January 29, 2007

Comments (107)

  • in a different way, but yes.

  • possibly..really?! nah.. i think they are..

  • No, but we have more veins.

  • I think it’s pretty equal overall.

  • I don’t see much of a difference.

  • no way.  women are more vain, hands down.

  • It depends on the individual.

  • No. But then again, who the hell am I to answer that question? <=== case and point.

  • I want a hug. ;( Anyone?

  • I think it depends on the person..

  • Men and women are both vain in their own way. We all deal with different things… it is impossible to generalize it.

  • No, I think they’re equal, just in different areas.

  • Gawd-don’t even get me started…

  • Some men are, but not all or even a majority.

  • I want a hug. ;( Anyone?
    Posted 1/29/2007 9:51 PM by Tallon5

    *hugs Tallon5*

  • btw I just got the cutest haircut.

  • I’m not going to the link until I weigh in. Vain, ummm I wouldn’t use that word, but self involved a big YES.

  • Just about the same, but in different senses.

  • Indefinitely.

    This one guy I know thinks that women just can’t run for president (sorta off topic), and I know a GIRL who told me women can’t run for president.

    All I have to say is hmmm….

  • It’s not something I would necessarily divide by gender. But then again I’m much more interested in commenting quickly than answering thoughtfully. This is the soonest I’ve ever caught onto the fact that you posted

  • that was terrible!

  • I want a hug. ;( Anyone?
    Posted 1/29/2007 9:51 PM by Tallon5

    *hugs Tallon5*
    Posted 1/29/2007 9:55 PM by on_bleecker_street

    :D <3

  • I think they can be, but not all… my husband definatly not… but I did know a guy who was not gay, who spent an hour and a half to shower and get ready to go out!

  • Just about the same, but in different senses.
    Posted 1/29/2007 10:00 PM by Ryusuku

    That’s what I was going to say.

  • They’re both vain. Just in different ways. Statistically though, women tend to be more insecure. I recall a book I used in an abnormal psychology class… It had a graph of the number of women compared to the number of men who are insecure about a certain area of the body, as well as comparing it to a graph of how many people were insecure about them 20 years ago.

    All of the statistics had risen from the 20-years-ago graph… And women had higher insecurities for all body parts except for one in both times. (I don’t remember which body part it was, though… Stomach maybe?)

  • I think it honestly depends on the person..

    However, I think men GENERALLY have a bigger head than the average woman.

  • It is hard to say given the differences between the vanity of women and men. I would say that they are not but most men are fairly vain in the sense that they have an image and do not want to stray from that. They may not have as many clothes as women but men are known to spend large quantities of money on the right pair of jeans or shoes or whatever. That is only covering the clothing aspect though and the article focuses on the bodily appearance aspect and if you have ever been into a gym then you know the pains that most men will go through to have the body that they want.

    Personally I do not care what I look like, I just want to be healthy and comfortable. I rarely am wearing anything fashionable and spend very little time lifting weights.

  • don’t think so

    but I’d say they’re equally self-concious

  • Gay men are.

  • lol it depends on the guy

  • or girl

  • I think it is equal.

  • Where did this come from?

  • It definitely is a vanity/pride thing going on that is different than women.  “A man I know” would pick the oddest things to either not do, or procrastinate on, simply because he had a time-line of when HE thought his body/mind should accept those changes.  It didn’t matter if it put his health in jeopardy.  Women, on the other hand, tend to want to cover their bases – especially if it involves their health.  Not always because of themselves, but because the know other people (specifically their children) are depending on them being around. 

  • we’re just more openly vain and vocal about insecurities
    I have my doubts that men are much different inside

  • “I’M BUTT UGLY, YOU WOULDN’T SLEEP WITH ME, WAH WAH WAH!!”"

    Nah, call me old fashioned, but we’re not vain, we’re just practical. I now call a open season on this guy for giving up our hard kept secrets!! Fellas unite, look flabby and ugly as you wish!!!

    ’nuff said….

  • I think it’s pretty sad in general

  • ryc: I KNOW! It worries me thinking about what could happen in other cities that could mimic the policy.

  • No, I think guys and girls are both equally vain in our own ways.

  • I’ve seen it go both ways before. That’s just more stereotyping though, classifying all men as one thing and all women as another.

  • Men are more pleased with themselves. Women, though confident in their own abilities, are always stressed about something they think is wrong with themselves. So I’d say equally vain, with women being actively vain and men being passively vain.

  • depends on the person i think

  • I guess it depends on the specific person, and overall, it might just be the same on both ends. I don’t know.

  • Women are mainly vain because of pressures from society. Men just have an ego. Women are more vain.

  • I would venture to say it is about equal.

  • I know a lot of girls that say vain things almost in every sentence they speak…but then again I do have the worst golf course mouth ever.  So to answer your question, I’d say yes.

  • You’re so vain, you probably think this comment is about you.

  • Mostly no.

    Candy

  • More? No I don’t think so.

  • I don’t mind sharing a mirror with a guy.

    Candy

  • Women are crazy. Absolutely nuts, definately.

  • if the statistic say they are, then they are.

  • Some girls sicken me with their vanity.

  • I think men have a bigger ego.

  • Comparing the massive gel abuse people use at my school to the cosmetics the girls I see use, I think men are really vain, but women are more.

  • No. It’s an equal playing field when it comes to vanity.

  • Ha. Dividing by gender? Easier said than done.

  • I guess?

  • “you’re so vain
    you prob’ly think this song is about you
    you’re so vain
    i’ll bet you think this song is about you, don’t you? don’t you?”

    Carly Simon was singing about a guy in that song.

  • in different ways. men want women (mostly) based on looks….like yeah it’s great if she’s a nice person but….
    and women are vain to look nice so they can get attention from men.

  • I think it just all comes down to being self conscious. And that just has to do with the environment.

  • My English class just discussed about the same topic last week… Funny.

    And we came to the conclusion that guys are more vain that girls. Haha!

  • people are vain
    not men
    not women

  • i think so. at least i am more vain than some of my girl friends.

  • I don’t think it has to do with gender, but with the individual.

    *hugs Tallon5*

  • beauty is on the inside, but nobody cares.

  • Consider the format of the question.

    Is [insert gender, race, religion, etc.] more/less [insert positive or negative attribute] than [opposite of target group]?

    We continually try to tie positive or nrgative attributes to groups so that by default if we are a member of the ‘better’ group we can feel ‘superior’. Try being superior in every way you can by your own achievements rather than those of a group to which you belong by no effort of your own.

    I know some men that are more vain than some women. I know some women that are more vain than some men. Please, stop generalizing. That is the basis of bigotry.

    Jesse4Jesus

  • Women carry their faces in little jars and take them where ever they go.

    Wa’da you think?

  • then men are gonna say no, the women are gonna say yes. how many are gonna read the article?

  • It depends upon the age, I think. Over 40, no. Younger, sometimes.

  • Hmmmm… Each day in the shower I look over my various shampoo and conditioner combinations and wonder how I want my hair to smell today. Do I use the bedhead products or go with the smooth and silky line? Do I want an mango/coconut odor from my hair or a floral bouqet?

    These days I use a ginger body soap for body type areas which supposedly “invigorates” and for the face I have shifted to the St Ives Apricot Facial Scrub after I rinse the conditioner out, and immediately after towelling off and running a fine tooth brush over my glorious wet locks for drying in place I apply a facial moisturizer with shine control powder infusion to prevent over oilage from over-soaping in the shower.

    I simply am not there…

    :P

  • I don’t think so.

    L,r

  • Who wears make-up?

    Aside from exceptions like some homosexuals, punkers/goth/emo kids, actors, etc, women by and large fund the cosmetics industry.  They have salons vs. barber shops.  Our society (rightfully) reflects the answer that women are more vain, in my opinion.

    Of course, any time you answer a question that paints such broad strokes (men are more x than women), there will be a lot of exceptions.

  • There’s no Mr. America contest, is there – based mostly upon how a woman looks – but most likely beauty pageants were created by men for just an excuse to drool (I don’t know they were made by men factually).

    I would say good looking people probably have more a tendency towards vanity despite their gender. It’s probably not an issue for ugly folk.

    You’re so Vain was written by Carly Simon about Mick Jagger – He’s vain but not really good looking – just talented with big lips.

  • Just better at hiding it.

  • I think it depends on the individual person. Men and women are both vain…just in different ways.

  • Maybe more confident, but not vain per se.

  • vaintity does not have a gender defined definition. It’s either part of your personality or it isn’t.

  • Well…

      sort of. yeah. I’d say equally or maybe more.

  • Men are definatly more vain ^_^

  • why are gay men being brought up as an example of vanity? I know man gay men and NONE of them are vain. There are just as many vain gay man as vain straight men and vain straight women. Gender has nothing to do with vanity. It’s about self esteem.

    Some people over-compensate or go overboard as a result of being mocked, picked on, and humiliated. I don’t think we should make this into an issue of gender or sexual orientation

    – Pat

  •  stuartandabby, thanks for the qualifier of “some”. I appreciate it, as silly as it might sound. Others brought up “gay men” in a general sense as an example of vanity, whereas you brought up only those who wear makeup (including straight actors).

    But I don’t think women in general are more vain than men in general

    – Pat

  • Meterosexual men, of course. Construction-worker-football-playing-scratching-your-own-groin-in-public-men, nawh.

  • Girls generally seem more vain to me, but that’s just my opinion.

  • Of which definition of “vain” do you mean?

    a.) of no real value: idle, worthless

    b.) futile, unsuccessful

    c.) proud of one’s looks or abilities

  • They can be/

  • I can’t believe this is the first time this question has been asked! Yes yes yes!!

  • I think that it sort of varies from person to person.

  • In America, everyone is vain.

  • no, are women more vain than men? no

  • it’s pretty equal.

    dan are you vain?

  • Maybe the “metrosexual” types. lol.

  • Men just don’t hide it as well, usually.

    I just got done dating someone who was very vain. He tried to cover it with,” I try to be humble…” but as you can imagine, it didn’t work too well.

  • yes, because women are prone to have more doubts about themselves and think deeper in general because of their complex emotional minds.
    but it’s all relative in the context of individual personality.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *