Month: February 2009

  • Chris Brown and Rihanna Back Together Again

    It is always nice when we can see that true love can overcome a good punch in the face.

    It is being reported that Chris Brown and Rihanna are spending time together on an Island Retreat.  Here is the link:  Link

    Do you think true love can overcome abuse?

                              

  • The Pencil Test

    I was messaging Miraha and she mentioned another “Pencil Test.”

    “I was taught by my mother that every year on your birthday to get pencil, go into the bathroom or some other private area, disrobe from the waist up, lift your left arm over your head and place the pencil (parallel to the floor) under your boob. Now return your arm to the side and let go of the pencil. If it falls, you’re good, boobs aren’t sagging, but… if it remains in place tucked under your sagging boob you know you’re getting older.”

    If the pencil stays, does it mean you are saggy?

                                                        

  • How To Tell If a Person Will Date You

    There is an easy way for you to tell if a person will date you.

     

    Just ask the person to do something simple that makes no sense and if the person does it, they will most likely date you.

    I call this the “pencil test.”  I did this in high school all the time.  I would ask a girl to go sharpen my pencil for me.  The “pencil test” answers the question of whether the person is responsive to you.  If the person asks you why or tells you to sharpen your own pencil, chances are she won’t go on a date with you.  It makes no sense if you are standing by a pencil sharpener for you to not sharpen your own pencil.  But if you ask and she does it, you can then ask her out on a date.

    I would also do this with getting something to drink.  If I was in the cafeteria, I would ask the girl to go get me another drink.  If she got up and got me the drink, she would probably date me.  If she asks why you won’t get your own drink, she is probably less likely to date you.

    This also works for copying homework.  If a girl would let me look at her homework and copy it, she would probably date me.  So just ask to see her/his homework after it is finished and then copy it.

    I was telling this theory to my son about a month ago at my daughter’s birthday party.  I asked a woman to go get me a cupcake.  The woman had to move past all the kids and get me a cupcake before the kids got a chance to eat them.  But sure enough, she went over and got me the cupcake.

    Think about this for a second:  If a person you find attractive asks you to do something, are you more likely to do it without question?  Sure.

    So to reduce the number of people that say no to you on the date issue, ask them to do something that is simple and that you could easily do for yourself.

                                                                           

  • Shot By The Repo Man

    A man is being tried for murder after trying to repossess a car.

    The repo man was repossessing the car at 2:30 in the morning.  The owner of the car came out with his gun to find out what was happening and the repo man shot and killed him.  Here is the link:  Link

    Should the repo man be charged with murder if the owner came out with his gun?

                                                          

  • Getting an A

     My last term of my undergraduate degree, I had to take 4 classes in the summer to get the 12 credits I needed to graduate at the end of the summer.

    I was also really close to graduating with honors.  I figured that if I got all A’s, I would graduate with honors.  I wanted to take one last class with my favorite philosophy teacher.  The problem is that I had 3 other classes with him and I received a “B” each time.  I knew I would be busy in the summer.  But I went ahead and took his class and received a “B.”  I missed graduating with honors by .03 and they did not round up.

    1.  English

    2.  Math

    3. Philosophy

    4.  Poetry

    5. History

    6.  Foreign language

    7.  Science

    If you had to get an A, what class would you take?

                                                    

  • Xanga and High School

    I have read so many posts here recently comparing xanga to high school.  I also saw this post by suggestivetongue.

    That got me thinking about the various positions to be filled.

    1.  Popular kid

    2.  Jock

    3.  Emo

    4.  Bully

    5.  Drama Queen

    6.  Theater kids

    7.  Gangsters

    8.  Druggies

    9.  Nerds

    10.  Geeks

    11.  Smart kids

    12.  Pimps

    If xanga were a high school, what social role would you play?

                                                             

  • Mother of Octuplets

    The mother of the octuplets told Dr. Phil the other day that she was concerned that the hospital would not allow her to take her children home until she proves she “has the means to care for them.”

    Dr. Phil said, “What she is telling me is that unless and until she has a better living arrangement, that they are not likely to release the children to her.”  Here is the link:  Link

    Do you think the mother of the octuplets should have to prove she can care for the children before being allowed to take them home?

                                             

  • Increasing Your Dating Number

    Back when I was between the ages of 16 to 19, I went out with approximately 100-150 girls. 

    I only know the number because my mom counted and I was over 100 when I graduated high school.  Now I waited until I was married to have sex so I didn’t have sex with any of those girls (as long as you accept Bill Clinton’s definition of sex).  I probably kissed around 30 of the girls.  Let me be clear, I was not a player.  I was nice and respectful.  I just loved going out and meeting new people.

    I am an advocate of young people dating around and having a good time instead of getting tied down in a relationship when they are in high school.  I have been telling my 15 year old son that he should not get tied into a relationship early but instead should get a good understanding of what different types of girls are like.

    One think I have never understood is why some people on xanga will complain about not being able to find anyone to date.  It appears to me that there is no shortage of women or men available for someone who wants to date.  If you are the type that does not want to date several people, I can respect that.  But for those that are wanting to date, here are a few suggestions.

    1.  Position yourself to date.

    When I was in high school, we were allowed to pick our own seats in class for most of my classes.  I would purposely attempt in every class to sit in the middle of several girls.  If you did it right, you could sit in the middle of 8 girls.  There would be one on each side and one in front and one in back.  Then there were 4 girls, one on each corner.  Right there you have 8 possibilities for dates in just one class.  Multiply that by 6-7 classes each semester and you could keep an active dating life just from school. 

    Another great strategy is to to position yourself during activities and sporting events.  Remember that people have a natural draw to someone who is unknown and attends another school.  School activities and sporting events are a great place to meet someone.

    Work is also a great place to find dates.  Make sure you pick a job with a good representation of the opposite sex.

    Church is another great place to meet dates.  I had a large youth group and tried to go out with every attractive girl in my youth group.  (I asked a girl out once from my youth group and she told me she was waiting for her turn).

    2.  Expand your Possibilities

    You can meet people at so many places.  These days you can go to a college library.  I actually figured that one out when I was in high school.  You can meet smart girls in a library.  Starbucks is another great place.  I went to an all night Starbucks while on vacation recently and there were attractive women there all night.  The beach is another great place.  This way you also get to see what the woman’s body looks like in advance to see if you are attracted to the whole package.

    You need to look around you and see all of the available people to date.  So many young people say, “I just can’t find anyone.”   The reality is there are people all around you that want to go out.

    3.  Be more aggressive. 

    If you want to go out with someone, you have to ask people out.  Confidence comes with time.  I see people that miss opportunities because they are afraid of rejection.  The summer that I graduated, I bet a friend a quarter that in six weeks I could go out with 20 girls that I had not met previous to that 6 weeks.  I think I got to 12 or 16 so I failed.  But in six weeks I was able to go out with a bunch of girls that I had not met previous to that time.  If you want to go out with someone, just ask.  By they way, I actually asked my wife out when she called a friend’s house and I was there.  He called me a jerk for asking her out when she called his house.  He wanted to ask her out.  He should have but obviously he had no guts even though they talked all the time on the phone.

    4.  Forget about rejection. 

    How many times did girls tell me “no” when I was dating?  I don’t remember.   It did not stand out in my head.  So many people worry about rejection.  What is wrong with hearing no?  You will be ok.  It does not need to destroy your self-esteem. 

    Do you think it is better to date a few people or to date several people?

                                                                                   

  • Xanga Drama

    Is all the xanga drama getting a little annoying?

                                       

  • Do You Want an Overweight Physical Trainer?

    I was reading an article about a physical trainer who is trying to gain 100 pounds so he can identify a little better with his clients.  Here is the link:  Link

    Here is his before photo:

    Here is his after photo:

    Would you rather have a physical trainer that is in perfect condition or one who could identify with you?