October 1, 2010

  • The Best Season

    When I was growing up, I always loved the Summer.  I hated the cold in the winter.  I was raised in Northwest Indiana right off Lake Michigan. 

    It would get so cold with the wind off Lake Michigan.

    But now I live in Houston and the Winter is not too bad even if it has a few cold days.  I don’t mind the hot weather during the summer.  The Fall is nice because it is perfect at night when we take our nightly walks.

    Which season do you like the most?

                                                          

Comments (109)

  • I like fall. Great tennis weather.

  • Fall. Fall in Minnesota is gorgeous.

  • Fall and Spring, not too hot and not too cold :)

  • Autumn, for sure. both home, in Jersey, and here in Arizona.

  • Fall and Spring, I agree with @timemeanslegend *two thumbs up*!

  • Fall, hands down. It is also bringer of the best food ever.

  • I love winter…b/c I love curling up by the fire and reading a book and drinking hot cocoa and snow!!! Its very great weather for having an S/O.
    And my other fav is fall!!!!! :) I love Fall!

  • They all have their advantages and disadvantages.

  • Summer!  All the other seasons are too cold.

  • I’m not sure. I have hypersensitivity to cold and can’t really feel heat, so I probably say summer. Though few things are more beautiful than the hills and mountains of Tennessee in fall. I really don’t know which I prefer. I can say that spring is definitely the WORST season though! Too much severe weather for my liking.

  • Spring for sure!  I love shedding layers and the air is so fragrant from all the flowers. 

  • I love fall but winter is my favorite.

  • Fall.

    Nothing beats the perfect weather.

    It’s like the final break of the heat where I live. Everyone gets so tired of the terribly hazy days that they love it.

  • Spring..for sure. 

  • Fall is my favorite. =3 Especially if it is windy.

  • In an Ohio autumn, you get about 50% nice fall days, 25% Indian summer days, and 25% early winter days. But those perfect hoodie-wearing, football-weather days make autumn the best season here.

  • Ahh, you made me pretty much jealous :(
    Here we got only 2 seasons, rainy and summer. Eventho it’s rainy, the weather sometimes is still hooottt. But I love seeing rain

  • Fall is the best b/c I was born in fall and first comes my birthday, then Halloween, then Thanksgiving and Christmas…good times! 

  • autumn. football and halloween and my birthday.

  • Summer! I hate the cold.

  • Definitely summer!

  • Baseball season.

  • Fall. It’s gorgeous in Ontario, where I grew up, with all the trees changing colours, and coating the ground with their golds and reds and yellows. Absolutely gorgeous. And the weather is nice at that time, too, not so hot, not yet cold.

    Winter’s fun too with the sun glinting off the snow. Especially if you don’t have anything to do but ski or snowboard. Or stay home all cozy.

  • I can never pick one.  This is why I love living in WI – all four seasons!  But, my favorite times of year are the transition from spring into summer and from summer into fall.  LOVE.

  • Winter! Snowstorms, furry boots, my big black embroidered wool coat, hot chocolate, NFL playoffs, college basketball… you can’t go wrong.

  • Spring and Autumn.

  • Season 5 from the Simpsons.

  • I grew up in Chicago, lived there 35 years and hated winter too!  Now Im recently (once again) relocated  and now in Northern California and love winter!  Ill take rain over snow any day!  Houston is nice in fall too!  We are fortunate to live in a country so beautiful and with so many climates to choose from! 

  • fall, for sure.  

  • Fall definitely. 

  • I like when the daytime high is around 75.

  • Fall is my favorite.  I love EVERYTHING about it.  Living in Michigan we get all four seasons which I LOVE but I would trade any of them for Fall all year long.

  • Fall- not too cold, not too hot :)

    I’d rather be cold than hot though…because when I get hot, I get really angry too >

  • summer bc my birthday and the awesome weather.
    but i absolutely LOVE everything about fall, too.<3

  • fall in New England is the BEST!

  • i like the fall weather the best, but spring is just so pretty. so i guess spring is my favorite season.

  • I don’t care what season it is, as long as I’m away from any kind of desert! lol

  • Winter.

    I love Cold weather.I was born in Winter.Christmas.My last name is Snow.

  • Fall.

    Always fall.  Spring is too moist and rainy.  Summer is too hot and sticky.  Winter is too cold and nippy.  Fall is beautiful.  Perfect breezes, not too hot, not too cold, temperature for a wide variety of clothes -> just beautiful.   Plus the GORGEOUS changing of the leaves, especially by my house, is breathtaking. 

    Fall is the best season.

  • Don’t know. Probably fall. It’s so sad.

    @greenbird321 - Yeah NJ fall!

  • I love fall but you are right a Texas winter isn’t so bad.  I’m starting to enjoy them more now that I don’t have to associate them with waking up at 6:30am to go to school.  haha.

  • autumn. It’s so beautiful here in the north east, and I love being able to wear sweaters and boots.

  • The season you were born in. ( not you in particular, but yeah)=D

  • @seedsower - winter is mine too. I like snow!

  • I always liked Spring and Fall, in that order. Summer has been forever ruined for me.

  • Autumn!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  The colors, the changes, the crisp air, the activities, and just the fact that things indoors and out get a fresh take and changed out from summer.  Summer is great but Autumn brings a cool relief and plenty more activities outdoors!

  • Fall, Winter and Spring.

  • I love the winter.

  • Summer and fall. Even though I hate the cold, I dislike Spring.  Too mushy. 

  • I am actually an all season kinda gal. No faves in my book! (which is why I would hate living in New Mexico or Alaska. . . either too hot or too cold. I love my varying seasons.)

    I actually change into different people in the seasonal change. Right now, I am in transition since it is fall. Fall and spring are transitional seasons while Summer I am fun and flirty and Winter I am mellow and homely. My hair changes, my clothes changes, even my hair products and make up change. Summer I am more so in a ‘fro and Winter I am either in braids or straightened hair.

    Gotta love the seasons!!

  • WINTER!! but that’s because i lived in southern california my entire life and i get excited when i see weather that isn’t making me melt in a puddle

  • Fall and Spring.

    I hate really hot or cold weather.

  • BTW,  Hooray for HOOSIERS! 

  • There’s a particular period of time that lasts somewhere between three days and a week that comes around only once a year.  Just after the snow has melted and the sky has cleared.  The buds have not yet formed on the trees, and the sun ekes out an existence in the pale sky.  There’s a feeling, not unlike that first, crisp breath of autumn, of being unable not to notice the world in its beauty.  And one can see for miles, it seems.

    Anyway, that’s my favorite.

  • I live in the United Kingdom,   so I prefer the summer when we get nice weather,    summer we now go to Mexico for our holidays.

  • I always loved fall the most. But a close second is winter. The weather is perfect in the day in Kansas where I’m from.  BUT. Since I live in Texas..I’m gonna have to say winter. Cause the “fall” days are still too hot. Though…it’s still way better than the summers here. lol.

  • The fall…I hate the summer.

  • I’m an autumn girl! I was married in the fall and we mostly take our “summer” vacations in the fall. I love the colors of fall, the smell of fall, and the events of fall.

  • Autumn.  I just love the temperatures..  Where I can wear a light jacket if I want or just go with a t-shirt.  I love the smell of the leaves this time of year.

    @kristinabean - Yep.  =D

  • Summer! Even in Houston, lol. It’s the perfect opportunity to wear the skimpiest of clothing ;D

  • This was a fantastic post. Really loved reading your weblog post. The information was very informative and helpful. I hope you proceed posting and updating frequently. Wanting forward to your next one.

    Herbal Supplements

  • Freezing winters.

  • @TakingxOverxMe - Of course, I live in the Columbus Metro area… it could be argued that football, in any weather, is reason enough to make this the best season!

  • Summer and then fall I hate spring and hate winter. I live in NY and went to NC one February it was amazing. There was not any snow and it only got down to 30′s at night. We looked for apartments while there but couldn’t find any. Smart people already live there. I want to eventually travel to all 50 state capitals.

  • Fall and Winter are my top two. The best food, the coziest clothes.

    Great writing weather, if that makes sense.

  • I don’t have a favorite season. Living in New England means there’s no gaurantee that the whether will act in a particular way. My senior year of highschool it didn’t push past 65 degrees until May.

  • Autumn. If only it lasted longer in California.

  • Fall is my favorite. 

  • I like Fall!! It makes NY so pretty :)

  • I used to love winter- the cold days were always so refreshing to me. Plus, nothing made me feel better than curling up with several blankets. I’d still much rather be cold than hot- I’ve always said that you can add more layers, but you can only take off so many… thus one of the reasons I hate the hot weather and despised summer. Fall and spring were always iffy. Some years we’d have hot weather, some we’d have cold… there were really very few in between days.

    Since being diagnosed with a lung disease, I’m a bigger fan of spring and fall though. The humidity is torture on my lungs- as is the bitter cold. Those in between days are perfect for taking in a deep breath of air (since I’m finally able to do that!) I used to have seasonal allergies- which is probably one reason to hate the spring and fall- but thanks to the medicine for the lung disease I haven’t been plagued by allergies- making me enjoy these seasons! I have this fantasy of strolling through a gold hued forest, or even an apple orchard during a chilly autumn day. Picture perfect. :)

  • I like when it’s so hot that  your flip flops melt and stick to the sidewalk. I’m a summery kind of lady.

  • Fall is my favorite. I totally agree on the nightly walks. I had a great one last night.

  • Xmas. Pfft, yeah, right!

  • FALL, no doubt.  I am in the BEST mood right now =D

  • Dear Dan,

    I really hate fire season. There are two here in Southern California. Early summer’s fire season (around July 4) and the fall fire season, which usually starts around now with the beginning of the hot Santa Ana winds blowing in off the desert.

    Then there’s the rainy season, when it sporadically arrives, usually with an El Nino condition, every two or three years. Since the top on my 11 year old convertible leaks some, rainy season can get wet inside the car for me. Plus, nobody expects rain, so the streets are filled not only with puddled water but with wrecked automobiles, and there are detours all around the Southland.

    Another season I hate is Mudslide season, which always occurs concurrent with rainy season. First the fires burn the foliage from the land, and then it’s swept away when the water comes.

    Oh, you want to know what season we like the most.

    Well, there really aren’t any other seasons in SoCal, it’s pretty temperate here year round, so I like that a lot.

    Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

  • summer, fall is so depressing

  • My favorite seasons are autumn and winter. I like spring as well, but I hate summer. I would like summer if it wasn’t for the humidity. I prefer cloudy and cold to sunny and hot.

  • I love fal in the Pacific Northwest.  The colors are magical.

  • I’ve only experienced Chicago weather– Contruction and winter. Hahaha!

    Seriously, in the past 25 years I’ve been on this earth, I have to say that I have a love/hate relationship with Chicago weather. The hot summers, the Indian summer, short fall season, (seemingly) long winter, short spring season, my neighborhood has had flooding issues, heat waves, cold winters.

    While I enjoy each season and can’t wait for the next just for the change, it gets annoying to drive in and try to have a “real life,” opposed to just being in school and dealing with it. I kinda wish I could go back to the days where all I had to worry about was if I had a day off due to the weather.

    I wish I was able to enjoy more of the Indian summers and springs where all you need to stay warm was a sweatshirt and you’re able to wear flip flops. If I had to pick a season that we (the regional we) experience for longer than three weeks, I’d say…. It’s a tie. There’s pros and cons to summers and winters in Chicago. Either way, it impacts the drive to where you’re going, how long it takes, etc. I love the way the air smells in winter, not having to wear a jacket in summer… Things like that. I really can’t choose because I’ve had such good memories in both seasons.

  • Autumn is my favorite, there’s nothing like the smell of the crisp air and seeing the leaves change. Makes me miss childhood so much.

  • midwesterner transplanted, eh? =) . i’ve wanted to get out of this area for most of my life.  lol. but i will say winter b/c i love the snow. dislike driving in it though.  

  • Hockey season.

  • Spring.  I like Fall too, but I don’t like the rain that always comes before it though.

  • any weather (monsoon, summer, rainy spring, fall, hot, cloudy, whatever) EXCEPT winter!! I hate winters..

  • i like fall the most, then summer, then spring, then winter. but i generally love the weather all year round except for january-march. so dreary.

  • i cant really say anything bout winter…havent enjoyed it 2 its full potential. i live in a tropical island so it doesnt snow, and ive never gone out of my country, so ive never touched snow…i wish i could someday :l i like coldness~

  • Winter. which in so. cal is just a wetter fall-like weather :)

  • Spring and Fall.  The way the sun warms your face in the spring.  And the way the fall is a relief from the heat of summer.  The crisp, cool air that moves in.  (It is the only reason I dont despise summer – without summer, fall wouldnt be so awesome!)

  • I love all the seasons, but only at the start. By the middle of end of the season I grow tired of the weather and want the next season to start. I think of them all summer is my favorite though, because it’s the shortest of all the seasons in Oregon so I’ve learned to appreciate it the most.

  • The only predictable thing about Northwest Indiana weather is that it’s very unpredictable. I love the Fall season in Northwest Indiana. And I agree with you when you say you hate winter. I prefer the warmer months.

  • I love winter and fall..that is why I am a happy minnesota girl…

  • Fall, in all of nature’s glory. The sad thing is it is here today and gone tomorrow. 

  • I like winter the best, but it’s dangerous.  I don’t like the heat of summer.

  • most definitely the Fall.  the one thing that i really miss the most from living in the states.

  • Summer, though I like many things about each season.

  • I love Spring (Except for the horrendous allergies I have) and Fall. Spring is great because it’s warm (But not sweltering heat) and all the flowers are blooming and whatnot. Fall is amazing because it’s cool so I can wear cooler weather clothes, and there are bonfires and hayrides, etc.

    I think I have to pick fall though… I don’t how many of you go to college, but I’m sure I’m not the only one who got tired of girls yanking their overly short short-shorts out of their vaginas. Fall clothes don’t burn my eyes. :]

  • Fall perhaps, though I do still like Summer…

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *