January 30, 2013

  • Women Are Too Weak

    I was reading an article about some of the reasons why some people do not want to have women serve in combat roles in the military.  Here are some of the reasons:

    1.  Women are too weak.  (This makes sense.  The average woman is clearly weaker than the average man).
    2.  Combat missions are too gross for women.  (The example given is that women may not feel comfortable peeing outside when guys are nearby). 
    3.  Men will struggle to contain themselves around attractive women.  (This makes sense based on what we hear about sexual harassment).
    4.  Women will meet lower standards.  (This happened while I was in the military in that the physical test for the women was easier than the physical test for the men).
    It is impossible to touch on all of these issues but lets start with number 2.
    Ladies, have you ever peed in public?
                                                                                                    

Comments (74)

  • I’ve been with women in combat.  It’s really not a big deal.

  • No! I was drunk as fuck and these motherfuckers wanted me to pee in a woods, but I went and peed in a McDonald’s instead because I’m damn classy.

  • I peed in a guy’s bathroom one time when I was really drunk. A guy saw me leave a stall when I was done. Can that count? haha

  • Yeah, I peed on the side of road, well back a little ways, out in the middle of nowhere! Hey… you gotta do what you gotta do sometimes!

    But I saw in Bass Pro shops something called “Go Girl”. it’s something that helps girls pee standing up. Might come in handy…

  • Another pee in public post?!   

  • I’d like to start with number 3 and how you can’t contain yourself around me.

  • I encountered this issue when I did a long cycle with a group of 50 other riders, there were 4 girls. The men can just stop and whip it out and pee. We had to go find something to hide behind haha I’ve peed outside quite a few other times actually. I don’t care at all, but of course will choose a toilet if that’s an option first! haha

  • Well, there was that time I went gator-giggin with the boys. Oh, and the time I went deep-sea fishin with the boys. Um, I guess I shouldn’t neglect to mention the camping trips….. The answer is YES! (I’m a girl; that’s why it took me so long to figure it out the answer……)

  • Before I read the post that picture was kind of cool, now I understand why it was chosen.

  • I’ve peed outside, but I wouldn’t exactly call it “in public”. 

  • Funny enough… I know more women who are gutsy enough to pee outside when it is necessary than guys… Wtf is with these male humans, wimpy little punks these days.

  • Imma cut and paste what I posted somewhere else:
    I’ve peed in sinks, random bathtubs (with other chicks), and on sidewalks and those are just the places I remember, but I’m gross soooo Yes. I have peed in public in front of males and anyone else who happened to be looking. Everyone pees…Here is a little song about it.

  • All I can say is this – to the men who really, honestly believe this about women – you’re hanging out with the wrong women. 

  • Not since the 60s.

  • I once peed in my friend’s treehouse.  Does that qualify me to join the military?

  • women are just as nasty as men…even more crass in some instances.  

  • LOL  I could pass the males’ physical fitness test.  That just made them attack me more because they perceived me as a threat, so they called me a whore, which is the only insult they could muster.  It’s quite deadly though because so many people want it to be true, something to do.

    The only way to make it fair is to lower the standard for both to an acceptable level and keep weaker people out.  To get the numbers they need, they’re going to have to draft women or force people to go into the service.

    When I was in, it was like reject heaven.  Not everyone, but several.  They were the people who couldn’t pass college, who had been arrested numerous times and other issues.  They fell out before their contracts expired, which is a waste.  I don’t know how many people we lost in basic/AIT due to physical/mental issues.  I am a reject, I know.  I made it three years though, and I went into weapons testing then they continued to use me, failing to realize that I was an experiment.  Yes, I was psychotic prior, but I’d functioned a long time like that. The fact that a T-rex was talking to me wasn’t really a big surprise, nor was it that distracting until the orange nano-stuff that made me weird.

    Basically, this whole, “We can have a volunteer army” is stupid.  We need the healthy people of the nation.

    There are plenty of stronger ones.

    Yes, when I was being stalked by the gangs, I peed in my driveway, and I peed in El Paso, and I’ve peed on the side of the road, etc. IF you know me, you know I’m wild anyway and will do things that most won’t, and I also don’t mind filth. Oh,  I will say a big difference between males and females though is that males are much cleaner, and no, I don’t mean that it’s due to periods.

    @paoguy118 - you should have seen what they were writing on Yahoo about that.  I let them keep going in their fantasy.

    @Erika_Steele - omg, we’re related, I swear.  When I was being stalked, I sent in a concrete block in my driveway. The neighbors were like, OMG.  I am not shy about those things.

  • 1.  Women are too weak.  (This makes sense.  The average woman is clearly weaker than the average man). 

    There are many examples of women passing through boot camp and men not making it through. 

    2.  Combat missions are too gross for women.  (The example given is that women may not feel comfortable peeing outside when guys are nearby). 
    If a woman is that uptight she probably wouldn’t have signed up for the military in the first place. 

    3.  Men will struggle to contain themselves around attractive women.  (This makes sense based on what we hear about sexual harassment). 
    This already happens in the military. For one thing that is not the woman’s fault. For another what has happened up to this point is accusations of rape in the military (and men in the military get raped too) have been dismissed. The woman is sent home. The rapist keeps his career. There’s something seriously wrong with that.

    4.  Women will meet lower standards.  (This happened while I was in the military in that the physical test for the women was easier than the physical test for the men). 
    Whatever might have been in the past, part of the deal is that women must meet the same standards as males and many can and do and military action no longer often requires hand to hand combat. That shit’s old. There’s another part to this. Women already serve in combat. For example women go on raids in Iraq. They engage in fire fights alongside men when they do. Women are brought along specifically to body search Iraqi women once the raid subdues those raided. Here’s the catch though. Until now, women engaged in combat just like their male counterparts were not officially considered combat members. They were designated as “attachments” and as such were not given the same credit or opportunities to rise in the ranks or in pay scale as males who do the same thing. 

    I seriously don’t get the women phobia. In the military women have already been on the front lines and engaged in combat for decades. We have women police officers. One of the most effective armies in the world is the Israeli army and women in Israel are assigned to infantry positions, placing them in direct combat.  Any guy in the U.S. military who feels threatened by a woman serving alongside him might do well to consider rethinking his career. 

  • I don’t understand why they thought they could make me slow motion.    

    Instead, I was incapacitated.

    It was obvious that I was lacking in the brain department anyway. 

    Like I’ve said for years, “THERE IS NO BRAIN!”  I don’t think.  I can’t think.  It’s annoying.

    I finally figured out it’s because my frontal lobe didn’t develop according to my symptoms.  When they damaged it further, they didn’t destroy all my ability because I didn’t have that ability anyway. At least, I don’t think so.  They destroyed a good chunk of my memory instead.

    I want them to come back and make it work so that I can study science.

    They made me a dissident, a sexual deviant and a bunch of other things like pathological.  Read my posts from a couple of years ago.  JC.  I was a flower child before.

    They could clone me and make a slave race because my natural state is very not smart.

  • @Colorsofthenight - when you have to go, you have to go.

  • Oh my God which ladies pee outside or in public? >:O

  • Yep, sure have, on more then one occasion even :)

  • Yes, all the time.

  • Other countries have had women in combat positions for years. There’s no reason not to do it, but people like to complain. Since you asked about in public but not just outside um no. :)

  • Yep and in multiple corners of the globe at that

  • LMFAO okay, but to generalize ALL women is NOT fair. 

    yeah i’ve peed in public, what’s it to you? and does it make a difference because i’m a girl? 
    old fashioned men deciding where a women should be pfttt. and we all know that the power women have is only growing (though PERSONALLY i dont think it should make a difference if your man or women, you should be recognized for your WORK not your gender or whether or not you have a penis or vagina)
    for the record, i didn’t choose to not have a penis, or to have a vagina. 

  • In public? No. In the backyard in summertime when no one is around and I don’t want to go into the freezing cold house with my wet bathing suit on, nor pee in the pool? Absolutely.

  • I don’t really think that women should be in the military. I know that they

    can

    , but I don’t know that that means that they should. Yes, women are strong, but over all men are stronger.

  • even pooped.

    like I said previously, all of these generalized truths about the ‘average woman’ don’t excuse excluding a whole so called gender from that possibility- obviously some women are different.

    “men aren’t able to contain themselves”…if that’s not sexist and discriminating towards them!  It is also why (I think) gay men used to be excluded from the military which now has been corrected.
    Probably humans will be attracted to one another, but it doesn’t have to lead to sexual assault or rape. I think if all men who are abused by other men in the military reported it, we’d be shocked. Rape in military must be adressed universially.

    The last one would be a problem; of course the quality mustn’t decrease in order to meet certain quouta or something.
    However, it is a problem that stands for itself and can be solved. Same tests for everyone, and then everyone can quit coplaining and generalizing.

  • Have peed in the woods many times due to no toilet around.

  • what we lack in physical strength we makeup for in brains.

    I’m a nurse and I’ve seen it all-once or twice

  • I’m a fence sitter when it comes to women in combat.  There are arguments for both sides, but in general I think I’m OK with it so long as the women are not being forced or drafted.  If anyone wants to risk their own life then it’s their prerogative.  Israel has women in their army, and I can understand why they do given the need for manpower they have, or perhaps I should say “people power.”

  • Nope. Haven’t peed outside or in front of anyone since I was a wee child.

    But I would also never enlist in the military. 

  • I peed right next to an extremely busy road but on a normal occasion no I don’t use public bathrooms or pee in public.

  • Yep, peeing in the woods is kinda the norm when there are no potties.

  • @TheSutraDude - Thanks for saving me the time I was going to need to say what needed to be said about this post. So many good points. 

    Really, in all seriousness, women serving in combat is so not a big deal, as they’ve figured out since women have been forced to fight in the direct line of fire since Irag and Afghanistan. People need to understand that this idea of women fighting in direct combat is nothing new, it’s already been going on for a decade. These issues that people keep bringing up have already been worked through.
    As someone who serves in the military, I’m proud to be able to say that if there is any organization that should be able to adapt to change, it should be the mightiest military the world has ever seen.
    By the way, these reasons are so similar to the mentality of people who have opposed integration of the military in the past. This closed-minded thinking is how people approached integrating homosexuals, women (prior to combat roles) and blacks into the military. Each time this came up, everyone predicted mass chaos and a destruction of military readiness.
    Real result? The military kept on going like it always does. Seriously, if you can’t fathom women in combat, do some learning. People need to grow up and pay more attention.

  • @Ambrosius_Augustus_Rex - why not draft women? If the point of this is so that women can experience equal rights and opportunities as men, shouldn’t they have the same responsibility to defend those rights as men? I’m all for gender equality, but that should not mean that women get all of the same rights as men without having to answer the same call we do when it comes time to defend them.

    That being said, I don’t believe in forcing women into combat fields, those should only go to those who want it and can handle the same physical rigors that go with that job. Otherwise, draft women like men but put them in support roles, because the military needs them too.

  • So it all boils down to ‘if a woman can pee outside she is fit for combat’?  I think if a woman qualifies there is no reason she shouldn’t.  It seems, also, that you are insinuating that all men think with their penises and cannot handle being around women.  Maybe we shouldn’t let MEN go to combat if they can’t maintain focus.

  • @SlickRick297 - For the most part I agree, although I do not want women being encouraged to enlist for some very pragmatic reasons.  Actually I just wrote an entry on this topic.  If you get some time then check it out and let me know what you think.  Maybe I will tweak it.

  • Well, I did pee once as a kid, but hardly as an adult. However, I believe if a woman can easily suffer through childbirth and be strong throughout, she can physically grow strong enough to join combat. They will require a good amount of time to build bulk and become stronger physically and emotionally, but they can do it. 

  • @SherylM - Don’t underestimate the power of the penis.  Most men think with their penises in the same way that most women think with their emotions.  If there are female soldiers around then a lot of the men are going to go into their bunks or tents and masturbate to them (depending on what they look like).  Sorry if I’m being crude, but that’s the truth.

    Incidentally, I am OK with women being allowed to serve (within certain boundaries), but having a predominatly female or all female army (as you suggested) would be a horrendis idea. 

  • @SlickRick297 - You’re welcome and you’ve added good points so thank you for that. 

  • Behind every great man, there is, an even greater woman.  The Military is tough on both sexes, and it is a matter of choice after all.  Remembering there are two sides to every story…  

  • Women should be able to serve in combat posts, for sure. 

  • *facepalm* Military service is voluntary. If they didn’t feel they could ‘hack it’, they wouldn’t have signed up. Doesn’t mean they can all deal, but that goes for men as well.
    As for peeing… I prefer to keep that private, but there’s also no way I’d sign up so it’s kind of irrelevant.

  • Let me say that I disagree with this action.  I’m a retired Soldier with 28 years of service who has served in two wars and a peacekeeping action.  There are frontlines in modern warfare.  When I was in Iraq, we had two soldiers killed in a missile attack while they were taking a smoke break in the heart of our post near the general’s headquarters.  My beef is that the services, as they try to suck to this administration, will take shortcuts and lower the standards to make women qualify.  That will weaken the force and get female and male soldiers killed.  Let me also say that I’ve served with some great female soldiers in and out of combat.  I’ve had female battle buddies before, and yes, there were times she would need to sneak off and pee.  Every soldier has to learn how to pee in the woods.  It was done discreetly.  I would be nearby watching out for her while she did her business.  It was just a matter of mutual respect in a hostile environment.

  • @Megabyyte - Yea they have those for the military as well. They call them shewees. My brother said the women often used them when he was in Iraq. They can be slipped into the pants without exposing any private parts.

    To the Original poster. I don’t think women should be kept out of combat because men can’t control themselves sexually. That’s fucking ridiculous. We’re not apes.

  • If men can’t handle themselves around women, maybe they need to rethink their sexuality.

    But, honestly, women who are in the military know what they’re getting into. They know that they might have to pee outside in the presence of men. Women aren’t stupid.

  • Ahhhh!!! I can’t tell if you’re being totally serious or not here…and yeah I think women do have different physical requirements, but not necessarily EASIER ones or ones that make them weaker. And honestly, what does a difference of 10 push-ups really mean in the long run/in the heat of the moment?? As for men not being able to control themselves – that issue is all on you guys. Women have absolutely nothing to do with that – we can’t stop existing because men are all dirty pigs??? And men are also NOT all dirty pigs?? Sheesh. 

    I will pee on anyone who takes number two (ha ha) seriously.

  • The issue some people are failing to look at is that when policies have been changed to reflect that women have equal rights to fight on the front lines in the military, women will be required just like men to sign up for Selective Service when they turn 18. When the U.S. Government believes that their are not enough volunteers to sustain the military, not only will your sons be drafted, but your daughters too. Think about that.

  • A short little lady can go undercover and kill alot of people. Yep… if only the military can take that into account.

  • I can pee inside? But what about the trees?!

  • In the public eye, no. I like my privacy. However, I do use public restrooms. My sibling, however, is extremely potty shy. She finds it hard to pee or poop when others are nearby. n_n; It just tickes me. I hope she doesn’t end up with some kind of trouble from that predicament. ;P

  • You have just done hit the too silly for words factor here

  • You are a sexist, plain and simple. You let stereotypes undermine individual rights.

    1. We have standards of physical fitness in the military, standards that women soldiers routinely meet. (I personally do not meet them, as it turns out.)

    2. Women in the military already urinate in public, and deal with disease and disgusting scenarios. Many are medics, which is about as disgusting as human life gets. They only thing they presently aren’t allowed to do is engage in combat missions. 

    3. Sexual harassment is already a problem in the military, and it’s the responsibility of our command infrastructure to enforce codes of conduct. You sound like the sort of person who’d exclude blacks from working on the grounds that they’d face discrimination in the workplace.

    4. If indeed the physical standards are lower for women, that must be changed, as it makes no sense. But my understanding is that this is not the case; the only differences I see on this list are height and body fat standards, which does make sense given that women just genetically are shorter and have more body fat. It would be bizarre to expect these standards to be the same, as a woman who had the level of body fat a man normally has would be grossly unhealthy for insufficient fat. http://www.apft-standards.com/ (The height standards I guess you could debate; why do we exclude short men?)

  • Men are built for battle. Women are built to have babies.

    Don’t blame me for saying so!  Blame Darwin!!

  • “in public” at the view of all..certainly not..as anyone would be reprimended by the law..though certain homeless people use the rose bushes right in front of the building where is live..these people have no sense of space as they own the space..they are spaceless

  • Fuck #2.  I peed into a paper cup while flying aboard a P3C as I held the head door shut because the Navy didn’t think it was priority to fix the damn lock on the door nor feel it was necessary to have a flush toilet on board.  There was a stand alone urinal… I fought turbulence to pee in that damn cup and then had to pour my own pee into the male urinal. Finally, one of the guys showed me how to set up the urinal (put a plastic bag into it) so I could pee like a normal woman.  Only after that I had to undo the plastic, wrap my pee up in it, and then walk out of the head on a plane full of men and put it in the trash.  Screw the freaking idiots who think that is a real issue!  (I didn’t even chase anyone with my pee, not even once!  Or maybe I did… in any case it was not just a plane of men, it was a plane full of grown ass adults.)

  • @pnrj - No, the physical standards shouldn’t be changed unless they are changed to a “people” standard based on the testing of men and women and how the average performs.  

  • 1. Ironic the same people who are offended by women in combat are the same ones that argue Guns equalize an 80 year old granny and a 25 year old (Black guy which is understood).

  • Not in public, no. My canooter is far too shy for those shenanigans. 

  • Since Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell has been repealed, women are the “new gay,” apparently.

  • I peed behind a dumpster the other day. I was waiting on my fiance to come out of his class and I didn’t trust myself to drive his father’s truck, so I went for a walk, found a dumpster with a fence around 3 sides, walked behind it and let er rip!

  • in high school the girls would use the men’s bathroom when we had to pee, get dressed, etc. It was a very public school but most guys where pretty cool about it. My logic is that it’s only awkward if you make it awkward. 

  • Wow, I can’t believe this is even being debated… ridiculous.

    Just because men TEND to be stronger than women, that doesn’t mean that EVERY MAN is stronger than EVERY woman. And since when is the military only about brute strength? What about intelligence and courage? And please don’t tell me that women are incapable of possessing such traits…

  • As a woman, I piss wherever I damn well please. This has included: parking lots, people’s lawns, on cars, port-a-potties, swimming pools, at stop signs, in the woods, in stranger’s homes… =Piss off. 

  • In other news: IS IT FUCKING 1920? 90% of the shit discussed on your blog makes me want to vomit. Why haven’t we grown past our pasts? What have we learned and earned from history? Why do stereotypes, ignorance, and the ever-pointed fingers still exist? 

  • There are many jobs besides the military where these four points come into question, and women still work those jobs and do just fine. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *