July 26, 2007

  • Discussing Harry Potter

    As I go around to different sites, I notice that people are struggling with talking about Harry Potter.

    Photo

    I don’t mean they are struggling to say they read the book or talk about all the hype.  I mean they are struggling to talk about the details.   They want to talk about the book and the ending.  But they don’t feel like they can give it away to those who are not done reading.

    So you have the most dedicated fans in sort of a rock and a hard place.  They are done with the book and now they can’t talk about the details of the book.                           

    Is it now safe to talk about the details of the Harry Potter book?

                                                                   

Comments (126)

  • I personally don’t care…. so if they want to.. sure

  • no… i had jury duty this week so i had to work nights so i’m only halfway through. ;)

  • Hmmm… Not really. lol I have recently suffered from this problem. I have a sister in law who is a fast reader to… I should call her. lol

  • Remember when everyone was excited about Star Wars?  It’s always somethin’…

    I don’t see why not… talk it up…

  • Darn… I was SOOO close to being first… that was almost as exciting as reading the book…

    Is that a Dan fan clun thing

  • I would ruin the book for people.  Just to teach them a lesson about being so hardcore.

  • No for I have not finished it!

  • no! im not done yet!!

  • No way. I’m done with it (I read it all on the Saturday it came out), but I’m waiting a few weeks until I talk about it.

  • I don’t care. Harry Potter never really interested me…well except the movies. But I’m not a big fan of magic or wizards or whatever.

    When I read my subs, I kinda get annoyed reading the harry potter post. It’s everywhere! Dan save meee!

  • I’d say a month from the release date is all the time people should get with something this popular.

  • Yes.

    I have been.

    People reading the book should know that the internet will most definitely have details about it, so they should avoid the net.

  • No a lot of people haven’t read the whole thing yet

  • It all depends on the individual.  Some people read faster than others.  My friend and I read the book in about 24 hours, yet one of my older friends will not be able to even begin to read Deathly Hallows for another week or so.

    Before discussing it, at least ASK the person if they’ve finished to polite.

    It was such a relief when I finished because I knew my best friend had done the same.  We talked for a good while about EVERYTHING regarding the book: whether our predictions came true, events that made us laugh, events that made us cry, and the overall satisfaction of finishing.

  • D: No. My dad and friends are still reading it, but I finished already.

     But that IS totally unfair. I wanna talk about this book and everyone’s keeping things all hushed. @__@

  • Only if you put up a spoiler warning.

  • No.  All of us that have finished the book shouldn’t be giving out details just yet because there are some people who haven’t.  I don’t want to ruin the fun for those people.  It really upset me that all the spoilers and hacked copies where on the net.  It’s just stupid for someone to want to ruin a the book for someone else.

  • Well, JK Rowling did interviews for NBC, the first of which was on the Today Show today. She’s talking about it openly, and I think that we can start doing the same. I do think spoiler warnings would be nice, though.

  • should be.
    i mean, i finished it on sunday.

    most avid fans/readers are probably all done by now.

  • The stupid book was crappy as hell. Nothing happened that was such a terrible surprise. All this ‘secret ending’ crap was bull.

  • I’ve seen several blogs where they mention they’ve ordered the book, but haven’t received it yet…maybe the people that have yet to read it and don’t want to read spoilers should stay off the internet altogether. That’s what I did…didn’t want to chance accidentally reading how it comes out! I got online before the end of American Idol (we were watching our recording of it just a half hour or so behind the live version), can’t remember exactly why, and saw bigger than life how it turned out. Total bummer.

  • I hope so!!  It’s driving me crazy!  I finished 5:30 AM Sunday morning… I want to talk details!  :)

    I have seen blogs where they just put spoiler alerts before they discuss.  So if you’re not done reading the book, and you read the spoilers, that’s your own fault.  Besides, if you’re not done, what are you doing on the computer?  Go and read!!  :)

  • well, with a spoiler alert…at least.

  • I would say to wait a week. That’s given everyone fair time to read it.

  • I’d say sure.
    If people haven’t read the book yet then they’re obviously not too big of Harry Potter fans because most of the fans have long since been done.
    Of course, there are exceptions- some people just don’t have the time. Which, I’d say if they have time to be on Xanga then they have time to read the book.

    But, whatever.

  • I say discuss away.

    The epilogue was crap. She killed off a certain character when she set it up to kill off another. Those were my two greatest disappointments. She should have left it alone at the end of chapter 36.

    Now, that is my review. Great (with the one small glitch of character-killing that I disagree with) until the epilogue.

  • I could give two shits! I’m not reading it and I’m tired of hearing about that fairy shit! LoooL.

  • Had I known them I would have been telling everyone I knew about the details before it was even released. Harry Potter is a scourge on society.

  • As safe as it is to talk about God sending sinners to hell, I suppose.

  • They should be able to talk about it, just warn people of the possible spoilers.  Seems easy enough. 

  • I am not a reader of Harry Potter, but I wouldn’t go around spoiling the ending for someone else who hasn’t had the chance to read it.  I would give it another day or two.

  • i REALLY desperately want to.

    but everyone snaps at me everytime i try.

  • No! Because I am a most dedicated fan, and I haven’t gotten to start it yet, because I didn’t have the money to buy it the night it came out.

  • Nope.  It’s not safe.  I  haven’t finished yet.  :Þ

  • Yes, most of the addicted fans have already finished reading it.  I’m not even a fan and I’ve already been informed by my addicted sister who died.

  • I don’t know – I’ve been told that it is, but I still wouldn’t do it.
    I guess as long as you mad sure to tell folks that there were spoilers in your post, then you could talk about it.

  • Yes, just say there are spoilers so if people find out the ending it’s their own fault.

  • I am definetely having that problem.  I have just 2 friends who have finished reading it and I’ve only been able to gush to one of them and that was online.  It’s quite frustrating.

  • I havn’t read the book yet and I am afraid if I buy it I will skip stratight to the end hehehe

  • It’s a two week rule. Nothing should be said about the ending until 2 weeks after the book’s release. At this point, it is safe to discuss. =]
    So Obey the 2 week rule Dan!

  • not yet…a lot of people have finished it (including myself =]), but not everybody. give it a week or so.

  • The biggest fans should be done by now… But I don’t discuss it with any of my friends w/o asking if they’re done first.

  • on my xanga, when i talked about the details of the book, i had a spoiler warning in bigger font. i think it’s okay if you warn people.

  • no, but on harrypotter.com there are message boards that are labeled with spoiler warnings so
    people can talk about things and not spoil it for others.

  • NOOOO!!  Don’t tell me anything!!!

  • I think after this weekend it is safe to talk about Harry Potter more openly but with warnings about spoilers.  On the message board I frequent most often we are using highlight-to-read spoilers.

  • I’d say it’s relatively safe to start talking about the details a week after the book debuted. I still tend to put “SPOILER ALERT” up so that people will know that I’m about to divulge details.

  • I think people are taking the book wayy to serious.

  • my daughter bought the book the evening before last, started reading it that night, went to work yesterday, came home and stood up all night reading that stupid book (’til 6am) and alas, she completed that whole stinkin’ book!

  • WHO CARES DAN!!! This HP craps is getting old. Get new ideas!

  • Absolutely not. I for one am not done reading the book. I think there should be a waiting period of at least a month or two before the details of the books can be considered fair game for public discussion.

    Or those Potter fans can create their own groups, message boards, to discuss with each other. Just be sure to put SPOILER WARNING in the title.

  • Some families (like my sister’s) only got one copy of the book and are taking turns reading it. I won’t put any spoilers on my site until I know my sister has finished reading it.

  • NOOO! lalalalalalalalalalalala…I’m not listening because i haven’t read it yet!!!

  • *yawn* Harry who?

  • no. i haven’t even bought the book yet cuz i don’t have enough money. life sucks!!!

  • Sure, just mark it as spoilers or black out the important words or something. The people who care will know not to read then…

  • I halfway agree with NikBV.  There was nothing in that book that didn’t surprise me (except for how many typos there were).

    To be honest, I’m getting a bit tired of all of this hype still continuing on.  If you want to talk about the book, go ahead, but don’t expect me to read it.  XD

  • sure, just put a spoiler warning at the top. if it hasnt stopped them before it wont stop them now!

  • What they should do is make a post saying that their comment section of that post will be for harry potter discussion and that you shouldn’t click on the comments if you haven’t read the book. Then those who’ve read can discuss, but those who aren’t done get a good spoiler warning.

  • not really. I’ve been talking about it for two reasons only: 1) if someone asks and really wants to know, or 2) if it’s on a public discussion board, usually on Facebook. I had a good conversation about it yesterday though–my aunt called because she couldn’t remember which items were Horcruxes. Fun stuff.

  • Am I the only one who does not like Harry Potter? I am so sick of it.

  • NO! For Pete’s sake, cant people wait a little longer? The world is not a safe place when it comes to Harry Potter, anymore.

  • No! I’m on page 463.

  • RYC – playing this game: http://www.mapmsg.com/games/statetris/usa/
    Use arrow keys (up arrow rotates the state) and space bar makes it drop straight down really fast.

  • I say it’s safe to talk about it, but be sure to let anyone know before you do so if they haven’t read it and don’t want to be spoiled you won’t ruin it for them. I think it’ll be a couple months before it’s safe to just talk about it as if anyone who cares has already read it.

  • I worked 7 hours just before the HP book came out. I then went and sat in Borders for two hours waiting for midnight. I then drove a couple of people home, and wound up at my house (quite tired) at 1 AM. The following day (Saturday), I had to work from 9AM-10PM. Sunday, I worked 11:30AM-7PM. I was finished with the book by 1AM Monday- 48 hours after I got the book, with over 20 hours of that spent working.
    Other people don’t have much of an excuse if they truly care about the book and haven’t finished it by NOW.

  • I heard that Harry Potter gets date raped xD

    but I stoped caring about potter when I was about 11.

  • Have you heard about the missing pages..

    pretty interesting.

    I can’t decide if I wish my book was missing pages or not.

  • Yeah. For me anyway. I mean, most hardcore fans should’ve finished it within the day! I finished it in 10 hours, so cheyeah/

  • It would seem spoiler alerts would be prudent.

  • NOOOOO! J/K. (Rowling) HAHA. Whatever, they can do what they want.

  • yeah, i finished it in 24 hours after the second it was released.

    the ending sucked, by the way.

  • NO! I have to wait for my sister to finish reading it before I can have it! And she is a really slow reader… So no, talking about it would be bad!

  • Tell everyone who isn’t finished that they need to read faster…

  • No! I’m done with it but let the people slurp all the Harry Potter goodness by themselves!

  • well, some of us go talk with our friends outside of the computer :)

    I think it’s fine as long as you clearly warn in the very beginning that there will be spoilers in your post

  • Who cares – get a life people

    but i am now reading Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring…
    i guess i should stop cause i know the ending from the movies..

    lol

    Daniel (doubledb)

  • yes, even tho i haven’t because there has already been so much talk about it.

    i believe that the true fans would have finished by this weekend. and the ones who haven’t should know to close there eyes when the topic pops up online

  • Not until I finish it, thank you very much!

  • Please no, I haven’t even started :(

  • I’ve seen people spamming the ending all over the internet.

  • Not yet… I still see folks carrying it around on the subway. 

  • I notice most people who already read the book usually give out warning to readers before they read further..  Common courtesy for others that haven’t read the book yet..

  • im the only one out of my friends who have finished it. i’m so excited to talk about it

  • Yeah. Those of us who haven’t read it yet can just avoid reading the reviews.

  • just ask before you start spilling… simple as that

  • Yeah, you’ve got about 36 hours to read it, if you’re not done by then, too bad.

  • No I’m only on page 413, 414 . . . . ..  .

  • nineteen years later…..

    I cried a little.

  • You can actually get a cliffnotes version on wikipedia.

  • i feel THE SAME WAY! i am telling my sister to read it now, so i can talk to her about it. & otherwise, i always ask if someone has finished the book before going into a discussion about it. for hardcore fans, yes its safe, because they have probably finished it. otherwise, WAIT.

  • Dude…it’s been out for almost a week. Even if you can only spare an hour a night instead of TV to read the book, you oughta be done by now. And if you’re that slow, then stay off the internet. The first weekend was definitely the only time the subject was off-limits.

  • ugh i just found out that a certain ELF dies, and i won’t be able to read the book until november

  • Ok so some losers told me all about it even before i bought it. which was a shame cos i wanted to find out myself.. i guess when people spoil it – its not the same :(

  • Sure because what about the people that don’t read the book and a solution would be to put WARNING HARRY POTTER SPOILERS before you type anything

  • I’m personally not done with the book yet, almost.

    But I think it’s alright for people to blog about it as long as they make it clear that there are spoilers in their blog.

  • no!  i still have 100 pages.

  • well you’re right, if there is any spoilder and I read it carelessly, it will affect the mood.

  • Sure, its safe… but I think its best to make sure whoever you are talking to about it is done the book, or doesn’t intend on reading it anytime soon and doesn’t mind you spoiling it for them. I hate when people tell the ending of a story or some big detail, its such a pain… its really just better to be courteous and respect peoples wishes… At least, thats how I see it.

  • there’s a very good reason fans like myself don’t talk about the details of harry potter… J.K. Rowling (the author) formally requested all of us (fans, critics, and media) to give the whole world two months before ranting openly about harry potter and the deathly hallows. the two month period is to give EVERYONE a fair chance of discovering the light at the end of the very very very LONG tunnel all by ourselves. it’s kind of like respect for the person who gave us the magical world of harry… i mean who are we to destroy the hopes, dreams, and guesses of other readers with whom we took the past six-book journeys with?

    it’s like with father christmas. it’s common knowledge that he doesn’t really exist… if other people tell it to others (especially children) and shatter those kids’ dreams, well that’s their problem… but if you told your toddler and pre-school cousins two weeks before christmas that father christmas doesn’t exist and tell them the cold hard truth of it all, you just didn’t give them knowledge, you destroyed every hope and dream and wish they could possibly have… but it doesn’t mean you shouldn’t explain this to them… it’s just that you should say it at the right and proper time… when they can it’s ok for them to know the facts and when they can truly accept it…

    same goes with hp7… telling everyone the revelations in that book too early defeats the purpose of the long wait we’ve all endured together… so we rant incoherently in our blogs without revealing the ending… knowledge comes to those who seek it… for the spoiler seekers, they can search for some hp spoilers online. but we don’t want to be the ones to spoil the wait of other people… especially those kind enough to drop by our blogs and read our entries…

    hehe! God bless!

  • Never heard of it.

  • 我路過架,歡迎入黎我個網頁睇睇,有小遊戲玩,又有論壇,如果你有NDS仲可以去下載遊戲玩

    http://www.hk-p.ch

  • 我路過架,歡迎入黎我個網頁睇睇,有小遊戲玩,又有論壇,如果你有NDS仲可以去下載遊戲玩

    http://www.hk-p.ch

  • this is very good website for you

    http://www.sendmoreinfo.com/ID/3093422

    please click it and join the member~~

  • this is very good website for you

    http://www.sendmoreinfo.com/ID/3093422

    please click it and join the member~~

  • this is very good website for you

    http://www.sendmoreinfo.com/ID/3093422

    please click it and join the member~~

  • I’d give it another week.

  • No.  Not yet.

  • after i was done reading the harry potter book i went and was telling my mum about it. then now i have to wait till my sister is done because we split the book price in half and then i wone and was able to read it b4 her.

  • after i was done reading the harry potter book i went and was telling my mum about it. then now i have to wait till my sister is done because we split the book price in half and then i wone and was able to read it b4 her.

  • DO YOU WANT TO KNOW WHO DIED? well, I’ll tell you. But some simply don’t want to know. My freind Shelby has a teaddition with her family of reading the HP books aloud, And that takes a lot longer than simply reading to oneself.

  • Id say certainly not! Be fair to the younger children that take a little bit longer to read such a long book! It’s only been a week damnit.

  • i red it

    we can talk about it

    it is out

  • No, I’m a slow reader.

  • NOOOO!!! I didn’t finish yet!! I just got the book mon.!!!

  • Just put up a big red spoiler warning. If people can’t read that, too bad for them.

  • lots of people just read what happened though, they actually didn’t really read it. i think they should ask the person if they’d like to hear. i always ask my friends if they mind hearing.

  • Hey! You’re right you know! I myself finished the book early and had to wait for everyone else to finish! Good observation, I must say. I hope everyone’s finished reading it by now!

  • I havent talked about the book with my parents yet or a few others that I know that are working their way through the series.. dont want to spoil it for them. The book was great though..

  • Heck no, it’s only been a week.

  • Absolutely not. I finished on Monday and then accidentally let slip someone who died to a good friend of mine who I thought was done before me because she’s such a Harry Potter nerd. She pitched a hissy fit at me and threatened to cancel our friendship.

    ….

    Harry Potter has made us all monsters. O____O

    Luckily my friend “forgave” me after a long row about it. I don’t think it’s safe to discuss the ending.

  • No, it’s not “safe,” but I just stayed away from such conversations and offline completely until I finished it. It will be more and more up to the people who don’t want spoilers to finish the book before they can be spoiled out of malice or by accident.

  • From where I come from, everybody is interested in the movie, not the book… (my friends and family are more interested in Chinese books and unfortunately, I can’t complain about it cause I not a big fan of what they fancy…) So, the problem I’m facing now isn’t whether or not I am allowed to discuss about it but it’s whether or not I find SOMEBODY to discuss it with!!! LOL…

  • I really couldn’t care less.

  • It’s killing me. I want to discuss with people about certain details, but it’s so hard to find people who have read it and I respect that some people haven’t finished and would hate me for ruining it for them. : /

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *