mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt;
    mso-para-margin:0cm;
    mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
    mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
    font-size:10.0pt;
    font-family:”Times New Roman”;
    mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
    mso-ansi-language:#0400;
    mso-fareast-language:#0400;
    mso-bidi-language:#0400;}

    I like  <a
    href=”
    http://www.homeofedhard.com/“>Cheap Ed hardy,
    because the <a href="Ed hardy is
    too beautiful, If you need these <a href="ed hardy tee,
    Carefully choose these <a href="cheap ed hardy shoes,
    then appropriate action, go <a href="ed hardy shirt

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *