April 9, 2009

  • Do Bloggers Blog for Themselves or an Audience?

    Recently Vanedave ran a debate called Xanga Debate Tournament on his site.  I asked him if I could jump into the debate.  I proposed that we should have a team debate after the finals. Dave and the winner of the tournament (CallmeQuell) vs. Me and SecretNeverTold.

    Dave’s response to my proposoal:

    “Bring it on b****!” (edited)

    So here now is our special team debate. The topic: “Do you think the typical blogger on xanga blogs for him/herself or for their audience?”

    After you read through vote for which team you think argued their point most effectively. Remember you are not voting on who you like more or which side you agree with. You are voting for who supported their opinion the best.

    Team A  Thetheologianscafe and Secretnevertold

    Although most people blog both for themselves and for an audience that can provide feedback, the typical person on Xanga joins precisely to gain an audience.

    Our reasons for concluding this are as follows:

    First, the thing that sets blogging apart from keeping a private journal is its public nature; the thing that sets Xanga apart from other blogging outlets is that it is geared toward the community and networking potential in the blogosphere. Xanga is unique in this respect. When bloggers could choose to register with WordPress or Blogspot, they choose Xanga, because of the almost instant audience its features can provide for nearly any blogger.

    Second, Xanga’s tagline is “the blogging community.” The word “community,” associated so closely with Xanga, denotes communication (same root word), sharing and participation. This means bloggers on Xanga expect and even hope for an audience and feedback for their posts.

    Third, of the estimated 40 million Xangans worldwide, the vast majority of those have at least a portion of their site publicly viewable, which on Xanga is an open invitation for feedback — an implicit approval of and wish for an audience, no matter how small it might be.

    If Xangans did not at least subconsciously wish to have an audience, they would either keep their thoughts in a written journal, in Word documents, they would make their posts private, and/or they would turn off their comments feature.
    Most do not make their posts private; many of those who do, mix them with public posts.
    It is extraordinarily rare to run across a Xanga site that has disabled comments.

    Fourth, the vast majority of Xanga features are audience-oriented, by which we mean they are designed to better meet bloggers’ needs and requests by helping them gain, track and respond to audience/reader feedback. Examples of such features include Plugz, Featured Weblogs, Top Blogs, Groups, Feedback Logs and the automatic “Add as Friend/Subscribe To” button that pops up when commenting on another site.

    Finally, the frequent virtual caterwauling among Xangans about who got featured for what and why their post should have been recognized instead of so-and-so’s clearly indicates an acute hunger among many Xangans for blogging audiences.

    These five points demonstrate pretty clearly that the typical Xangan, by his or her very affiliation with the community, deliberately blogs for an audience.

    Team B  VaneDave and Callmequell

    It’s hard for me not to argue that this question is one of semantics, because I could easily make the point that even blogging for an audience is blogging for one’s self. The only people I can think of who truly blog for others instead of themselves are those who are either marketers (so, actually BLOGGING FOR OTHERS), or who have a blog solely to disseminate information, whether about tech trends or what events are coming up in a youth group or who only blog what their audience tells them to.

    Though it may appear at first glance that most of Xanga blogs for an audience, it is important to consider this: you are part of the audience; thus, you are more likely to encounter those bloggers who actively blog for an audience. However, the truth is that the majority of Xanga is composed of those who have a blog for themselves, those who don’t have a mass following, or perhaps even any at all. Some of them may discuss important topics, some of them may talk about their day, some of them may combine the two, but all are posting for themselves. The vast majority of Xangans use it because blogging is a primarily self-involved activity, as it is meant to be. You find something YOU want to discuss, and YOU yourself discuss it. In fact, even some Top Bloggers can be considered bloggers for themselves instead of for an audience. When you look together at the vast mass of Xangans who maintain a blog purely for their own eyes and those for their own expression, you will find that the true number of those who blog for an audience, while perhaps a loud and well-seen bunch, is actually a small percentage of who Xanga is as a whole.

    Team A Rebuttal  Thetheologianscafe and SecretNeverTold

    Sure, blogging may be a self-involved activity to some extent, but it is certainly not purely that, for almost anyone. An example of an absolutely self-involved activity would be journaling in a book nobody ever sees or knows exists. Some might make the argument that it’s quicker to type than to write, and that this is why people blog; that argument holds no water, however, because they could just as easily (MORE easily, in fact) type their thoughts into Word. In other words, unadulterated self-involvement and public blogging are mutually exclusive concepts; you have one or the other — not both.

    To say, therefore, that there is a “vast mass of Xangans who maintain a blog purely for their own eyes” misses the point entirely, because the idea of a “private blog” is directly contrary to the public, sharing nature of the Internet and the blogosphere. Such an argument ignores and marginalizes those people who may have relatively few followers and a small audience. They, however, just as legitimately as the Top Bloggers, seek affirmation through audience, participation, and/or through the belief at least that they may find they are not alone and their thoughts are not trapped in the vacuum of their own heads. They hope, by posting their thoughts and work on Xanga, that other eyes will find it. Because you are right, we are all part of the audience. Few people are more aware of this than the typical Xangan.

    To further support our assertion that Xanga is geared toward bloggers who want an audience, Pete Cashmore, a writer for Mashable, said even as early as 2006 that Xanga has unique blogging atmosphere. “Unlike bloggers on the open web, Xangans have a ready-made audience for their writing,” he said.

    The reason most Xangans put their thoughts in this public forum, accessible from anywhere in the world, is they are seeking that ready-made audience. Many may have no idea what kind of audience they want or will attract, but most hope to find like-minded readers or viewers. They hope for dialogue and encouragement. They may not proactively market themselves on Xanga, but their very existence in the Xanga blogging community betrays at least part of their motive is to garner an audience.

    That said, it would be dishonest to say any blogger with a public site blogs solely for him- or herself. The typical Xangan always takes an audience, real or potential, into account when posting.

    To reinforce our earlier observations:
    First: Bloggers as a group post publicly specifically for an audience, real or imagined. If it were not for the audience potential, these Xangans would keep Word documents filled with their thoughts and stories and it would have the same self-fulfilling effect. The fact is, that activity does not satisfy Xangans, and that is why they are here.

    Second: Bloggers join Xanga specifically for the audience it provides, and Cashmore’s statement provides outside support for the “ready-made audience” for which Xanga is so popular. The community is what makes Xanga unique, and what draws many people in and keeps them. They don’t leave, because Xanga provides them with much-sought-after feedback and encouragement.

    Third: We have shown through empirical evidence that the vast majority of Xangans leave their sites public and leave their comments features on, in hopes an audience, no matter how small, will find them.

    Fourth: Xanga’s own policies and features such as Blogrings, Featured Weblogs, automatic “Friending” and the like, cater to the audience-driven needs of its bloggers.

    Finally: Many active Xangans talk excitedly about who gets recognized on Top Blogs and Featured Weblogs, as if it were some great achievement to earn “Xangalebrity.” And in a sense, they are right. It is an achievement that most bloggers would feel honored to receive.
    But don’t marginalize the unknown bloggers in this wildly public community, for they also have an audience. And as Dr. Seuss might say, were he still alive, “an audience is an audience, no matter how small.”

    This is why we stand firmly resolved that the typical Xangan blogs for an audience.

    Team B RebuttalVaneDave and CallMeQuell

    At first glance it would appear that this question is a no-brainer. Most xangans do yearn for feedback. Most do hope to connect with others no matter if its 1 person or 1,000. Who really wants to be alone here?

    Here’s the thing. Just because someone craves feedback does not necessarily mean they are blogging for an audience. Everyone wants someone to connect with them. When most xangans put their writing out for others to read they are trying to fulfill a need for themselves, not for their audience. Just because someone doesn’t do something in private doesn’t mean it’s not strictly for them.

    For example, if I go to a support group, I am sitting with a group of people and sharing my experiences with them. The support group could be considered my “audience” in this scenario. I might be very interested to get their feedback and to hear that others in the group went through similar experiences. Does this mean I attended the support group for my “audience”?

    If most xangans write for their audience, then they do a terrible job at it. Most do not write regularly, most do not promote themselves, most do not give a second thought to what their demographic is. There are only a small percentage of delusional bloggers (like vanedave for instance) who might cultivate their writing for an audience. The typical xangan just writes what they feel like writing when they feel like writing it.

    There is a very gray line between blogging for yourself and blogging for an audience. Ask yourself this; When you sit down at your computer to write a new blog are you doing this for yourself, or are you doing this to please your audience? While some may answer for an audience, the majority of xangans will undoubtedly answer that they do it for themselves. The fact that their audience may enjoy what they wrote or connect with it only makes the experience all the better for them.

    Which side made the better argument, Team A or Team B?

                                     

Comments (198)

  • Lol, omg! A real post!

    This is a real comment!

  • I can’t decide!
    are you on twitter? connect me! http://twitter.com/chrispycrunch

  • that was too long to read.

    But I mostly blog for myself. But if people are reading, they should comment sometimes so they aren’t being a total creep.

  • Why does it matter?

  • Potato. :D

    And I don’t know.

  • TEAM B FTW!!!!

    It’s not even close.

  • Yay, I can actually comment on a post of yours again.  =]

  • tl;dr… alright, so I actually did, but damnit, man, that was too long for a post by you. Don’t catch me off guard like that.

  • sometimes for myself and sometimes for others

  • Damnit follow instructions people. Team A or Team B.

    Hey Dan right now my one vote is carrying it.

  • I voted for quellers because she’s my faghag.

  • It is a thin grey line. Everyone obviously blogs for themselves, but if they didn’t crave input from others, they wouldn’t be on here. Gonna have to go with team A on this one.

  • I didn’t really enjoy voting in those debates after a while.

    But I will say that someone who blogs for themselves to the point of bragging about it- I don’t blog for readers! at all!- might be happier putting their site on friends lock or something. Nobody has any business putting their work put there in the open and then saying it was intended for private eyes.

    Professional writers sometimes claim “I didn’t write it for you” too. Which is really unreasonable, since they’re getting PAID to write.

    Writers want to be read. It’s in their nature. When someone makes it clear that they write with no desire for an audience, all they are doing is telling everyone that they are not writers.

  • @vanedave - Now it’s tied! :)

  • Haha, it’s here, it’s here!

    I vote team A, based on organization and making a conscious effort to strengthen their rebuttal in spite of the fact they had to rebut first. But B deserves mad props too.

  • Hmm. Team A made the better argument.

    But personally, I think the average blogger does it both for themselves and for the audience.

  • wow.. Team A …
    got me pretty well in the rebuttal

  • Don’t know, don’t care.

  • I really enjoyed all those photos! 

    My vote goes to Team A, for the strength of their argument and the use of the word “caterwauling.”

  • @vanedave - How’d those protein shakes and five-mile runs do for ya, Dave? ; )

  • Team B made the points that I would have made.  I blog for an audience, but that is blogging for myself, because I’m not really doing it for them; I’m doing it for my interactions with them.

  • Neither. I balance between the two.

  • OMFG WE CAN COMMENT AGAIN.

    I vote B =P

  • Wow, I’ve never seen a blog about blogging!

  • Team A had the better argument, but I agree with Team B’s position.

  • Team A, in a blowout. In defense of Team B, I got the distinct impression that they did not truly believe the position they were stuck with, so it was an uphill battle for them.

  • definitely team B!

  • I tend to say Team A had the better arguments…

  • Team A  had the easiest to defend position. And did a good job with it.

    B did a great job with a weak position.

    Leaving me undecided about who did a better job, but Team A is right

  • While team A’s argument was more linear, I think team B wins it because they acknowledged the thin line there is between the two.

    Really, I’d say this whole debate is based on a false dichotomy. You can blog for yourself AND for an audience. It doesn’t have to be either or. Team B came close to this, but they didn’t quite hit it on the head.

    So, Team B FTW.

  • @wherethefishlives - I know, seriously. Who’d a thought?

  • I blog for myself. I’m who I want to be on Xanga, which is myself. And Xanga is the only place that I can be myself so I yeah I do blog for myself….

  • Team A, we’re all attention whores at heart <3

  • Gah! You WOULD have to make this difficult wouldn’t you? If I based it on the opening arguments alone, Team A would walk away with my vote, hands down. But you HAD to throw in the rebuttals, right? Grr.

    Team B, FTW

  • I don’t care about the better argument.

    Team B is more accurate.
    I blog for myself and to connect with others.

  • Team B came back in their rebuttal, but they needed more points; even though their arguments were logical and convincing, Team A just had more arguments and reasons.

    I vote Team A.

  • I blog primarily to practice my writing and to keep myself writing every day. If people enjoy what I write, that’s great. If people never notice my little piece of web space, that’s fine too.

  • I’m gonna say team B.  The part about the “going to group” got me.  Team B… totally!

  • that was a hell of a lot to read

  • T E A M       A !

  • My vote is definitely for Team A. 

  • the size of this post was so awesome, i could only stare.

    so i didn’t read all of it =P

  • I’m going Team B. Like was said before, Team A had the easier position to defend. Team B had a weaker position to defend and did so very convincingly. It is on the strength of that alone that I vote B.

    Great points all though!

  • mmm, personally I started blogging for myself but I probably wouldn’t continue if it wasn’t for the few people reading them.  Then again I might add an entry here or there that I wouldn’t really want anyone to read but idk… doesn’t really matter.

  • I blog to open the minds of those who read my blogs to the possibility of new ideas. I am not here to change your mind or tell you what to think just offer options in the hopes that it will create conversation.  I am never set in my ways so much that I cannot see the advantages of another persons view and all I ask is the same from others.  Be open minded enough to discuss an issue openly and honestly and I will do the same. Period!

    Great post by the way!

  • Ok, I didn’t read all of that; but when I joined it was soley for myself, like an online journal. Now it depends on my day. Sometimes I need an audience, and other times it’s my online journal again.

  • I vote for Team A……but team B put up a good fight.

  • Though I’m not on Xanga, as a blogger I would say that it serves both functions. Perhaps it is best seen as a narcissistic motivated communal action. They feed off each other. We communicate with others to make ourselves known.
    Perhaps I’m too philosophical but the question that may need to be asked is “Can (and do) humans act altruistically?” Team A would say “Yes”, Team B “No”.

  • I blog for myself and those close to me. When I first joined xanga, it seemed that’s what most people did – it was simply an online journal to connect with your friends and family and write about your thoughts or your day. (Hey, it’s better than myspace and all that other crap – I’d rather write posts to my friends than writing out text-message-notices and taking emo pictures.) It didn’t have all this featured content, it didn’t have TRUE or LIFE, it was nothing like it is now. That was back in the beginning of 2004. Perhaps blogging for your friends and family counts as blogging for an audience, but I don’t think it falls under the same category as the way you are specifying ‘audience.’ I do it for myself – to remember my thoughts, first and foremost – and for the ones I love. I don’t think that’s the same as blogging to get attention and comments. It’s a journal for yourself for your loved ones to read.

    I think xanga’s really changed. It’s great to have all this featured content that I can read and reply to, but honestly? I think it’s also annoying to have the audience-mentality surrounding xanga. So many people seem to think that ALL blogs are random-audience-oriented, and that’s just not so. The new featured stuff is great, sure. Although, really, a lot of it is, to put it plainly, ‘half-assed.’ Seeing standardized blogs on the front page with a picture, a paragraph or two, and always ending in the same, “Blah blah what do you think?!?” question. It’s unoriginal, and it really gets old reading featured blog after featured blog that seems to be following the same template just to get attention. And yeah, some of them are really interesting, sure.

    Eh, /rant.

    My point is, I like featured content, but I also miss xanga being friend- and self-oriented. This isn’t the same xanga I joined. And that’s fine, but I miss being able to actually connect to people. I rarely get people on my blog who are actually interested in getting to know me, other than friends, and when I do get comments, a lot of them tend to be “Hey this is interesting but I’m totally just posting here so you’ll look at my blog, man.” When I started xanga, if I got a comment from someone I didn’t know, they were actually interested. That’s not often so anymore.

    And dear God, mass-friend-invites from all these crazy blahblah-ish blogs are incredibly annoying.

    Ok, so what I think? When you blog for the ones you love, you’re definitely doing it for yourself as well, so you would be a team B. When you blog to get comments and attention, you’re A. When I think about my time on xanga, I remember all the great entries that I want to go back and read for myself all over again. So I’m on B. If you go and think over your time on xanga and head to the comments instead, you’re probably team A.

    I like B’s argument, but yeah, there is a fine line between the two. I guess my main concern was off-track with your ending question. Oh well.

  • I’m already kicking myself for not kicking their butts over topicality. I wanted to give them some leverage, and this is what I get?! :p

  • Well that was way too long to read. All I know, is that I only blog for myself…and it’s pretty obvious.

  • @SecretNeverTold - I have a stomach ache and sore ankles.

  • i vote for the A-Team.  i’ve been saying that since i was 9, of course, but THIS time has nothing to do with Mr. T.

  • @TheBigShowAtUD - That’s right, Matthew — maybe this time it has to do with a little Special K? ; )

  • I cannot believe I read all of this.

    Team B.

  • Team A :]

    this argument was so hardcore O_O

  • i do both, but as of lately it has been for the audience. 

  • What the hey? I didn’t get a debate invite?

  • wow, really interesting!! i have actually been thinking about this question for a while… and i wonder which one is more true for me.

  • I am gonna have to go with team A. Though I am disappointed that there wasn’t a third category of blogger. You know, those of us who blog for our pets. My cat really enjoys when I put up new post with pictures.

  • Team B gets my vote. Team A had some good points but the repeated the points in their rebuttal from the first argument, whereas team B actually rebutted.

  • little bit of both.. 

  • team A completely.

    well said.

  • Team A for me. They explained every aspect there is, and even provided sufficient evidence. Go team!!! >o<

  • It was tough, but Team B came out in the end. :D

  • Team A.

  • Much as I hate to do this to, Team A. I’ll now go weep in the corner. 

  • this is a REALLY hard decision..
    team A?
    it’s good to see you posted, by the way.

  • welcome back, asshole.

  • dude i dunno. i’m a weird xangan. my blog is set to friends only and i have 0 friends LOL so..

    and i’ve been updating it for almost three years… (daily!)

  • Damn it, I was with Team A until Team B’s rebuttal! Sold, for the price of eggs in China, to Team B’s impressive persuasion and ability to attract the most logical conclusion. *Modest clapping ensues*

  • I blog for myself and I don’t really mind if someone’s reading or not reading my posts. I stand for B.

  • when i see footprints on my xanga… 

    i block the users cause i’m creeped out.
    so i guess i do it for myself.

  • I subscribe to column B…

    If I cared what people thought so much, I would wear Ambercrombie and Fitch, sandals with socks, a fidora, and an iPod. I would also smell of Axe: prescribed to 14-year-olds and David Arquette.

  • Both teams did really well but I think Team A did a better job. It totally convinced me~

  • um sorry i did not really read it but i totally blog for myself

  • Team A. Definitely Team A. 

  • TEAM A got this.

  • I have to say I agree with Team A. But I must add that this post was a hell of a read!! 

  • A Xangan since January, at first, I blogged for myself, and I left comments unlocked out of curiousity of what people thought about what I posted. Now, when I make a new posting I do take into consideration my audience, because every blogger here has some distinctive  group of readers. Every blogger is talk show host in a way; it takes to find out who your talking to you though. So i’ll go with the Team A theory. I actually have an audience, a small one, through google not Xanga.

  • depends on the person..one day can be for others and one can be for yourself

  • I think it doesn’t really matter but I do it for an audience and every once in a blue moon I do it for myself.

  • Isn’t this supposed to be voting for who has the best argument and not who you agree with? Some people here are like “I blog because of ____ so I vote ____” -_-;;

    Team A.

  • Team A :p

  • They were both great but team B had the harder position and made some good arguments, so I vote for team B.

  • @tjordanm - Geez, Tom! lol

  • Team B, because there are some of us who started blogging long before this site became a ridiculous marketing succubus of a nightmare. …even so, I’ll be sticking around…

    And although you asked to just express A or B… obviously we all follow directions well… it does stem from a desire to receive feedback and basically team A’s argument put me to sleep.  Just smoke and mirrors…   

  • Team A.  Although both made some pretty good points!

  • Team B had the more difficult side of the argument and portrayed their thoughts very well and gave more points to think about. Team B argued better. I blog for me. This means that his argument is proven correct. Of course, there are people who do blog for their audience. I think it’s a mixture of both, so both sides are correct. This is just my side of it.

    Both debated very well, but I do agree with Team B much more. I blog for me. Now, I don’t care who reads it since I do know it’s a public site, but I didn’t join Xanga for the “audience”. Only one of my friends reads it. I joined since it’s a place to let loose, get the inhabitants off my chest. It’s all about me and no one else. For a time, I even made all of my posts protected so it was a truly private Xanga, but I changed all of my posts back to public because I wanted my friend to read it and get it in her email. I don’t write to read her comments. I write or post pictures because they are mine and it’s what I want to do. If she didn’t read it, I would still be posting every single day. I blog for me.

  • Team B.

    Though both were really good, Team B’s got their point across just a little better.

  • @TheBigShowAtUD - damn I knew some people would vote for them just so they could say the A Team.

  • i blog for myself but if people want to read it thats definitely no problem

  • I’m not going to lie. I blog for an audience. I try to convince myself that I do it for myself when nobody shows up. Bastards…

  • Team B did a better job of supporting their position.  Team A did a lot of inferring as to why people blog.  None of which can truly be used as evidence. 

    For example, in the rebuttal Team A stated that they had shown empirical evidence that people who blog blog for an audience.  Unfortunately, no empirical data had ever been presented.  Stating that “the vasty majority” leave their blogs public is not empirical data.

    Likewise, pointing to the additional features that xanga provides is not proof of intent either.  Saying that bloggers are here for an audience because there are blog rings is not a case of A leading to B.  There is a trunk release inside the trunk of my car, that does not mean that I bought my car because I expected to be locked in the trunk at some point.  I do not blog because there are blogrings, there are blog rings because there are blogs.

    While the arguements for both sides were weak as this is a purely subjective topic.  Team B did not try and create evidence and did a better job of using logic to state their case.

  • team a, no question.

  • team A definitely.

    one more thing to consider too; xanga is blogging after all which, though some people may claim that it isnt, is an activity done in the hopes that other people may read it. truly private individuals will keep a physical diary which they can lock up somewhere. bloggers tend to have an innate subconscious desire to let their entries about their lives be read by someone. its some kind of psychological cry for help, or to vent to any listening ear out there.

    Oh and, the fact that this post is blogged to be read by an audience too. Team A!

  • I have to say Team A.

    I don’t agree with A, but they did a much better job of articulating their position, and if I didn’t have an opinion they would have convinced me otherwise.
    For the record (not that it counts) I think that bloggers do indeed blog for themselves. Even requiring an audience is for our own satisfaction and pleasure. If we are blogging information that is useful to others it most likely fulfills the need to be appreciated for our usefulness. If it is personal information the need for feedback or affirmation.

  • thank you! i was hoping a post like this would finally come!

    i think team A gave the stronger argument, but i do agree with some of team B’s rebuttal. what i write is truly what i feel and believe, but sometimes i will censor it to a less extreme form because i am aware of it’s public nature. posts that i don’t want to censor or take time to correct grammar usually stay as private posts. but most posts are made public intentionally to share my views and get feedback.

  • team B got the semantics of it all correct.

    i blog with an audience in mind, but i don’t pander. i write about what i want to write about.

  • OPPS! I guess I was not signed in!

    Personally I’am not a big reader and rather read short articals.

    On my blog I try to put content thats educational towards marketing some scammy stuff I come across and yes my simple easy business and tools that are available.  http://carlreviews.blogspot.com  http://mymoneymarketingsite.blogspot.com

  • I think most people blog for themselves and having an audience is just a bonus.

  • dude you totally stole my idea!  i was gonna blog about would people blog if they didnt ever recieve any comments. 

    I blog for myself but i also enjoy my comments! 

  • Team B! (I’d be in team B)… but Team A supported itself very well. I started this thing to TRY and help others… I may be suckish at trying… but I thought from the heart… But there ARE too much people that are here for “popularity”…

  • So, what happened to AntiSoccerMom? Haven’t heard from her… in A long time…

  • team A

    team B ended well though, I’ll give them that

  • Team A made the better arguements I think,
    Though i think I can agree with Team B more.

    I myself write for a mixture. I tend to care about me when I write, but i do hope people see what I write and give feedback.

  • Who do we blog for? Ourselves or others? There are more groups, the random ones. You forgot the mental group and the “typing monkeys,” as the intelligent snots say. 

    I’m a stupid — yet learning, mental typing neanderthal-monkey that blogs because I think in delusion that projecting myself to, at the world is a good idea. 

  • I’d have to vote for team B for three reasons.

    1) They made a great argument and pretty much convinced me (I was originally in agreement with team A)

    2) In their rebuttal, Team A didn’t really address the arguments laid forth by Team B.

    3) Team A claimed to have used empirical evidence, and they didn’t really use any…they kind of just talked from their own speculation.

    While both teams did great, the award must go to Team B!

  • Strictly from a debate judging perspective and not from personal opinion on the topic. I think team A is the winner.

  • @jugglinjester04 - It might appear that way, because they only had one argument. To which we soundly responded. :p

  • Team B won me over.

  • DEFINATELY Team B!

  • wow, u actually wrote a lot this time instead of posting a link of a newsstory. 

  • Team A did a much better job arguing their point. I felt that that Team B could’ve done much better: like stating that the need for one to express himself to others is a compulsion derived from one’s self.

    But then again… that would kind of render the whole argument void- stating that blogging for an audience and oneself is the same thing. Lol, I’m horrible.

  • I don’t know but I blog for myself.

  • People blogging just to be heard.

  • I post to get my thoughts out.

  • Team B.  Sure Xanga wants to encourage the “community” aspect of their site, but that fact doesn’t convince me that most people on this site are looking for attention and most sites don’t get much attention. 

    Literally millions of blogs are started every month, at that rate in very little time who will actually read any of them?  Like the aphorism goes, “In the future everyone will be famous for 15 minutes” and as it goes in the blogging world…everyone will be famous to 15 people for 15 minutes. 

    My blog is more or less a public journal, a place I can get some thoughts out.  If people read my entries… fine.  If not… who cares?

  • Team B. Their rebuttal was especially good. I agree that the line is blurred, and for that reason, I’m not really sure if the debate really even stayed on the right path, because theirs not much of a path to follow.

    I didn’t choose Team B because I agree with them, but I do agree. I type most of my posts with the intention of walking myself through something that’s really confusing/frustrating/stressing me and most of the time, what I end up typing is incoherent– I usually have to go back through and read as if I were the audience and add stuff in so that people might have a chance of understanding what I’m talking about. I’m not sure which team you could chalk that up to. Also, a reason that I created this Xanga that didn’t have to do with getting followers and wasn’t mentioned: I like the idea of having a website where I can make it my own and have pictures, quotes, and easily-archived entries. I like the fact that I can change the layout whenever I’m feeling angsty.

  • In addition to what I said above and as not to give the wrong impression: I do like it when other people read and appreciate my blogs. 

    However, the same goes for when I play basketball.  Nearly every young person dreams of being a pro or a star, do they all stop playing as adults when the realize that their talents will not get them a contract or scholarship?  No, many continue to play and it isn’t because they are dreamers in denial either, people grow up and play to play.  Likewise, I play to play and blog to blog.

  • That went over my head, you make it too long :P

    but Team A imo

  • I get more readers at my other blog since I’ve pretty much given up on this one.

  • Team B… sorry Dan!

  • Team B.

    Some of the arguments Team A used were stating the intentions of the developers (slogan), when it really doesn’t matter what the intentions of the developers are in the first place–the argument is about the blogger.

    Team B.

    - John

  • @Naoko_Ai - I agreed with everything you said.. when I joined xanga it was nothing like it is now.. its changed quite  a bit .. I also use mine as an online journal.. just to put down my thoughts or how my day went… I definitely understand what you mean..

  • the xangans who blog for an audience usually respond to the comments like they are chatting and audience view counts are probably of them constantly refreshing the page to check for new feedback lol and they usually write something that’ll tick at least one person off so that they can debate about it. I have a private blog and a public blog, but I don’t use my blog for attention. when I need that extra ego boost I just post a sexy pic of myself on myspace for all my “friends” in my audience to tell me that I’m pretty

  • Team B, primary reason is for yourself, but other people reading/commenting is nice…like the support group analogy..

  • Team A.

  • “It is extraordinarily rare to run across a Xanga site that has disabled comments.”

    Oh my, I’m “extraordinarily rare.”

    Team B. Made fewer points, but they were dead-on.

  • The question needs to be re-phrased:

    “Is blogging for an audience the same as blogging for yourself?”

    Because clearly both of you agree Xangans blog to seek audience.

  • MOAR BOOBS, PLEEZ.

  • It was too long for me to read :P . But I blog for myself.

  • they both made good points but i agree more with a

  • Overall- Team A.  Team B raised some great points and did a nice play in trying to appeal to the reader’s personal feelings.  

    Interesting concept and nice use of Xanga- an open forum debate on the intent of Xanga users.  And then have the Xangans decide.  I particularly enjoyed that fact that you address a question I ponder myself now and then with my own blog.

  • I prefer Team B, in my opinion. They make the point that, sure, some people do blog for an audiance, but it is an audiance picked up, the site is not mainly for people to read it, just to get it off their backs. I seem to think Team A explains how a blogger could easily blog for an audiance, and ways to encorage audiances, but not really reasons as to exactly why people seem to blog for an audiance instead of blogging for themselves and not really caring for whether people read or not, instead of asking what people want them to blog about.

    ,but that’s just me, and i meerly skimmed through it, so, yeah. :)

  • TEAM A.

  • awesome post. team a.  i’ll prolly join in a bit myself…most ppl i’ve talked to abt blogging have said they blog for themselves AND an audience. especially the ones who really want to write in the future… i know i would be blogging for my self and an audience.

  • team A.  i mean, i stopped writing as often when my already small audience got even smaller.

  • To me, it seems on Xanga, that most blog to get an audience. There is sometimes that shock factor in their writings to draw a crowd. Almost like a tabloid you find on the magazine stand at the local market. Anything that is controversial will surely get a crowd here and it seems that there are those that bask in stirring up the stink. But I think that is a product of the the way Xanga is built, it is formed around the commuinty. It is like everyone is sitting in a big room waiting for someone to stand and blare out something, anything, to get something started. Then there is the joy in the confrontational interaction that follows. Comments then become like nicks on a bedpost. Somebody has to have the last word? Then there are those who sit quietly in some corner forming their own little community of friends. Doing their own little thing, oblivious to anything else going on. Then there are those who simply just put up things for others to read. There are probably more profiles of bloggers that I have missed that are here, those who put things up for family and friends, etc. I personally have Facebook for family and personal friends. And I have it locked to them only, with no community looking on.
    I personally could care less if I get any crowd at all here. I just enjoy having that little corner where I can just put something up, that I am, at least interested in, and make it look nice. To me, that is satisfying. If someone else is interested and wants to look, it’s there. I am that part of the newspaper that is there in the corner somewhere, while you are actually looking at the real content of the page. You may over look me, I’m the advertisment. And only people that are like minded will enjoy my stuff, believe me. LOL And in a community like this I will admit that I like reading other people’s stuff.

    I vote for team “A” They have it wrapped up with a bow. Or to say it in another way, “They have it nailed.”

  • I blog for myself mostly.  When I have something on my mind it sometimes helps me to relieve the distraction it brings by writing it.  That anyone reads what I write is certainly gratifying, and much more than I could have ever expected.  There are times when I feel a sense of over-weening vanity and feel compelled to write something “for readers”.  Whenever I do that, I find that I’m not very happy with what I’ve said or the way I’ve expressed it.

    So, I really haven’t answered the question up to now, so – (a) for myself, an online journal in a sense. I can get at it where ever there’s an internet connection.  Much more convenient that dragging a notebook around, which I’d likely lose anyway.  (b) as a coincidence, I alse write for anyone who might be drawn to read it.

  • Team A almost got me on the rebuttal because of direct quotes and enough points of evidence. 

    But the point of Team B in the rebuttal gives an excellent idea that counters that of the Rebuttal of Team A but it lacks facts and proof…

    However, due to the lack of strength in the rebuttal and argument of Team B even if they made a good point, I would go for  TEAM A.

  • @The_Aftershock_3650 - 

    You made a good point there when you said that most of the points that team A made were because of the intentions of the developers.  But the developers would not make the effort in developing such things here in Xanga if Xanga users do not ask for it…

  • What is the point of writing when no one gets to read it?

    When people write they seek to communicate.  But when they don’t have readers, it is like they are just talking to a brick wall…

  • To some degree, you can tell who blogs for an audience and who blogs for themselves based on the quality of the posts. I realized that’s more polite than saying you can tell by how bad the posts are.

  • what’s your argument, or are you even cognitive?

  • Hi

    I am from Brasil

    Visit my blog – http://wamata.blogspot.com

  • People blog for themselves- even if they are blogging to an audience it’s because they love the attention and that feeling of recognition is for them. So whether no one’s reading or everyone is, it’s all for the blogger. Team A for sure- in my opinion.

  • Team B. I blog for myself. I put it on xanga because I like the IDEA that if someone wants to read it, they can. When no one shows up or comments, I admit it’s a little disappointing, but it’s no reason to stop blogging.

    Team A had a much more substantial argument, but Team B stays truer to the realities of blogging and being able to hold an audience. I also really like the support group analogy.

  • Team A and Team B make very strong arguments. However, I think that they are both correct. I blog for myself, but in the back of my mind I want others to read my blogs and I read the blogs of others. I believe that for some of us, we have a desire to let others know that they are not alone in their life experiences, their struggles, happiness and matters of the heart!  Blogging with the benefit of an audience opens up a therapeutic platform that is physically noncomfrontational. Many of us Xangan’s find resolve and encouragement during our blogging journeys. Bloggers who post news articles and share other information, certainly blog for an audience. 

    This blog was certainly written for an audience’s response. If only Team A and Team B read this post, it would be very dissapointing to them as the writers of this post. So there you have it! 

  • Team A for the clear and strong arguments

  • All of us blog for ourselves….but want to please an audience.  It makes no sense to write your thoughts down (or jokes in some cases) and you don’t want people to notice, agree or disagree, that’s human nature.  However, the elite few that constantly appear in the ‘featured’ area, even with mediocre blogs are forced to please others to ‘keep their status’.  There are so many Great Bloggers on xanga that have wonderful writing talents….but they’ll never be ‘featured’ and are doomed to obscurity because they are not in ‘the click’ and don’t have friends agreeing to ‘recommend’ them.  It’s a shame, but that’s life.  For me, I know I’m not a writer, but even though I’d like the ‘junk’ I put out there noticed!  Both teams made sense though.

  • Team B – the word audience is the key here. The word implies people who read blogs as a source of information or entertainment . . . and while some here blog to satisfy (or incite) an audience, the vast majority blog for themselves as Team B pointed out. Individuals discuss what they choose to discuss because it is important to them. The feedback is sometimes pleasant, sometimes annoying, but ultimately irrelevant to the purpose of the blog.

  • I’ve been on xanga since 2003, before all of this blogging for people thing…..I blog to talk about my life and issues and offer people a sense of humor with my eccentric life…

  • I think I’ll go with team B on this one.  Still, I suspect that that’s got more to do with the fact that i relate more to their points than that i can definitively say that everyone else agrees with them more than team A

  • @saintvi - Ditto. I loved Team A for they used caterwauling. Whatever that is.

  • I’ll have to go with team B

    blogging for an audience necessitates a selfish desire to affirm oneself.

  •  I think I’m leaning toward your side, but I don’t know. I just do what I do, and I hope people like it, whatever that means.

  • Team B.  I love to write and express what I’m feeling.  I blog for myself.

  • Being a cross-examination debater myself, Team A holds the better argument. I look at this argument using the weighing system.
    Team A provided many arguments that Team B could not answer and/or compete against. In conclusion, Team A outweighed Team B.

  • Very few people actually read me so I blog for myself.

  • My vote goes to Team A…you guys have an argument that is much more organized. I do have posts that I write for myself or about myself but I do have posts that are topic oriented. It is interesting what kind of response you can get with certain posts even if they are just written for yourselves.

  • Will these interesting and cut little silver links of london bracelet draw your attentions? To links of londontell you the truth, gentlemen also have a great interest in delicacy and special little. It’s a good way to express your thanks and love to your father if you buy him Links of London as a lucky gift links of london jewellery which represents healthy and longevous or give. to your boyfriend to make him smile. links of london, the world-famous brand, promotes different kinds of links of london bracelet every season. Inspired by ve links of london salehicles, such as slip board bikes, electronic bikes, taxis, buses and so on, the designs of this season are lifelike, lovely and are unputdownable. And the designs inspired by animals and food are also detailed and different from the original. Sweetie Collection has been well received by the customers as the king card brand, its links of london charms representative work are the hand chains with different pendants as decorations. links of london braceletsWe make more styles of the of Sweetie by adding more different materials. Take freshwater pearl, pink crystal and shells for example, they are not humdrum even with no condoles on bracelets. Unlike the silver links of london bracelets, if we add gold charm bracelets into charm bracelet and links of london sweetie bracelet, they look more beautiful though they are of the same design as the links of london sweetie bracelet. silver links of london braceletYou may choose your favorite silver links of london bracelet from 18K gold and pure silver and others like links of london bracelets, sapphires, pink gem and white crystal stone as decorations. The new watches of charm bracelet are simple but fashion even though they links of londonare bracelets like and as the same design as the hand chains. We guarantee you that if you give the jewelries and watches of links of london to your father or your boyfriend, their unique charm and temperament will fully represent.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *