May 30, 2006

  • Funeral Music

    I was at a funeral recently and a song was played that didn’t appear to match the person’s personality who had died.  I found out later that a family member had picked out the song and the whole family was shocked at the playing of the song.  It is sort of funny how one person can make a great deal of the decisions for a funeral.

     

    The funeral was perfect in every way.  Then this song was played.

     

    So I have told my wife what song I want played at my funeral.  The song is by MercyMe and has the following lyrics:

     

    “I Can Only Imagine”

    I can only imagine
    What it will be like
    When I walk
    By your side

    I can only imagine
    What my eyes will see
    When your face
    Is before me
    I can only imagine

    [Chorus:]
    Surrounded by Your glory, what will my heart feel
    Will I dance for you Jesus or in awe of you be still
    Will I stand in your presence or to my knees will I fall
    Will I sing hallelujah, will I be able to speak at all
    I can only imagine

    I can only imagine
    When that day comes
    And I find myself
    Standing in the Son

    I can only imagine
    When all I will do
    Is forever
    Forever worship You
    I can only imagine

    [Chorus]

    I can only imagine [x2]

    I can only imagine
    When all I will do
    Is forever, forever worship you


     

    What song would you want played at your funeral?

     

Comments (266)

  • I would rather not think about my funeral right now.

  • she’s getting ready for glory by carolyn arends

  • “I’ll Fly Away”
    Is my all time favorite that I’d like to have played at my funeral.

  • Helena by MCR

    Yeah top 10

  • “Go rest high on that mountain”…

  • there’s one by chris tomlin that ends in “I’m alive, I’m alive, I’m alive” it’s my favorite worship song

  • you alone, that’s what it’s called. couldn’t remember.

  • Untitled Praise Hymn by Chris Rice (“Come to Jesus”)

    No offense, but I Can Only Imagine has pretty much been run into the ground

  • btw: Your song choice is perfect!

  • I dunno… your idea sounds okay….

  • Taps on a trumpet.

  • Errr… something by Frank Sinatra. Like… Just the way you look tonight.
    Yeah, that’ll work.

  • “boys don’t cry” by the cure

  • Taps would be nice, or Ashokan Farewell…or maybe Dive or Next Five Minutes by Steven Curtis Chapman.
    I think my funeral will be happy…when you live a fufilling life and die an interesting death, people can laugh.
    I’d like to hear laughter and smiles at my funeral.
    That would be the best tribute.

  • I would want to have a closed casket in front, and my body in the rafters of the funeral home and then at some point in the funeral have all the lights go out and have heavy metal start playing and stobe lights going and then have my body swing down over my friends and family (hooked up to ropes or something). I would love to watch that from the afterlife. it’s the way I want to go.

  • When Jesus comes calling for me (Dolly Parton) – Ahhh!  Country!

  • “Here you come again” by Dolly Parton
    (my mom used to sing it to me and it always made me really happy)

  • time of your life by green day

    i went to my friends funeral on friday and they played
    stare at the sun by thrice

  • I’m not sure. Something that cheers people up… “Rock and Roll All Night” lol. Or “Crazy Nights” by Kiss. I’m not sure. Those are songs just aren’t like me. At my brother in law’s funeral they played Happy Trails. It was so… like him. He always said that was going to play at his funeral and he wasn’t kidding.

  • My sister once went to a friend’s funeral who died at a young age – 17 – and they played “Sexual Healing” because it was one of his favourite songs.  Crazy.

  • I love Merycy Me, so i can only Imagine

  • probably ‘amazing grace’

  • ‘Hide and Seek’ by Imogen Heap.

  • “Kiss Your Ass Goodbye” by Styx

  • Actually, Me and my mom had that song played at my Grandmas funeral last year. I also want that played at my funeral.

  • i want, When I Get Where I am Going, to be playing. not sure if its really a song for a funeral but i like it

  • or maby insted of mercy me how about Not Ready to Die by Demon Hunter

  • Funeral song

    by The Rasmus

  • That’s a lie
    Funeral For A Friend
    Elton John

  • “CLOSER” by NINE INCH NAILS at maximum volume!

  • I can only imagine has been played alot, it’s still pretty though.

    I’ve never really thought about that, Dan.

    LOL

    ~Caroline~

  • That’s a lie.
    I Believe In A Thing Called Love
    THE DARKNESS

  • Dude, I would have I cna only Imagine played too!
    I heard a version by the teenmania worship band though, maybe it was mercyme?

  • Screw the somber, “remember me” type of music.  I want a party…a celebration.  Something with a good techno beat.

  • I will remember you by Sarah McLaughlin

  • Brahms Requiem Mass.

  • here you me by jimmy eat world

  • well, I want that one. It’s my favorite.

  • “Who wants to live forever” by Queen

  • Take me out to the ball game

  • Korn’s “Dead Bodies Everywhere”.

  • Easter hymns, particularly “The Strife is O’er” at the funeral…

    rock and roll to go with pizza and beer at the wake…

  • Beethoven, Sonata No. 4 in E-flat Opus 7, movement 2

  • RYC: Yup that’s me!

  • I don’t really care what they play at my funeral. I figure it’s more important for the song to be meaningful to the people left behind than to me, so they can choose what they like when the time comes. My husband performed “I Can Only Imagine” at two of his grandparents’ funerals. It’s a quality song.

  • Row, Row, Row your boat…

    Naw, I’m not really sure.  I hope to live a bit longer so I can think of something…

  • def. Satellite of Love by Lou Reed, it’s amazing

  • Uh. Hmm. Honestly I don’t know. Anything but Highway to Hell really.

  • the theme song for titanic… not the one that celine dion sings but the music they always play throughout the movie… I have that soundtrack and they have the background music for it and i absolutely LOVE it …. then when they were serving foood and everything or before the wedding i would want irish music played because I LOVE Irish music also

  • By the way, the members of MercyMe group up near
    where I did, they’re great guys… I was able to
    spend some time with them a few years before they
    became popular.

    Cool folks.

  • Rush
    Red Barchetta
    My uncle has a country place
    That no one knows about
    He says it used to be a farm
    Before the Motor Law
    And on Sundays I elude the eyes
    And hop the Turbine Freight
    To far outside the Wire
    Where my white-haired uncle waits

    Jump to the ground
    As the Turbo slows to cross the borderline
    Run like the wind
    As excitement shivers up and down my spine
    Down in his barn
    My uncle preserved for me an old machine
    For fifty odd years
    To keep it as new has been his dearest dream

    I strip away the old debris
    That hides a shining car
    A brilliant red Barchetta
    From a better vanished time
    I fire up the willing engine
    Responding with a roar
    Tires spitting gravel
    I commit my weekly crime

    Wind
    In my hair
    Shifting and drifting
    Mechanical music
    Adrenaline surge…

    Well-weathered leather
    Hot metal and oil
    The scented country air
    Sunlight on chrome
    The blur of the landscape
    Every nerve aware

    Suddenly ahead of me
    Across the mountainside
    A gleaming alloy air car
    Shoots towards me, two lanes wide
    I spin around with shrieking tires
    To run the deadly race
    Go screaming through the valley
    As another joins the chase

    Drive like the wind
    Straining the limits of machine and man
    Laughing out loud with fear and hope
    I’ve got a desperate plan
    At the one-lane bridge
    I leave the giants stranded at the riverside
    Race back to the farm
    To dream with my uncle at the fireside

  • A Day In The Life by The Beatles.

  • oh goodness; i’d make christopher choose for me. i have no idea.

  • “Praise You in This Storm” by Casting Crowns and “Home” by Michael Buble. I love those songs, they are both very heart warming. Yours is also a good choice.

  • Nothing traditional – something of a celebration, finished the course!!! Hooray.. .

    I will celebrate, sing unto the Lord, I will sing to Him a new song…

    Maybe one of the Rocky songs – finished the fight.

  • No wait… something jazz. I don’t want some sappy crappy BS at my funeral.

  • *Grew up… I’m not smoking crack today, really.

  • I don’t care, but there will be a dress code that I am writing into my will.  I swear to God, if that woman (or anyone else) that wore the orange dress with the aqua flowers shows up at my funeral dressed that way, I will haunt her until she developes a fashion sense.

    Erika

  • “Ding Dong The Witch Is Dead”.

    Nah, I’m kidding. I have no idea.

  • I also want I Can Only Imagine played at my funeral. In addition to that I want FFH’s One of These Days ffh/lyrics/oneofthesedays.html and mercyme’s Undone mercy_me/undone.html One of These Days is self-explanatory. Undone because it represents obstacles I’ve overcome and how (meaning Christ). Crazy as it might sound I also want to write something to be read at my funeral.
     
    I have experienced many deaths in my family therefore many funerals. I don’t want it to be a sad occasion. I want a funeral that will celebrate my life lived and the beginning of my new eternal life. At the time of someone’s passing, it is hard to remember it is something to be celebrated. I want my family to remember the good times and how my love of the Lord broke bondage that had held my family down for generations. Praise and Worship music has been a huge healing factor in my life and I want that reflected.
     
     

  • You should ask about weddings next, cos I want to get married to Pachabel’s “Canon”. That is, IF I get married. Haha.

  • The secong song ont the Music inspired by the Chronilces of Narnia! we just used it for Grandma’s funeral!

  • dance dance

    falloutboy

    haha. my funeral would rock

  • My kids tell me that they are going to sing, “Ding dong, the witch is dead”, from The Wizard of Oz.

  • it irritates me how people post what number they are, without posting their thoughts on the question.

    does that bother you as well?

    i’m not sure what song i’d have played at my funeral..it just depends on how i died and how old i was.
    if i died tomorrow, i’d want “stole” by kelly rowland to be played. if i died in a car accident, i’d want “last kiss” by pearl jam to be played. or maybe both. 

  • “In a Bulb there is a Flower”, #614 in the mennonite hymnal

    - @lice

  • With Hope by Steven Curtis Chapman

  • Here’s the lyrics for you

    With Hope – Steven Curtis Chapman

    This is not at all how
    We thought it was supposed to be
    We had so many plans for you
    We had so many dreams
    And now you’ve gone away
    And left us with the memories of your smile
    And nothing we can say
    And nothing we can do
    Can take away the pain
    The pain of losing you, but …

    We can cry with hope
    We can say goodbye with hope
    ‘Cause we know our goodbye is not the end, oh no
    And we can grieve with hope
    ‘Cause we believe with hope
    (There’s a place by God’s grace)
    There’s a place where we’ll see your face again
    We’ll see your face again

    And never have I known
    Anything so hard to understand
    And never have I questioned more
    The wisdom of God’s plan
    But through the cloud of tears
    I see the Father’s smile and say well done
    And I imagine you
    Where you wanted most to be
    Seeing all your dreams come true
    ‘Cause now you’re home
    And now you’re free, and …

    We have this hope as an anchor
    ‘Cause we believe that everything
    God promised us is true, so …

    So we can cry with hope
    And say goodbye with hope

    We wait with hope
    And we ache with hope
    We hold on with hope
    We let go with hope

  • “Life ain’t always beautiful” by gary allen

    its on my xanga right now.

    orrrr some casting crowns song….

  • Hmmmm……

    I guess…. something formal, like hymns, maybe “my song is love unknown” or “the lamb”

  • I kinda find it morbid to think of such things.

  • im not getting baryed. if i get baried i will be ticked off. But i wanna be Cremated. If i had to choose a song it would proble be like, Concreat Angels, yes dan its a contry song but its a good song! Or WALK THE LINE by, JOHNNY CASH. Power to JC!! an oldie but a goodie

    !~nicole~!

  • That’s a real popular one for funerals.  I have no idea what I’d want.  My aunt has a great one…but I forget the name.  I’ll have to call her tonight and find out, and come back to tell ya.  It makes me laugh. :)

  • Oooooooo! “Across the Universe” by Fiona Apple:

    Across the universe

    Words are flowing out like endless rain into a paper cup,
    They slither while they pass, they slip away across the universe
    Pools of sorrow, waves of joy are drifting through my opened mind,
    Possessing and caressing me.
    Jai guru de va om
    Nothings gonna change my world,
    Nothings gonna change my world.
    Nothings gonna change my world
    Nothings gonna change my world.

    Images of broken light which dance before me like a million eyes,
    That call me on and on across the universe,
    Thoughts meander like a restless wind inside a letter box they
    Tumble blindly as they make their way
    Across the universe
    Jai guru de va om
    Nothings gonna change my world,
    Nothings gonna change my world.
    Nothings gonna change my world.
    Nothings gonna change my world.

    Sounds of laughter shades of earth are ringing
    Through my open ears inciting and inviting me
    Limitless undying love which shines around me like a
    Million suns, it calls me on and on
    Across the universe
    Jai guru de va om
    Nothings gonna change my world,
    Nothings gonna change my world.
    Nothings gonna change my world.
    Nothings gonna change my world.
    Jai guru de va, jai guru de va
    Jai guru de va, jai guru de va
    Jai guru de va.

    Jai guru de va, jai guru de va.
     
     
    Perfect for carrying on.

  • “If You’re Happy and You Know It (Clap Your Hands)”

    Hope

  • I love that song.  I want “Blessed Assurance”:  “Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine!/Oh, what a foretaste of glory divine…” and so on.  I love the words, they make me teary.

    My uncles picked out the music for my grandma’s funeral and the family walked in to “Sentimental Journey”.  It was horrible, and so, so tacky.  Not my grandma at all, though they probably thought it was.  My dad was soooo mad about that, and rightly so.

  • I would have to go with something by Johnny Cash. Perhaps “When The Man Comes Around”.

  • Hm… probably one of my fav rock bands… I’m thinking System of a Down… or Sugarcult… something that made me happy…

    People cannot be dead sad at my funeral. It’s not going to be all perfect and formal. Be sad, but don’t overdo it. And we all know I hate formal and boring. Especially in music. Make it wild… make it rock.

    “For those about to rock… we salut you…”

  • I just heard that song on the radio on the way home from work. “Hide and Seek” is a good song, but I wouldn’t say it’d be a good song for my funeral. I don’t know what song I’d play. There are so many. Depressing…

  • La Vie Boheme from Rent

  • I dont know what song i want played but I’ve already decided that no one should wear black…thats depressing everyone has to wear pastels or something bright to my funeral….

  • clicked on oldest>> only went as far as december 2005

  • tell Laura I love her, no just kidding. I would want my daughter to sing something that reminded her of me. I trust her.

  • that’s what friends are for by dionne warwick or something that will let them remember of what i did and maybe give them a slight chuckle so my death is not a complete downer. 

  • i love that song too. also, to where you are by josh groban is a beautiful one. i should let my loved ones know my wishes.

  • I love that song! I haven’t picked one yet, but that would be a good one.

  • hm…. i actually think that i also would want “I Can Only Imagine” played at my funeral, but i havent really thought about it much…

  • That’s a great song.

    There’s a rock version of amazing grace that still has bagpipes in it. I want that played at my funeral.

  • “Carry on Wayward Son”

  • I want the rock version because I don’t want people to be sad for my death, I want them to celebrate the life I lead, and that I’m up in heaven with the Big Guy.

  • It is my intention to have a jazz funeral so there will be lots of music. I  want all the traditional stuff: “Just a Closer Walk With Thee”, “I’ll Fly Away”, “When I lay My Burden”, “When The Saints Go Marching In”, “Make Sure MY Graves Kept Clean”, “St. James Infirmary”

  • I’m thinkin “Water Shows The Hidden Heart” by Enya…but it’s in another language so the english translation would need to be read…

  • I love that song. A lot.

  • My grandma wants me and my brothers to sing Amazing Grace at her funeral.

    Dan, based on your post about the Constitution, I think you should ask people if they believe that the Founding Fathers would approve of the USAPATRIOT ACT, the ruling in Roe V. Wade, the New Deal, the War of Northern Aggression, etc.

  • “I’m only sleeping” by The Beatles.

    Hahahah!

  • Interesting choices…

  • I couldn’t choose just one song. It would be a whole program of music. I love music.
    A lot of times I plan my funeral and I can never stay consistent with what song I want.
    It would definitley be something rock……
    Definitley nothing Christian or remotely religious.

  • I have no idea…

    I want cake at my funeral though. Not after. During. And everyone will be merry while they devour their cake

  • that one, plus,”flying” by take 6

  • i’m not even sure what song i’d want played. i have a feeling that between now and when i die (this is hoping i die of old age) i’ll probably have a more meaningful song in mind. Hopefully, i’m just a quarter of the way to dying. :)

  • Hmmm I’m thinking “Reunion” by Collective Soul: Change will come – Change is here. Love fades out – Then love appears.
    Now my water’s turned to wine, And these thoughts I have I now claim as mine – I’m coming home.  Change has been – Change will be.  Time will tell – Then time will ease. Now my curtain has been drawn – And my heart can go Where my heart does belong… I’m going home

  • I like the song “The Seasons”.. I know the lyrics, but I don’t know the name…

  • “I wish you were here” by Incubus

  • ID LIKE THAT ONE ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

  • I’m not really sure… But I’ve definitely gotten a kick out of some of the above choices, haha!

  • I don’t know what I want played at my funeral actually. I think I would want something for the people attending more than me though, I mean, it’s not like I’ll need to settle for human music again. >.>

    Possibly: “He Lives” or that ones that goes “I come to the garden alone, while the dew is still on the roses”

    I think I would also want to play some of the songs that have given me comfort over the years.

    There is one by Thrice called “For Miles” that I think would be appropriate.

    I know one day, all our scars will disappear, like the stars at dawn
    and all of our pain, will fade away when morning comes
    and on that day when we look backwards we will see, that everything is changed
    and all of our trials, will be as milestones on the way

    and as long as we live, every scar is a bridge to someone’s broken heart
    and there’s no greater love, than that one shed his blood for his friends

    on that day all of the scales will swing to set all the wrongs to right
    all of our tears, and all of our fears will take to flight
    but until then all of our scars will still remain, but we’ve learned that if we’ll
    open the wounds and share them then soon they start to heal

    as long as we live, every scar is a bridge to someone’s broken heart
    and there’s no greater love, than that one shed his blood for his friends

    we must see that every scar is a bridge, and as long as we live
    we must open up these wounds
    when some one stands in your shoes and will shed his own blood
    there’s no greater love. we must open up our wounds

    That song got me through when my pastor died, I would hope it could help others.

  • Danny Boy– even if I am not a solider or Irish

    or

    “Stop Crying Your Heart Out” by Oasis.

  • “Heresy” by NIN.

    or

    Anything by Morrissey.

  • wow, that’s a funny question to think about.. at least to me.

    but that’s a wonderful song. it was played at my best friend’s funeral. [though it's quite sad to everyone attending]

  • Mad World, by Gary Jules.

  • I’ll be seeing you by Billie Holiday.

    <3

  • wow! this is the song i always said i wanted to be played at my funeral! : )

    -g

  • I LOVE THAT SONG! (I Can Only Imagine)

    At my funeral, I want “Follow Love” by FFH.

  • Hallelujah by Rufus Wainright.

  • Queen: “Another One Bites the Dust.”

  • Prince:

    Party like its 1999

  • Hm. Depressing mood, eh?

    I have no idea. I really don’t. I’ve been listening to Arctic Monkeys recently. Rock-ish. Couldn’t sleep the past couple of nights so I’ve just listened to their CD 1000 times through. Can’t get funeral music in my head. Can’t get any music in my head besides them. Just bordering on pathetic.

    Ho hum.

  • “Into the West” by Annie Lennox

  • i’d have a mix cd playing.. and there’d deffinately be some smashing pumpkins in there.

    Fight Mental Illness Stigma

  • “I’m Going Home” by the Sacred Harp Singers.

  • “let it bleed” by the used

  • I would want the old hymm, “When We All Get To Heaven,” played at my funeral.

  • i told my parents if i died they should just prop me up against the jukebox and let the honkey tonk music roll. but as you don’t like country i guess you wouldn’t have as much fun as most people would. im talking karaoke and drinks all around. forget about the sadness. i’m not there.

  • Oh man! You know, my friend from my Christian fellowship was playing “I Can Only Imagine” with a twist (he played it in the minor key so it sounded really morose) and I said, “I’m soooo having that played at my funeral!” Haha, what a coincidence.

    I agree with you– I’m having “I Can Only Imagine” played at my funeral. It really puts things in perspective: one can remember that this world is temporary and how eternity is forever, and that though there’s a time for grieving, we can also rejoice that the person is at Christ’s side. It’s the most comforting thought. =)

  • Lose Yourself by Eminem?  Maybe The Only Difference Between Martyrdom and Suicide is Press Coverage by Panic! @ the Disco.  Something untraditional.  I demand that after my  funeral, everyone will go to the dance hall and DANCE THEIR ASSES OFF.

    B/c the pt. of a funeral is to not mourn the dead, but to celebrate their life.  And I expect everyone to have themselves a damn fucking merry ol’ time if they wanna truely pay their respects to me.

  • Something by Loreena McKennit…my favorite song by her more than likely…The Mystic’s Dream.

    ~Namaste~

    )0(

    CrimsonWings (A Goddess in the making!)…A continuous work in progress!

  • Honestly I don’t care so long as they play my favorite hymn: Come Thou Fount. I’m not gonna be there; well my body will, but my soul won’t.

  • Not quite sure, how about this………

    Get your motor runnin’
    Head out on the highway
    Lookin’ for adventure
    And whatever comes our way
    Yeah Darlin’ go make it happen
    Take the world in a love embrace
    Fire all of your guns at once
    And explode into space

    I like smoke and lightning
    Heavy metal thunder
    Racin’ with the wind
    And the feelin’ that I’m under
    Yeah Darlin’ go make it happen
    Take the world in a love embrace
    Fire all of your guns at once
    And explode into space

    Like a true nature’s child
    We were born, born to be wild
    We can climb so high
    I never wanna die (oops but I did)

    Born to be wild
    Born to be wild

  • SATISFACTION (Voltaxx remix)

    Benny Benassi!

  • “two suns in the sunset” by Pink Floyd

    as a start…..

  • Darth Vader’s theme song. Or Dancing Queen.

    No, wait. Nice To Know You ~ Incubus.

  • I would want to have a closed casket in front, and my body in the rafters of the funeral home and then at some point in the funeral have all the lights go out and have heavy metal start playing and stobe lights going and then have my body swing down over my friends and family (hooked up to ropes or something). I would love to watch that from the afterlife. it’s the way I want to go.
    Posted 5/30/2006 at 3:38 PM by MySoulsIdol
     
    I like that idea.

  • What ever my family wants…I will be dead. I like amazing grace and the old rugged cross.

  • Imagine by John Lennon followed by Highway to Hell by AC/DC

  • “I Can Only Imagine” is an AWESOME song…great choice!!  I would like “My Tribute” by Andre Crouch and the hymn, “Victory in Jesus”

  • There are three.

    Crown Him with many Crowns
    Pie Jesu (The Andrew Lloyd Webber version)
    Amazing Grace

    The words to Pie Jesu are in Latin I will type them here and translate them

    Pie Jesu, Pie Jesu, Pie Jesu, Pie Jesu
    Qui tollis peccata mundi
    Dona eis requiem
    Dona eis requiem
    (Holy Jesus, Holy Jesus, Holy Jesus, Holy Jesus
    Cleanse them from their many sins
    Give them rest
    Give them rest)
    [Repeat]

    Agnus Dei, Agnus Dei, Agnus Dei, Agnus Dei
    Qui tollis peccata mundi
    Dona eis Requiem
    Dona eis requiem
    (Lamb of God, Lamb of God, Lamb of God, Lamb of God
    Cleanse them from their many sins
    Give them rest
    Give them rest)

    Sempiternum
    Sempiternum
    Ah!
    Sempiternum

    Eternally
    Eternally
    Ah!
    Eternally

  • “I’ll Fly Away” is one of my most favorite old time gospel songs that I would want played at my funeral. There is also another song but I can’t think of the name of it. It’s on the Apostle movie and it talks about “waiting on the farside banks of Jordan….I’ll be sitting drawing pictures in the sand…and when I see you coming, I will rise up with a shout and come running through the shallow waters, reaching for your hand.”

  • Oh Comely by Neutral Milk Hotel.

  • Be Yourself by Audioslave or Sic Transit Gloria by Brand New.  Just because.

  • I would have to say that I like your choice. I also like the idea of echoing taps on a pair of trumpets. However, I am not quite sure what I would want at mine.

  • That’s beautiful Dan.  Fitting too.

    As for my funeral…yikes…I try not to think about it….

    I’d probably want Beethovens Moonlight Sonata played at my funeral.

    Candy

  • It is an old Lutheran hymn

    “The Lamb”

    ….”Worthy is the lamb, whose death makes me his own, the lamb is reigning on his throne”

    Or more modern:

    “One Million Miles Away” by J. Ralph Spy

  • And of course everyone would be stark naked and raving to Sandstorm by Darude in celebration of my death.  I don’t want a funeral, I want a party.

  • an mix.  “Amazing grace” and “Scotland the Brave” on the pipes.   a half hour of worship music with full band.  and definitely the congregation singing in 4 part acapella harmony… “When Peace Like a River”  also known as “It is Well with my Soul”

  • i love that song. O.O;

  • “Imagine” by John Lennon, or maybe “Such Great Heights” by The Postal Service.

    Eva.

  • Hmm, I don’t know. I do like “I Can Only Imagine” though.

  • I love that song! I like the song Walking in the Air from the Snowman.

  • Or In Dreams from Lord of the Rings. *Sob*

  • I don’t even want to think about my funeral because it makes me sad, but I do want a Toby Keith song played.  I <3 toby keith.

  • I like the song you picked. I want Because He Lives, and How Great Thou art.

  • verdi’s requiem mass

    the whole thing

  • idk, sumthin from my favorite band, or sumthin from my own band. actually, Ten Speed(for gods blood and burial) by Coheed and Cambria. thats a pretty good one.

  • You Raise Me Up by Josh Groban

  • I like I can only imagine, but Im thinking immortal by evanescense and friends are friends by a whole bunch of people

  • Good question. 

    I’d go with “Blessed Assurance” by Fanny Crosby.  The original music setting, not some updated crap you can dance to.  There’s another old hymn, not as well known, called “Confidence”, written by John Newton.  I want that one too. 

    On the other hand, if you’d rather chuck me in the river while singing “Kiss Him Goodbye” — well — I guess I won’t be there to complain or care. 

  • Do not stand and my grave and week. Anonymous poem, but I have sung it  chorally. It’s beautiful.

  • Tears from Heaven, by Eric Clapton  and Hero, by Mariah Carey

  • Untitled Hymn (come to Jesus) or I Can Only Imagine or Live Like You Were Dying or I Never Thought I’d Live This Long

  • Freebird. Let’s get ‘em rockin.

  • “Sympathy For the Devil” by the Rolling Stones

  • not sure but i thought you didn’t like country music and isn’t mercy me a country band i love that song btw

  • I’m not sure but maybe…

    what a wonderful world – louie armstrong

    favorite one – misty edwards

    hey guys i now have a myspace…. http://www.myspace.com/starringkatibeth

  • Homesick by MercyMe

  • “Amazing Grace” for one…

  • we shall walk through the valley in peace… my choir sings an amazing version of it

  • “The Edge of the Water” by Jars of Clay.

  • Probably Pagan Born by Inkubus Sukkubus, or Song to Pan, depending on the time of year and matter of death. Something to reflect both my religion and bad-ass music taste.

  • “Short People,” no actually, I want to be cremated and have a memorial dinner with jokes, reminisces and the like, to celebrate my life!

  • WORD gofindacat — Sympathy for the Devil! Oh man. Totally.

  • Titanic Theme Song

  • I once attended a funeral for a very young man who had this song sung at his funeral. It was beautiful. I think this is a fine choice, though I’d choose for myself something cheesy… perhaps Pachelbel’s Canon in D?

  • I’m not sure what the exact title is, but Jason Morant sang it when I heard it, and it was “Blessed be the Name of the Lord”

  • “Your Song” by Elton John.

  • ‘adventure’ by angels and airwaves

  • I hate going to funerals of happy people and hearing depressing organ music. I don’t like music, personally. The only demand I have come up with for my funeral is that everyone has to wear a costume representing something they would like to do or become before they die.

  • cool. my friend got 2 see Mercy Me @ a church & they played i can onley amagine

  • music is my life and even after death if they didnt play a song that suited me i would come back and haunt the people that did it and be like woah…what the hell….thought you knew me…lol….ive never really thought on it honestly…im going to have to now…but something that was me…knowing me it would be something like system of a down or tool or something else of that sort…lol….go down with style…have a good one dan

  • “Ordinary World” -duran duran

  • “Ordinary World” -duran duran

  • Strangely enough, they played this song at my great-grandmother’s funeral.  I’m sure she never heard it; she was a big old-time gospel lady.  I thought it was disappointing and somewhat disrespectful to her.  Even though I like the song, I don’t know if she would have.  Hmm.

  • Mayday by Dispatch

  • What this world needs is a few more rednecks by the charlie daniels band

  • “What Sarah Said” – Death Cab for Cutie

    …I’m thinking of what Sarah said
    Love is watching someone die,
    Well who’s gonna watch you die?…

    -Sarah

  • There’s a song by Michael W. Smith.  I don’t know what it’s called but it goes “And we can cry with hope, because we believe with hope, because we know that goodbye is not the end.”  It’s a beautiful song and I would have it played not for me but for the people who would miss me. :)

  • That is an awesome song by MercyMe!  I’m not sure yet, but I know it would have to be a Steven Curtis Chapman tune…  or maybe a Wes King tune… they both are so inspiring to me.

  • It is Well With My Soul and of course Play that Funky Music. I want people to celebrate my life and rejoice that I’m in Heaven. Gotta play that song, it’s my favorite.

  • Not sure.

    [ariana]

  • It’s such an “emo” song but probably Existentialism on Prom Night, I like the correlation between existence, death and life it has. Seems perfect.

  • Some Seek Forgiviness, Others Escape by Underoath…nuff said

  • AHAHAHAHA!

    Only my stalker would get it, and I dont have any.

    Big in Japan, by Tom Waits.

    :P

  • Gone!- by The CUre

  • I’ve never really thought of it until now, but now that I do, I would definitely chose Blackbird by the Beatles. I’m a huge Beatles fan and that is one of my favorites.

  • I would also have Above All played by Michael W. Smith….that song is beautiful and I would like to honor God at my funeral.

  • Human Nature, by Madonna  :)   I like Imagine, John Lennon.

    DO NOT SING AMAZING GRACE AT MY MEMORIAL!!!

    Also, I want people to wear loud Hawaiian Shirts, be casual, relax, no black suits and dresses allowed!

  • Mahler’s 2nd Symphony. The Whole thing!!!!

  • I want to be buried but I told my family I would be cremated ONLY if, as the crematorium curtains close around my coffin, the strains of Amii Stewart’s disco version of ‘Light My Fire.’

    Otherwise it would be ‘Like An Angel Passing Through My Room’ by ABBA. Which isn’t religious, despite the angel reference.

  • What A Wonderful World – The Ramones  (It’s just a bit fun)

    Lovesong – The Cure

    Satisfied Mind – Jeff Buckley (this one, most likely)

  • “I Can Only Imagine” is a wonderful song! But I would have to play “Breaking of the Fellowship,” the final song on the Fellowship of the Ring soundtrack. Or maybe “Another Year Ends,” to go along with it: the final song on the Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire soundtrack.

  • Oh, and woot for the person who wants Mahler played!

  • I want anything KORN played at my funeral … i always have …

  • We sing that song at church sometimes.

    I want “Don’t Stop Me Now” by Queen. I love the song and it would be humorous at the present sitiation.

  • SLAYER-DANCE WITH THE DEAD IN MY DREAMS.

  • Another One Bites The Dust by Queen!

  • Ummmmmmmmm, Sara Grove’s The Other Side of Something. There’s something about her music that is soothing, but very… intriguing. She’s the most amazing Christian artist I’ve heard. Of course, I’d prefer to go in the rapture BEFORE death knocks on my door, but should the need for a funeral arise, definitely THE OTHER SIDE of SOMETHING. Well, possibly Mitch McVicker’s TAKE THE WHEEL. Can you have two songs? :D
    Tori

  • “Long and Winding Road” by the Beatles.  My mom told me after the OKC bombing that she wants to have “Amazing Grace” played by bagpipes at her funeral. I’ve since found out that that is a KKK favorite at cross burnings so she’ll have to settle for Aretha Franklin.

  • either “Breakfast” by the Newsboys or “Two Step” by Dave Matthews Band.

  • Great choice I love MercyMe – I guess I never really thought about it

    But that song really sums it all up. Mabe you should ask if we are truely ready to meat our maker?

  • Ooh – I want something by Led Zeppelin with loud guitars and stuff like that. hah

  • Stairway to Heaven.  Also want it played at my wedding.  Also maybe Don’t Fear The Reaper by Blue Oyster Cult.  It has a very good message.

  • I don’t know who chose it, but the “haleluah” song from “the messiah” was played at my sisters funeral…one of my brothers and I laughed:)

  • I’d like music from the Final Fantasy games at my funeral(what else;))

  • That song is absolutely beautiful and I, too, have that picked out as a song I want played at my memorial service.  We saw mercyme a year ago and they are awesome in concert!  I also want two other songs played -  – one is “These Dreams” by Heart and “Only Hope” by Mandy Moore.

  • Bagpipes, Ashokan Farewell, or Shenandoah.

  • When I get where I’m goin- by Brad Paisly   or however you spell it OR
     When I’m Gone- by Eminem   OR
    Amazing Grace-preformed by either one of my best guy friends with an amazing voice-love ya juice- or toni, cause shes cool like that

  • Amazing Grace in Cherokee, have it all recorded and ready to go.

    ‘Til The Next

  • mmm probably rewind by pillar

  • Naive Melody by Talking Heads.

  • “Shine On You Crazy Diamond Pts. 1-9″ by Pink Floyd. The greatest song ever written and my personal anthem.

  • ANYTHING but ‘I can only imagine’…. I’ve been to like 7 or 8 funerals in the last three years (several of them were people really close to me and several were teenagers) and every one of them played that song and now when I hear it in church I have to leave because it makes me cry… I think that song is really depressing…. I did hear a song by Superchic[k] called ‘We Live’ played at a funeral recently… and I really like it…. it’s about learning to move on when a tragedy occurs.

  • SpongeBobs Goofy Goober Song.

  • mercy me is country. you don’t hate it?

  • “I Can Only Imagine” is a great song. I would copy my grandfather and have “Picture of Me Without You” played at my funeral. It isn’t exactly an encouraging song, but I think it is the truth for all of when we die. Life is never really the same. I feel the lyrics to that song every time I think about my grandpa.

  • Let me clarify:

    When we lose someone, our life is never really the same.

    Of course, when we die, life is never the same either…especially since it is no more!

    Man! And I teach English!!

  • Corny I know but I really love Amazing Grace. No music African style.  Actually I plan on having a full on celebration with lots of loud worship music.  End off with Mark Harris and Wish you were here.

  • The Kill  by 30 Seconds to Mars

  • Hey I like ur site I love the song that u have at th etop of the page.I hope u can come to my xangaand leave a nice comment and I wil tt yas lata.

    from,

    Alyssa(pepperwaffal)

  • I don’t think I’d want any music.

  • Ooh, I love that song so much!!

    I would like to have “Holes in the Floor of Heaven” by Steve Wariner played.. and “Green Bird” from Cowboy Bebop by Yoko Kanno. And “We’ll Meet Again” by Johnny Cash.

    I should just make a funeral CD for myself. >_<

  • “Smack My Bitch Up” by Prodigy

  • Can’t think of a better son. It was actually played at a friend of mine’s memorial service as well. It gives such a picture of hope, peace, and expectancy for what those who know Christ have to look forward to. It’s a win win situation for a Christian, If you die, you go to live with Him, if you live, you keep on serving Him with the life He gives you to help others see who Jesus is.

  • Something that’s completely not traditional for a funeral.  I want it to be a song about life.

  • cool vist mine at xanga.com/movieking

  • “Let it Be” by the Beatles. 

  • What about writing your own song to play at your funeral?
    If I was forced to think about this kind of thing (I’m not ready to go yet – too much to do!), I’d write my own song, someone else’s song can get pretty close to describing you, but if you write it yourself, then you can’t go wrong.

  • Float On by Modest Mouse, if you really look at the lyrics I feel its very apropriate for a funeral, I want my funeral to be as happy as possible, not full of weepy or mellow music

  • I love that song too.. its one of my favorites.. but if i had to pick one song to play at my funeral.. it would be “Go Rest High On That Mountain” by Vince Gill. That was the song played at my grandpa’s funeral.. i really like it.

  • skylines and turnstiles by my chemical romance.
    sorry it’s not about jesus.
    but i think sept. 11th is suitable.
    love your enemies, kids!

  • May Angels Lead You In, by Jimmy Eat World.

  • “Beautiful” – Christina Aguilera

    “Fighter” – Christina Aguilera

    or “Better Days” – Goo Goo Dolls

  • “the adventure” by angels and airwaves.

  • “You Raise Me Up” by Josh Groban.

  • Hurt by Johnny Cash. Hellz yeah.

  • From Faith Fairy,  Finally somebody who mentions Christianity and song! Wow I share my thought about Praise and I invite you to see it in my site. I share my faith Jesus is all to me and singing about Him is my passion1 Wonderful to know you believe!  Share your insight and I’d like to share my site with your Christian friends!  See ya here or in Heaven gotta go to spread some more Holy Spirit News!

  • > Stevie Ray Vaughn’s rendition of Tightrope; just the lyrics as a eulogy, no music. The lyrics describe my life in so many ways…..

    Peace

  • ‘I’ll Cover You’ (Reprise) from RENT. that my friends is a funeral song.

    -Evan

  • Though it’s more about love and letting go, I’d ask to have “I Wish You Love” by Frank Sinatra without the intro or “They Can’t Take That Away From Me” by Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong…

  • i wonder if anyone said it, and i dont feel like going through 200+ comments.

    FREEBIRD!!!!!! 

  • Drowing Pool-Let the bodies hit the floor.

  • It Is Well With My Soul
    Or, I’ll Meet You In The Morning
    or, Nearer My God To Thee…

  • I’m not planning on having a funeral. I’m going to get my ass outta this godforsaken place and never look back. Cut off all past relations and start over, blank slate. Hopefully.

  • I’ll fly away or Ain’t no grave each sung by a tone deaf person.

  • Amazing Grace.

    Amazing grace! How sweet the sound
    That saved a wretch like me!
    I once was lost, but now am found;
    Was blind, but now I see.

    ’Twas grace that taught my heart to fear,
    And grace my fears relieved;
    How precious did that grace appear
    The hour I first believed!

    Through many dangers, toils and snares,
    I have already come;
    ’Tis grace hath brought me safe thus far,
    And grace will lead me home.

    The Lord has promised good to me,
    His Word my hope secures;
    He will my Shield and Portion be,
    As long as life endures.

    Yea, when this flesh and heart shall fail,
    And mortal life shall cease,
    I shall possess, within the veil,
    A life of joy and peace.

    The earth shall soon dissolve like snow,
    The sun forbear to shine;
    But God, Who called me here below,
    Will be forever mine.

    When we’ve been there ten thousand years,
    Bright shining as the sun,
    We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise
    Than when we’d first begun.

  • wow – awesome choice… very contemporary though.. wonder if your choice will change in 30 years. ;)

  • don’t worry, be happy

  • Goodbye For Now

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *