January 28, 2013

  • My Haunted House

    A woman is suing the person she bought a house from and the real estate agent because they did not tell her that a murder-suicide had taken place in the home.
    The man who once lived there shot and killed his wife and then killed himself.
    The woman thinks she should have been told that before buying.  Here is the link:  Link
    Would you buy a house if you knew someone had committed a murder-suicide in it?
                                         

Comments (50)

  • I would rather not know at all.

  • Yeah, probably not!

  • The place I live in now burned down before I moved in. I’ve also heard from neighbors who’ve lived here for years that someone hung themselves from our tree outside. Does it change anything? Nope. It’s interesting to hear about it though. For all you know, you love on some former Indian burial ground, or even worse, a pet cemetery.

  • I’ve lived in lots of old houses. I know people have died in some of them, and a couple of them had strange phenomena going on but I was never scared in any of them so it probably wouldn’t bother me too much.

  • absolutely not, but that’s because I’m very superstitious like that… but isn’t it the real estate agent’s job to have full disclosure about events like that which have happened in the past x amount of years?

  • I grew up several miles from the Amityville Horror house, 3 towns away which on Long Island is about a 15 minute drive border to border on Montauk Highway. I’m pretty sure my friends and I did a drive by of the house as teens are wont to do when terribly bored on a Saturday night. The reason I’m not totally sure of the drive is if we did that drive by it was resoundingly uneventful. In any case I wouldn’t run out to purchase the Amityville Horror house if for no other reason because of the parade of teens who slow down as they pass as we likely did once.  

  • I wouldn’t mind. And by law you have to tell the person that is a possible buyer if there were any deaths in the house.

  • what kind of mark down are we talking about?

  • I guess no but it would be quite challenging.

  • I’d buy it for sure but I’d ask for a discount first.

  • Yeah, kick someone off the top floor = OOPS GHOSTS.

  • I don’t think so.

  • Oh yeah I read this online today. Just another way to get that money.

  • Was it in Texas? Because, lady’s got herself a real case.

    @raspberryjade - It depends on the state.

  • Oh, helllll nooooo. As a kid, I lived in a house where someone committed suicide in the basement. The thing is, my folks bought the house and probably felt it was best not to tell me. I remember feeling uncomfortable, having a bad vibe whenever I went down to the unfurnished basement. Years later, after my family had moved out, I learned what happened there. It gives me the chills just thinking about it.

  • Heck YES!!! that would be awesome! :D

  • This has an American Horror Story feel to it. 

  • I love how most people said no about all this.

  • With the title, I assumed she was going to complain about ghosts. Darn it. :/

  • Yes, and I would hope to have experiences there. Stephen King style.

  • It depends on what you believe in. If you believe in the fact that it is just another house then buy it. but if you believe a little more in the supernatural, then don;t take any hasty decisions. As for me, I would stay away unless I knew I didn’t have a choice :D

  • sure, why not?  they’re dead.

  • I worked for a Real Estate agent and they are required by law to disclose anything that might affect the value of the property you are buying.  So, depending on the state, that woman will probably win her case.

    Would I buy a  ”murder house?”  Doubt it.  I have enough ghosts of my own.

  • I don’t know if I would buy it. However in Canada I have been told that if something like that happens thr real estate agent is legally obligated to say something.

  • I would not pay $610,000 for the place. Find a more reasonable price and I would have no problem.

  • If the price was right, sure, I’d buy it.

  • Not unless it was a great deal and the ghosts are like Casper 

  • Ever seen Sinister [[ the movie ]]?  FREAKY. This makes me think a lot like that. Families are being murdered and youngest child gone missing. I imagine there has been several death in my homes I’ve lived in throughout the years, i just never heard about it. 

    I thought it IS a law requirement to have the agent to tell buyers about the history of the home like that? Just assumed it is. For me, do i wanna know?? Most likely wish i don’t because I probably end up having crazy idea like the movie “Occupant”. The guy moves in after his granny dies and goes crazy. LOL.

  • if the price was right

  • at point a man lived in our house that killed his girlfriend and himself. I would probably rather not know this because it scares me and I believe in ghosts, but nothing bad has happened and we’ve lived there for almost 10 years 

  • I dont think I would. :)

  • no i would not buy the house.I thought it was the realators job to tell somone before they buy it if a accident has occored.This would haunt me forever if i found out that my dream house was a place of horrid memories that isent away to start over for your family.

  • Doesn’t mean it’s haunted. Also, unless state law requires it, yo don’t hve to report stigmated properties. My place is haunted, but I am used to it.

  • @raspberryjade - I saw a show where they discussed this, and the lawyer said there is no duty to disclose things like that, only material defects of the house.  Good to know, for when and if I look to buy a house!!!

  • This story is so… enticing.. Love it!

  • It’d be creepy, but I’d buy it if I had the money.

  • LOL I don’t blame them for not telling cause it doesn’t have anything to do with selling the house or does it???????

  • It’s illegal for them NOT to tell you around here. (CA requires death in the last 3 years to be disclosed)

  • It would be interesting but I can’t live in a house that’s haunted..

  • Natural deaths are okay. Murder-suicide is a different matter. Wouldn’t want to live in a home where the unhappy memories within had to do with murder and such. Seems like bad luck to me. And if you’re talking about ghosts, I’m a first hand, firm believer in them. 

  • Nope. Nopenopenope.

  • No way. Dad lives in a house where the guy who built it died, and his son fell from the roof and died as well. NOT a nice place, I can tell you.

  • Most likely no. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *