Month: November 2007

  • Worse or Worst

    1.  That is the worst book title ever.

    2.  That is the worse book title ever.

    Which is correct?

     

     

  • Signing Bonus

    I mentioned this in my photoblog a week or two ago but RaVnR reminded me of the issue.

    The U.S. government is requiring wounded military personnel to give back signing bonuses because they could not serve out their full term.  The military will give signing bonuses of up to $30,000 to get military personnel in certain careers to reenlist. 

    Some of these men and women are getting injured in the war and they cannot serve out their terms.

    For example, Jordan Fox has to pay back some of his bonus.  He was injured when his vehicle blew up from a roadside bomb.  He was knocked out, had a back injury and lost all vision in his right eye.  The injuries stopped him from finishing his commitment.  Here is the link:  Link

    Do you think military personnel injured in the war should be forced to pay back their signing bonuses?

    Edit:  I received this link from Paoguy118Link

    Apparently the letter was sent out inadvertently and Jordan Fox does not have to pay back the signing bonus.

     

  • Christmas Tree

    I received the following message from lilsoccerchika:

    “For those of you who don’t know, my dad’s funeral was held the first day of my sophmore year of college. We’ve made it through one major holiday , but I think Christmas is going to be the hardest.

       I’m having a hard time on an issue. Dad, Rebecca, and I use to put up the tree together. The three of us would put the fake branches into the fake trunk and fan them out. Dad and I would untangle all the lights and take care of those, then normally Rebecca would decorate with me putting on ornaments here and there. Then generally, dad would lift either Rebecca or me to put the angel on top. Mom, at this time, would normally be in the kitchen cooking or somewhere else around the house taking care of things. She didn’t normally help, but she enjoyed it all the same.

       I’m willing to put up the tree, there have been people ((who we all trust and are okay with helping with things)) to help put up the tree, but every time it is mentioned– mom starts to cry. Just as well, I’m sure we’ll all be crying by the time the whole ordeal is done if we are to do it.

       I dont know if I should go ahead and put up the tree, do it all myself or with Rebecca and just let her cry it all out and deal with it– continue with the tradition. Or just let things be, continue decorating the dorm and not put up the tree.

       I don’t want to put my mom in a situation where she’s completely uncomfortable and she doesn’t want to deal with something like that at the house at all, but I also wonder if maybe she realizes that Rebecca and I can do it for ourselves– everything is going to be okay.

       I guess the best way to handle it is to just sit my mom down and talk to her about how she feels about it, but I don’t really like making my mom cry and I dont think I’ll get an answer from her.

    any suggestions? put up the tree or just wait till next year?”

    Should she put up the tree or just wait until next year?            

                                                                                         

  • Sex Discussion

    I have always been surprised at how uncomfortable people are in talking about sex.  I mentioned before that my mom explained sex to all of us kids at an early age.  I am convinced that I knew more medically about sex at the age of seven than most kids in high school that were actually having it. 

    My mom had a mom that lied to her about everything.  So my mom decided in all things to be honest with us kids.  Her mom’s mother lied to her and cheated on her father.  My mom decided it was a better plan to deal with sex like she dealt with any other issue. 

    It is interesting to me that God actually created sex.  It was his idea.  Hold on to your seat for a moment.  I actually believe that God is the one that created the orgasm too.  It may be my upbringing but I have never struggled to talk about sex. 

    It has always been my understanding that there was never a command in the Bible against talking openly about sex.  (I have read the entire Bible over 30 times).  The idea of not talking about sex or making it a private matter in my opinion is man made.  The thing the Bible talks about is making sure that sex happens within marriage.  Any reference to sex being a private matter will probably reflect the preference of the person than what the Bible actually teaches.

    I think most people would do well to educate themselves more on the topic of sex.  They would do well to read about it and become the best at it.

    Do you consider yourself comfortable in talking about sex?

     

  • Penis Size

    I got this message from someone on myspace:

    Are girls lying when they say that size doesn’t matter?

     

  • Tasing a Pregnant Woman

    The FBI is investigating an incident where a policeman used a taser gun on a pregnant woman.

    The woman went to the police department and was trying to get police officers to take custody of her 1-year-old son.  The woman decided to leave and the police officer tried to stop her.  He took her son out of her hands.  He said she resisted arrest and forced her to the ground and used a taser gun on her.

    The police officer said he did not know the woman was pregnant because she was wearing a winter coat.  Here is the link:  Link 

    I am not sure what the big story is here.  Police are able to use a taser gun on anyone else including fat people and it is only a fetus in her body.  It isn’t like it is a real life.

    Do you think police should be able to use a taser gun on a woman they know is pregnant?

     

  • Naughty or Nice

    A poll of children was released that said Britney Spears and Paris Hilton should be on top of Santa’s naughty list.

    Photo

    Hannah Montana topped the list of “nicest” among children 2 to 12.  Actress Angelina Jolie was picked as the “nicest” by teenagers from 13-17.  Here is the link:  Link

    Looking back at this last year, would you describe yourself as being naughty or nice?

                                                                            

  • $1 Million

    Timothy Elliott won $1 million in the lottery.

    Photo

    His problem is that he is a convicted bank robber who violated his probation when he bought the lottery ticket.  Part of his probation was he “may not gamble, purchase lottery tickets or visit an establishment where gaming is conducted.”  The talk is now that they may stop payment on his 20 annual payments of $55,000 checks.  Here is the link:  Link

    Do you think he should receive his lottery money?

                                                                                       

  • Jail or Lashes

    Would you rather get 40 lashes on your back that take 2 minutes or go to prison for 30 days?

                                                                      

  • 40 Lashes

    I was just reading a description of what it is like to get 40 lashes.

    Here is one man’s story:

    “Then I was told to lie face down on a rug on the floor, still wearing my prison uniform.

    The lashing started immediately. One, two, three – in quick succession. I buried my head into my forearms, gritted my teeth and concentrated on not breaking down.

    The man lashing me was the tallest and biggest of the three policeman.

    He was supposed to have a book – usually the Koran – under his arm to reduce the swing and stop him from lifting the cane above his head, but there was no sign of it.

    Four, five, six, seven – they kept coming thick and fast. At first the pain wasn’t too much and I could feel where he was hitting me.

    The blows were raining down on my body, from the shoulder blades to the calves, then back up again.

    But with each blow, the skin softened and the pain grew and grew to the point that my whole back felt like it was on fire.

    Soon it was unbearable, but they kept coming, mostly on my left shoulder and calf. I had to summon up all my control not to move.

    I didn’t realize the human body could generate and tolerate such pain. I had never felt anything like it before, and I hope I will never feel anything like it again.

    At about 20 I lost count because I was in too much pain, but someone else was counting each stroke out loud in Arabic.

    I had to grit my teeth even more and screwed up my eyes.

    I was determined not to make a sound and to lie perfectly still.

    Only one of us would leave this room with their dignity intact – me.

    After a while I had no idea where he was hitting, even though my clothes were getting torn. The last ten strokes were agony, bloody agony.

    I thought I was going to pass out.

    Then just as quickly as it started, it was over. Thirty to 40 seconds was all it had lasted. I was left to stagger to my feet and walk out.

    The first person I saw was the prison governor. He said: ‘You are still alive then?’ I replied: ‘Yes, I’m fine.’

    I was shaking uncontrollably, but just glad it was all over.

    Although I’d been given a medical check before I was beaten, there was nothing afterwards.

    A fellow inmate counted the marks on my back and there were scores of weals – blue and black, surrounded by yellow swellings and extremely painful. Any movement set them on fire.

    I couldn’t lie on my back for days and, two weeks later, I was still in pain.

    Today, the scars have healed, but I will never forget the ordeal.”

    Here is the link:  Link

    We already have capital punishment here and we use taser guns.  I am sure that looks cruel to people of other countries.  So many appear to agree with spankings.

    Do you think it would do our country some good to begin giving lashes?