January 31, 2007

  • Tanning

    I posted a picture of Miss America the other day in my photoblog.                         

    Photo

    She is Lauren Nelson and is from Oklahoma.  I mentioned in the photoblog that the only picture I could find was in her bathing suit.  (I think they bought it).                        

    But someone left a comment.  Here it is:                                        

    She’s kind of… bronze. Why are tans considered hot? She would be much prettier with her natural, fair skin.
    1/31/2007 9:17 AM by weaselfeet (photos) – deleteblock user

    Are tans hot?

                                 

Comments (185)

  • Some tans, but not fake ones.

  • No.  They look baked, crispy, like they’ll die of skin cancer in 15 years.  That’s not attractive, its off-putting.

  • no…healthy looking color is okay..but bronze looks fake and eventually will look leathery

  • Not really. Especially not if it looks unnatural.

    -Jared

  • unless a person is naturally bronze, not really.

  • Yes, tans are hot.  That same body with pale skin would look just average.  I had that body and I never looked that good.

  • Natural tans are.

  • not on her, her face is too fair… it just looks fake

  • I really don’t care….but what I do HATE are tan lines!

  • I think tans are attractive, as long as they are real, and they are not overdone.

  • No, they’re so fake.  I wish the bright orange girls I see walking around my campus would realize this.

  • I don’t always think tans are more attractive unless the person tans that way naturally.  I do believe though that the reason a lot of people tan has to do with shadowing of muscle definition.  Since the swim suit portion is actually *supposed* to be a prove fitness, this would help the contestant look better.  If she were more pale than she is, I don’t think her abs would have shown up like that on a stage. 

  • A natural tan here in Oklahoma is only from the neck up and elbows down.

    Her tan looks much better.

  • That same body with pale skin would look just average.  I had that body and I never looked that good.
    Posted 1/31/2007 3:23 PM by LOMLs_Snowflake_Loving_Wife

    Speak for yourself!  I’m super fair and I’m also pretty hot.  People appreciate natural beauty more than something you can buy at a tanning salon or in a bottle.  And EVERYONE tans now, so all these super tan people look so boring and average and just like everyone else.

  • I love the way a sun kissed chick looks in a bathing suit. I hate the way the cripsy brown leather chicks look who lie in tanning beds all winter. The natural sun highlights the cheeks and shoulders, while tanning beds just give you that all over same brown look and makes skin look older.

    I think her tan would look better one shade lighter at least. Girls seem to overdo it a lot nowadays. A natural tan just looks healthier than pale skin.

  • I definitely didn’t buy it.

    And too tan with too light hair, no, not hot. But neither is too pale.

  • [She's too tan by my standards, btw]

  • Tans can help hide blemishes etc and make you look a little thinner but over all, they aren’t that hot. Healthy color, now thats hot!

  • i like my paleness

  • Ok I guess no one is going to believe that i am darker than that and I don’t ever use a tanning bed. yeah it looks like she does though too prefect

  • You’re right, she’s not hot at all.

  • I prefer the golden sun-kissed color (slight tan)

  • It can be overdone, but tans often make people look better.

  • She’ll regret it later in life when her skin is thick and hard like leather. She’ll regret it when her wrinkles set in sooner than everyone else’s.

    It’s depressing what people will do for the gratification of the now with no regard to future ramifications…

  • only if it doesn’t look fake (like in the picture)

  • not in my opinion…
    but most people think i am norwegian.

  • Ew, no. Unless it’s natural. It looks good when you’ve been out in the sun all summer, just running around. But fake tan like that looks odd.

  • Can you get turned on by pigment? If so, that answers your question otherwise once again consumerism

    has shoved insignificant products down the assembly line.

  • I don’t think so!  One of my sisters was always tanning.  She was brown from late spring to early fall!  Now (25 years later)- her skin is like leather in texture!  It is awful!

    I don’t think tans are attractive anymore…  It is much healthier to avoid the sun’s rays and wear sun-block when you can’t!

  • Only if you are born with one! Or tan naturally. Otherwise… let your real self shine through!

  • a natural healthy tan works on some people, some people look better whiter… but in general, especially with how many girls way overdo it and look either gray and ashy or sickest of all orange make me want to puke.
    Michael

  • mm.. i think tans can make someone look more alive and sometime’s prettier, but tanning until you’re black or your skin turns to leather.. idk. you can overdo it very easily. and i think her tan is overdone.

  • nope, not at all.  especially in the middle of winter, it just looks funny.

  • A natural glow of the skin, yes.  Sitting in a cancer bed for hours and days so you look like someone painted you with brown paint, no, that’s not attractive in any way.

  • No.

    But you might want to remove the “block user” option from the links. Because if anyone is signed in and clicks on it, it blocks the user from *their* site…

  • It depends. Some people look really washed out if they don’t have a little color. some people (like the blond hair blue eyed bimbos I know) tan so much they look like aliens. I can take it or leave it. I just naturally get a little darker in the summer.

  • Oh, if it’s a natural tan, it’s okay.  But the fake ones or the overly “baked” ones are kinda bad looking.

  • No….this coming from a fair-skinned person. I like darker skin but only if it’s natural. If people just happen to spend time outside and tan that’s okay as well, but they should still use sun screen.

  • Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder  . . . .  or something like that.

    Personally, it seems a wee bit Barbie doll-ish. And fake.

  • I’ve never seen the appeal in tanning at all. I’ve never seen the desire to expose myself to skin cancer by sitting in a tanning bed/booth. I just don’t know why tan skin seems to be so in. Well, not tan, but more orange. It’s ugly!

  • hmmmm…. not that tan!! but yeah…

  • my sister and i are tan at different points in the year. as persians, we tan really easy.  My sister tans (tanner than the picture up there) and in the winter i tan (dont ask me why, but im always the tannest in the winter).  Tan can be pretty when it’s natural. im always jealous of my sister because the color looks so good on her.   If you were made with natural skin, thats the way it was supposed to be.   Its the same with hair.  Love what you got because they look best together.

  • Healthy color, fine by me. But that is pretty fake looking, needs to be a little lighter.

  • and as clarrification, we both tan NATURALLY

  • Might at 22 but wait until you’re 42 and ooooh you gonna wish you hadn’t done it.  Boot leather skin is not sexy.  And not healthy.

  • i don’t like tan in a can
    or faker bakers

  • natural tans from working in the sun or living in a sunny environment is better looking.
    or if you are greek or mexican or something like natural like that

  • Woohoooooo, OKLAHOMA!!  Back2Back!! 

    But no, that shade is too dark.

  • not in my opinion

  • i mean, yeah, like others have said… natural tans are, but when i girl looks like the lives in the tanning bed it is kind of disgusting.

  • Depends.

  • not the orangey kind of tan

  • Natural skin color looks good.
    If you’re black don’t bleach your skin.
    IF you’re white don’t tan.

  • Depends on the person.. especially the hair color. I’ve only seen one blonde EVER pull off a tan, she was damn sexy. Other people? Not so much.

    A reasonable bit of sunning looks nice, but not those awful fake tans.

  • pale isn’t necessarily ugly, but I think that a little bit of color looks good.

    A friend of mine is actually friends with her.

  • Paleness is better. But hey, that’s just the opinion from a girl who can’t find makeup pale enough to match her skin tone!

    Anyway. Tan isn’t healthy, OBVIOUSLY. Nor is it natural. And if they think it’s hot, then that’s their choice, but it’s only going to be a couple of years until they start getting wrinkles. Tanning = wrinkles.

    And skin cancer, too, of course. But unfortunately, too many people care more about the wrinkles than about the skin cancer.

  • I think a light tan trumps a chalky white complexion any day, but going overboard looking like a bronzed trophy or an Umpa Loompa is overall the worst!

    I just have to say it…OKLAHOMA 2 YEARS IN A ROW BABY!!!
    We’ve obviously got some of the most attractive/intelligent women around! lol

  • they are all right, they cant be overdone, and in the wintertime just go white for christs sake. But i wont complain in the summer.
    derek

  • Oh, I almost forgot to add. If it’s naturally darker, that’s fine. That’s normal, that’s healthy, and that’s pretty, too.

  • on some people
    but never if it’s extreme
    that is a bad tan

  • I don’t think most deep tans are attractive. I like fair skin.

  • i think tans can look good. id probably look alittle better with one.

  • Tan helps for darker haired girls, but lighter skin goes better with lighter hair

    I don’t think I’d mind if she was lily white, I’d still hit that.

  • not if you’re george hamilton or bob barker…*lol*…snort snort…*lol*

    they could be, especially if they are natural, like mine is!

  • Dunno. People like tanned looks because we would perceive it as healthy type of person who goes out for things that would involve going out. But I could be wrong.

  • If they’re even

    and natural.

  • Natural tans are. Like, when you go swimming all day. Not lay out out & bake in the sun.

  • if it’s natural looking it’s hot
    obviously orange fake tans, or people with fair skin tanning far too much is unattractive to me

  • i dont know, all i know is that bigger girls (like me) can look hot and “think” if they’re tan, but pale (like me) they just look disgusting.

    at least i think i look gross. and i would look way better if i wasnt flippin welsh…. not that i mind being welsh, but we’re like the palest nationality ever.

  • Natural tans are attractive, but fake ones are… fake.

  • being tan is slimming & therefore as necessary as shaving your legs.

  • I think that having some color can make a person more attractive! I don’t believe in being chesnut brown but some color isn’t bad!! I HAVE A GREAT IDEA FOR UR NEXT POST IF UR INTERESTED!!

  • Only if you tan naturally. It looks stupid when people have tans and they don’t match.
    Cheers,
    m

  • natural, really light ones are hot, relatively speaking(or I’d like to think so, considering I get one every summer whether I want to or not). dark ones or fake ones aren’t. hers is probably actually fake-really expensive fake tan salons can spray the body so that certain shadows are created to make a person look slimmer, their muscles tighter. blah, vanity.

  • I think it depends a bit on the person. Some people can sport more of a tan than others. I am rather pale, but I would look fake otherwise. Also, really overdone or orangey looking tans are disgusting.

  • What seems to be “in” right now is the dark hair and the fair skin…

  • I don’t know…..I guess it doesn’t really matter. People do look better with their natural skin color, though. But I don’t mind tan people.

                                                                                                                                       -KrIsTiN-

  • I don’t know, but the day white skins becomes hot, let me know!

  • RYC: Unfortunately I think that mentality is at its height here, where 40 hrs a week is a “light” schedule, and it’s just ingrained into everything and everyone (hubby’s boss used to have a sign in his office that read “I don’t care which 80 hrs a week you give me”)

  • Her tan is definitley uneven….but I don’t think tans are hot. I don’t consider the pigmentation of the girls I’m into. That’s not an issue.

  • As to your question: tans are hot b/c they make you look leaner than you are. Darker skin accentuates muscle and hudes flab. It’s wierd, but true. It’s the same reason why black clothing looks so flattering on people.

  • they do help widen a base…

  • i’m naturally medium tanned and i still don’t get why a person who’s naturally fair would want to do that to themselves. i’d give almost anything to be less tanned and more lighter toned. because the whole “cup of java with lots of milk or coffee creamer” look is so totally overrated! i live with it everyday and it’s nothing to brag about. besides…

    there’s only so many colors i can wear with my type of skin tone. which, is a shame because i like the more darker shaded clothes over the pastels ones. having to wear softer, lighter colored clothing is boring. so i think you girls with the fair skin have it made. because most of you all can wear just about anything in color, practically. but once you girls go tan then your color choices start to become a bit limited to only a certain range of colors than the wide range you all have now while you’re fairskinned.

    anyway… i just think it’s silly is all. if you’re naturally fairskinned be naturally fairskinned! be who you are. don’t damage your beautiful skin by using those tanning beds! you girls are pretty just the way you are.

  • If you call baking yourself like a turkey hot, then yes.

  • I don’t mind a little tan, but a bunch just really bugs me and turns me off. I like people the way they are, no need to make them change.

    Technicolor.

  • depends… well first of all, she is not attractive.  second of all, tans are good in the summer, as long as they look natural.  i mean, nobody is tan in the winter!  even naturally tannish people fade some!  her tan looks dumb, but i suppose if you wanna be miss america you have to be tan.  anyway though, yes, they’re considered hot, but i don’t always consider them hot.  i will say this though– if a guy has a tan, he’ll probably look more attractive to me.

  • I like a little color, as long as it’s not fake.

    Those girls with really dark brown tans and fake bleach blonde hair are so unattractive, it’s not even funny.
    It’s actually kinda gross.

  • it makes them look skinnier, and it helps with the tone outlook.

  • Tans must be hot….because I do not tan!

  • all over fake tans are nasty but white legs with blue viens are nastier…so some tanning is needed.

  • I prefer it. Tan, indian, arab. :D

  • Ewh. Her face is really white but her body is tan

  • I would normally say no..but there’s this one kid in my school who’s obsessed with video games. One of my friends is friends with him and she says the one time she went over, they sat in his basement and played video games. That’s all he does all day except go to school. And let me tell you…HE IS SO PALE. So pale that I can’t help but cringe every time I see him because I swear, he is the same color as a sheet of paper. It just looks gross.

    So a little color, which would be considered a little tannish, is hot.

  • Just a little bit. Anything that’s more than natural-looking is horrible.

  • I tan all the time…do you think I went too far?

  • Yes tans are hot!   I love tanned bodies! 

  • A light tan can make someone look healthier, but I think often times, people overdo it and end up looking like they fell in a vat of orange/brown paint.

  • not across the board.

  • I can see the point of a very light tan, but I’d never push anyone to get even that much. Besides, when I see a girl who doesn’t tan, I don’t get images of orange skin dancing through my eyes. I’d think they’d go through a fortune between tanning and makeup to cover the tan up.
    Dr. Carasco

  • No, rarely. Plus if its going to kill you…

  • No, tans are not hot. Pale ivory porceline skin is, like Scottish chicks have…

    ;P

  • I’m all about the natural.

  • For men, tan’s are good you know to show muscle definition. Otherwise, there’s obviously a middle ground here, so you’re not pasty but you’re not looking like dried leather either. Up here in Alaska everyone is as pale as it gets so a little color every now and then is nice.
    I personally think Miss America is pretty hot though.
    -David

  • tans cause skin cancer

  • If the person is naturally tan. But fake tan can start to look bronzey and fake. Or worse… orange. Thats always unfortunate, when you see the orange fake-’n-bakers.

  • I’m tan, not by choice, and I have never gotten any good publicity for it.

  • when you know the tan is natural (from race or just the summer) or if you know they were spending time outside doing something other than tanning, it is sexier because they don’t seem as vein to me. but she is just “fake baked” in that picture.

  • I don’t think so, but there was a time when I was very tan….and lots of chicks dug me…
    Now my skin is kinda pale, and not a single girl likes me right now :P

  • I live in Hawaii and am tan just from mowing my lawn………….hey almost everyone here is tan……

  • And, since I have the right: Go Oklahoma Girl!

  • I think she is uber pretty.  At least she’s not burnt orange like all the girls at my high school.

  • thats way too fake.  i hate seeing girls that look orange and leathery,  theres got to be a healthy and nice looking balance somewhere

  • I think tans are pretty, but not like the lady on Something about Mary, some people take tans too far.

  • I think they can look good on some people. Natural tans are nice, but that orange stuff is just horrid.

    Other people, like myself, look good with pale skin.

  • If you are active outdoors and get a healthy, natural glow where the sun hits your features and you look fine, there’s nothing wrong with that. What’s sick and twisted is people who line cancer machines all months of the year so they’ll look attractive. Someone should give them a reality slap in the face.

  • You’re asking the wrong person.  I couldn’t tan, even if I wanted to (too darn fair), but now that I’m in my30′s, I’m already noticing that my skin looks younger than some women my age who spent time baking in the sun. 

    There’s no doubt she’s a beautiful girl, but the tan looks unnaturally dark with her light-colored hair.  That’s my two cents. :)

  • I don’t know.  I wasn’t looking at her tan.

  • P.S.  I just read my 8yr old [son] the question you asked, and he said, “I think that tan is a little too hot.”  Hee, hee.  I didn’t tell him what “hot” means in this context.  I’m enjoying his innocence. . .while it lasts. ;)

  • I really hate tans.
    And I don’t think she’s very attractive anyway.

  • ryc:  I did!  I did it a couple of months ago but I finally had a pic of me that I didn’t loathe. 

  • Not really….but damn she sure is!

  • If my mom read this I know exactly what she would say:

    “Why does [the] white man want to turn dark and we (most guyanese, indian, etc.) want to turn light [skinned]?”

    *sigh* She has a point if you actually think about it. Hard. And without logic.

    My family’s weird…

  • I don’t think tanning should be an issue. A beautiful person is a beautiful person whether they’re pale or tan. It just happens to be that our society favors tan.

  • She’s so hot right now…

  • yeah, tans will be real hot when we all turn 60…. and look 70.  at least she has something to her and isn’t a lollipop gal.

  • tan looks healthy… but then in Asia, tan is a sin.  women fear the sun like a plague.  when you don’t have sth, you woud want it.

    i don’t like women with muscles in their tummy and arms and legs though.  now why is that considered sexy?

  • Normally they do not look very good but there are a few cases when it does and this is not one of those special cases.

  • My roomate’s sister is miss Colorado. She didn’t make the top 10 though.

    And yes, being from Va Beach I think tan is pretty sislin’.

  • No way. That chick looks like (insert random four letter word here). Pale is the new tan.

  • depends…..if it’s natural from the sun yea sometimes but if it’s the spray on kind no

  • yes if you want to look Mexican

  • Only natural tans that you got by laying in the sun.
    ((I prefer to get my skin cancer the natural way, thanks.))

  • Honestly, I think pale girls are really much prettier if they’re white.

  • Now you can get special spray-on tans that use different shades to make muscles appear. Someone sprays tanner on to sculpt your tummy, legs, etc. So……I think her abs are fake.

    And tans can be pretty, but (personally) it’s better on a person who is outdoors and naturally gets a tan. Fair can also be hot – Nicole Kidmon, Marcia Cross, Reese Witherspoon all look great without a tan.

  • And I despise a dark tan with too light hair. It looks like you’re fake and your name is Candy. There are few cases hair should be lighter than your skin.

  • She’s gorgeous.

  • No. I think pale skin is so gorgeous. Seriously. I wish my skin was fairer.

  • If you have to ask, that means you’re not qualified to know

  • natural tans on certain people can be attractive.

    fake tans however,are disgusting.

  • dans are disgusting. i love pale, milky-white skin.

  • I think when they look natural they are.  It is when they look all leather like that looks bad.

  • Moral of the story is let’s be happy in the skin we’re wrapped up in!  :)

  • being natural and cancer free is hot
    however i have a perma tan…i’m asian
    i’m brown year round

  • I guess it depends on how she got her tan.  Our summer tans help bring a nice, healthy glow, but I have a feeling this isn’t it.  Not sayin’ she isn’t pretty, just that it probably isn’t natural.

  • Natural tans are…

  • it depends. natural tans are hot. whereas fake tans aren’t. at least in my opinion.

  • I think pale is sexy, but that’s just me… Unless it’s someone with naturally dark skin. Hispanic and black girls look sexy as hell too with their natural skin colors and tones. Those of other nationalities also look sexy their natural skin colors and tones. Scorching ones flesh seems strange to me.

  • No.  Fake, orange tans are not hot.  A little color looks nice, but natural looks better.

    I love the way a sun kissed chick looks in a bathing suit. I hate the way the cripsy brown leather chicks look who lie in tanning beds all winter. The natural sun highlights the cheeks and shoulders, while tanning beds just give you that all over same brown look and makes skin look older.

    Posted 1/31/2007 3:29 PM by Twist2daRav3n

    What she said

  • A little bit of a tan is nice but not that baked look.

  • NATURAL tans are hot. People who have naturally tan skin (no sun needed) are hot. A tan in which someone spends hours upon hours lying at the beach is a respectable tan, because of their patience. I think. But those people will get cancer. So that pretty much sucks all the fun out of it.

  • it turns your skin to leather. how is that sexy?

  • Well, this is very encouraging…

    Some people on here are saying they’re pale… I’m not just pale. I’m white. I’m porcelain doll white. I do not have any shade of tan in my skin whatsoever (except for a couple freckles maybe), and I couldn’t even if I tried. Fake tans would just look bad on me. I have very dark hair and very blue eyes though, so the combination has ways worked pretty well for me. Never stopped me from attracting guys.  

  • I think whether or not your face looks completely colorless and washed out also contributes. You can be very fair, and still have a little color in your face.

  • I think tans look nice, but not that one.  She’s too dark.  A few shades lighter would’ve been much more attractive and healthier looking. 

  • Tans are hot on certain people.

  • I’m of Welsh descent: blue eyes, pale skin, dark hair. I wouldn’t wanna lie in a tanning bed, mostly because I don’t tan…I BURN…. However, if I was competeing in the Miss. USA pageant, I would  get an air-brush tan, like this chick probably did…not because I wanted to fit in but because it highlights your muscle definition, and helps you to “show” better in a bikini. Gosh…The swimsuit competition in Miss. USA is sort of a little like selling meat, isn’t it? I think they should have to answer specific political questions and demonstrate their skill at ballroom dancing…wouldn’t those be better skills for someone who represents the feminine aspect of our country to have? The fact that we must make sure these  ”abassadors” (cause they are..in their own way) look hot in swimsuits is a little disconcerting if you think about it…yeah, I know that’s how Miss. USA started, as a swimsuit competition, but it’s become a lot more than that throughout the years to a lot of people…I think part of the reason it’s ratings have fallen in the past few years is because of the swimsuit competition..Women, who are the ones that are more into the competition, get slightly annoyed by it…What do you think?

  • I think the natural way but getting in a tanning bed isn’t good plus it looks gross and overdone.

  • I think a light tan can make one look healthier, but bronzed is too much of a good thing–part of the media ‘shoulds’.

  • Her body is bronze, yet her face is a few shades lighter.

  • not really. unless naturally hot sure.

  • No, natural is sexy.

  • a natural tan looks nice … the fake bake tans look stupid and icky and cancerous

  • Tans look good when people naturally tan that way, but not when it’s overdone or obvious that the person is more naturally pale. It’s just silly, sometimes, the way that some people can try to get tan just because it’s considered “hot” when they really look fine or even better without it.

  • shes wearing way too much make up. her face is like three shades lighter than her body!

  • Yeah, Miss Oklahoma two times in a row! We met her at a NSU talent competition a couple of months ago. She wasn’t bronze or tan, but quite fair. Perhaps this is a lighting issue.

  • no. and that smile is not real either.

  • it depends. if it looks way too bronze or leathery, than no, but tans are generally attactive.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *