Month: June 2006

  • Working Mothers

    When I was a child, my mom was at home.  She worked side jobs here and there but for the most part she was what you would call a stay at home mom.  I was sick a lot when I was a kid and would always enjoy the fact that my mom was at home to take care of me.

     

    Do you think that mothers working outside the home is having a significant negative impact on children?

     

  • Ugly

    A contest is held every year to identify the World’s Ugliest Dog.  One dog had won three straight years until he died last November.  He is Sam.


    Sam:



     


    The second dog is Archie:


    Archie


    The third dog is Lucille Bald:


    Lucille 


    Which dog is the ugliest:  Sam, Archie, or Lucille Bald?


     

  • Depression

    Sometimes I think that every woman I know is going through depression.


    Why are so many women depressed?


     

  • Smoking Part 3

    In New York they are considering raising the age in which a person can begin smoking to the age of 21.  The chair of the City Council introduced a bill that would make it illegal to purchase cigarettes for anyone under 21.  Mayor Michael Bloomberg has supported the bill in order to help “curb the habit.”


    Would raising the smoking age from 18 to 21 really curb the habit?


     

  • Prison Part 2

    Should prisoners be allowed to have conjugal visits?


     

  • Mentor

    In some way I managed to bring a few mentors into my life at an early age.  These mentors were strong in my particular career field.  So I developed friendships with these mentors and learned from them constantly.  I would open myself up and allow them to give me input on how I could do my very best.  While others would get on the defensive, I was convinced that they had the ability to make me better and stronger.


    One of those mentors died earlier this week.  He has his funeral tomorrow.  I walked into the hospital to see him shortly before he passed away.  He talked to me for a while and even up to his last moment was giving me some of the best advice I could receive.


    I was sad and surprised to hear of his passing.  I am not sure why I was surprised.  But I knew a great man had just passed from this Earth.


     

  • Reparations

    I want to talk a little tonight about the issue of reparations for slavery.  There are several groups out there that believe that we as a society need to make right the injustice that has been done by those who have come before us.


    The thinking is that slavery did harm to black Americans.  The thinking continues that the descendents of those slaves have been harmed too.  The thinking is that any organization or government that was guilty of promoting slavery owes reparations to those descendents.


    Should black Americans be allowed to receive reparations because of the slavery their relatives experienced before them?


     

  • Church Part 2

    Do you think churches should change to reach out to modern culture?


     

  • The U.S. Flag

    A bill has been introduced in Arizona that would require the U.S. Flag to be flown in every classroom from kindergarten all the way up to state funded universities.  The bill has received some level of controversy. 


    Is it unrealistic to require state funded schools to fly the U.S. flag in every classroom?


     

  • Communion

    I was reading an article written by Robin Pomeroy.  In the article she quoted Cardinal Alfonso Lopez Trujillo (The head of the Pontifical Council for the Family).  He has been critical of countries that allow abortion.


    In the article, Trujillo is quoted as saying he felt that scientists who experiment on embryonic stem cells should be viewed as abortionists and be “barred by the Church from taking Communion.”


    He went on to say, “Destroying an embryo equals abortion and that excommunication goes for the woman, the doctors and the scientists who eliminate the embryo.”


    Should scientist who experiment on embryonic stem cells be barred by the Church from taking Communion?